Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9, 20-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 20, 23, 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140120887 to Huang in view of US 20230169625 to Kumar further in view of US 20100053441 to Tokashiki.
Regarding claim 1, Huang discloses a method, comprising:
providing user information regarding a user location and a user preference of image information (paragraph 209-214, 357-359; position info of terminal (location) and user personalization (user preference of image) including screen resolution, type of AR content is provided), wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of an image quality factor (paragraph 212; user personalization includes screen resolution (quality factor));
receiving, at a client device, one or more sets of image information associated with one or more items of interests (paragraph 209-211; user personalization preference includes point of interest) in an AR environment based on the user information (paragraph 164, 297, 338, 371-379; in step F24, AR terminal (client device) receives AR content in step F24 that includes images filtered based on user personalization preference and context (location));
generating, at the client device, a user interface for displaying the one or more sets of image information (paragraph 135; user interface function generates interface to display AR content), wherein the user interface is generated at least based on the user preference (paragraph 209-214, 375; user interface is generated based on user preference such as whether type of AR content is image or video or the resolution of terminal); and
receiving input to enable an action associated with the one or more sets of image information via the user interface (paragraph 135-139; user can select by clicking the displayed AR content on interface and detail of the AR content is acquired as an action).
However Huang does not disclose wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of a timing factor, an event factor.
Kumar discloses wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of a timing factor, an event factor (paragraph 38; for target image 20, user preference as selected by user such as date 110a (timing factor), event 110c factor can be used to filter images used to make a larger image 24 from the target image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Kumar to provide user preference associated with event/dates.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide user with images similar to a target image on the user device based on user selected preference associated with events/dates that are related to the target image such that user can generate large images using the target image and based on the acquired related images (paragraph 38).
However Huang does not disclose wherein the user interface is a customized user interface generated at least based on the user preference of image information.
Tokashiki discloses wherein the user interface is a customized user interface generated at least based on the user preference of image information (paragraph 82, 118; video display customization; paragraph 106-108; based on user preference information, the video display (user interface) is customized by adjusting image quality information based on user preference information; paragraph 68; image quality adjusted video (generated user interface) is displayed on display unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Tokashiki to provide customized user interface for display of image data.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide simple and automated method for display of image information that is customized based on image quality parameter preference of the user specified as the user of the display device wherein parameter include brightness, sharpness of the display interface (paragraph 12-16, 43).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user location is a location from a portable device carried by a user (paragraph 4, 118, 187; GPS module of mobile terminal of user provides location).
Regarding claim 4, Kumar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more items of interests include a historic building (paragraph 16; region of interest includes historical buildings in the target image).
Regarding claim 20, Huang discloses a computing system comprising (paragraph 115; system shown in Fig. 1):
cause the computing system to perform a process (paragraph 355; flowchart for performing mobile AR service) comprising:
providing user information regarding a user location and a user preference of image information (paragraph 209-214, 357-359; position info of terminal (location) and user personalization (user preference of image) including screen resolution, type of AR content is provided), wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of image quality factor (paragraph 212; user personalization includes screen resolution (quality factor));
receiving, at a client device, one or more sets of image information associated with one or more items of interests (paragraph 209-211; user personalization preference includes point of interest) in an AR environment based on the user information (paragraph 164, 297, 338, 371-379; in step F24, AR terminal (client device) receives AR content in step F24 that includes images filtered based on user personalization preference and context (location));
generating, at the client device, a user interface for displaying the one or more sets of image information (paragraph 135; user interface function generates interface to display AR content), wherein the user interface is generated at least based on the user preference (paragraph 209-214, 375; user interface is generated based on user preference such as whether type of AR content is image or video or the resolution of terminal); and
receiving input to enable an action associated with the one or more sets of image information via the user interface (paragraph 135-139; user can select by clicking the displayed AR content on interface and detail of the AR content is acquired as an action).
However Huang does not disclose at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing system to perform a process;
wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of a timing factor, an event factor.
Kumar discloses at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the computing system to perform a process (paragraph 53-54, 56, 59; storage 406 stores program instructions to be executed by processor 402 to perform process);
wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of a timing factor, an event factor (paragraph 38; for target image 20, user preference as selected by user such as date 110a (timing factor), event 110c factor can be used to filter images used to make a larger image 24 from the target image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Kumar to provide user preference associated with event/dates.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide user with images similar to a target image on the user device based on user selected preference associated with events/dates that are related to the target image such that user can generate large images using the target image and based on the acquired related images (paragraph 38).
However Huang does not disclose wherein the user interface is a customized user interface generated at least based on the user preference of image information.
Tokashiki discloses wherein the user interface is a customized user interface generated at least based on the user preference of image information (paragraph 82, 118; video display customization; paragraph 106-108; based on user preference information, the video display (user interface) is customized by adjusting image quality information based on user preference information; paragraph 68; image quality adjusted video (generated user interface) is displayed on display unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Tokashiki to provide customized user interface for display of image data.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide simple and automated method for display of image information that is customized based on image quality parameter preference of the user specified as the user of the display device wherein parameter include brightness, sharpness of the display interface (paragraph 12-16, 43).
Regarding claim 23, see rejection of claim 4.
Regarding claim 26, Huang discloses cause the computing system to perform operations comprising (paragraph 115; system shown in Fig. 1; paragraph 355; flowchart for performing mobile AR service):
providing user information regarding a user location and a user preference of image information (paragraph 209-214, 357-359; position info of terminal (location) and user personalization (user preference of image) including screen resolution, type of AR content is provided), wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of image quality factor (paragraph 212; user personalization includes screen resolution (quality factor));
receiving, at a client device, one or more sets of image information associated with one or more items of interests (paragraph 209-211; user personalization preference includes point of interest) in an AR environment based on the user information (paragraph 164, 297, 338, 371-379; in step F24, AR terminal (client device) receives AR content in step F24 that includes images filtered based on user personalization preference and context (location) );
generating, at the client device, a user interface for displaying the one or more sets of image information (paragraph 135; user interface function generates interface to display AR content), wherein the user interface is generated at least based on the user preference (paragraph 209-214, 375; user interface is generated based on user preference such as whether type of AR content is image or video or the resolution of terminal); and
receiving input to enable an action associated with the one or more sets of image information via the user interface (paragraph 135-139; user can select by clicking the displayed AR content on interface and detail of the AR content is acquired as an action).
However Huang does not disclose a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations, wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of a timing factor, an event factor.
Kumar discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to perform operations (paragraph 53-54, 56, 59; storage 406 stores program instructions to be executed by processor 402 to cause computing system 400 to perform process), wherein the user preference includes at least one from the group consisting of a timing factor, an event factor (paragraph 38; for target image 20, user preference as selected by user such as date 110a (timing factor), event 110c factor can be used to filter images used to make a larger image 24 from the target image).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Kumar to provide user preference associated with event/dates.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide user with images similar to a target image on the user device based on user selected preference associated with events/dates that are related to the target image such that user can generate large images using the target image and based on the acquired related images (paragraph 38).
However Huang does not disclose wherein the user interface is a customized user interface generated at least based on the user preference of image information.
Tokashiki discloses wherein the user interface is a customized user interface generated at least based on the user preference of image information (paragraph 82, 118; video display customization; paragraph 106-108; based on user preference information, the video display (user interface) is customized by adjusting image quality information based on user preference information; paragraph 68; image quality adjusted video (generated user interface) is displayed on display unit).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Tokashiki to provide customized user interface for display of image data.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide simple and automated method for display of image information that is customized based on image quality parameter preference of the user specified as the user of the display device wherein parameter include brightness, sharpness of the display interface (paragraph 12-16, 43).
Claim(s) 3, 22, 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140120887 to Huang in view of US 20230169625 to Kumar further in view of US 20100053441 to Tokashiki further in view JP 2010271973 to Azuma.
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the user preference of image information includes a criterion defining at least one characteristic of images (paragraph 209-212, 375; user personalization preference includes resolution of image (characteristic) as criteria for filtering AR content). However Huang does not disclose wherein the customized user interface includes a first section and a second section, wherein the first section includes images associating with the one or more items of interests in a chronological order, and wherein the second section includes the one or more sets of image information associated with the images associating with the one or more items of interests in the chronological order.
Azuma discloses wherein the customized user interface includes a first section and a second section (paragraph 31; Fig. 3 displays custom GUI for images; the display unit 5 (user interface) includes first display area 20A and second display area 20B (first/second section)), wherein the first section includes images associating with the one or more items of interests in a chronological order (paragraph 36-37, 43, 49 (“chronological amount of content”), 64-65; Fig. 4 displays in the first display area 20A images in chronological order from left to right; paragraph 42-43; images associated with genre such as “sports” as item of interest), and wherein the second section includes the one or more sets of image information associated with the images associating with the one or more items of interests in the chronological order (paragraph 39, 43, 47, 62-63; in second display area 20B (second section) includes popup information 31 (sets of image information) that indicate title, date associated with images displayed in the first display area 20A; in second display area 20B the cells are arranged according to time axis horizontally (chronological order) in association with genres as item of interest such as “sports”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Azuma to provide display of image and image information using first and second display sections
The motivation to combine the references is to provide image content search and display system that provides visually to the user volume of image contents and simultaneously display images and associated image information such as title, dates for images of interest such as genre associated with the search (paragraph 7-9, 41).
Regarding claim 22, see rejection of claim 3.
Regarding claim 27, Huang discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 26, wherein the operations further comprise: wherein the user location is a location from a portable device carried by a user (paragraph 4, 118, 187; GPS module of mobile terminal of user provides location), and wherein the user preference of image information includes a criterion defining at least one characteristic of images (paragraph 209-212, 375; user personalization preference includes resolution of image (characteristic) as criteria for filtering AR content). Further Azuma discloses wherein the customized user interface includes a first section and a second section (paragraph 31; Fig. 3 displays custom GUI for images; the display unit 5 (user interface) includes first display area 20A and second display area 20B (first/second section)), wherein the first section includes images associating with the one or more items of interests in a chronological order (paragraph 36-37, 43, 49 (“chronological amount of content”), 64-65; Fig. 4 displays in the first display area 20A images in chronological order from left to right; paragraph 42-43; images associated with genre such as “sports” as item of interest), and wherein the second section includes the one or more sets of image information associated with the images associating with the one or more items of interests in the chronological order (paragraph 39, 43, 47, 62-63; in second display area 20B (second section) includes popup information 31 (sets of image information) that indicate title, date associated with images displayed in the first display area 20A; in second display area 20B the cells are arranged according to time axis horizontally (chronological order) in association with genres as item of interest such as “sports”).
Claim(s) 6, 9, 21, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140120887 to Huang in view of US 20230169625 to Kumar further in view of US 20100053441 to Tokashiki further in view of US 20150248783 to Fayle further in view of Official Notice.
Regarding claim 6, Huang does not disclose the method of claim 1, wherein the user interface includes a first section and a second section, wherein the first section is configured to display images associated with the one or more items of interest.
Fayle discloses wherein the user interface includes a first section and a second section, wherein the first section is configured to display images associated with the one or more items of interest (paragraph 14, 57, 61; Fig. 3C display interface having first section for displaying images F1a-F3a having dates associated with descriptor interest and remaining section (second section)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Fayle to provide first/second section in the user interface.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide thumbnail images as representative images to be displayed in the user interface to reduce the amount display space needed to display images and also minimize bandwidth associated with downloading images by providing thumbnail version of images (paragraph 15, 20).
Fayle does not specifically order the images in chronology order.
However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that ordering images in chronological order is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By ordering the images in chronological order on display user can efficiently search images based on their chronological order such as date of capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fayle to display images in chronological order wherein such ordering can result in efficient searching and analysis of images in order of capturing date.
Regarding claim 9, Fayle discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the action associated with the one or more sets of image information includes at least one of the following: adding a comment or tag, providing an edit, and saving the image information at the client device (paragraph 90; user can attach comment to the images).
Regarding claim 21, Fayle discloses the computing system of claim 20, wherein the user location is a location from a portable device carried by a user (paragraph 50-51; portable communication system carried by user includes module 148 having GPS for providing user location), and wherein the action associated with the one or more sets of image information includes at least one of the following: adding a comment or tag, providing an edit, and saving the image information at the client device (paragraph 90; user can attach comment to the images).
Regarding claim 29, Kumar discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 26, wherein the operations further comprise: wherein the one or more items of interests include a historic building (paragraph 16; region of interest includes historical buildings in the target image), and Fayle discloses wherein the action associated with the one or more sets of image information includes at least one of the following: adding a comment or tag, providing an edit, and saving the image information at the client device (paragraph 90; user can attach comment to the images).
Claim(s) 5, 24, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140120887 to Huang in view of US 20230169625 to Kumar further in view of US 20100053441 to Tokashiki further in view of JP 2016174290 to Yoshida.
Regarding claim 5, Kumar discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the one or more sets of image information include a set of images in a order (see Fig. 4a wherein the images P1, P2, P3 are arranged in order from left to right next to target image T; paragraph 28, 31). Huang in view of Kumar does not specifically order them in chronology order. However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that ordering images in chronological order is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By ordering the images in chronological order on display user can efficiently search images based on their chronological order such as date of capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to display images in chronological order wherein such ordering can result in efficient searching and analysis of images in order of capturing date.
However Huang does not disclose wherein the method further comprises comparing a current image captured by the client device with the set of images.
Yoshida discloses wherein the method further comprises comparing a current image captured by the client device with the set of images (paragraph 26; comparing of captured image by mobile device with acquired images from server).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Yoshida to provide comparison of set of images with captured images.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide playback of video data in AR environment when there is correspondence between captured images and image sets received from server thereby providing entertainment for the user in terms of video image overlaid on the image of the printout on the camera (paragraph 29, 47, 75-76).
Regarding claim 24, Kumar discloses the computing system of claim 20, wherein the one or more sets of image information include a set of images in a order (see Fig. 4a wherein the images P1, P2, P3 are arranged in order from left to right next to target image T; paragraph 28, 31). Further Yoshida discloses wherein the process further comprises comparing a current image captured by the client device with the set of images (paragraph 26; comparing of captured image by mobile device with acquired images from server).
Huang in view of Kumar does not specifically order them in chronology order. However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that ordering images in chronological order is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By ordering the images in chronological order on display user can efficiently search images based on their chronological order such as date of capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fayle to display images in chronological order wherein such ordering can result in efficient searching and analysis of images in order of capturing date.
Regarding claim 28, Kumar discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 26, wherein the operations further comprise: wherein the one or more sets of image information include a set of images in a order (see Fig. 4a wherein the images P1, P2, P3 are arranged in order from left to right next to target image T; paragraph 28, 31). Further Yoshida discloses wherein the operations further comprise comparing a current image captured by the client device with the set of images(paragraph 26; comparing of captured image by mobile device with acquired images from server).Huang in view of Kumar does not specifically order them in chronology order. However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that ordering images in chronological order is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By ordering the images in chronological order on display user can efficiently search images based on their chronological order such as date of capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Huang to display images in chronological order wherein such ordering can result in efficient searching and analysis of images in order of capturing date.
Claim(s) 7, 8, 25, 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140120887 to Huang in view of US 20230169625 to Kumar further in view of US 20100053441 to Tokashiki further in view of US 20150248783 to Fayle further in view of Official Notice further in view of CN 113849734 to Ma.
Regarding claim 7, Huang does not disclose the method of claim 6, wherein the second section is configured to display information associated with the images in the chronological order.
Ma discloses wherein the second section is configured to display information associated with the images in the chronological order (paragraph n0030, n0071, n0075; third area (second section) includes comments (information associated) with images in first area arranged in timeline (chronological order)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to modify the system of Huang as taught by Ma to provide arrangement for displaying image related information on display interface.
The motivation to combine the references is to provide enhancement in terms of how the user can interact with the displayed images by adding comments that also allow user to acquire additional information about the images (paragraph 45, 90).
Regarding claim 8, Ma discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the information associated with the images includes at least one of the following: a description, al ink, a source, a comment, and metadata (paragraph n0030, n0071, n0075; third area (second section) includes comments (information associated) with images in first area arranged in timeline (chronological order)).
Regarding claim 25, Fayle discloses the computing system of claim 20, wherein the user interface includes a first section and a second section, wherein the first section is configured to display images associated with the one or more items of interest (paragraph 14, 57, 61; Fig. 3C display interface having first section for displaying images F1a-F3a having dates associated with descriptor interest and remaining section (second section)). Further Ma discloses wherein the second section is configured to display information associated with the images in the chronological order (paragraph n0030, n0071, n0075; third area (second section) includes comments (information associated) with images in first area arranged in timeline (chronological order)), and wherein the information associated with the images includes at least one of the following: a description, al ink, a source, a comment, and metadata (paragraph n0030, n0071, n0075; third area (second section) includes comments (information associated) with images in first area arranged in timeline (chronological order)).
Fayle does not specifically order them in chronology order. However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that ordering images in chronological order is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By ordering the images in chronological order on display user can efficiently search images based on their chronological order such as date of capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fayle to display images in chronological order wherein such ordering can result in efficient searching and analysis of images in order of capturing date.
Regarding claim 30, Fayle discloses the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 26, wherein the operations further comprise: wherein the user interface includes a first section and a second section, wherein the first section is configured to display images associated with the one or more items of interest (paragraph 14, 57, 61; Fig. 3C display interface having first section for displaying images F1a-F3a having dates associated with descriptor interest and remaining section (second section)). Further Ma discloses wherein the second section is configured to display information associated with the images in the chronological order(paragraph n0030, n0071, n0075; third area (second section) includes comments (information associated) with images in first area arranged in timeline (chronological order)), and wherein the information associated with the images includes at least one of the following: a description, al ink, a source, a comment, and metadata (paragraph n0030, n0071, n0075; third area (second section) includes comments (information associated) with images in first area arranged in timeline (chronological order)). Fayle does not specifically order them in chronology order.
However Examiner is taking Official Notice of fact that ordering images in chronological order is notoriously well known in the art before the invention was effectively filed. By ordering the images in chronological order on display user can efficiently search images based on their chronological order such as date of capturing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fayle to display images in chronological order wherein such ordering can result in efficient searching and analysis of images in order of capturing date.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the customer service office whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600. The group receptionist number for TC 2600 is (571) 272-2600.
For more information about the PAIR system, see <http://pair-direct.uspto.gov/>. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Patent Examiner
Beniyam Menberu
/BENIYAM MENBERU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681
08/18/2026