DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination filed on January 26, 2026 in response to the Final Office Action mailed on November 24, 2025 have been received and amendments have been entered. Claim 1 have been amended and include the limitations of claim 14, which have been cancelled. Claim 21 have been added. Claims 1-13 and 15-21 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Claim 1 rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1).
Applicant argues that the applied references fail to tech the recited limitations on amended claim 1 [Remarks p. 8-13]. Applicant argues that Flannery was applied as disclosing a support structure 70 having an inner supporting space 77 able to accommodate the flexible duct 50 (Figs. 7, 8 and 9), and able provide both the cooling unit insertion groove and the sequential arrangement of one side structure unit, a first set of the plurality of battery cells, the cooling unit, a second set of the plurality of battery cells and another side structure unit of claim 1 (pages 6-9 of the Office Action). However, the inner support space 77 of the support structure 70 is formed to have a curve that would accommodate the curved section of the flexible tube 50. Thus, Flannery does not provide that the inlet/outlet 52/54 are on opposite sides of the inner support space 77 of the support structure 70 [Remarks p. 11 and 12].
Applicant's arguments filed on January 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Reasons are explained below.
Regarding applicant’s arguments, it was acknowledged on the Final Office Action (p. 5-8), that Sekine fail to disclose the limitation “side structure units configured to accommodate the cooling unit and the plurality of battery cells, wherein one side structure unit, a first set of the plurality of battery cells, the cooling unit, a second set of the plurality of battery cells and another side structure unit are coupled to be sequentially arranged in the named order along a width direction of the battery pack, and wherein at least one of the one side structure unit and the another side structure unit includes a cooling unit insertion groove to accommodate an end of the cooling unit, the cooling unit insertion groove being provided at one end of the one side structure unit or the another side structure unit in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack”, because its taught cooling pipe (5) (cooling unit) is on the inner part of the cooling frame (3).
From Flannery applied teachings, which not rely on support structure 70 having an inner supporting space 77 able to accommodate the flexible duct 50 (Figs. 7, 8 and 9) features [see pages 6-8], a thermal management system for a battery pack (21), which comprises a plurality of battery cells (30) was taught [p. 11; line 11-19] (same field of endeavor of Sekine). Flannery thermal management system employed flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) fitted with an inlet (52) and an outlet (54) configured to allow coolant to flow through the duct [p.14; line 32-34 and Fig. 9], positioned proximally to the surface of at least one of the one or more cells (30) such that heat can be exchanged between the flexible duct (50) (cooling unit) and at least one of the one or more cells (30) [p. 11; line 14-17]. Flannery teaches that different duct geometries are possible and can be used to implement the invention, which include one or more substantially straight ducts and/or parallel ducts [p. 2; line 7-8].
If the cooling frames (3)/cooling pipe (5) of Sekine (Fig. 7) are each replaced by one straight flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) fitted with an inlet (52) and an outlet (54) (in the same orientation), respectively, and the joint of the single-sided support frames (2 and 4) with the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure units) of Sekine is adapted to receive the inlet and outlet of such flexible ducts (insertion groove), the feature “a cooling unit disposed at a second side of the bus bar assembly and arranged between the plurality of battery cells along a longitudinal direction of the battery pack” would still be fulfilled. In addition, from Sekine’s Fig. 7, the single-sided support frames (2 and 4) (side structure units) will accommodate the straight flexible ducts (50) (cooling unit analogous), interposed by a double-sided support frame (40) (side unit analogous), and the plurality of battery cells. With this referred configuration the feature “wherein one side structure unit, a first set of the plurality of battery cells, the cooling unit, a second set of the plurality of battery cells and another side structure unit are coupled to be sequentially arranged in the named order along a width direction of the battery pack” is met. Because of this configuration the feature “wherein at least one of the one side structure unit and the another side structure unit includes a cooling unit insertion groove to accommodate an end of the cooling unit, the cooling unit insertion groove being provided at one end of the one side structure unit or the another side structure unit in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack” can be considered met.
From Sekine Fig. 7 modified configuration the feature “wherein the cooling unit extends through the cooling unit insertion groove so that the cooling fluid inlet/outlet portion is located on a first side of the cooling unit insertion groove and the cooling tube is located on a second side of the cooling unit insertion groove” would be met if the inner part (battery side) of the configuration is selected as the second side of the cooling insertion groove.
Because of the reasons above, the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) is maintained.
Because of the direct or indirect dependency of claims 2-13 and 15-20 on claim 1, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of these claims are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 11, 12, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Sekine teaches a battery pack (1) comprising plurality of cylindrical unit cells (8) (plurality of battery cells), a busbar assembly (6b and 7b) having an upper (first) and a lower (second) side, which is connected to the upper (first) side cylindrical unit cells (8) (considering only the upper bus bars 7b). The battery pack (1) further comprises a support cooling frame (3) disposed at the lower (second) side of the bus bar assembly and arranged between the cylindrical unit cells (8) (plurality of battery cells) along a longitudinal direction of the battery pack and a pair of single-sided support frames (2 and 4) (side structure units) [0025, 0028 and Fig. 3]. From the bus bar description, the feature where the bus bar assembly is “electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells” is inferred.
On Fig. 7 an embodiment comprising two cooling frames (3)/cooling pipe (5) (cooling units) interposed by a double-sided support frame (40) (side unit analogous) and having a pair of single-sided support frames (2 and 4) (side structure units) on it ends is presented [0055 and Fig. 7].
The cooling frame (3) comprises a cooling pipe (5) (cooling unit) penetrating in the longitudinal direction of the cooling frame (3) [0032 and Fig. 2-4]. From this configuration, the feature “a cooling unit disposed at a second side of the bus bar assembly and arranged between the plurality of battery cells along a longitudinal direction of the battery pack” is met.
Given that the cooling pipe (5) (cooling unit) is on the inner part of the cooling frame (3), Sekine does not teach the feature “wherein at least one of the one side structure unit and the another side structure unit includes a cooling unit insertion groove to accommodate an end of the cooling unit, the cooling unit insertion groove being provided at one end of the one side structure unit or the another side structure unit in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack and wherein the cooling unit extends through the cooling unit insertion groove so that the cooling fluid inlet/outlet portion is located on a first side of the cooling unit insertion groove and the cooling tube is located on a second side of the cooling unit insertion groove”.
Flannery teaches a thermal management system for a battery pack (21), which comprises a plurality of battery cells (30) [p. 11; line 11-19]. The lower and upper clamshells 20, 80 include bus bars that connect the individual cells (30) electrically to create the battery pack (21) (same field of endeavor of Sekine) [p. 12; line1-3 and Fig. 2-3]. The battery pack (21) further comprises a flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) positioned proximally to the surface of at least one of the one or more cells (30) such that heat can be exchanged between the flexible duct (50) (cooling unit) and at least one of the one or more cells (30) [p. 11; line 14-17]. The flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) is fitted with an inlet (52) and an outlet (54) configured to allow coolant to flow through the duct [p.14; line 32-34 and Fig. 9]. Flannery teaches that different duct geometries are possible and can be used to implement the invention, which include one or more substantially straight ducts and/or parallel ducts [p. 2; line 7-8]. From Fig. 2 is observed that the side wall (92) has openings for receiving the flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) inlet and outlet, therefore as shown on Fig. 11 and 12, in the case of employing a straight duct, the side wall (92) and its counterpart should have the corresponding openings. Because the side wall (92) and its counterpart, help to contain the flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) and the battery cells, they can be considered side structure unit analogous. It is taught that by employing the flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) taught by Flannery and the respective housing openings, the coolant flowrate can be adjusted to maintain the temperature of the battery pack (21) and an external heat exchanger can dissipate thermal energy from the coolant when the battery pack (21) requires cooling [p. 11; line 36-39].
If the cooling frames (3)/cooling pipe (5) of Sekine (Fig. 7) are each replaced by one straight flexible duct (50) (cooling unit analogous) fitted with an inlet (52) and an outlet (54) (in the same orientation), respectively, and the joint of the single-sided support frames (2 and 4) with the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure units) of Sekine is adapted to receive the inlet and outlet of such flexible ducts (insertion groove), the feature “a cooling unit disposed at a second side of the bus bar assembly and arranged between the plurality of battery cells along a longitudinal direction of the battery pack” would still be fulfilled. In addition, from Sekine’s Fig. 7, the single-sided support frames (2 and 4) (side structure units) will accommodate the straight flexible ducts (50) (cooling unit analogous), interposed by a double-sided support frame (40) (side unit analogous), and the plurality of battery cells. With this referred configuration the feature “wherein one side structure unit, a first set of the plurality of battery cells, the cooling unit, a second set of the plurality of battery cells and another side structure unit are coupled to be sequentially arranged in the named order along a width direction of the battery pack” is met. Because of this configuration the feature “wherein at least one of the one side structure unit and the another side structure unit includes a cooling unit insertion groove to accommodate an end of the cooling unit, the cooling unit insertion groove being provided at one end of the one side structure unit or the another side structure unit in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack” can be considered met.
From Sekine Fig. 7 modified configuration the feature “wherein the cooling unit extends through the cooling unit insertion groove so that the cooling fluid inlet/outlet portion is located on a first side of the cooling unit insertion groove and the cooling tube is located on a second side of the cooling unit insertion groove” would be met if the inner part of the configuration is selected as the second side of the cooling insertion groove.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the cooling frames (3)/cooling pipe (5) (cooling unit) and modify the joint of the single-sided support frames (2 and 4) with the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure units) of the battery pack of Sekine to meet the feature “wherein at least one of the one side structure unit and the another side structure unit includes a cooling unit insertion groove to accommodate an end of the cooling unit, the cooling unit insertion groove being provided at one end of the one side structure unit or the another side structure unit in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack and wherein the cooling unit extends through the cooling unit insertion groove so that the cooling fluid inlet/outlet portion is located on a first side of the cooling unit insertion groove and the cooling tube is located on a second side of the cooling unit insertion groove”, because Flannery teaches that by employing the flexible ducts (50) (cooling unit analogous) with the taught features and the respective housing openings, the coolant flowrate can be adjusted to maintain the temperature of the battery pack and an external heat exchanger can dissipate thermal energy from the coolant when the battery pack requires cooling.
Regarding claim 2, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. From Sekine’s Fig. 7 the single-sided support frames (2 and 4) and the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure units) can be said to have a “main plate formed to have a predetermined length along the longitudinal direction of the battery pack” and its end portions can be considered “a pair of end plates configured to accommodate and support the plurality of battery cells together with the main plate and provided at both outermost sides of the at least one side structure unit”.
Regarding claim 3, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2. From the discussion of claim 2 (relying on claim 1) the feature “wherein the main plate is provided in plural, and the plurality of main plates accommodate the plurality of battery cells to be arranged in two rows along the width direction of the battery pack” is met.
Regarding claim 4, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2. The main plate of the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure unit) met the feature “a first accommodation portion disposed at a first side of the main plate and configured to accommodate the first set of the plurality of battery cells arranged along the longitudinal direction of the battery pack; and a second accommodation portion disposed at a second side of the main plate, which is opposite to the first accommodation portion, and configured to accommodate the second set of the plurality of battery cells arranged along the longitudinal direction of the battery pack”.
Regarding claim 5, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 4. From the visual scheme of the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure unit) [Sekine’s Fig. 7], its main plate analogous met the limitation “wherein the first accommodation portion and the second accommodation portion are provided to have a concave shape corresponding to an outer surface of the plurality of battery cells and are configured to partially surround the outer surface of the plurality of battery cells”.
Regarding claim 7, Sekine and Flannery teaches all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Sekine further teaches that that the support frames (2) and (4) (side structure units) are made of a material having good heat transfer properties, for example, aluminum and a resin (filling member) and are formed by die casting or mold molding. In addition, side plates (6 and 7) (top and bottom plates) are made of an insulating material, for example, a resin, and are molded [0029 and Fig. 2-3]. By this teaching the limitation “a filling member configured to form an outer surface of the battery pack” can be considered met.
The cylindrical outer peripheral surface of the unit cells (8) (battery cells) is covered with a resin sheet (filling member), being in close contact with the support frames (2 and 4) (side structure units) housing grooves (2 d and 4d) [0030]. From this description, the feature where the filling member is “being filled in a space between the cooling unit and the plurality of battery cells” is met.
Regarding claim 11, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 7. Sekine further teaches that the cylindrical outer peripheral surface of the unit cells (8) (battery cells) is covered with a resin sheet (filling member) [0030]. From this teaching it can be inferred that there is no gap between the unit cells (8) (battery cells) and the terminal bus bars 6b and 7b (bus bar assembly) [0028]. The continuity and longitudinal direction feature can be inferred from Fig. 3.
Regarding claim 12, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 7. Sekine further teaches that the cylindrical outer peripheral surface of the unit cells (8) (battery cells) is covered with a resin sheet (filling member), being in close contact with the cooling frame (3) (cooling unit and main plate analogous) grooves (3 d) [0030]. Because the cooling frames (3) was replaced by the straight flexible ducts taught by Flannery, the feature “wherein the filling member is filled in a portion other than an outer side of a side surface of the at least one side structure unit” is met by the description above.
Regarding claim 18, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1. Sekine further teaches a housing (10) (battery pack case structure) which can comprise a plurality of battery packs (1) [0035 and 0036].
Regarding claim 19, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 18. Sekine further teaches that when the battery pack (1) shown in Fig. 2-4 is used as an in-vehicle power storage device for an electric vehicle or a hybrid electric vehicle, the battery pack (1) is used as an assembled battery assembly in which a plurality of battery packs (1) are assembled [0035]. On Fig. 1, the feature “wherein a longitudinal direction of the at least one battery pack is arranged approximately perpendicular to a length direction of the vehicle” can be observed by the position of the power storage device (211). Therefore the feature “so that the side structure units provide protection to the plurality of battery cells during a front or rear collision of the vehicle” can be considered met as a result of the power storage device (211) position on the vehicle.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, further in view of Itoh, S. (WO 2011149075 A1, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 6, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 4 except “wherein the second accommodation portion is alternately arranged with the first accommodation portion from the first side to the second side of the main plate”.
Itoh teaches a spacer (100) of a battery pack module having a plurality of housing portions (103a and 103b) for housing a plurality of unit cells [0026 and Fig. 1]. The spacer (100) is analogous to the double-sided support frame (40) (side structure unit) taught by Flannery and it is on the same field of endeavor of Sekine. The spacer (100) has the battery accommodating portions at seven locations are formed at four locations on the right side, three locations on the left side, and staggered positions [0028 and Fig. 1B]. It is taught that as result of the spacer (100) configuration, the unit cells accommodated in each of the battery accommodating portions can be disposed at equal intervals.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack double-sided support frame (40) (side structure unit) of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature where “the second accommodation portion is alternately arranged with the first accommodation portion from the first side to the second side of the main plate”, because Itoh teaches that it results in the unit cells accommodated in each of the battery accommodating portions being disposed at equal intervals.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Haino et al. (WO 2017110036 A1, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 8, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 7, except “wherein the filling member is made of a potting resin”.
Haino teaches a battery pack including a battery assembly (10) in which a plurality of battery cells (1) are housed in a battery holder (2) (same field of endeavor of Sekine) [0008]. As part of the manufacturing process, a potting resin (8) (filling member) is filled between the waterproof container (3) (hard waterproof container designed in advance so as to form a certain gap around the battery assembly (10)) and the battery assembly (10) [0019]. It is taught that the potting resin can be uniformly brought into close contact with the plurality of batteries, and the heat of the battery can be uniformly and reliably dissipated, and the fire prevention effect can be improved [0009].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature: “wherein the filling member is made of a potting resin”, because Haino teaches that the potting resin can be uniformly brought into close contact with the plurality of batteries, and the heat of the battery can be uniformly and reliably dissipated, and the fire prevention effect can be improved.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) further in view of Haino et al. (WO 2017110036 A1, see machine translation for citation) as applied to claim 8 above, further in view of Xue, Y., et al. (Materials & Design 165 (2019): 107580, see NPL documents for citation).
Regarding claim 9, Sekine, Flannery and Haino teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 8, except “wherein the filling member is made of a silicon resin”.
Xue teaches that with the rapid development of electronic technology, effective heat dissipation has become significant for electronic devices (same field of endeavor of Sekine). Silicone rubber is one of the most commonly used substrates in the conventional flexible thermal interface materials required in electrical insulating field (filling member feature included) [p. 1; par. 1, p. 2; par. 2]. The reasons for employing the silicone rubber are its excellent high and low temperature resistance, thermal stability and electrical insulation properties [p. 2; par. 2].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine, Flannery and Haino to include the feature: “wherein the filling member is made of a silicon resin”, because Xue teaches silicone resin as one of the most common employed thermal interface materials forth electrical insulation field due to its excellent high and low temperature resistance, thermal stability and electrical insulation properties.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Kawakami et al. (US 20200076022 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 7, except “wherein the filling member is filled in the bus bar assembly to cover the first side of the bus bar assembly”.
Kawakami teaches a battery pack comprising a plurality of batteries (1) and a bus bar (3) fixed to the electrode terminals of the batteries (1) (same field of endeavor of Sekine) [0009]. According to one aspect of its invention, a heat insulating member (8) is on a whole surface of the bus bar (3). Especially if the heat insulating member is made of a potting resin (filling member), surfaces of the fuse links and surfaces of the fixed terminals are uniformly covered by applying the potting resin on a whole surface of the bus bar (3) (first side) [0019-0020 and Fig. 2]. By this approach the manufacturing time is reduced, and the heat insulating member covers the plurality of fuse links and the fixed terminals of the bus bar (3). When an overcurrent flows through fuse links (3C), heat generated by fuse links (3C) is not released to outside, and thus surely increases a temperature, and melts fuse links (3C) [par. 0020 and 0065].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature: “wherein the filling member is filled in the bus bar assembly to cover the first side of the bus bar assembly”, because Kawakami teaches that by this approach the manufacturing time is reduced, and the heat insulating member covers the plurality of fuse links and the fixed terminals of the bus bar, preventing heat release to the outside when an overcurrent flows through fuse links.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Chan et al. (US 20160172727 A1) and evidenced by Lee et al. (WO 2018124494 A2, see machine translation for citation).
Regarding claim 13, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein the bus bar assembly includes: main bus bar units electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells located at an outermost side in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack; and a connection bus bar unit disposed between the main bus bar units in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells”.
Chan teaches a battery module (40) (battery pack) in which certain embodiments include a bus bar assembly analogous comprising a top circuit board (101) (connection bus bar unit ) having an inner top circuit board (111) (main bus bar units) with metal leads (121) to make physical contact (by its bottom/second side) with the top electrical terminals (first side) of the batteries (41) (plurality of battery cells) in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack (same field of endeavor of Sekine) [0045 and Fig. 12A]. It is taught that the circuit board (101) is mounted on top of, and in electrical contact with, circuit board (111) to convey current from or to an external connector that provides power from the battery module to a vehicle [0045]. From Lee’s work it is taught that because a plurality of battery cells are electrically connected to the busbar (assembly), the parallel/serial connection configuration of the battery may be freely changed, and thus the battery capacity may be freely changed according to the vehicle package, and the number of bonding processes may be reduced compared to the method of connecting the battery cells to each other [0035].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature: “wherein the bus bar assembly includes: main bus bar units electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells located at an outermost side in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack; and a connection bus bar unit disposed between the main bus bar units in the longitudinal direction of the battery pack and electrically connected to the plurality of battery cells”, because Chan teaches a busbar assembly with the referred features capable to convey current from or to an external connector that provides power from the battery module to a vehicle and Lee teaches that by these connections the parallel/serial connection configuration of the battery may be freely changed, and thus the battery capacity may be freely changed according to the vehicle package, and the number of bonding processes may be reduced compared to the method of connecting the battery cells to each other.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, further in view of Kang et al. (US 20200274117 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 2, except where the battery pack further comprises “a voltage bus bar unit mounted along ends of main plates of the side structure units along the width direction of the battery pack, and to carry current from the plurality of battery cells to an outside”
Kang teaches a battery pack (1) comprising a plurality of battery cells (10), a circuit board (200) and bus bars (101 and 102) (voltage bus bars) (same field of endeavor of Sekine). The bus bars (101 and 102) are located on extreme ends of the width direction (D1) of the battery array and are analogous to the side plates in the length direction (D2) [0036, 0049 and Fig. 1, 2, 5-7]. The feature “to carry current from the plurality of battery cells to the outside” is inferred for this arrangements. According to the referred features the bus bars (101 and 102) may be respectively connected to different first and second polarities (e.g. positive and negative electrodes) of each battery module (M) through the first and second connection holes (201 and 202), forming in this way a charge/discharge path between the connection holes of the circuit board (200) and the output terminal (T) [0048].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature: “a voltage bus bar unit mounted along ends of main plates of the side structure units along the width direction of the battery pack, and to carry current from the plurality of battery cells to the outside”, because Kang teaches that according with the referred features the bus bars may be respectively connected to different first and second polarities (e.g. positive and negative electrodes) of different battery modules, forming in this way a charge/discharge path between the connection holes of a circuit board and the output terminal.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) and Kang et al. (US 20200274117 A1) as applied to claim 15 above, further in view of Choi et al. (US 20190001838 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Sekine, Flannery and Kang teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 15, except “wherein the voltage bus bar unit comprises: a first voltage line portion and a second voltage line portion arranged in parallel; a connection line portion extending from the first voltage line portion to the second voltage line portion; and a pair of connector mounting portions located on opposite ends of the voltage bus bar unit”.
Choi teaches a battery module (10) including a bus bar unit integrated module (200) (voltage bus bar) having a first and second bus bar frame (210 and 230) (same field of endeavor of Sekine). The first busbar frame (210) has a top section (first voltage line analogous) and a bus bar mounting portion (212) (second voltage line portion), arranged in parallel, and connected by a first bus bar (220). The first busbar frame (210) has two connectors located on opposite ends of the frame [0040, 0046, 0047, 0050 and Fig. 2-3]. The second bus bar frame (230) has the same features of the first one. It is taught that according to this invention, if any one of the first bus bar frame (210) and the second bus bar frame (230) is mounted to the plurality of battery cells (100), the other one of the first bus bar frame (210) and the second bus bar frame (230) may be slidably mounted along the front and rear directions of the plurality of battery cells (100). This may greatly improve the assembling efficiency of the battery module (10) by using the bus bar unit (200) which is prepared as an integrated module [0075, 0081 and Fig. 9-10].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine, Flannery and Kang to include the feature: “wherein the voltage bus bar unit comprises: a first voltage line portion and a second voltage line portion arranged in parallel; a connection line portion extending from the first voltage line portion to the second voltage line portion; and a pair of connector mounting portions located on opposite ends of the voltage bus bar unit”, because Choi teaches that with this feature a first bus bar frame and the second bus bar frame may be slidably mounted along the front and rear directions of the plurality of battery cells, greatly improve the assembling efficiency of the battery module, when the bus bar unit (voltage bus bar) is prepared as an integrated module.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Uehara et al. (US 20140017531 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein the plurality of battery cells are in compression in a height direction of a cylindrical can of each of the plurality of battery cells”.
Uehara teaches a battery pack according to a first aspect of his invention, where a plurality of cylindrical batteries (11) (same field of endeavor of Sekine) are sandwiched (compression) between a first and second external case (12A and 12B) which comprises a plurality of cylindrical storage sections (13). The compression is made on the height direction of the cylindrical cans [0010 and Fig. 6]. Accordingly, this eliminates a double structure in which the battery holder is stored in the external case, while the unit cells are held with a conventional battery holder, whereby the external case can directly hold the unit cells. Accordingly, the number of components can be reduced, which contribute to reduction in costs and weight. In addition, it is possible to provide a gap between the battery storage sections, thereby improving the heat radiation of the unit cells [0010].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature: “wherein the plurality of battery cells are in compression in a height direction of a cylindrical can of each of the plurality of battery cells”, because Uehara teaches an approach which met this feature and that by its approach the number of components can be reduced, which contributes to reduction in costs and weight and the heat radiation of the unit cells may be improved if gaps are provided between the battery storage sections.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Baker et al. (US 20190119021 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein a height of the side structure units is greater than a height of the plurality of battery cells”.
Baker teaches several embodiments of battery packages directed to provide a proper storage [0003]. On Fig. 18, a package (200) is taught comprising two recessed central portions (256) configured to receive batteries, having a back wall (260) and a sidewall (262) that extends between the back wall (260) and the perimeter flange (258) [0071]. The back wall (260) includes a plurality of bays (264) , each having a surface with a curved, partially cylindrical configuration, each bay (264) extending in a parallel direction along a longitudinal axis L of the package (200) [0072]. From the description above is reasonably to state that the central portion (256) is analogous to the single-sided support frames (2) and (4) (side structure units) of Sekine as taught for claim 1, but at a smaller scale. It is further taught that a length (height) of the bays (264) (side structure analogous) between end walls (266) thereof can be sized the same as or sized to be slightly larger, about 1-5 mm or 1-3 mm, larger than a length of the batteries intended to be received therein [0072]. This length (height) feature is taught to cooperate in the battery’s movement restriction, which advantageously aids in preventing terminals of the batteries from contacting one another when contained within the package [0072].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to include the feature wherein a height of the side structure units is greater than a height of the plurality of battery cells”, because Baker teaches this feature with an analogous structure and that it may cooperate in the battery’s movement restriction, which advantageously aids in preventing terminals of the batteries from contacting one another when contained within the package.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekine, A. (JP 2012009388 A, see machine translation for citation) in view of Flannery, B. (WO 2020094365 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Ryu et al. (EP 3637494 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Sekine and Flannery teach all the elements of the current invention in claim 1, except “wherein the plurality of battery cells each include a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal at the first side of the plurality of the battery cells, and wherein the second side of the bus bar assembly faces the first side of the plurality of the battery cells having the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal”.
Ryu teaches a cylindrical battery cell (100) including a battery case (130), an electrode assembly (120) and a cap assembly (140) [0039 and Fig. 3]. The cylindrical battery cells (100) can be included as part of a battery module (1000) [0121 and Fig. 11]. The cylindrical battery cell (100) of Ryu is on the same field of endeavor of Sekine battery unit cells (8). The top outer circumference of the cylindrical battery cell 100 may be formed as the first electrode terminal (111) and the second electrode terminal (112) may be formed at the top surface of the top cap (141) of the cap assembly (140) [0049, 0051 and Fig. 3]. Ryu teaches that since the cylindrical battery cell of the present disclosure includes a connection cap having a first connection plate and a second connection plate, it is possible to smoothly perform the welding process for electrically connecting the electrode terminal and the bus bar, which may not only increase the efficiency of the manufacturing process but also reduce the defective rate effectively, thereby resultantly reducing the manufacturing cost [0028-0029].
If the cylindrical unit cells (8) of Sekine are replaced by the cylindrical battery cells (100) of Ryu and they are oriented with its upper part facing the upper bus bars 7b, the claimed limitation would be met because both the first and the second electrode terminals would be located on the upper side (first side).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the cylindrical unit cells of the battery pack of Sekine and Flannery to meet the feature “wherein the plurality of battery cells each include a first electrode terminal and a second electrode terminal at the first side of the plurality of the battery cells, and wherein the second side of the bus bar assembly faces the first side of the plurality of the battery cells having the first electrode terminal and the second electrode terminal”, because Ryu teaches that by the referred feature it is possible to smoothly perform the welding process for electrically connecting the electrode terminal and the bus bar, which may not only increase the efficiency of the manufacturing process but also reduce the defective rate effectively, thereby resultantly reducing the manufacturing cost.
Conclusion
/G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 02/10/2026