DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments filed 03/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
3. Applicant argues the amended claim(s) 1 is/are allowable over Yoon et al. (US-20200062393-A1) in view of Bossert et al. (US-20110073707-A1). Applicant continues, independent claim 1 has been further amended to recite: "a processor disposed in the waterproof shroud, the processor configured to operate the UAV in a first mode comprising navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud, and in a second mode comprising navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.” Applicant submits that none of the cited references discloses the underline limitations above.
4. Indeed, these references do not explicitly teach the newly amended feature(s) above. As such, this amendment has necessitated additional reference Park et al. (KR-101845964-B1) which teaches, in brief, an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration, and more specifically, to an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration that flies to a desired location by remote control, lands on the water surface and drive in a desired direction, and explores the underwater environment after diving below the water surface by controlling buoyancy. By adjusting the buoyancy, the drone body (200) floats on the water surface or be submerged below the water surface. The buoyancy control device (300) is composed of a buoyancy housing (310) (Figs. 4-5, and [0001 & 0052]). Examiner notes, the drone body (200) is the waterproof shroud and a buoyancy housing (310) is the housing. As portrayed by Fig. 4 of Park (reproduced and annotated for Applicant’s convenience), the housing and the waterproof shroud are securely attached and the amphibious drone carries the housing when navigating through air or underwater. As such, Park teaches navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud and navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
Figure 1 - Annotated Fig. 4 of Park
5. As such, Yoon, in view of Bossert and Park, teaches each and every limitation of these claims and this argument is moot.
6. Applicant argues independent claim(s) 13, and 20 has/have been amended similar to independent claim 1 and it/they is/are allowable for reasons similar to those presented in favor of patentability of claim 1.
7. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
8. Applicant argues dependent claim(s) is/are patentable by the virtue of their dependency on one of the independent claims and the additional features recited in the dependent claims.
9. This argument is unpersuasive as each independent claim and dependent claim has been fully rejected and for the reasons given above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 10, 13, 17 and 20
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US-20200062393-A1) in view of Bossert et al. (US-20110073707-A1) and further in view of Park et al. (KR-101845964-B1).
In regards to claim 1
, Yoon teaches An unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV), comprising (Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3A-3B and 9, [0045] Figs. 1A and 1B portray an unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10):
a waterproof shroud ([0046] The core drone 100 is an aerial vehicle capable of flying in the air, a traveling vehicle capable of running on land, or an underwater vehicle capable of travelling in water. [0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. The protective cover 260 acts as the waterproof shroud. As mentioned above, the aerial vehicle is capable of operating underwater. As such, the aerial vehicle, must be inherently waterproof);
a propeller opening extending through the waterproof shroud ([0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. [0099] The protective cover 260 has a cylindrical or oval shape. One or more air holes are formed on the upper and lower portions of the protective cover 260 so that air can flow smoothly to the first propellers, first propellers 120 in Fig. 2A, of the first assembly. The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are arranged at positions corresponding respectively to propeller 1-1 (120a), propeller 1-2 (120b), propeller 1-3 (120c) and propeller 1-4 (120d) of the first assembly. The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are in the form of a lattice or a net. The air holes act as the propeller openings extending through the waterproof shroud);
a propeller coupled to the waterproof shroud and positioned within the propeller opening ([0099] The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are arranged at positions corresponding respectively to propeller 1-1 (120a), propeller 1-2 (120b), propeller 1-3 (120c) and propeller 1-4 (120d) of the first assembly. That is, the propellers are coupled to the waterproof shroud and positioned within the propeller opening);
a processor disposed in the waterproof shroud, ([0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. [0103] The housing 110 constitutes the body of the first assembly 100. The housing 110 includes control means such as a processor 111 and a navigation system 113) the processor configured to operate the UAV in a first mode comprising navigating the UAV through air shroud ([0137] At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 of the first assembly 100 controls the second propellers 220 for first mode, or flight mode, and at least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 controls the rotation of one or more screws for third mode, or underwater mode. Flight mode acts as the first mode and underwater mode acts as the second mode).
Yoon does not explicitly teach a housing separate from the waterproof shroud and securely attached to the waterproof shroud, the housing completely surrounding the waterproof shroud and configured to buoy the UAV in water;
navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud;
navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
However, Bossert teaches systems for launching unmanned aircraft from a marine vehicle. The unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 106 comprises an unmanned craft, such as a remotely controlled or an autonomously controlled aircraft. ([0013]-[0014]). The UAV 106 is launched into the air, into the water, or remain aboard a floatable housing 102. The floatable housing 102 comprises a container for moving the UAV 106 to be deployed to or near the water surface for deployment. The floatable housing 102 comprises any appropriate container, such as a watertight vessel. The floatable housing 102 at least partially encloses the UAV 106, to protect the UAV 106 from water intrusion and/or damage prior to launch. The floatable housing 102 comprises any system configured to house and launch the UAV 106 from at or near the surface of a body of water, such as a tube, a canister, or a box. The floatable housing 102 is also configured for placement in the water by various methods, including being dropped into the water from above or released while the marine vehicle 104 is in the water, partially submerged, or completely submerged ([0017]-[0018], Figs. 1-3). The floatable housing 102 is the housing separate from the waterproof shroud and securely attached to the waterproof shroud. Furthermore, Bossert mentions the floatable housing at least partially encloses the UAV 106. That is, Bossert suggests, the floatable housing is at least partially encloses the UAV or the floatable housing completely surrounding the UAV. As such, Bossert suggests the housing completely surrounding the waterproof shroud and configured to buoy the UAV in water.
Park teaches an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration, and more specifically, to an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration that flies to a desired location by remote control, lands on the water surface and drive in a desired direction, and explores the underwater environment after diving below the water surface by controlling buoyancy. By adjusting the buoyancy, the drone body (200) [i.e., waterproof shroud] floats on the water surface or be submerged below the water surface. The buoyancy control device (300) is composed of a buoyancy housing (310) [i.e., housing] (Figs. 4-5, and [0001 & 0052]). Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 4 of Park (reproduced and annotated for Applicant’s convenience), the housing and the waterproof shroud are securely attached and the amphibious drone carries the housing when navigating through air or underwater. As such, Park teaches navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud and navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, by incorporating the teachings of Bossert and Park, such that a floatable housing provides buoyancy for the UAV and the floatable housing encloses the UAV and housing stays attached when the drone navigates through air or underwater.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Bossert, to protect the UAV from water intrusion ([0019]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the UAV to be floated and protected.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Park, a drone boat capable of operating by raising a hull with a certain size of internal space to a certain vertical height above the water surface, which can very easily transport cargo or people through the water environment and also very easily perform rescue operations in the event of a water accident even in weather conditions such as bad weather ([0007]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the drone to be operated in conditions that regular drones cannot operate.
In regards to claim 6
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 1, further comprising a plurality of the propellers, wherein each of the propellers is configured to be controlled independently by the processor in speed and direction (Fig. 10, [0109] Electronic speed controls (ESCs) 121 and switches 123 are included between the housing 110 and the first motors 130. The ESCs 121 control the speed of the first motors 130 or the second motors 230 according to the control of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113. [0125] At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 is configured to automatically change the rotational direction of the first motors 130. As portrayed by Fig. 10 , each motor 1-1, 1-2, 1-3 and 1-4, has a dedicated Electronic speed controls (ESC) which controls the speed of its corresponding propellers and the rotational direction of the motors are controlled by the processor. The Electronic speed controls (ESC) are also controlled by the processor. That is, each of the propellers is controlled independently by the processor in speed and direction).
In regards to claim 7
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 6, wherein the UAV further comprises a camera configured to capture images and video ([0141] The first assembly 100 further includes a camera 1210. [0142] At least one camera 1210 is provided to capture a still image and a moving image).
In regards to claim 10
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 7, further comprising a global positioning system (GPS) coupled to the shroud ([0157] The first assembly 100 measures the position, the flight attitude, the angular velocity and the acceleration by use of the sensor unit 1240 and the GPS receiver. The information obtained through the sensor unit 1240 and the GPS receiver is used as basic information to generate a steering signal for navigation or auto-piloting of the first assembly 100. As mentioned above, the first assembly includes a GPS which encompasses a global positioning system (GPS) coupled to the shroud), an inertial measurement unit (IMU), (Fig. 12, [0145] The sensor unit 1240 calculates the attitude and position of the first assembly 100. The sensor unit 1240 measures a specific physical quantity or sense the operating state of the first assembly 100, and converts the measured or sensed information into an electrical signal. The sensor unit 1240 includes a gyro sensor, a barometer, a terrestrial magnetism sensor (e.g., compass sensor), an acceleration sensor, a proximity sensor, and an optical sensor. The gyro sensor acts as the IMU) and a memory containing a flight path ([0104] The processor 111 controls each function and operation of the first assembly 100. The navigation system 113 finds a flight path or traveling path of the first assembly 100. [0141] The first assembly 100 further includes a camera 1210, a flight driving unit 1220, a communication unit 1230, a sensor unit 1240, a memory 1250, and a battery 1260. To store and use the flight path, the system must store it in memory).
In regards to claim 13
, Yoon teaches A method of capturing images using an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3A-3B and 9, 11A-11B, [0127] Fig. 11A is a flowchart of a method for selectively driving the first motors of the first assembly or the second motors of the second assembly. [0141] The first assembly 100 further includes a camera 1210. [0142] At least one camera 1210 is provided to capture a still image and a moving image) comprising a waterproof shroud ([0046] The core drone 100 is an aerial vehicle capable of flying in the air, a traveling vehicle capable of running on land, or an underwater vehicle capable of travelling in water. [0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. The protective cover 260 acts as the waterproof shroud. As mentioned above, the aerial vehicle is capable of operating underwater. As such, the aerial vehicle, must be inherently waterproof), a processor disposed in the waterproof shroud ([0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. [0103] The housing 110 constitutes the body of the first assembly 100. The housing 110 includes control means such as a processor 111 and a navigation system 113), a propeller opening extending through the waterproof shroud ([0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. [0099] The protective cover 260 has a cylindrical or oval shape. One or more air holes are formed on the upper and lower portions of the protective cover 260 so that air can flow smoothly to the first propellers, first propellers 120 in Fig. 2A, of the first assembly. The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are arranged at positions corresponding respectively to propeller 1-1 (120a), propeller 1-2 (120b), propeller 1-3 (120c) and propeller 1-4 (120d) of the first assembly. The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are in the form of a lattice or a net. The air holes act as the propeller openings extending through the waterproof shroud), a propeller coupled to the waterproof shroud and positioned within the propeller opening ([0099] The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are arranged at positions corresponding respectively to propeller 1-1 (120a), propeller 1-2 (120b), propeller 1-3 (120c) and propeller 1-4 (120d) of the first assembly. That is, the propellers are coupled to the waterproof shroud and positioned within the propeller opening), the method comprising:
operating the UAV in a first mode comprising navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud ([0137] At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 of the first assembly 100 controls the second propellers 220 for first mode, or flight mode which is navigating through air);
switching the UAV from the first mode to a second mode ([0137] The user may manually change the mode between the first mode and the second mode through a switch. As mentioned above, the UAV is switched between modes which also encompasses switching from air to underwater mode); and
operating the UAV in the second mode comprising navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud ([0137] At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 controls the rotation of one or more screws for third mode, or underwater mode which is the second mode or navigating the UAV underwater).
Yoon does not explicitly teach a housing separate from the waterproof shroud and securely attached to the waterproof shroud, the housing completely surrounding the waterproof shroud and configured to buoy the UAV in water;
navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud;
navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
However, Bossert teaches systems for launching unmanned aircraft from a marine vehicle. The unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 106 comprises an unmanned craft, such as a remotely controlled or an autonomously controlled aircraft. ([0013]-[0014]). The UAV 106 is launched into the air, into the water, or remain aboard a floatable housing 102. The floatable housing 102 comprises a container for moving the UAV 106 to be deployed to or near the water surface for deployment. The floatable housing 102 comprises any appropriate container, such as a watertight vessel. The floatable housing 102 at least partially encloses the UAV 106, to protect the UAV 106 from water intrusion and/or damage prior to launch. The floatable housing 102 comprises any system configured to house and launch the UAV 106 from at or near the surface of a body of water, such as a tube, a canister, or a box. The floatable housing 102 is also configured for placement in the water by various methods, including being dropped into the water from above or released while the marine vehicle 104 is in the water, partially submerged, or completely submerged ([0017]-[0018], Figs. 1-3). The floatable housing 102 is the housing separate from the waterproof shroud and securely attached to the waterproof shroud. Furthermore, Bossert mentions the floatable housing at least partially encloses the UAV 106. That is, Bossert suggests, the floatable housing is at least partially encloses the UAV or the floatable housing completely surrounding the UAV. As such, Bossert suggests the housing completely surrounding the waterproof shroud and configured to buoy the UAV in water.
Park teaches an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration, and more specifically, to an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration that flies to a desired location by remote control, lands on the water surface and drive in a desired direction, and explores the underwater environment after diving below the water surface by controlling buoyancy. By adjusting the buoyancy, the drone body (200) [i.e., waterproof shroud] floats on the water surface or be submerged below the water surface. The buoyancy control device (300) is composed of a buoyancy housing (310) [i.e., housing] [i.e., housing] (Figs. 4-5, and [0001 & 0052]). Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 4 of Park (reproduced and annotated for Applicant’s convenience), the housing and the waterproof shroud are securely attached and the amphibious drone carries the housing when navigating through air or underwater. As such, Park teaches navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud and navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, by incorporating the teachings of Bossert and Park, such that a floatable housing provides buoyancy for the UAV and the floatable housing encloses the UAV and housing stays attached when the drone navigates through air or underwater.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Bossert in regards to claim 1.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Park in regards to claim 1.
In regards to claim 17
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The method as specified in Claim 13.
Claim 17 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 6 above, therefore claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 6 .
In regards to claim 20
, Yoon teaches A non-transitory computer readable medium storing program code which, when executed, is operative to cause an electronic processor of an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (Figs. 1A-1B, 2A-2B, 3A-3B and 9, [0136] The control instructions are stored in a memory. At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 of the first assembly 100 controls the execution of the instructions stored in the memory which is a non-transitory computer readable medium.) comprising a waterproof shroud ([0046] The core drone 100 is an aerial vehicle capable of flying in the air, a traveling vehicle capable of running on land, or an underwater vehicle capable of travelling in water. [0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. The protective cover 260 acts as the waterproof shroud. As mentioned above, the aerial vehicle is capable of operating underwater. As such, the aerial vehicle, must be inherently waterproof.), a processor disposed in the waterproof shroud ([0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. [0103] The housing 110 constitutes the body of the first assembly 100. The housing 110 includes control means such as a processor 111 and a navigation system 113.), a propeller opening extending through the waterproof shroud ([0098] With reference to Fig. 9, the unmanned aerial vehicle kit 10 includes a protective cover 260 for accommodating and protecting the first assembly, first assembly 100 in Fis. 2A. [0099] The protective cover 260 has a cylindrical or oval shape. One or more air holes are formed on the upper and lower portions of the protective cover 260 so that air can flow smoothly to the first propellers, first propellers 120 in Fig. 2A, of the first assembly. The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are arranged at positions corresponding respectively to propeller 1-1 (120a), propeller 1-2 (120b), propeller 1-3 (120c) and propeller 1-4 (120d) of the first assembly. The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are in the form of a lattice or a net. The air holes act as the propeller openings extending through the waterproof shroud.), a propeller coupled to the waterproof shroud and positioned within the propeller opening ([0099] The first air hole 260a, the second air hole 260b, the third air hole 260c, and the fourth air hole 260d are arranged at positions corresponding respectively to propeller 1-1 (120a), propeller 1-2 (120b), propeller 1-3 (120c) and propeller 1-4 (120d) of the first assembly. That is, the propellers are coupled to the waterproof shroud and positioned within the propeller opening.), to perform the steps of:
operating the UAV in a first mode comprising navigating the UAV through air ([0137] At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 of the first assembly 100 controls the second propellers 220 for first mode, or flight mode which is navigating through air.);
switching the UAV from the first mode to a second mode ([0137] The user may manually change the mode between the first mode and the second mode through a switch. As mentioned above, the UAV is switched between modes which also encompasses switching from air to underwater mode.); and
operating the UAV in the second mode comprising navigating the UAV underwater ([0137] At least one of the processor 111 or the navigation system 113 controls the rotation of one or more screws for third mode, or underwater mode which is the second mode or navigating the UAV underwater.).
Yoon does not explicitly teach a housing separate from the waterproof shroud securely attached to the waterproof shroud, the housing completely surrounding the waterproof shroud and configured to buoy the UAV in water;
navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud;
navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
However, Bossert teaches systems for launching unmanned aircraft from a marine vehicle. The unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) 106 comprises an unmanned craft, such as a remotely controlled or an autonomously controlled aircraft. ([0013]-[0014]). The UAV 106 is launched into the air, into the water, or remain aboard a floatable housing 102. The floatable housing 102 comprises a container for moving the UAV 106 to be deployed to or near the water surface for deployment. The floatable housing 102 comprises any appropriate container, such as a watertight vessel. The floatable housing 102 at least partially encloses the UAV 106, to protect the UAV 106 from water intrusion and/or damage prior to launch. The floatable housing 102 comprises any system configured to house and launch the UAV 106 from at or near the surface of a body of water, such as a tube, a canister, or a box. The floatable housing 102 is also configured for placement in the water by various methods, including being dropped into the water from above or released while the marine vehicle 104 is in the water, partially submerged, or completely submerged ([0017]-[0018], Figs. 1-3). The floatable housing 102 is the housing separate from the waterproof shroud and securely attached to the waterproof shroud. Furthermore, Bossert mentions the floatable housing at least partially encloses the UAV 106. That is, Bossert suggests, the floatable housing is at least partially encloses the UAV or the floatable housing completely surrounding the UAV. As such, Bossert suggests the housing completely surrounding the waterproof shroud and configured to buoy the UAV in water.
Park teaches an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration, and more specifically, to an amphibious drone capable of underwater and aerial exploration that flies to a desired location by remote control, lands on the water surface and drive in a desired direction, and explores the underwater environment after diving below the water surface by controlling buoyancy. By adjusting the buoyancy, the drone body (200) [i.e., waterproof shroud] floats on the water surface or be submerged below the water surface. The buoyancy control device (300) is composed of a buoyancy housing (310) [i.e., housing] (Figs. 4-5, and [0001 & 0052]). Examiner notes, as portrayed by Fig. 4 of Park (reproduced and annotated for Applicant’s convenience), the housing and the waterproof shroud are securely attached and the amphibious drone carries the housing when navigating through air or underwater. As such, Park teaches navigating the UAV through air with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud and navigating the UAV underwater with the housing securely attached to the waterproof shroud.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, by incorporating the teachings of Bossert and Park, such that a floatable housing provides buoyancy for the UAV and the floatable housing encloses the UAV and housing stays attached when the drone navigates through air or underwater.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Bossert in regards to claim 1.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Park in regards to claim 1.
12. Claim(s) 3-4 and 15-16
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US-20200062393-A1) in view of Bossert et al. (US-20110073707-A1) and further in view of Park et al. (KR-101845964-B1) and further in view of Park (KR-102039562-B1), hereinafter referred to as Byeoung.
In regards to claim 3
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 1.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach wherein the housing is a hollow case having a hinge joining a top shell of the hollow case to a bottom shell of the hollow case, wherein the housing can be selectively removed from the UAV when the UAV is used in an arial mode.
However, Byeoung teaches the waterproof body 100 is made of FRP (Fiber Reinforced Plastics) material can be floating on the water surface with excellent impact resistance as well as waterproof and buoyancy, the lower part of the cylindrical buoyancy body 400 to be in close contact with a part of the outer surface 400 The buoyant body settled groove 140 is formed in an arc shape, and the male and female Velcro tapes (T1, T2) are formed on the outer surface of the buoyant settled groove 140 and the buoyancy body 400 so as to be mutually detachable (Page 4). The waterproof body 100 acts as the waterproof shroud and the buoyancy body 400 acts as the housing that is selectively attachable to the waterproof shroud.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Byeoung, the UAV is modified to include the hollow, airtight, cylindrical buoyancy body that are wrapped around the perimeter of the UAV body to form a torus that is detachable and encompasses the round body of the UAV, which still leaves the propellor opening exposed. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use an top and bottom shells with a hinge to form a hollow case and use it as the housing for buoyancy, since Applicant(s) has/have not disclosed that using such as hollow case solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well other types of housing to keep the UAV afloat.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Byeoung, to use drones in all industries including fire fighting and lifesaving (Page 2) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows to help and save people in environment that might not be easily accessible by other devises.
In regards to claim 4
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 1.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach wherein the housing is shaped like a ring and encompasses an outer peripheral edge of the waterproof shroud.
However, Byeoung teaches the waterproof body 100 is made of FRP (Fiber Reinforced Plastics) material can be floating on the water surface with excellent impact resistance as well as waterproof and buoyancy, the lower part of the cylindrical buoyancy body 400 to be in close contact with a part of the outer surface 400. The buoyant body settled groove 140 is formed in an arc shape, and the male and female Velcro tapes (T1, T2) are formed on the outer surface of the buoyant settled groove 140 and the buoyancy body 400 so as to be mutually detachable (Page 4). The waterproof body 100 acts as the waterproof shroud and the buoyancy body 400 acts as the housing that is selectively attachable to the waterproof shroud. As illustrated by Figs. 1-3, the buoyancy body 400 reaches both edges of the waterproof body 100. That is, the housing encompasses an outer peripheral edge of the waterproof shroud. Furthermore, paragraph [0019] of Applicant specification states: “FIG. 1A is a perspective view of a UAV 10 having a shroud 12 with propeller openings 15 extending through the shroud 12.Propellers 14 are positioned in respective propeller openings 15. The shroud 12 includes a rectangular lower surface 18 and a rectangular upper surface (not shown) with a smooth continuous edge 17 extending around the entire UAV 10 between the upper and lower surfaces,” which clearly states the shroud is rectangular. Applicant has cited paragraph [0026] and Fig. 1B in support of this amendment. Paragraph [0026] of Applicant’s specification states: “the separate housing 100 is a hollow case that partially encompasses the UAV 10 about a periphery of the shroud 12 while exposing the propellers 14 so that they can function normally. In one example, the hollow case consists of top and bottom shells each formed as rings that can be snapped together to secure the housing 100 to the shroud 12. In another example, the top and bottom shells can be connected via a hinge.” Applicant’s specification and the drawings have not provided a concise definition for a ring shaped housing. The drawings do not illustrate the UAV as a circular shaped UAV. The housing is illustrated to have the same shape as the UAV. As such, the ring shaped housing is interpreted as a cylindrical shaped housing with a circular (ring like) ends.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Byeoung, such that attachable buoyancy bodies are cylindrical shaped and attached on the outer surface of the buoyant settled groove. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to use any shape of housing, including a detachable torus shaped housing that wraps around the perimeter of the UAV body, or completely encompasses the waterproof shroud, since Applicant(s) has/have not disclosed that the shape of the housing solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with other shapes of housing to keep the UAV afloat.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Byeoung in regards to claim 3.
In regards to claim 15
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The method as specified in Claim 13.
Claim 15 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 3 above, therefore claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 3.
In regards to claim 16
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The method as specified in Claim 13.
Claim 16 recites a system having substantially the same features of claim 4 above, therefore claim 16 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 4.
13. Claim(s) 5, 11-12, and 19
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US-20200062393-A1) in view of Bossert et al. (US-20110073707-A1) and further in view of Park et al. (KR-101845964-B1) and further in view of Kohstall (US-20160376000-A1).
In regards to claim 5
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 1.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach further comprising a water sensor, wherein the processor is configured to switch the UAV between the two modes based on signals received from the water sensor.
However, Kohstall teaches the characteristics of the controls changes depending on whether the UAV is in air or underwater. This change is automatically triggered by a water sensor, or set manually with another mode control switch ([0059]) which is switching the UAV between the two modes based on signals received from the water sensor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Kohstall, such that a water sensor is used to switch between air or underwater control modes.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Kohstall, UAVs that are low cost, simple to manufacture, and/or simple to operate ([0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the UAVs to become more affordable for the costumers.
In regards to claim 11
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 10.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach wherein the flight path includes a plurality of waypoints.
However, Kohstall teaches the UAV 110 is directed along a flight path vector ([0032], Fig. 1). The UAV is pre-programmed with GPS waypoints ([0083]). That the flight path includes a plurality of waypoints.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Kohstall, such that the UAV is pre-programmed with GPS waypoints or with a route that is followed via inertial navigation.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Kohstall in regards to claim 5.
In regards to claim 12
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park and Kohstall, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 11.
Further, Kohstall teaches the UAV is pre-programmed with GPS waypoints or with a route that is followed via inertial navigation. An inertial measurement unit is used for both aerial and underwater navigation ([0083]). That is, the GPS and IMU are configured to be used to navigate the UAV between the plurality of waypoints.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park and Kohstall, by further incorporating the teachings of Kohstall, such that the UAV is pre-programmed with GPS waypoints or with a route that is followed via inertial navigation.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Kohstall in regards to claim 5.
In regards to claim 19
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The method as specified in Claim 13, the UAV further comprising a global positioning system (GPS) coupled to the shroud ([0157] The first assembly 100 measures the position, the flight attitude, the angular velocity and the acceleration by use of the sensor unit 1240 and the GPS receiver. The information obtained through the sensor unit 1240 and the GPS receiver is used as basic information to generate a steering signal for navigation or auto-piloting of the first assembly 100. As mentioned above, the first assembly includes a GPS which encompasses a global positioning system (GPS) coupled to the shroud.), an inertial measurement unit (IMU) (Fig. 12, [0145] The sensor unit 1240 calculates the attitude and position of the first assembly 100. The sensor unit 1240 measures a specific physical quantity or sense the operating state of the first assembly 100, and converts the measured or sensed information into an electrical signal. The sensor unit 1240 includes a gyro sensor, a barometer, a terrestrial magnetism sensor (e.g., compass sensor), an acceleration sensor, a proximity sensor, and an optical sensor. The gyro sensor acts as the IMU.), and a memory containing a flight path ([0104] The processor 111 controls each function and operation of the first assembly 100. The navigation system 113 finds a flight path or traveling path of the first assembly 100. [0141] The first assembly 100 further includes a camera 1210, a flight driving unit 1220, a communication unit 1230, a sensor unit 1240, a memory 1250, and a battery 1260. To store and use the flight path, the system must store it in memory.)
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach including a plurality of waypoints, wherein the step of navigating the UAV underwater further comprises using the GPS and IMU to navigate the UAV between the plurality of waypoints.
However, Kohstall teaches the UAV 110 is directed along a flight path vector ([0032], Fig. 1). The UAV is pre-programmed with GPS waypoints or with a route that is followed via inertial navigation. An inertial measurement unit is used for both aerial and underwater navigation ([0083]) which is using the GPS and IMU to navigate the UAV between the plurality of waypoints.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Kohstall, such that the UAV is pre-programmed with GPS waypoints used for navigating the UAV between the waypoints.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Kohstall in regards to claim 5.
14. Claim(s) 8 and 18
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US-20200062393-A1) in view of Bossert et al. (US-20110073707-A1) and further in view of Park et al. (KR-101845964-B1) and further in view of Florin (US-20200391837-A1).
In regards to claim 8
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 7.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach wherein the processor is configured to use a machine learning algorithm to detect a target underwater when the UAV is in the second mode.
However, Florin teaches an autonomous underwater vehicles equipped with a SAS are provided with a propeller powered by batteries located on-board the vehicle ([0006]). Because of the low data rate of underwater acoustic communications, an autonomous underwater vehicle cannot transmit in real-time its acoustic data to an operator and hence, to ensure a satisfactory detection of underwater objects, the underwater vehicle is endowed with an artificial intelligence allowing it to detect objects autonomously ([0010]) which is using a machine learning algorithm to detect a target underwater when the UAV is in the second mode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Florin, such that artificial intelligence is used to detect objects/targets in underwater mode autonomously.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Florin, to cover an extensive zone and process the data ([0007]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows a wider range of motion and distance to be covered by the UAV.
In regards to claim 18
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The method as specified in Claim 13.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach wherein the processor uses a machine learning algorithm to detect a target underwater when the UAV is in the second mode and autonomously following the target underwater.
However, Florin teaches an autonomous underwater vehicles equipped with a SAS are provided with a propeller powered by batteries located on-board the vehicle ([0006]). Because of the low data rate of underwater acoustic communications, an autonomous underwater vehicle cannot transmit in real-time its acoustic data to an operator and hence, to ensure a satisfactory detection of underwater objects, the underwater vehicle is endowed with an artificial intelligence allowing it to detect objects autonomously ([0010]) which is using a machine learning algorithm to detect a target underwater when the UAV is in the second mode.
Jones teaches an onboard global positioning system and inertial navigation system (GPS/INS—see FIG. 8) provides position information for buoy 100. The GPS/INS, in concert with the computing system, carries out “autopilot” functionality that positions buoy 100 in accordance with a given mission (Col 3, lines 23-27) which suggests the buoy system is autonomous. A “swarm” of mobile buoys are used to detect mobile underwater objects, such as submarines, submersed UAVs, fish, whales, etc. (Col 5, lines 35-37, Fig. 5). The swarm of buoys then tracks the object and communicates its position to the external system as the object travels at 660 (Col 6, lines 35-37) which is following a target under water.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Florin and Jones, such that artificial intelligence is used to detect objects/targets in underwater mode autonomously and the method of Jones is used to tracks the underwater targets.
The motivation to do so is the same as acknowledged by Florin in regards to claim 8.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Jones, to track underwater objects ([0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the UAV to be used for research and other underwater missions.
15. Claim(s) 9
is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US-20200062393-A1) in view of Bossert et al. (US-20110073707-A1) and further in view of Park et al. (KR-101845964-B1) and further in view of Jones et al. (US-9321529-B1).
In regards to claim 9
, Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, teaches The UAV as specified in Claim 1.
Yoon, as modified by Bossert and Park, does not teach wherein the UAV is configured to autonomously follow a target underwater.
However, Jones teaches an onboard global positioning system and inertial navigation system (GPS/INS—see FIG. 8) provides position information for buoy 100. The GPS/INS, in concert with the computing system, carries out “autopilot” functionality that positions buoy 100 in accordance with a given mission (Col 3, lines 23-27) which suggests the buoy system is autonomous. A “swarm” of mobile buoys are used to detect mobile underwater objects, such as submarines, submersed UAVs, fish, whales, etc. (Col 5, lines 35-37, Fig. 5). The swarm of buoys then tracks the object and communicates its position to the external system as the object travels at 660 (Col 6, lines 35-37) which is following a target under water.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify unmanned aerial vehicle kit and a system of Yoon, as already modified by Bossert and Park, by incorporating the teachings of Jones, such that the UAV autonomously tracks the underwater targets.
The motivation to modify is that, as acknowledged by Jones, to track underwater objects ([0003]) which one of ordinary skill would have recognized allows the UAV to be used for research and other underwater missions.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chevalley et al. (US-20180022472-A1) teaches means for adjusting the sight angle of the camera during the displacements of the drone and of the target.
Jo (KR-102296360-B1) teaches an amphibious drone, and more specifically a drone that can take off and land on land and water.
Chen et al. (CN-213921429-U) teaches a flight life ring.
Johannesson et al. (WO-2021247621-A2) teaches an unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), capable of operating over long distances and in a variety of environments.
Wu et al. (CN-114852334-A) teaches buoyancy airbags surrounding the body of the drone.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3661 /RAMYA P BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661