DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 03/19/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over CUI et al (US20240163699) (hereinafter "CUI") in view of Dinan (US20160278073A1)
Regarding claim 1, CUI teaches a method comprising:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) secondary cell (SCell) activation command for an unknown target PUCCH SCell from a network code (See Figure 5, 510, [0046]-[0047], specifically [0047] In 510, the UE 110 receives a PUCCH SCell activation signal. The PUCCH SCell activation signal may indicate to the UE 110 that PUCCH SCell activation has been triggered by the network. For example, the PUCCH SCell activation signal may...);
wherein the L1 report or the L3 report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell is transmitted through the uplink channel associated with a first PUCCH group that is different from a second PUCCH group associated with the unknown target PUCCH SCell ([0022], [0046]-[0047], specifically [0047] In 510, the UE 110 receives a PUCCH SCell activation signal. The PUCCH SCell activation signal may indicate to the UE 110 that PUCCH SCell activation has been triggered by the network. PUCCH of the SpCell or another active SCell used to transmit the L1/L3 report, describes reporting using UL of another cell[Wingdings font/0xE0]each such cell has its own PUCCH configuration corresponds to first PUCCH group; and PUCCH associated with the target SCell when activated (but inactive during reporting scenario), target SCell has its own PUCCH, which is unavailable when inactive; thus Cui forces reporting on another cell corresponds to the Second PUCCH group).
But Cui fails to teach and after receiving the PUCCH SCell activation command and before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated, transmitting, by the UE, a layer 1 (L1) report or a layer 3 (L3) report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell to the network node through an uplink channel on a special cell (SpCell) or an SCell before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated.
However, Dinan teaches and after receiving the PUCCH SCell activation command and before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated, transmitting, by the UE, a layer 1 (L1) report or a layer 3 (L3) report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell to the network node through an uplink channel on a special cell (SpCell) or an SCell before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated ([0127], [0192], [0194], Specifically [0194][Wingdings font/0xE0]“during the period…before the reception of the SCell activation command” maps to “transmitting…L1 or L3 report…before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated”; [0192][Wingdings font/0xE0]“A PUCCH may be transmitted on a…PUCCH SCell,..” which establishes SCell as UL control channel sources” & “PUCCH SCell delivers UL control information for the serving cells..” maps to L1/L3 (CSI/PMI/RI/CQI) reports use PUCCH on PCell or SCell), [0127][Wingdings font/0xE0]reporting occurs even when the SCell is inactive/not acquired[Wingdings font/0xE0] which is “MAC entity…starts reporting CSI (CQI/PMI/RI/PTI) for the SCell…no matter whether the secondary cell is properly acquired or not” which maps to “explicitly teaches reporting for an inactive, not-yet acquired (unknown) SCell),
First, Cui teaches that when a target SCell is inactive or unavailable for uplink control transmission, the UE transmission, the UE transmits measurement/CSI information for that SCell using UL resources for another serving cell, such as the SpCell or an active SCell (Cui [0022], [0046]-[0047]. Cui therefore establishes the fundamental NR concept of redirecting L1/L3-type reporting for a target SCell through the UL channel of another cell whenever the target PUCCH SCell is inactive or unknown. Second, Dinan similarly teaches that, in LTE/CA systems, the UE must send measurement/CSI reports for secondary cell activation before that secondary cell is activated, and that such reports are carried on the UL PUCCH resources of the PCell or a PUCCH SCell (Dinan [0192], [0194], [0127]. Dinan thus provides explicit disclosure of pre-activation reporting and the practice of delivering SCell-related CSI through the PCell/PUCCH SCell UL channel.
A POSITA, before the effective filing data, would have recognized that Cui’s fallback-based NR reporting behabior and Dinan’s explicit LTE CA pre-activation reporting behavior are directed to the same design objective: ensuring timely and robust CSI/L1/L3 reporting for a target SCell that cannot yet provide UL PUCCH resources. Because LTE CA procedures were well-established and directly informed the development of NR multi-cell architectures, such a person would have been motivated to incorporate Dinan’s explicit pre-activation measurement reporting into Cui’s NR framework as a predictable way to enhance continuity of CSI availability for inactive SCells. Doing so would merely apply a known technique (pre-activation SCell reporting using PCell/PUCCH-SCell UL) to a closely analogous NR scenario (inactive target PUCCH SCell) with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, CUI teaches the method wherein the uplink channel comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a PUCCH. ([0048] lines 1-6 and [0049] lines 1-9 and [0017] lines 1-14)
Regarding claim 3, CUI teaches the method wherein the SpCell comprises at least one of a primary cell (PCell) and a primary secondary cell (PSCell). ([0048] and [0049] and [0017] “…the UE maybe configured with multiple PUCCHs, each PUCCH corresponding to a different group of one or more cells. For example, the UE may transmit UCI on a first PUCCH to a PCell and transmit UCI on a second different PUCCH to the PUCCH SCell. & [0022]).
Regarding claim 4, CUI teaches the method wherein the unknown target PUCCH SCell is associated with a valid timing advance (TA) or an invalid TA. ([0050] lines 1-8 & Figure 1 120A, 110).
Regarding claim 5, CUI teaches the method wherein in an event that the unknown target PUCCH SCell is associated with the invalid TA, the method further comprises:
receiving, by the UE, a PDCCH order from the network node; ([0051] lines 1-14).
and transmitting, by the UE, information related to a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission to another network node associated with the unknown target PUCCH SCell. ([0051] lines 1-14).
Regarding, claim 6, CUI teaches the method wherein the unknown target PUCCH SCell is in a frequency range 1 (FR1) band or in a frequency range 2 (FR2) band. ([0034] lines 8-13, "The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to establish a connection with a 5G NR-RAN 120 and/or any other appropriate type of network. Accordingly, the transceiver 225 may operate on a variety of different frequencies or channels (e.g. set of consecutive frequencies).” & [0026] “The 5G NR-RAN 120 may be a portion of cellular networks that may be deployed….The network 120 may include…cells or base stations…that are configured to send and receive traffic from UEs that are equipped with the appropriate cellular chip set.” & [0027] "In network arrangement 100, the 5G NR RAN 120 is shown with a gNB 120A and a gNB120B. However, an actual network arrangement may include any number of different types of base stations or cells deployed by any number of RANs. Figure 1 100, 120A/B, Figure 2 225).
Regarding claim 7, CUI teaches the method of wherein the L1 report comprises L1-reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement, L1-signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR) measurement, channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), rank indicator (RI), or channel- state-information reference-signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI). ([0021] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-23, [0048] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 8, CUI teaches the method wherein the L1 report comprises an aperiodic L1 report or a semi-persistent L1 report. ([0048] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 9, CUI teaches the method of wherein the L3 report comprises a L3-RSRP measurement report or a synchronization-signal SINR (SS-SINR) measurement report. ([0042] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-23, Figure 4 415, Figure 1 120B).
Regarding claim 11, CUI teaches the user equipment (UE) comprising:
a receiver, receiving a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) secondary cell (SCell) activation command for an unknown target PUCCH SCell from a network node; ([0047] In 510, the UE 110 receives a PUCCH SCell activation signal. The PUCCH SCell activation signal may indicate to the UE 110 that PUCCH SCell activation has been triggered by the network. Figure 5, 510. For example, the PUCCH SCell activation signal may...,[0046]),
wherein the L1 report or the L3 report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell is transmitted through the uplink channel associated with a first PUCCH group that is different from a second PUCCH group associated with the unknown target PUCCH SCell ([0022], [0046]-[0047], specifically [0047] In 510, the UE 110 receives a PUCCH SCell activation signal. The PUCCH SCell activation signal may indicate to the UE 110 that PUCCH SCell activation has been triggered by the network. For example, the PUCCH SCell activation signal may...; which directly identifies this problem: “the UE may not have collected any measurement data corresponding to the target PUCCH SCell because the network has not configured the UE to perform any measurements…In this type of scenario, the target PUCCH SCell may be considered an unknown cell.” This disclosure expressly contemplates a target PUCCH SCell that is unknown to the UE, and frames the entire purpose of the disclosure—including the later signaling procedures—as a way to enable beam reporting for such unknown target PUCCH SCells).
But Cui fails to teach and after receiving the PUCCH SCell activation command and before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated a transmitter, transmitting a layer 1 (L1) report or a layer 3 (L3) report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell to the network node through an uplink channel on a special cell (SpCell) or an SCell before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated.
However, Dinan teaches and after receiving the PUCCH SCell activation command and before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated a transmitter, transmitting a layer 1 (L1) report or a layer 3 (L3) report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell to the network node through an uplink channel on a special cell (SpCell) or an SCell before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated ([0127], [0192], [0194], Specifically [0194][Wingdings font/0xE0]“during the period…before the reception of the SCell activation command” maps to “transmitting…L1 or L3 report…before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated”; [0192][Wingdings font/0xE0]“A PUCCH may be transmitted on a…PUCCH SCell,..” which establishes SCell as UL control channel sources” & “PUCCH SCell delivers UL control information for the serving cells..” maps to L1/L3 (CSI/PMI/RI/CQI) reports use PUCCH on PCell or SCell), [0127][Wingdings font/0xE0]reporting occurs even when the SCell is inactive/not acquired[Wingdings font/0xE0] which is “MAC entity…starts reporting CSI (CQI/PMI/RI/PTI) for the SCell…no matter whether the secondary cell is properly acquired or not” which maps to “explicitly teaches reporting for an inactive, not-yet acquired (unknown) SCell),
First, Cui teaches that when a target SCell is inactive or unavailable for uplink control transmission, the UE transmission, the UE transmits measurement/CSI information for that SCell using UL resources for another serving cell, such as the SpCell or an active SCell (Cui [0022], [0046]-[0047]. Cui therefore establishes the fundamental NR concept of redirecting L1/L3-type reporting for a target SCell through the UL channel of another cell whenever the target PUCCH SCell is inactive or unknown. Second, Dinan similarly teaches that, in LTE/CA systems, the UE must send measurement/CSI reports for secondary cell activation before that secondary cell is activated, and that such reports are carried on the UL PUCCH resources of the PCell or a PUCCH SCell (Dinan [0192], [0194], [0127]. Dinan thus provides explicit disclosure of pre-activation reporting and the practice of delivering SCell-related CSI through the PCell/PUCCH SCell UL channel.
A POSITA, before the effective filing data, would have recognized that Cui’s fallback-based NR reporting behabior and Dinan’s explicit LTE CA pre-activation reporting behavior are directed to the same design objective: ensuring timely and robust CSI/L1/L3 reporting for a target SCell that cannot yet provide UL PUCCH resources. Because LTE CA procedures were well-established and directly informed the development of NR multi-cell architectures, such a person would have been motivated to incorporate Dinan’s explicit pre-activation measurement reporting into Cui’s NR framework as a predictable way to enhance continuity of CSI availability for inactive SCells. Doing so would merely apply a known technique (pre-activation SCell reporting using PCell/PUCCH-SCell UL) to a closely analogous NR scenario (inactive target PUCCH SCell) with predictable results.
Regarding claim 12, CUI teaches the UE wherein the uplink channel comprises at least one of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) or a PUCCH. ([0048] lines 1-6 and [0049] lines 1-9 and [0017] lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 13, CUI teaches the UE wherein the SpCell comprises at least one of a primary cell (PCell) or a primary secondary cell (PSCell). ([0048] and [0049] and [0017] “…the UE maybe configured with multiple PUCCHs, each PUCCH corresponding to a different group of one or more cells. For example, the UE may transmit UCI on a first PUCCH to a PCell and transmit UCI on a second different PUCCH to the PUCCH SCell. & [0022]).
Regarding claim 14, CUI teaches the UE wherein the unknown target PUCCH SCell is associated with a valid timing advance (TA) or an invalid TA. ([0050] lines 1-8 & Figure 1 120A, 110).
Regarding claim 15, CUI teaches the UE wherein in an event that the unknown target PUCCH SCell is associated with the invalid TA,
the receiver receives a PDCCH order from the network node ([0051] lines 1-14).
and the transmitter transmits information related to a physical random access channel (PRACH) transmission to another network node associated with the unknown target PUCCH SCell. ([0051] lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 16, CUI teaches the UE wherein the unknown target PUCCH SCell is in a frequency range 1 (FR1) band or in a frequency range 2 (FR2) band. ([0034] lines 8-13, "The transceiver 225 may be a hardware component configured to establish a connection with a 5G NR-RAN 120 and/or any other appropriate type of network. Accordingly, the transceiver 225 may operate on a variety of different frequencies or channels (e.g. set of consecutive frequencies).” & [0026] “The 5G NR-RAN 120 may be a portion of cellular networks that may be deployed….The network 120 may include…cells or base stations…that are configured to send and receive traffic from UEs that are equipped with the appropriate cellular chip set.” & [0027] "In network arrangement 100, the 5G NR RAN 120 is shown with a gNB 120A and a gNB120B. However, an actual network arrangement may include any number of different types of base stations or cells deployed by any number of RANs. Figure 1 100, 120A/B, Figure 2 225).
Regarding claim 17, CUI teaches the UE wherein the L1 report comprises L1- reference signal received power (L1-RSRP) measurement, L1- signal to interference plus noise ratio (L1-SINR) measurement, channel quality indicator (CQI), precoding matrix indicator (PMI), rank indicator (RI), or channel- state-information reference-signal (CSI-RS) resource indicator (CRI). ([0021] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-23, [0048] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 18, CUI teaches the UE wherein the L1 report comprises an aperiodic L1 report or a semi-persistent L1 report. ([0048] lines 1-6).
Regarding claim 19, CUI teaches the UE wherein the L3 report comprises a L3-RSRP measurement report or a synchronization-signal SINR (SS-SINR) measurement report. ([0042] lines 1-12, [0023] lines 1-23, Figure 4 415, Figure 1 120B).
Claims 10 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CUI in view of Dinan, in further view of LIN (US20210111851) (hereinafter "LIN").
Regarding claim 10, CUI discloses the method of Claim 1, but fails to teach wherein an activation time of the unknown target PUCCH SCell comprises a L3 RSRP delay.
However, LIN discloses wherein an activation time of the unknown target PUCCH SCell comprises a L3 RSRP delay. ([0047]-[0051]; [0047] “Furthermore, the process 300 can be performed with an assumption that the SCell is known to the UE 101. For example, before the UE 101 receives an activation command for activating the SCell 120a, the UE 101 has sent a valid L3-RSRP measurement report of the SCell 120a with SSB indices (beam level information). In addition, an interval between the L3-RSRP measurement report and the activation command is short enough (e.g. SCell measurement cycles or 5 DRXs) such that the measurement results can be used as the basis for determining the TCI states useful for the activation of the SCell 120a. When the above conditions are satisfied, the SCell 120a is said to be known to the UE 101. & [0048] In contrast, when the above conditions are invalid, the SCell 120a is said to be unknown to the UE 101. In such a scenario, after receiving an activation command for activating the SCell 120a, the UE 101 can perform an Ll-RSRP measurement process to obtain beam pair link qualities, accordingly derive an L3-RSRP measurement report with beam level information, and transmit the L3-RSRP measurement report to the base station 10. Thereafter, based on the latest L3-RSRP measurement report, the base station 105 can transmit activation command(s) for PDCCH TCI, PDSCH TCI (when applicable), and SP CSI-RS for CQI reporting. Such an SCell activation process for activating an unknown SCell would incur a longer delay that the process 300.
[0049] lines 1-5, Figure 3, [0050] 1-9], [0051] lines 1-6).
CUI and LIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of SCell activation methods and information reporting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of CUI and LIN to achieve wherein an activation time of the unknown target PUCCH SCell comprises a L3 RSRP delay. CUI provides a general framework for PUCCH SCell activation, while LIN provides measurements (L1 or L3 reports) and SSBs/RSs which can be used to configure and activate the SCell when it is unknown. Combining the teachings would allow the network to effectively activate both known and unknown SCells by using beam-level measurements, synchronization signals, and appropriate uplink and downlink configurations. The motivation to combine both references would come from achieving efficiency and reliability of PUCCH SCell activation, particularly for unknown cells.
Similarly, regarding claim 20, CUI discloses the UE of claim 11, but fails to teach wherein an activation time of the unknown target PUCCH SCell comprises a L3 RSRP delay.
However, LIN discloses wherein an activation time of the unknown target PUCCH SCell comprises a L3 RSRP delay. ([0047]-[0051]; [0047] “Furthermore, the process 300 can be performed with an assumption that the SCell is known to the UE 101. For example, before the UE 101 receives an activation command for activating the SCell 120a, the UE 101 has sent a valid L3-RSRP measurement report of the SCell 120a with SSB indices (beam level information). In addition, an interval between the L3-RSRP measurement report and the activation command is short enough (e.g. SCell measurement cycles or 5 DRXs) such that the measurement results can be used as the basis for determining the TCI states useful for the activation of the SCell 120a. When the above conditions are satisfied, the SCell 120a is said to be known to the UE 101. & [0048] In contrast, when the above conditions are invalid, the SCell 120a is said to be unknown to the UE 101. In such a scenario, after receiving an activation command for activating the SCell 120a, the UE 101 can perform an Ll-RSRP measurement process to obtain beam pair link qualities, accordingly derive an L3-RSRP measurement report with beam level information, and transmit the L3-RSRP measurement report to the base station 10. Thereafter, based on the latest L3-RSRP measurement report, the base station 105 can transmit activation command(s) for PDCCH TCI, PDSCH TCI (when applicable), and SP CSI-RS for CQI reporting. Such an SCell activation process for activating an unknown SCell would incur a longer delay that the process 300.
[0049] lines 1-5, Figure 3, [0050] 1-9], [0051] lines 1-6).
CUI and LIN are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of SCell activation methods and information reporting. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of CUI and LIN to achieve wherein an activation time of the unknown target PUCCH SCell comprises a L3 RSRP delay. CUI provides a general framework for PUCCH SCell activation, while LIN provides measurements (L1 or L3 reports) and SSBs/RSs which can be used to configure and activate the SCell when it is unknown. Combining the teachings would allow the network to effectively activate both known and unknown SCells by using beam-level measurements, synchronization signals, and appropriate uplink and downlink configurations. The motivation to combine both references would come from achieving efficiency and reliability of PUCCH SCell activation, particularly for unknown cells.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the claimed “first PUCCH group different from a second PUCCH group” is not limited to a narrow implementation requiring an express group-ID field in the report itself. Applicant’s own Specification broadly states that the unknown target PUCCH SCell may belong to a PUCCH group, and that the L1/L3 report may be transmitted through an active serving cell within a different PUCCH group, including through an SpCell or SCell belonging to “another PUCCH group”, before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated. (Spec [0021]-[0023], [0056]-[0064], [0065]-[0076], [0077]-[0079]). Thus, the broad claim scope reads and using an already-active SpCell/PCell-side UL resource to report measurements for an unknown target PUCCH SCell associated with another PUCCH group before completion of activation
Cui teaches the disputed reporting sequence. Cui discloses that PUCCH SCell activation may be initiated, the UE collects beam information for a target PUCCH SCell, and the UE reports that beam information to the network before the target PUCCH SCell is activated. Cui further teaches that the beam information may be transmitted to the PCell on PUCCH activated. (See Cui [0021]-[0023], [0040]-[0044], [0046]-[0054], [0056]-[0064]). Cui also expressly discloses the cross-PUCCH group embodiment: “the exemplary embodiments introduce an exception to the cross PUCCH group reporting,” the UE may transmit capability information indicating support for cross-PUCCH-group CSI reporting, the network may allow it, and the UE transmits the measurement report to the PCell over PUCCH before the target PUCCH SCell is activated. (Cui [0074]-[0080]).
Applicant’s contention that Cui’s Fig 8 is “in direct conflict” with claim 1 is also not persuasive. Cui’s Fig 8 does not teach that cross-PUCCH-group reporting occurs before the activation command; rather, Cui describes the cross-group report as part of the PUCCH SCell activation procedure and states that, after the report at step 825, “subsequently, the network and/or the UE 110 may perform various operations to activate the target PUCCH SCell,” within activation at step 830. Cui [0075]-[0080]. This is consistent with claim 1’s timing requirement that the report is transmitted after initiation/activation signaling and before the unknown target PUCCH SCell is activated, as also reflected in Applicant’s Spec [0057]-[0064] and [0066]-[0076].
Dinan cures any alleged lack of PUCCH-group structure. DInan teaches that cells may be grouped into multiple PUCCH groups, that a first group may use PUCCH on the PCell and a second group mya use PUCCH on an SCell, that a PUCCH group is a group of serving cells configured by RRC and using the same serving cell for PUCCH transmission, and that an SCell may belong to one PUCCH group. Dinan [0065], [0068], [0071], [0073]-[0075], [0084], [0191]-[0192]. Dinan also teaches activation/deactivation of PUCCH SCells and CSI timing after receiving a MAC CE activation command. Dinan [0092], [0139]-[0147], [0153]-[0161], [0170]-[0175]. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have understand Cui’s reporting to the PCell/SpCell for a target PUCCH SCell, in a system using Dinan’s configured PUCCH groups, as reporting through an UL channel associated with a first PUCCH group different from the PUCCH group associated with the target PUCCH SCell.
Applicant’s reliance on Dinan’s statement that HARQ feedback and CSI for an SCell may not be sent on the PUCCH of a different PUCCH SCell is not controlling because the rejection is not premised on ordinary post-activation CSI mapping for an already configured and activated SCell. Rather, Cui expressly addresses the problem that, before the target PUCCH SCell is activated, there may be no available PUCCH for that target PUCCH SCell, and therefore an exception to cross-PUCCH-group reporting is used to enable activation. Cui [0074]. Thus, Dinan supplies the conventional PUCCH-group framework, while Cui supplies the specific pre-activation exception and reporting operation.
Accordingly, when Cui is read with Dinan and in light of Applicant’s broad disclosure at Spec [0022], the combination teaches or at least renders obvious transmitting the L1/L3 report for the unknown target PUCCH SCell through an UL channel associated with a first PUCCH group different from the second PUCCH associated with the unknown target PUCCH SCell before the target PUCCH SCell is activated. The rejection of independent claims 1 & 11 is therefore properly maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419