DETAILED ACTION
In the reply filed 9/8/2025, claim 18 is amended, and new claim 26 is added. Claims 1-16, 18-26 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-21 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ruggiero (US 10,239,550).
Regarding claim 18, Ruggiero teaches: a baby carriage comprising:
a handle (110);
a first fixing member (including at least elements 112, 134) connected to an end of the handle; and
a seat (300) configured to be installed on the first fixing member, the seat comprising:
a support base (including at least element 348B) configured to detachably connect connected to the first fixing member;
a backrest (312) connected to the support base;
a foot rest (310) pivotally connected to the support base; and
a lock member (components which facilitate locking of seat elements, including at least elements 314, 320, 332, 362, 366) disposed between the support base and the foot rest, the lock member locking the foot rest at a second unfolded position with respect to the backrest (column 10, lines 51-55);
wherein, when the foot rest rotates with respect to the backrest, the foot rest drives the lock member to unlock (rotation of the foot rest with respect to the backrest keeps element 320 disengaged from element 314, and moves element 332 into and unlocking position).
Relevant elements are best shown in Figs. 1, 13-17.
Regarding claim 19, Ruggiero further teaches: wherein the seat further comprises a third elastic member (364) disposed between the foot rest and the lock member; when the foot rest drives the lock member to unlock, the lock member compresses the third elastic member. See Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 20, Ruggiero further teaches: wherein the support base comprises a third pivot portion (see the portion of element 348A extending along axis P1), the foot rest comprises a fourth pivot portion (314), and the third pivot portion is inserted into the fourth pivot portion, such that the foot rest is pivotally connected to the support base. See Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 21, Ruggiero further teaches: wherein the foot rest comprise an accommodating recess (inside element 314), the lock member (362) is movably disposed in the accommodating recess; the lock member is configured to rotate with the foot rest. See Fig. 14.
Regarding claim 24, Ruggiero further teaches: wherein the seat further comprises an armbar (including at least elements 304, 330, 342) pivotally connected to the foot rest, the foot rest comprises a guiding groove (340), the armbar comprises a guiding pillar (342), and the guiding pillar is inserted into the guiding groove; when the foot rest is folded or unfolded with respect to the backrest, an end portion of the guiding groove pushes the guiding pillar to drive the armbar to be folded or unfolded with respect to the backrest. See Figs. 15, 16.
Regarding claim 25, Ruggiero further teaches: wherein the armbar is detachably and pivotally connected to the foot rest. Pivoting is shown in Figs. 15-16. The armbar is detachably connected at least by being capable of disassembly; see Fig. 14.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 26 are allowed.
Claims 22-23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 22 requires: “the support base comprises a second inclined driving surface; when the foot rest rotates with respect to the backrest from the second unfolded position, the second inclined driving surface pushes the lock member to move toward the foot rest, so as to drive the lock member to unlock.” These features are not reasonably taught by Ruggiero, and it would not be obvious to modify Ruggiero to arrive at the invention as set forth by claim 22. Claim 23 is allowable at least because it depends from claim 22.
Please also see reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter is the Office Action mailed 3/14/2025.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remarks are made with regard to prior art no longer relied upon. Amendments to the claims necessitated a new ground(s) of rejection. Arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant's arguments were made with respect to the claims, as amended, and have been rejected/addressed as provided above.
Conclusion
/EMMA K FRICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3613