DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 7 and 27 are amended. Claims 7, 27 and 146-163 are under examination.
Claim Interpretation
Independent claims 7 and 27 recite administering a polypeptide comprising an extracellular activin receptor type IIa (ActRIIa) variant having the sequence SEQ ID NO: 69. The instant specification defines SEQ ID NO: 69 as both an ActRIIa and an ActRIIa/b inhibitor (see, for example, p. 36, lines 21-37; p. 63, lines 32-37; p. 83, Table 5; p. 84, Example 2). See p. 63, lines 32-37:
The invention is based on the discovery that substituting amino acids from the extracellular portion of ActRIIB into the extracellular portion ActRIIA yields ActRIIA variants with improved properties. The ActRIIA variants generated by introducing residues from ActRIIB into ActRIIA retain the beneficial properties of ActRIIA, such as low binding affinity to BMP9 and longer serum half-life as an Fc fusion protein, and gain some of the beneficial properties of ActRIIB, such as increased binding to activins A and B (see Table 5 in Example 1).
The specification contemplates the ActRIIa variant may have 85% sequence identity and up to 27 substitutions relative to a wild-type extracellular ActRIIa (see paragraph bridging pages 41 and 42). Therefore, the ActRIIa in the instant claims is interpreted as either an ActRIIa/b or an ActRIIa variant that may have 85% sequence identity or up to 27 substitutions relative to a wild-type ActRIIa.
Rejections Maintained
Notice for all US Patent Applications filed on or after March 16, 2013: In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 7, 27, 146-149, 152, 153, 155-158, 161 and 162 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attie et al. (WO 2016/090077) in view of Seehra (WO2018/089715—on IDS filed 09/25/2023) is maintained for reasons of record and the following. The claims have been amended to recite treating thrombocytopenia (claim 7) or neutropenia (claim 27) associated with myelodysplastic syndrome, myelofibrosis or myelofibrosis treatment (claim 7) or associated with a myelodysplastic syndrome or myelofibrosis (claim 27).
The first factor to consider when making a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is to determine the scope and contents of the prior art. Attie et al. teach methods of treating patients with a blood disorder such as anemia, myelodysplastic syndromes, thrombocytopenia or neutropenia with an ActRII inhibitor (see claims 1, 2; paragraphs [00121]; [00123]; [00131]-[00132]), wherein the ActRII inhibitor is an ActRIIa or an ActRIIb polypeptide, wherein the polypeptide further comprises an Fc domain, such as a humanized fusion-protein consisting of the extracellular domain of ActRIIa or ActRIIb and the human IgG1 Fc domain, exemplified by SEQ ID NOs: 7 and 25, respectively (see paragraphs [0034]-[0037]; [00181]-[00277]; [00330]; [00350]; claims 108-115). Attie et al. teach that the contemplated ActRII inhibitors prevent inappropriate activin signaling (see paragraphs [0003]; [0006]; [00177]). An alignment between instant SEQ ID NO: 69 and SEQ ID NO: 7 of Attie and colleagues is as follows:
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_06052026_131508
Query Match 86.6%; Score 541; DB 1; Length 344;
Best Local Similarity 85.0%;
Matches 91; Conservative 10; Mismatches 6; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 3 ILGRSETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGCWL 62
||||||||||||:||||| :|||||||| | |:|||| ||:|||:||||||||||:||||
Db 1 ILGRSETQECLFFNANWEKDRTNQTGVEPCYGDKDKRRHCFATWKNISGSIEIVKQGCWL 60
Qy 63 DDFNCYDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTS 109
|| |||||||||| :::|:||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 DDINCYDRTDCVEKKDSPEVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTS 107
In addition, the alignment between instant SEQ ID NO: 69 and SEQ ID NO: 25 of Attie is as follows:
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_06052026_131957
Query Match 75.6%; Score 472.5; DB 1; Length 335;
Best Local Similarity 77.2%;
Matches 78; Conservative 13; Mismatches 7; Indels 3; Gaps 1;
Qy 8 ETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGCWLDDFNC 67
||:||::||||||||||||:|:||||||:||||||||:||| ||:||:|||||| |||||
Db 1 ETRECIYYNANWELERTNQSGLERCEGEQDKRLHCYASWRNSSGTIELVKKGCWDDDFNC 60
Qy 68 YDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEM---EVT 105
||| :|| ||||||||||||||| |||:|:: || |||
Db 61 YDRQECVATEENPQVYFCCCEGNFCNERFTHLPEAGGPEVT 101
Thus, both the ActRIIa and ActRIIb inhibitors taught by Attie et al. share greater than 75% sequence identity with the ActRIIa/b extracellular domain recited in the instant claims.
The second factor to consider is to ascertain the differences between the prior art and the instant claims. While Attie et al. teach an ActRIIa and ActRIIb inhibitor, they do not teach a sequence comprising 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 69. Seehra teach treatment of bone loss with an extracellular ActRIIa/b variant sharing 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 69:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 625; Length 109;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 109; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAILGRSETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAILGRSETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGC 60
Qy 61 WLDDFNCYDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTS 109
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 WLDDFNCYDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTS 109
See claims 109-111 and the Table at p. 27 of Seehra. Seehra et al. also teach that the linker is a flexible linker and may be GGG (see p. 33, lines 27-41 through p. 34, line 1; claim 95). Seehra teaches that the Fc domain may be an IgG1 fused to the C-terminus of the ActRIIa/B polypeptide (see p. 1, lines 25-27; p. 3, lines 18-19; p. 13, lines 12-14).
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the teachings of Attie et al. by using the ActRIIa/b variant taught by Seehra because Seehra teaches the ActRlla/b variants disclosed therein have “improved properties” such as a greater half-life and solubility (see p. 39, lines 30-35). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution because Attie et al. teaches that the ActRIIa and ActRIIb inhibitors had similar efficacy, but that the ActRIIb inhibitor was better tolerated (see paragraphs [00342]-[00347] and [00353]-[00362]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the ActRIIa/b inhibitor in Seehra could be substituted for either the ActRIIa or ActRIIb inhibitor of Attie and colleagues and expect improved results based upon the teachings of Seehra (see p. 39, lines 31-35):
The invention is based on the discovery that substituting amino acids from the extracellular portion of ActRllb into the extracellular portion ActRlla yields ActRlla variants with improved properties. The ActRlla variants generated by introducing residues from ActRllb into ActRlla retain the beneficial properties of ActRlla, such as longer serum half-life and low binding affinity to BMP9, and gain some of the beneficial properties of ActRllb, such as increased binding to activins A and B (see Table 4)
In addition, Seehra teach that the modified ActRIIa/b variant of the invention can be used to treat many “conditions in which elevated activin signaling has been implicated” (see p. 39, lines 36-41).
The United States Supreme Court instructs that if a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one method (i.e., an improved ActRIIa/b variant for treatment), and a person of ordinary skill would recognize that it would improve similar methods (i.e., treatment of disease related to excessive activin signaling) in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill (KSR, 127 S. Ct. at 1740). “When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product is not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show it was obvious under 35 U.S.C. 103.” KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Given the improved half-life, solubility and tolerability of the modified soluble extracellular ActRIIa/b variants taught by Seehra, the person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success when substituting this soluble extracellular ActRIIa variant for the one taught by Attie and colleagues.
Thus, the claims do not contribute anything non-obvious over the prior art.
The rejection of claims 150, 151, 159 and 160 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attie et al. (WO 2016/090077) and Seehra (WO 2018/089715) as applied to claims 7, 27, 146-149, 152, 153, 155-158, 161 and 162 above, and further in view of Lansing et al. (WO2018129397) is maintained for reasons of record and the following. The first factor to consider when making a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is to determine the scope and contents of the prior art. The combined teachings of Attie et al. and Seehra and how they meet the limitations of claims 7, 27, 146-149, 152, 153, 155-158, 161 and 162 are outlined above in the preceding rejection and are hereby incorporated. Regarding ActRIIa/b inhibitors, Seehra teaches an extracellular ActRIIa variant having a sequence with 100% identity to SEQ ID NO: 69 (see claims 109-111 and the Table at p. 27 of Seehra). Seehra also teaches that the Fc domain may be an IgG1 fused to the C-terminus of the ActRIIa polypeptide through a flexible linker such as GGG (see p. 1, lines 25-27; p. 3, lines 18-19; p. 13, lines 12-14; p. 33, lines 27-41 through p. 34, line 1; claim 95). Thus, the combined teachings of Attie et al. and Seehra et al. suggest an ActRIIa inhibitor having the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + an IgG1 Fc domain.
The second factor to consider is to ascertain the differences between the prior art and the instant claims. The combined teachings of Attie et al. and Seehra do not teach SEQ ID NOs: 155 and 156 as recited in instant claims 150, 151, 159 and 160. Note that instant SEQ ID NO: 155 encompasses the Fc domain and instant SEQ ID NO: 156 encompasses instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + instant SEQ ID NO: 155. In addition, as noted above, the combined prior art teachings suggest an ActRIIa/b inhibitor having the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + an IgG1 Fc domain, thus, the only element missing from the prior art’s teaching is the sequence of the Fc domain. Lansing et al. teach an Fc domain, SEQ ID NO: 45, sharing 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 155:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1228; Length 226;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 226; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
Qy 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
Qy 121 GQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
Qy 181 DGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 DGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the combined teachings of Attie et al. and Seehra by using the Fc domain taught in Lansing et al. because Lansing et al. teach the Fc domain disclosed therein “unexpectedly feature[s] stronger binding to multiple classes of FCY receptors and enhanced activity of multiple cytotoxicity pathways” and has “enhanced effector function” (see claims 1; 39; p. 70, lines 32-35). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute Fc domains because it represents a simple substitution of one known element (an Fc domain) for another to obtain predictable results. The combined prior art of Attie et al. and Seehra taught Fc domains, and Lansing et al. taught an improved Fc domain. Given the teaching of Lansing and colleagues, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that substituting the improved Fc domain would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved ActRIIa-Fc product. Furthermore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable potential Fc domains available in the field of protein engineering. For these reasons, as well, the person having ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success.
Thus, the claims do not contribute anything non-obvious over the prior art.
Claims 154 and 163 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Attie et al. (WO 2016/090077) and Seehra (WO 2018/089715) as applied to claims 7, 27, 146-149, 152, 153, 155-158, 161 and 162 above, and further in view of Gupta et al. (Journal of Blood Medicine 2010: 1 171-182) is maintained for reasons of record and the following. The first factor to consider when making a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is to determine the scope and contents of the prior art. The combined teachings of Attie et al. and Seehra and how they meet the limitations of claims 7, 27, 146-149, 152, 153, 155-158, 161 and 162 are outlined above in a preceding rejection and are hereby incorporated.
The second factor to consider is to ascertain the differences between the prior art and the instant claims. The combined teachings of Attie et al. and Seehra do not teach the specific subtypes of myelodysplastic syndrome with ring or excess sideroblasts as recited in claims 164 and 163. Gupta et al. review the WHO classifications of MDS-RS, which include, among others, unilineage (i.e., single lineage) and multilineage dysplasia (see p. 172, Table 1). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the conditions taught in Gupta et al. represent sub-categories of MDS-RS because “[m]yelodysplastic syndromes are a spectrum of bone marrow failure disorders that share a common pathologic feature: cytologic dysplasia” (see p. 181, right column, last paragraph). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat these patients with the ActRIIa-Fc because MDS patients do not response to many conventional treatments. The person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success because Attie et al. taught that treatment with ActRIIa-hFc resulted in improvements in hematological parameters in patients with thrombocytopenia and neutropenia (see paragraph [00344]).
Thus, the claims do not contribute anything non-obvious over the prior art.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues at pages 5-6 that Attie discloses methods of increasing platelet levels and neutrophil levels by administering an ActRII signaling inhibitor within a large genus of ActRII signaling inhibitors (a polypeptide, an antisense nucleic acid, siRNA, RNAi construct, or catalytic nucleic acid) and that the polypeptide ActRII inhibitor may be either be an ActRIIa inhibitor or an ActRIIb inhibitor, therefore, a person of skill in the art would not be motivated to select an ActRIIa polypeptide inhibitor over another ActRII inhibitor taught by Attie and if the skilled person did select an ActRII polypeptide inhibitor over an ActRIIb inhibitor because Attie presents a clinical comparison in which an ActRIIb inhibitor matches the efficacy of an ActRIIa inhibitor while demonstrating a superior safety profile.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. First, although Attie et al. contemplate siRNA, RNAi or catalytic nucleic acid ActRII inhibitors, they exemplify only two polypeptide inhibitors, namely an ActRIIa inhibitor as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 7 and an ActRIIb inhibitor as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 25. Second, the argument that the ActRIIb inhibitor has similar efficacy but a superior safety profile is precisely why one having ordinary skill in the art would wish to substitute the ActRIIa/b inhibitor taught by Seehra. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution because Attie et al. teach that the ActRIIa and ActRIIb inhibitors had similar efficacy, but that the ActRIIb inhibitor was better tolerated (see paragraphs [00342]-[00347] and [00353]-[00362]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the ActRIIa/b inhibitor in Seehra could be substituted for either the ActRIIa or ActRIIb inhibitor of Attie and colleagues and expect improved results based upon the teachings of Seehra (see p. 39, lines 31-35):
The invention is based on the discovery that substituting amino acids from the extracellular portion of ActRllb into the extracellular portion ActRlla yields ActRlla variants with improved properties. The ActRlla variants generated by introducing residues from ActRllb into ActRlla retain the beneficial properties of ActRlla, such as longer serum half-life and low binding affinity to BMP9, and gain some of the beneficial properties of ActRllb, such as increased binding to activins A and B (see Table 4)
In addition, Seehra teach that the modified ActRIIa/b variant of the invention can be used to treat many “conditions in which elevated activin signaling has been implicated” (see p. 39, lines 36-41).
Applicant argues at p. 7 that even if a skilled person would have been motivated by Attie to select another ActRIIa inhibitor, which Applicant does not concede, a skilled person could not have predicted from Attie that the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69 would have been effective at treating thrombocytopenia or neutropenia associated with a myelodysplastic syndrome, myelofibrosis, or myelofibrosis treatment as presently claimed because Attie only makes and tests a polypeptide containing a wild-type ActRIIa sequence (SEQ ID NO: 7 of Attie, see, e.g., Examples 1, 2, 5, and 7). Applicant argues further that the ActRIIa inhibitor of Attie shares only 85% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 69, with amino acid substitutions at 16 positions, thus a skilled artisan could not have predicted from the disclosure of Attie that a polypeptide having a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69 would possess the beneficial therapeutic effect as presently claimed.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. The comparison between instant SEQ ID NO: 156 (which comprises SEQ ID NO: 69, bolded) and SEQ ID NO: 7 demonstrates that most of the substitutions of are conservative, represented by the “:”, and therefore, predictable.
RESULT 1
AASEQ2_06042026_160737
Query Match 93.0%; Score 1740.5; DB 1; Length 344;
Best Local Similarity 91.3%;
Matches 315; Conservative 12; Mismatches 7; Indels 11; Gaps 2;
Qy 3 ILGRSETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGCWL 62
||||||||||||:||||| :|||||||| | |:|||| ||:|||:||||||||||:||||
Db 1 ILGRSETQECLFFNANWEKDRTNQTGVEPCYGDKDKRRHCFATWKNISGSIEIVKQGCWL 60
Qy 63 DDFNCYDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTS---------GGGD 113
|| |||||||||| :::|:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||
Db 61 DDINCYDRTDCVEKKDSPEVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTSNPVTPKPPTGGG- 119
Qy 114 KTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDG 173
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 120 -THTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDG 178
Qy 174 VEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAKG 233
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||
Db 179 VEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPVPIEKTISKAKG 238
Qy 234 QPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSD 293
||||||||||||||:|:|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 239 QPREPQVYTLPPSREEMTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSD 298
Qy 294 GSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 338
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 299 GSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 343
The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the substitution because Attie et al. teaches that the ActRIIa and ActRIIb inhibitors had similar efficacy, but that the ActRIIb inhibitor was better tolerated (see paragraphs [00342]-[00347] and [00353]-[00362]). One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the ActRIIa/b inhibitor in Seehra could be substituted for either the ActRIIa or ActRIIb inhibitor of Attie and colleagues and expect improved results based upon the teachings of Seehra (see p. 39, lines 31-35):
The invention is based on the discovery that substituting amino acids from the extracellular portion of ActRllb into the extracellular portion ActRlla yields ActRlla variants with improved properties. The ActRlla variants generated by introducing residues from ActRllb into ActRlla retain the beneficial properties of ActRlla, such as longer serum half-life and low binding affinity to BMP9, and gain some of the beneficial properties of ActRllb, such as increased binding to activins A and B (see Table 4)
In addition, Seehra teach that the modified ActRIIa/b variant of the invention can be used to treat many “conditions in which elevated activin signaling has been implicated” (see p. 39, lines 36-41).
Applicant argues at p. 7 that Seehra does not remedy the deficiencies of Attie because Seehra does not disclose or suggest administering a polypeptide having a sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69 to treat thrombocytopenia or neutropenia associated with a myelodysplastic syndrome, myelofibrosis, or myelofibrosis treatment in a subject.
This argument has been fully considered, but is not found persuasive. The rejection is made under 35 USC 103, not 102, therefore, it is not required that the supporting reference teach all of the elements of the claims. The examiner relied upon Seehra for its teaching of the superior effects of the ActRIIa/b variant (see p. 39, lines 31-35):
The invention is based on the discovery that substituting amino acids from the extracellular portion of ActRllb into the extracellular portion ActRlla yields ActRlla variants with improved properties. The ActRlla variants generated by introducing residues from ActRllb into ActRlla retain the beneficial properties of ActRlla, such as longer serum half-life and low binding affinity to BMP9, and gain some of the beneficial properties of ActRllb, such as increased binding to activins A and B (see Table 4)
In addition, even though Seehra does not teach that the ActRIIa/b variant is specific for treating thrombocytopenia or neutropentia, they teach generally that the modified ActRIIa/b variant of the invention can be used to treat many “conditions in which elevated activin signaling has been implicated” (see p. 39, lines 36-41).
Double Patenting
USP 12,364,737
The rejection of claims 7, 27 and 146-163 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,364,737 in view of Wells et al. (CMAJ 2016. DOI:10.1503/cmaj.151077), Seehra (WO 2018/089715) and Lansing et al. (WO2018129397) is maintained for reasons of record and the following. The claims have been amended to recite treatment of subjects with an ActRIIa variant (SEQ ID NO: 69) who have thrombocytopenia (claim 7) or neutropenia (claim 27) associated with myelodysplastic syndrome, myelofibrosis or myelofibrosis treatment (claim 7) or associated with a myelodysplastic syndrome or myelofibrosis (claim 27).
Claims 146 and 155 recite an Fc domain monomer fused to the C-terminus of the ActRIIa variant by way of a linker, which claim 9 of the reference patent also recites. Claims 147-149 and 156-158 recite the linker is a flexible linker (claims 147, 156), a GGG linker (claims 148, 157) and the Fc domain is a human IgG1 Fc domain (claims 149, 158). Claims 150 and 159 recite the Fc domain comprises the amino acid of SEQ ID NO: 155 and new claims 151 and 160 recite the polypeptide comprises the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 156. Claims 152 and 161 recite the myelodysplastic syndrome is a very low, low or intermediate risk myelodysplastic syndrome; claims 153 and 162 recite the myelodysplastic syndrome is myelodysplastic syndrome (lines 5-6), in the alternative and new claims 154 and 163 recite the myelodysplastic syndrome with ring sideroblasts is single lineage dysplasia or multilineage dysplasia or the myelodysplastic syndrome with excess blasts is myelodysplastic syndrome with excess blasts type 1 or myelodysplastic syndrome with excess blasts type 2.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the reference patent recites methods of administering an extracellular ActRIIa variant to treat anemia associated with a myelodysplastic syndrome or myelofibrosis. The extracellular ActRIIa variant recited in the claims of the reference patent has the sequence set forth in SEQ ID NO: 69 in the alternative, which shares 100% sequence similarity to instant SEQ ID NO: 69. Further, although the claims of the reference patent do not address the risk level of myelodysplastic syndrome, a range of very low to intermediate risk does not introduce a patentable distinction, but rather covers the range of expected disease risk. The differences between the claims are as follows.
First, while the claims of the reference patent recite treating anemia associated with myelodysplastic syndrome or myelofibrosis, the instant claims recite treating thrombocytopenia and neutropenia associated with these same conditions. Nevertheless, the patient populations are overlapping; administering the same agent to treat the same patient population will inherently produce the same effects. The instantly claimed methods are not patentably distinct from those of the reference patent. Further, the art recognized that patients with myelodysplastic syndrome frequently present with anemia, thrombocytopenia or neutropenia (see Wells et al., right column, 1st paragraph).
Second, the claims of the reference patent do not the recite limitations in new claims 147-149 and 156-158. Seehra et al. teach that the linker is a flexible linker and may be GGG and the Fc domain may be an IgG1 (see p. 1, lines 25-27; p. 3, lines 18-19; p. 13, lines 12-14; p. 33, lines 27-41 through p. 34, line 1; claim 95). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art that the flexible linker may be GGG and the Fc domain may be an IgG1 because these are commonly used in the field of Fc variant proteins. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these substitutions because Seehra teaches the ActRlla variants disclosed therein have “improved properties” such as a greater half-life and solubility (see p. 39, lines 30-35). Given the improved half-life and solubility of the modified soluble extracellular ActRIIa variants taught by Seehra, the person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success.
Third, the claims of the reference patent do not teach SEQ ID NOs: 155 and 156 as recited in instant claims 150, 151, 159 and 160. Note that instant SEQ ID NO: 155 encompasses the Fc domain and instant SEQ ID NO: 156 encompasses instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + instant SEQ ID NO: 155. Seehra teaches an ActRIIa inhibitor having the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + an IgG1 Fc domain (see p. 1, lines 25-27; p. 3, lines 18-19; p. 13, lines 12-14; p. 33, lines 27-41 through p. 34, line 1; claim 95), therefore, the only thing missing in this teaching is the sequence set forth in instant SEQ ID NO: 155. Lansing et al. teach an Fc domain, SEQ ID NO: 45, sharing 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 155:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1228; Length 226;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 226; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
Qy 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
Qy 121 GQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
Qy 181 DGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 DGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify the claims of the reference patent by using the Fc domain taught in Lansing et al. because Lansing et al. teach that this Fc domain “unexpectedly feature[s] stronger binding to multiple classes of FCY receptors and enhanced activity of multiple cytotoxicity pathways” and has “enhanced effector function” (see claims 1; 39; p. 70, lines 32-35). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute Fc domains because it represents a simple substitution of one known element (an Fc domain) for another to obtain predictable results. Given the teaching of Lansing and colleagues, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that substituting the improved Fc domain would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved ActRIIa-Fc product. Furthermore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable potential Fc domains available in the field of protein engineering. For these reasons, as well, the person having ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success.
Fourth, the claims of the reference patent do not teach the specific subtypes of myelodysplastic syndrome with ring or excess sideroblasts as recited in claims 164 and 163. Gupta et al. review the WHO classifications of MDS-RS, which include, among others, unilineage (i.e., single lineage) and multilineage dysplasia (see p. 172, Table 1). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the conditions taught in Gupta et al. represent sub-categories of MDS-RS because “[m]yelodysplastic syndromes are a spectrum of bone marrow failure disorders that share a common pathologic feature: cytologic dysplasia” (see p. 181, right column, last paragraph). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat these patients because MDS patients do not respond to many conventional treatments. The person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success because the claims of the reference patent recite treating myelodysplastic patients with ActRIIa-hFc.
In summary, when read in light of the prior art by Wells, Seehra and Gupta et al., the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the ‘737 patent.
S/N 18/390,085
The provisional rejection of claims 7, 27, 146-149, 152, 153, 155-158, 161 and 162 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 92-99 and 102 of copending Application No. in view of 18/390,085 (reference application) in view of Wells and Gupta is maintained for reasons of record and the following. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets encompass methods of treating a person having myelodysplastic syndrome, including very low, low or intermediate risk MDS, with an ActRII signaling inhibitor wherein the ActRII signaling inhibitor is a polypeptide comprising an extracellular activin receptor type IIa (ActRIIa) variant and an Fc domain, wherein the polypeptide comprises a GGG linker, and wherein the ActRII signaling inhibitor has the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 69, which is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 69.
Further, the claims of the reference application recite the Fc domain is set forth in SEQ ID NO: 79, which shares 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 155 and the polypeptide is set forth in SEQ ID NO: 80, which shares 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 156. See the following alignment between SEQ ID NO: 80 of the reference application and instant SEQ ID NO: 156. The underlined portion shows the 100% sequence identity between SEQ ID NO: 79 of the reference application and instant SEQ ID NO: 156 (the GGG linker is bolded and italicized):
RESULT 1
US-17-945-324-156
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1871; DB 1; Length 338;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 338; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 GAILGRSETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGC 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GAILGRSETQECLFYNANWELERTNQTGVERCEGEKDKRLHCYATWRNISGSIEIVKKGC 60
Qy 61 WLDDFNCYDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTSGGGDKTHTCPP 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 WLDDFNCYDRTDCVETEENPQVYFCCCEGNMCNEKFSYFPEMEVTQPTSGGGDKTHTCPP 120
Qy 121 CPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDGVEVHNAK 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 CPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVDGVEVHNAK 180
Qy 181 TKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAKGQPREPQV 240
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 TKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAKGQPREPQV 240
Qy 241 YTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYS 300
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 241 YTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDSDGSFFLYS 300
Qy 301 KLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 338
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 301 KLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 338
From the alignment it is clear that the claims of the reference application encompass the limitations in new claims 147-151 and 156-160.
The differences between the claims are as follows. First, the claims of the reference application recite different but overlapping subpopulations of patients suffering from myelodysplastic syndrome, while the instant claims recite treating thrombocytopenia and neutropenia associated with this same condition. Nevertheless, the goals of the reference claims and the instant claims are the same, namely treating myelodysplastic syndrome. Further, the art recognized that patients with myelodysplastic syndrome frequently present with anemia, thrombocytopenia or neutropenia (see Wells et al., right column, 1st paragraph).
Second, the claims of the reference application do not teach the specific subtypes of myelodysplastic syndrome with ring or excess sideroblasts as recited in claims 164 and 163. Gupta et al. review the WHO classifications of MDS-RS, which include, among others, unilineage (i.e., single lineage) and multilineage dysplasia (see p. 172, Table 1). It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention that the conditions taught in Gupta et al. represent sub-categories of MDS-RS because “[m]yelodysplastic syndromes are a spectrum of bone marrow failure disorders that share a common pathologic feature: cytologic dysplasia” (see p. 181, right column, last paragraph). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to treat these patients because MDS patients do not response to many conventional treatments. The person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success because the claims of the reference application recite methods of increasing hematopoiesis in this patient population.
In summary, when read in light of the prior art by Wells and Gupta et al., the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the ‘085 application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
S/N 18/443,987
The provisional rejection of claims 7, 27, 146-151 and 155-160 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 18, 23, 24, 27, 32, 35, 41-43, 45 and 48 of copending Application No. 18/443,987 (reference application) of in view of Seehra (WO2018/089715) and Lansing et al. (WO2018129397) is maintained for reasons of record and the following. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both claim sets encompass treating anemia, cytopenia, thrombocytopenia or neutropenia with an extracellular ActRIIa variant. The claims of the reference application are drawn to a method of treating a subject having myelofibrosis comprising the step of administering in combination to the subject an effective amount of a cytopenia-associated myelofibrosis treatment and an ActRIl signaling inhibitor that comprises a sequence having 100% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 69 in the alternative (i.e., X1 is F; X2 is Y; X3 is E; X4 is L; X5 is E; X6 is R; X7 is R; X8 is E; X9 is E; X10 is K; X11 is D; X12 is K; X13 is R; X14 is L; X15 is Y; X16 is R; X17 is K; X18 is K; X19 is W; X20 is L; X21 is D; X22 is F; X23 is T; X24 is E; X25 is E; X26 is N; and X27 is Q). The instant claims are drawn to the following:
Independent claim 7 - treating a sub18ject having or at risk of developing thrombocytopenia associated with myelodysplastic syndrome, myelofibrosis or myelofibrosis treatment.
Independent claim 27 - treating a subject having or at risk of developing neutropenia associated with myelodysplastic syndrome or myelofibrosis.
The differences between the claims are as follows. First, the claims of the reference application recite different but overlapping subpopulations of patients suffering from myelofibrosis. Nevertheless, the reference claims and the instant claims both encompass treating myelofibrosis, thrombocytopenia or neutropenia (see claim 32 of the reference application).
Second, the claims of the reference patent do not recite limitations in new claims 147-149 and 156-158. Seehra et al. teach that the linker is a flexible linker and may be GGG and the Fc domain may be an IgG1 fused to the C-terminus of the ActRIIa polypeptide (see p. 1, lines 25-27; p. 3, lines 18-19; p. 13, lines 12-14; p. 33, lines 27-41 through p. 34, line 1; claim 95). Thus, the claims of the reference application combined with the teachings of Seehra suggest an ActRIIa inhibitor having the same sequence as instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + an IgG1 Fc domain.
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art that the flexible linker may be GGG and the Fc domain may be an IgG1 fused at the C-terminus because these are commonly employed modifications in the field of Fc variant proteins. The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these substitutions because Seehra teaches the ActRlla variants disclosed therein have “improved properties” such as a greater half-life and solubility (see p. 39, lines 30-35). Given the improved half-life and solubility of the modified soluble extracellular ActRIIa variants taught by Seehra, the person of ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success.
Third, the claims of the reference application do not teach SEQ ID NOs: 155 and 156 as recited in instant claims 150, 151, 159 and 160. Note that instant SEQ ID NO: 155 encompasses the Fc domain and instant SEQ ID NO: 156 encompasses instant SEQ ID NO: 69 + the linker GGG + instant SEQ ID NO: 155. Lansing et al. teach an Fc domain, SEQ ID NO: 45, sharing 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 155:
Query Match 100.0%; Score 1228; Length 226;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 226; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 DKTHTCPPCPAPELLGGPSVFLFPPKPKDTLMISRTPEVTCVVVDVSHEDPEVKFNWYVD 60
Qy 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 GVEVHNAKTKPREEQYNSTYRVVSVLTVLHQDWLNGKEYKCKVSNKALPAPIEKTISKAK 120
Qy 121 GQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 121 GQPREPQVYTLPPSRDELTKNQVSLTCLVKGFYPSDIAVEWESNGQPENNYKTTPPVLDS 180
Qy 181 DGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 DGSFFLYSKLTVDKSRWQQGNVFSCSVMHEALHNHYTQKSLSLSPG 226
It would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to use the Fc domain taught in Lansing et al. because they teach the Fc domain disclosed therein “unexpectedly feature[s] stronger binding to multiple classes of FCY receptors and enhanced activity of multiple cytotoxicity pathways” and has “enhanced effector function” (see claims 1; 39; p. 70, lines 32-35). The person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to substitute Fc domains because it represents a simple substitution of one known element (an Fc domain) for another to obtain predictable results. Given the teaching of Lansing and colleagues, one having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that substituting the improved Fc domain would have yielded predictable results and resulted in an improved ActRIIa-Fc product. Furthermore, the person of ordinary skill in the art would be choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable potential Fc domains available in the field of protein engineering. For these reasons, as well, the person having ordinary skill in the art could have reasonably expected success.
In summary, when read in light of the prior art by Seehra and Lansing et al., the instant claims are not patentably distinct from the claims of the ‘987 application. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejection over US Patent 12,364,737, while the instant claims recite treating thrombocytopenia and neutropenia associated with associated with myelodysplastic syndrome or myelofibrosis, the claims of the reference patent recite treating anemia associated these same conditions. Thus, the patient populations between the instant claims and those of the reference patent are overlapping; administering the same agent to treat the same patient population will inherently produce the same effects. Therefore, the instantly claimed methods are not patentably distinct from those of the reference patent. Further, the art recognized that patients with myelodysplastic syndrome frequently present with anemia, thrombocytopenia or neutropenia (see Wells et al., right column, 1st paragraph).
Regarding the two provisional rejections, since these are not the only remaining rejections, they should not be withdrawn.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Laadem (WO2018/231905—on IDS filed 09/25/2023) teaches treating essential thrombocytopenia associated with myelofibrosis with an ActRIIb signaling inhibitor (see paragraph [0009]; [0025]; [0059]). In addition, Suragani et al. (Blood, (18 Nov 2011) Vol. 118, No. 21. Abstract Number: 610. Meeting Info: 53rd Annual Meeting of the American Society of Hematology, ASH 2011. San Diego, CA, United States) teach that an ActRIIb domain linked to a human Fc domain reduces anemia and neutropenia associated with myelodysplastic syndrome in a mouse model (see whole abstract).
/CHRISTINA M BORGEEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1675