Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s argument that the art of record does not teach first and second chambers with baffle walls that present continuous vertical flange surfaces with connection areas that are clamped by a connection means, see modified rejections below, Richter teaches integral construction and stiffening ribs and flanges which appear to provide continuous vertical surfaces, and connections by welding. Additionally see new rejections in view of Firth.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 11 and 12 recite and inlet and an outlet diffuser, diffuser is interpreted in light of the instant specification [0025-0028] to include an conduit comprising an upright conduit section, a discharge, one or more openings.
Claims 1, and 21 recite the limitation of connection means, interpreted in view of the instant specification to include bolting or welding or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21, 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Firth (US PG Pub 2009/0071955).
With respect to claim 21, Firth teaches modular tanks with cooperating formations on end walls comprising a tank assembly including at least two tank sections adapted to be fitted together (abstract) cooperating formations on end walls limit relative movement between the tank sections at least in one direction when in the assembled position (0001-0004), tanks sections 20, 40, 60 which are fluidly connected (0024, Fig. 1-5, a reservoir comprising at least first and second separation chambers in fluid communication with each other), formations comprising cooperating flanges and fasteners on the adjacent end walls and a plurality of substantially spaced apart ribs with recesses, and baffles, the ribs on one end wall being disposed within the recesses in the other end wall (0006-0009, 0026-0032, chambers with baffle walls and peripheral flanges, end walls, ribs, and recesses, presenting continuous vertical surfaces with recessed areas formed on an opposite sides of continuous vertical surfaces and aligned), flanges with holes for bolts (0007, 0032, connection means that clamp the first and second recessed areas).
With respect to claim 25, the device of claim 21 is taught above. Firth teaches, wherein the cross-section of the effluent reservoir in which the double baffle wall resides is a vertical cross-section,
and at least a portion of the double baffle wall extends vertically (Figures).
Claims 1-4, 6-10, 13, 14, 21-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Richter (US PG Pub 2006/0124640), or alternatively under35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter in view of Firth (US PG Pub 2009/0071955).
With respect to claims 1 and 21, Richter teaches a plastic container (a reservoir) with two container parts (12, 14, at least first and second chambers in fluid communication with each other) connected to one another by a connection frame (26, 28) (abstract, Figs.), partition walls 30, 44, with stiffening ribs 36 in the middle section, serving as support formed integrally (0028-0032, an integrally formed double baffle wall residing within a cross-section of the reservoir configured to control the movement of fluid therethrough and to provide structural support to the effluent reservoir), partition wall 30/ribs 36 (first baffle wall) belonging to container 14 (first chamber) with frame 26 (first peripheral flange), partition wall 44 (second baffle wall adjacent to the first baffle wall to present the double baffle wall, Fig. 6) belonging to container 12 (second chamber) and frame 28 (second peripheral flange), frames 28, 26 of the container parts 14, 12, formed by the end faces of the open container parts 14, 12 and the end faces of the partition walls 30 and 44 (0031, second peripheral flange that directly contacts at least a portion of the first peripheral flange).
Examiner notes limitations of effluent, separation, effluent mixture, and the preamble of an effluent separation device are directed to an intended use, intended use of an apparatus is not accorded patentable weight where the statement of intended use does not distinguish over the prior art apparatus (see MPEP 2114).
Applicant amended to require: the first peripheral flange presenting a first continuous vertical surface and first recessed areas formed on an opposite side of the first continuous vertical surface, the second peripheral flange presenting a second continuous vertical surface and second recessed areas formed on an opposite side of the second continuous vertical surface, the second continuous vertical surface directly contacting at least a portion of the first continuous vertical peripheral flange surface with the first and second recessed areas being aligned; and connection means that clamp the first and second recessed areas.
Richter teaches frames 26/28, partition walls, and ribs 36, 56, 58, 60, 62 as discussed above (first and second flanges), the ribs and frames forming a continuous vertical surface (0028-0032, Fig. 5, 8), which abut and offset/cooperate (0029-0036, Claim 6, Fig. 10, recessed areas formed on opposite sides of continuous vertical surfaces, and directly contacting), openings including sections 50, 52, through holes 38 (Fig. 5, 8, 0030-0033), providing apertures aligned, and the frames welded together, or screwed (0035-0037, connection means).
Alternatively with respect to the recessed areas, Firth teaches similar modular tanks with cooperating formations on end walls comprising a tank assembly including at least two tank sections adapted to be fitted together (abstract) cooperating formations on end walls limit relative movement between the tank sections at least in one direction when in the assembled position (0001-0004), tanks sections 20, 40, 60 which are fluidly connected (0024, Fig. 1-5, a reservoir comprising at least first and second separation chambers in fluid communication with each other), formations comprising cooperating flanges and fasteners on the adjacent end walls and a plurality of substantially spaced apart ribs with recesses, and baffles, the ribs on one end wall being disposed within the recesses in the other end wall (0006-0009, 0026-0032, chambers with baffle walls and peripheral flanges, end walls, ribs, and recesses, presenting continuous vertical surfaces with recessed areas formed on an opposite sides of continuous vertical surfaces and aligned), flanges with holes for bolts (0007, 0032, connection means that clamp the first and second recessed areas). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richter’s taught tanks to include formations as described by Firth, in order to limit relative movement between tanks sections.
With respect to claim 2, the device of claim 1, is taught above. Richter teaches wherein each of the first and second separation chambers comprise a hollow liquid-receiving reservoir defined by respective first and second monolithically- formed bodies (Figures, 0023).
With respect to claim 3, the device of claim 2, is taught above. Richter teaches filling and emptying opening 16, with regard to the rest, the two container parts are identically structured so that each container part can be manufactured by using the same blowing mold (0023, wherein the first and second monolithically-formed bodies have substantially identical or symmetrical construction).
With respect to claim 4, the device of claim 2, is taught above. Richter teaches connection frames are welded together (0008, 0021-0022, 0031-0036, Figures 5, 8, wherein the first and second monolithically- formed bodies are permanently affixed together at one or more positions around perimeters of the first and second apertures).
With respect to claim 6, the device of claim 1, is taught above. Richter teaches frames and ribs as discussed above, which appear flat (Figs., first and second continuous vertical peripheral flange surfaces are substantially flat, and wherein the first and second continuous vertical peripheral flange surfaces form an outer support structure for the double baffle wall).
With respect to claim 7, the device of claim 1, is taught above. Richter teaches apertures as discussed above, absent clarification of what is required for to allow a grease depleted effluent layer to pass therethrough, the art meets the claim language.
With respect to claim 8, the device of claim 7, is taught above. Richter teaches ribs arranged offset and cooperate, while Richter does not explicitly teach the second aperture has a smaller cross sectional area than the first aperture, absent evidence of criticality the selection of size of apertures would be a matter of design choice, further see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. changes in size are obvious, such that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide apertures with different sizes or tapers to facilitate mating between tank sections.
With respect to claim 9, the device of claim 7, is taught above. Richter teaches bores 40 (fig. 5, 0030, the first and second baffle walls each comprise one or more vent holes formed at a position above the one or more first and second apertures and which are aligned to allow fluid communication between the first and second separation chambers).
With respect to claims 10 and 13, the device of claim 1, is taught above. Richter teaches each of the first and second separation chambers comprise a substantially convex, rounded, and/or domed irregular shape end wall (Figures). While Richter teaches a single filling and emptying neck 16 an upper aperture formed therein configured to pass an inlet or outlet effluent therethrough, not having openings in each section, having openings in each section of a modular tank would be an obvious choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to allow assess to each tank section, as can be seen in Firth, Firth teaches a similar modular tank system as discussed above, and teaches each tank section comprising an opening through which liquid can be delivered (0032, Figures, having an upper aperture formed therein configured to pass an inlet or outlet effluent therethrough). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richter’s taught apparatus to include upper apertures in each chamber/section in order to allow access to each tank section, as apertures in each section are known in the art as shown by Firth, and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 14, the device of claim 1, is taught above. While Richter teaches two container parts, not a third separation chamber in fluid communication with the first and second separation chambers, wherein the second separation chamber resides between the first and third separation chambers and comprises a third baffle wall opposite the second baffle wall, wherein the third separation chamber comprising a fourth baffle wall, the third and fourth baffle walls abutting each other to present a second double baffle wall residing within a second cross-section of the effluent reservoir, the use of multiple, modular tank sections is known in the art as shown by Firth, Firth teaches a similar system as discussed above and three tank sections 20, 40, 60, with formations between each (0034, Figures). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richter’s taught apparatus to include additional sections as taught by Firth, depending on capacity needs and as shown by Firth, the use of additional sections is known in the art and the courts have held that combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date, see MPEP §2143.
With respect to claim 22, the device of claim 21 is taught above. Richter teaches through holes 38 on both sides of ribs 36, and bore holes 40/42 allow for an exchange of fluid in the region of the ribs (0030), the first baffle wall includes one or more first aperture, and the second baffle wall includes one or more second aperture aligned with the one or more first aperture to allow flow between the first and second chambers.
Applicant amended to require: two or more apertures, wherein the first peripheral flange extends around the two or more first apertures and the second peripheral flange extends around the two or more second apertures. Richter teaches holes 38 on both sides, and frames surrounding (two or more apertures, Fig. 5).
With respect to claim 23, the device of claim 22 is taught above. Richter teaches holes as discussed above, and frames 28, 26 of the container parts 14, 12, formed by the end faces of the open container parts 14, 12 and the end faces of the partition walls 30 and 44 (0031), the one or more first aperture is formed in one or more first protrusion that is coplanar with the first peripheral flange, and the one or more second aperture is formed in one or more second protrusion that is coplanar with the second peripheral flange.
Applicant amended to require: the apertures formed in protrusions coplanar with the continuous vertical surfaces. Richter teaches openings including sections 50, 52, through holes 38 (Fig. 5, 8, 0030-0033), providing apertures formed in protrusions coplanar with the continuous vertical surfaces.
With respect to claim 24, the device of claim 21 is taught above. Richter teaches large volume containers and volumes including 5000 liters (1321 gallons, title, 0027), the effluent reservoir has a liquid capacity of at least 1,000 gallons.
With respect to claim 25, the device of claim 21 is taught above. Richter teaches the cross-section of the effluent reservoir in which the double baffle wall resides is a vertical cross-section, and at least a portion of the double baffle wall extends vertically (Figures, in particular Fig. 1, 5).
Claims 5 is/are rejected under35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter (US PG Pub 2006/0124640), in view of Firth (US PG Pub 2009/0071955), in view of Estes (US 3,741,393)
With respect to claim 5, the device of claim 1, is taught above. Richter teaches stiffening ribs (the first and second baffle walls each comprise a plurality of ribs), while Richter does not teach radial ribs, absent evidence of criticality the selection of shape of the ribs would be a matter of design choice, further see MPEP 2144.04 IV. A. changes in shape are obvious, and radial ribs are known in the art as shown by Estes. Estes teaches rigid tanks employing corrugated walls and intermediate bulkheads which separate the tanks into chambers for settling and clarifying (abstract), and in embodiments corrugations are provided to extend in radial directions in order to provide omnidirectional stiffening (C7/L39-52, Fig. 8, ribs extending radially outward from a central portion of the baffle walls). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Richter’s tanks such that the stiffening ribs radially extend as taught by Estes in order to provide omnidirectional stiffening
Claims 11, 12 is/are rejected under35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richter (US PG Pub 2006/0124640), in view of Firth (US PG Pub 2009/0071955), in view of Bealer (US PG Pub 2002/0185426).
With respect to claims 11 and 12, the device of claim 10, is taught above. Richter teaches large volume containers for use storage of liquids, underground (0001-0005, 0027), but does not teach the containers comprising an inlet diffuser installed within the first separation chamber, to direct at least a portion inlet in the direction of the end wall of the first separation chamber. Bealer teaches similar tanks comprising a tank separated into 5 sections or cells (0043, Figures), where cells could be used as oil water separators, settling tanks and for storage of water (0063), and each cell has a pipe 10 located near the lower section of the opposite wall (0043, Fig. 2) and in embodiments screen pipe 23 (0046, Fig. 2), diffusers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to Richter’s apparatus to include diffusers as taught by Bealer, in order to treat stored water in multiple stages and with multiple treatment techniques, providing the ability and flexibility to change the treatment techniques during the operational life of the system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Graves (8,137,544), similar system.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEANNIE MCDERMOTT/Examiner, Art Unit 1777
/BRADLEY R SPIES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777