DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the RCE filed 5/4/2026 in which Claims 1-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 7-12, filed 5/4/2026, with respect to Claims 1, 10 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejection of Claims 1, 10 and 18 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10 and 18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 10, 14, 16, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0352053 to Melodia et al (“Melodia”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0175724 to Rossato et al (“Rossato”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0026146 to Tollefson et al (“Tollefson”).
As to Claim 1, Melodia teaches a system for transmitting one or more covert wireless signals within an overt wireless signal, comprising: an encoder configured to: receive a bitstream (the transmitter comprising a covert packet generator [encoder] operative to receive…a primary data stream of primary in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) symbols [receive a bitstream], see ¶ 0007; Primary data is processed through standard scheduling and signal processing procedures (e.g., modulation) of the primary system. This data results in a sequence of primary symbols which are fed to the steganographic system covert packet generator 52, see ¶ 0291); encoding the bitstream to an encoded noise signal (covert packet generator…can generate displacements in the primary I/Q symbols in a constellation diagram randomly in a plurality of transmissions to mimic channel noise [encode the received bitstream to an encoded noise signal], see Abstract; Primary data is processed through standard scheduling and signal processing procedures (e.g., modulation) of the primary system. This data results in a sequence of primary symbols which are fed to the steganographic system covert packet generator 52, see ¶ 0291; the steganographic system implements a mechanism that “mimics” I/Q displacements introduced by noise on the wireless channel by randomizing the covert embedding procedures. Rather than utilizing a fixed distance between covert symbols, the steganographic system randomly changes the distance between the covert symbols, see ¶ 0308); and combine a covert modulated signal with the encoded noise signal to form at least one covert wireless signal, the at least one covert wireless signal distinct from the received bitstream (covert packet generator…can generate displacements in the primary I/Q symbols in a constellation diagram randomly in a plurality of transmissions to mimic channel noise, see Abstract; a covert packet generator operative to receive a covert data stream of covert data…and to embed the covert data as covert data symbols within the primary I/Q symbols in a covert packet [combine a covert modulated signal with the encoded noise signal to form a covert wireless signal], see ¶ 0007; Primary and covert data streams are separate and independent from one another [covert wireless signal distinct from received bitstream], see ¶ 0291; The generated packet is then modulated through the covert modulator 54 according to the set covert modulation parameters. Finally, the resulting covert modulated symbols are embedded in the primary symbols through the covert embedder 56, see ¶ 0293; The coding map uniquely associates covert packets (i.e., bit sequences) to modulated covert symbols. Covert symbols are, then, embedded in primary symbols through the covert embedder block, see ¶ 0296; Similarly, this procedure modulates the amplitude of the primary symbols based on the amplitude of the modulated covert symbols (by each covert symbol). The output is a sequence of primary symbols with embedded covert data, see ¶ 0297; Figure 7 illustrates the modulated covert symbols output by the covert modulator 54 combined with the primary symbols from packet generator 64); and transmit the at least one covert wireless signal within an overt wireless signal (a covert packet generator operative to receive a covert data stream of covert data…and to embed the covert data as covert data symbols within the primary I/Q symbols in a covert packet, see ¶ 0007; a radio frequency (RF) front end and antenna operative to transmit and receive radio frequency signals, the RF front end in communication with the covert packet generator to receive the covert packet for transmission [transmit the covert wireless signal within an overt wireless signal], see ¶ 0008; Once covert symbols have been generated, the covert embedder 56 embeds them (see FIG. 7). Similarly, this procedure modulates the amplitude of the primary symbols based on the amplitude of the modulated covert symbols (by each covert symbol). The output is a sequence of primary symbols with embedded covert data. The symbols are then processed by mapping and precoding blocks and transmitted through the RF front-end, see ¶ 0297); and
a decoder operably coupled to the encoder via the overt wireless signal, the decoder configured to: receive the at least one covert wireless signal (a covert packet detector [decoder] operative to receive incoming transmissions from the transmitter, to detect a presence of the covert packet, see ¶ 0054); remove the covert modulated signal from the received at least one covert wireless signal to isolate the encoded noise signal (Upon detecting a covert packet, the covert packet detector 82 reads the length of the covert payload and CRC32 fields (i.e., L.sub.P+L.sub.PC), the packet number and the modulation parameters contained in the info field of the header (see FIG. 3). Then it extracts the symbols corresponding to the encoding L.sub.P+L.sub.PC bytes of the covert packet [remove the covert modulated signal from the received covert wireless signal], see ¶ 0303; The covert demodulator 84 extracts the encoded covert information from each packet [isolate encoded noise signal]. As shown in FIG. 3, covert modulation parameters necessary to demodulate covert packets, such as employed covert modulation, packet length, and the packet type, are specified in the header, see ¶ 0304; the packets carry a threshold flag field (see Section 2.1.1) instructing the receiver on the covert constellation used by the transmitter. The value of this flag is changed on a per-packet basis, thus reducing the probability of successful steganalysis attacks. In one implementation of the steganographic system, this field includes 2 bits encoding the 4 different distance configurations, see ¶ 0309); and convert the isolated encoded noise signal into a decoded bitstream (The covert demodulator 84 extracts the encoded covert information from each packet [isolated encoded noise signal]. As shown in FIG. 3, covert modulation parameters necessary to demodulate covert packets, such as employed covert modulation, packet length, and the packet type, are specified in the header. This way, the demodulator block can reconstruct the decoding map and use it to demodulate the received symbols into covert data (e.g., bit sequence), see ¶ 0304).
Melodia does not explicitly disclose the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal.
Rossato teaches the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal (The encoder 110 converts the original transient signal component [hardware noise signal] into a substitute transient signal component [encoded noise signal]. The substitute transient signal component is representative of but not identical to transient information in the received signal, see ¶ 0065; the encoder 110 generates the substitute transient signal component to have a substantially similar distribution of information as a distribution of information in the original transient signal component, see ¶ 0066; The encoder 110 can be configured to generate the substitute transient signal component [encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise] to be perceptibly equivalent to the original transient signal component [encoded noise signal indistinguishable from hardware noise signal], see ¶ 0067).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia with Rossato to teach the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order generate the substitute transient signal component to be perceptibly equivalent to the original transient signal component (see ¶ 0067).
Melodia and Rossato do not expressly disclose receive a bitstream including a bit domain.
Tollefson teaches receive a bitstream including a bit domain (data source generates modulated data signal [bitstream], see ¶ 0064).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia and Rossato with Tollefson to teach receive a bitstream including a bit domain. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce computational costs (see ¶ 0055).
As to Claim 5, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 1, Melodia teaches wherein the encoded noise signal is within a transmission bandwidth defined by at least one predetermined regulatory communication standard (This software allows to measure network statistics, e.g., throughput and packet loss, and supports TCP and UDP protocols [predetermined regulatory communication standard] with different target bandwidths, see ¶ 0316; FIGS. 16A and 16B depict the covert throughput [encoded noise signal] (FIG. 16A) and percentage of covert packet retransmissions (FIG. 16B) under UDP primary traffic. The iperf3 UDP target bandwidth parameter was set as follows: (i) 0.5 Mbps for Case A; (ii) 2 Mbps for Case B, and (iii) 5 Mbps for Case C, see ¶ 0318).
As to Claim 8, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 1, Melodia teaches wherein the at least one covert wireless signal is a plurality of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) carrier signals or quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) carrier signals (the cover modulation parameters including a modulation order, coding map associating covert bit sequences to modulated covert symbols, and a packet type…wherein the modulation parameters are indicative of an amplitude shift keying modulation scheme, phase shift keying modulation scheme, frequency shift keying modulation scheme, or quadrature amplitude modulation scheme, see ¶ 0174-0175).
As to Claim 10, Melodia teaches a method for transmitting one or more covert wireless signals within an overt wireless signal, comprising: receiving a bitstream at an encoder (the transmitter comprising a covert packet generator [encoder] operative to receive…a primary data stream of primary in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) symbols [receive a bitstream], see ¶ 0007; Primary data is processed through standard scheduling and signal processing procedures (e.g., modulation) of the primary system. This data results in a sequence of primary symbols which are fed to the steganographic system covert packet generator 52, see ¶ 0291); encoding the bitstream, at the encoder, into an encoded noise signal (covert packet generator…can generate displacements in the primary I/Q symbols in a constellation diagram randomly in a plurality of transmissions to mimic channel noise [encode the received bitstream to an encoded noise signal replicating a noise signal of a predetermined hardware device], see Abstract; Primary data is processed through standard scheduling and signal processing procedures (e.g., modulation) of the primary system. This data results in a sequence of primary symbols which are fed to the steganographic system covert packet generator 52, see ¶ 0291; the steganographic system implements a mechanism that “mimics” I/Q displacements introduced by noise on the wireless channel by randomizing the covert embedding procedures. Rather than utilizing a fixed distance between covert symbols, the steganographic system randomly changes the distance between the covert symbols, see ¶ 0308); combining a covert modulated signal with the encoded noise signal to form at least one covert wireless signal, the at least one covert wireless signal distinct from the received bitstream (covert packet generator…can generate displacements in the primary I/Q symbols in a constellation diagram randomly in a plurality of transmissions to mimic channel noise, see Abstract; a covert packet generator operative to receive a covert data stream of covert data…and to embed the covert data as covert data symbols within the primary I/Q symbols in a covert packet [combine a covert modulated signal with the encoded noise signal to form a covert wireless signal], see ¶ 0007; Primary and covert data streams are separate and independent from one another [covert wireless signal distinct from received bitstream], see ¶ 0291; The generated packet is then modulated through the covert modulator 54 according to the set covert modulation parameters. Finally, the resulting covert modulated symbols are embedded in the primary symbols through the covert embedder 56, see ¶ 0293; The coding map uniquely associates covert packets (i.e., bit sequences) to modulated covert symbols. Covert symbols are, then, embedded in primary symbols through the covert embedder block, see ¶ 0296; Similarly, this procedure modulates the amplitude of the primary symbols based on the amplitude of the modulated covert symbols (by each covert symbol). The output is a sequence of primary symbols with embedded covert data, see ¶ 0297; Figure 7 illustrates the modulated covert symbols output by the covert modulator 54 combined with the primary symbols from packet generator 64); transmitting the at least one covert wireless signal from the encoder within an overt wireless signal (a covert packet generator operative to receive a covert data stream of covert data…and to embed the covert data as covert data symbols within the primary I/Q symbols in a covert packet, see ¶ 0007; a radio frequency (RF) front end and antenna operative to transmit and receive radio frequency signals, the RF front end in communication with the covert packet generator to receive the covert packet for transmission [transmit the covert wireless signal within an overt wireless signal], see ¶ 0008; Once covert symbols have been generated, the covert embedder 56 embeds them (see FIG. 7). Similarly, this procedure modulates the amplitude of the primary symbols based on the amplitude of the modulated covert symbols (by each covert symbol). The output is a sequence of primary symbols with embedded covert data. The symbols are then processed by mapping and precoding blocks and transmitted through the RF front-end, see ¶ 0297); and receiving the at least one covert wireless signal at a decoder (a covert packet detector [decoder] operative to receive incoming transmissions from the transmitter, to detect a presence of the covert packet, see ¶ 0054); removing, at the decoder, the covert modulated signal from the received at least one covert wireless signal to isolate the encoded noise signal (Upon detecting a covert packet, the covert packet detector 82 reads the length of the covert payload and CRC32 fields (i.e., L.sub.P+L.sub.PC), the packet number and the modulation parameters contained in the info field of the header (see FIG. 3). Then it extracts the symbols corresponding to the encoding L.sub.P+L.sub.PC bytes of the covert packet [remove the covert modulated signal from the received covert wireless signal], see ¶ 0303; The covert demodulator 84 extracts the encoded covert information from each packet [isolate encoded noise signal]. As shown in FIG. 3, covert modulation parameters necessary to demodulate covert packets, such as employed covert modulation, packet length, and the packet type, are specified in the header, see ¶ 0304; the packets carry a threshold flag field (see Section 2.1.1) instructing the receiver on the covert constellation used by the transmitter. The value of this flag is changed on a per-packet basis, thus reducing the probability of successful steganalysis attacks. In one implementation of the steganographic system, this field includes 2 bits encoding the 4 different distance configurations, see ¶ 0309); and converting, at the decoder, the isolated encoded noise signal into a decoded bitstream (The covert demodulator 84 extracts the encoded covert information from each packet [isolated encoded noise signal]. As shown in FIG. 3, covert modulation parameters necessary to demodulate covert packets, such as employed covert modulation, packet length, and the packet type, are specified in the header. This way, the demodulator block can reconstruct the decoding map and use it to demodulate the received symbols into covert data (e.g., bit sequence), see ¶ 0304).
Melodia does not explicitly disclose the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal.
Rossato teaches the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal (The encoder 110 converts the original transient signal component [hardware noise signal] into a substitute transient signal component [encoded noise signal]. The substitute transient signal component is representative of but not identical to transient information in the received signal, see ¶ 0065; the encoder 110 generates the substitute transient signal component to have a substantially similar distribution of information as a distribution of information in the original transient signal component, see ¶ 0066; The encoder 110 can be configured to generate the substitute transient signal component [encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise] to be perceptibly equivalent to the original transient signal component [encoded noise signal indistinguishable from hardware noise signal], see ¶ 0067).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia with Rossato to teach the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order generate the substitute transient signal component to be perceptibly equivalent to the original transient signal component (see ¶ 0067).
Melodia and Rossato do not expressly disclose receiving a bitstream at an encoder, the bitstream including a bit domain.
Tollefson teaches receiving a bitstream at an encoder, the bitstream including a bit domain (data source generates modulated data signal [bitstream], see ¶ 0064);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia with Tollefson to teach receiving a bitstream at an encoder, the bitstream including a bit domain. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce computational costs (see ¶ 0055).
As to Claim 14, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 10, Melodia teaches wherein encoding the received bitstream, at the encoder, into to the encoded noise signal is encoding within a transmission bandwidth defined by at least one predetermined regulatory communication standard (This software allows to measure network statistics, e.g., throughput and packet loss, and supports TCP and UDP protocols [predetermined regulatory communication standard] with different target bandwidths, see ¶ 0316; FIGS. 16A and 16B depict the covert throughput [encoded noise signal] (FIG. 16A) and percentage of covert packet retransmissions (FIG. 16B) under UDP primary traffic. The iperf3 UDP target bandwidth parameter was set as follows: (i) 0.5 Mbps for Case A; (ii) 2 Mbps for Case B, and (iii) 5 Mbps for Case C, see ¶ 0318).
As to Claim 16, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 10, Melodia teaches in the at least one covert wireless signal, a plurality of orthogonal frequency-division multiplexing (OFDM) carrier signals or a plurality of quadrature amplitude modulation (QAM) carrier signals (the cover modulation parameters including a modulation order, coding map associating covert bit sequences to modulated covert symbols, and a packet type…wherein the modulation parameters are indicative of an amplitude shift keying modulation scheme, phase shift keying modulation scheme, frequency shift keying modulation scheme, or quadrature amplitude modulation scheme, see ¶ 0174-0175).
As to Claim 18, Melodia teaches a system for transmitting one or more covert wireless signals within an overt wireless signal, comprising: an encoding means for: receiving a bitstream (the transmitter comprising a covert packet generator [encoder] operative to receive…a primary data stream of primary in-phase and quadrature (I/Q) symbols [receive a bitstream], see ¶ 0007; Primary data is processed through standard scheduling and signal processing procedures (e.g., modulation) of the primary system. This data results in a sequence of primary symbols which are fed to the steganographic system covert packet generator 52, see ¶ 0291); encoding the bitstream to an encoded noise signal (covert packet generator…can generate displacements in the primary I/Q symbols in a constellation diagram randomly in a plurality of transmissions to mimic channel noise [encode the received bitstream to an encoded noise signal replicating a noise signal of a predetermined hardware device], see Abstract; Primary data is processed through standard scheduling and signal processing procedures (e.g., modulation) of the primary system. This data results in a sequence of primary symbols which are fed to the steganographic system covert packet generator 52, see ¶ 0291; the steganographic system implements a mechanism that “mimics” I/Q displacements introduced by noise on the wireless channel by randomizing the covert embedding procedures. Rather than utilizing a fixed distance between covert symbols, the steganographic system randomly changes the distance between the covert symbols, see ¶ 0308; and combining a covert modulated signal with the encoded noise signal to form at least one covert wireless signal, the at least one covert wireless signal distinct from the received bitstream (covert packet generator…can generate displacements in the primary I/Q symbols in a constellation diagram randomly in a plurality of transmissions to mimic channel noise, see Abstract; a covert packet generator operative to receive a covert data stream of covert data…and to embed the covert data as covert data symbols within the primary I/Q symbols in a covert packet [combine a covert modulated signal with the encoded noise signal to form a covert wireless signal], see ¶ 0007; Primary and covert data streams are separate and independent from one another [covert wireless signal distinct from received bitstream], see ¶ 0291; The generated packet is then modulated through the covert modulator 54 according to the set covert modulation parameters. Finally, the resulting covert modulated symbols are embedded in the primary symbols through the covert embedder 56, see ¶ 0293; The coding map uniquely associates covert packets (i.e., bit sequences) to modulated covert symbols. Covert symbols are, then, embedded in primary symbols through the covert embedder block, see ¶ 0296; Similarly, this procedure modulates the amplitude of the primary symbols based on the amplitude of the modulated covert symbols (by each covert symbol). The output is a sequence of primary symbols with embedded covert data, see ¶ 0297; Figure 7 illustrates the modulated covert symbols output by the covert modulator 54 combined with the primary symbols from packet generator 64); transmitting the at least one covert wireless signal within an overt wireless signal (a covert packet generator operative to receive a covert data stream of covert data…and to embed the covert data as covert data symbols within the primary I/Q symbols in a covert packet, see ¶ 0007; a radio frequency (RF) front end and antenna operative to transmit and receive radio frequency signals, the RF front end in communication with the covert packet generator to receive the covert packet for transmission [transmit the covert wireless signal within an overt wireless signal], see ¶ 0008; Once covert symbols have been generated, the covert embedder 56 embeds them (see FIG. 7). Similarly, this procedure modulates the amplitude of the primary symbols based on the amplitude of the modulated covert symbols (by each covert symbol). The output is a sequence of primary symbols with embedded covert data. The symbols are then processed by mapping and precoding blocks and transmitted through the RF front-end, see ¶ 0297); and
and a decoding means operably coupled to the encoding means via the overt wireless signal, the decoding the means for: receiving the at least one covert wireless signal (a covert packet detector [decoder] operative to receive incoming transmissions from the transmitter, to detect a presence of the covert packet, see ¶ 0054); removing the covert modulated signal from the received at least one covert wireless signal to isolate the encoded noise signal (Upon detecting a covert packet, the covert packet detector 82 reads the length of the covert payload and CRC32 fields (i.e., L.sub.P+L.sub.PC), the packet number and the modulation parameters contained in the info field of the header (see FIG. 3). Then it extracts the symbols corresponding to the encoding L.sub.P+L.sub.PC bytes of the covert packet [remove the covert modulated signal from the received covert wireless signal], see ¶ 0303; The covert demodulator 84 extracts the encoded covert information from each packet [isolate encoded noise signal]. As shown in FIG. 3, covert modulation parameters necessary to demodulate covert packets, such as employed covert modulation, packet length, and the packet type, are specified in the header, see ¶ 0304; the packets carry a threshold flag field (see Section 2.1.1) instructing the receiver on the covert constellation used by the transmitter. The value of this flag is changed on a per-packet basis, thus reducing the probability of successful steganalysis attacks. In one implementation of the steganographic system, this field includes 2 bits encoding the 4 different distance configurations, see ¶ 0309) ; and converting the isolated encoded noise signal into a decoded bitstream (The covert demodulator 84 extracts the encoded covert information from each packet [isolated encoded noise signal]. As shown in FIG. 3, covert modulation parameters necessary to demodulate covert packets, such as employed covert modulation, packet length, and the packet type, are specified in the header. This way, the demodulator block can reconstruct the decoding map and use it to demodulate the received symbols into covert data (e.g., bit sequence), see ¶ 0304).
Melodia does not explicitly disclose the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal.
Rossato teaches the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal (The encoder 110 converts the original transient signal component [hardware noise signal] into a substitute transient signal component [encoded noise signal]. The substitute transient signal component is representative of but not identical to transient information in the received signal, see ¶ 0065; the encoder 110 generates the substitute transient signal component to have a substantially similar distribution of information as a distribution of information in the original transient signal component, see ¶ 0066; The encoder 110 can be configured to generate the substitute transient signal component [encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise] to be perceptibly equivalent to the original transient signal component [encoded noise signal indistinguishable from hardware noise signal], see ¶ 0067).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia with Rossato to teach the encoded noise signal includes a statistically identical distribution of noise to replicating a hardware noise signal of a predetermined hardware device that is configured to introduce a predetermined amount of noise in a wireless signal transmission, wherein the encoded noise signal is indistinguishable from the hardware noise signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order generate the substitute transient signal component to be perceptibly equivalent to the original transient signal component (see ¶ 0067).
Melodia and Rossato do not explicitly disclose receiving a bitstream including a bit domain.
Tollefson teaches receiving a bitstream including a bit domain (data source generates modulated data signal [bitstream], see ¶ 0064).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia and Rossato with Tollefson to teach receiving a bitstream including a bit domain. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to reduce computational costs (see ¶ 0055).
Claim(s) 2-3, 11-12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0352053 to Melodia et al (“Melodia”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0175724 to Rossato et al (“Rossato”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0026146 to Tollefson et al (“Tollefson”) and in further view of Chinese Patent Publication 107819568 to Xie et al (“Xie”) (relied upon English Translation).
As to Claim 2, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 1, Melodia teaches determine statistical properties for each of the encoded noise signal and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (Through steganalysis an eavesdropper may analyze the statistical properties of the captured I/Q samples [noise signal] and infer whether there is an anomaly suggesting the presence of a covert slice [encoded noise signal], see ¶ 0305; Such a statistical behavior is inherited from the 4-ASK covert scheme in FIG. 8b, whose functioning results in 4 covert points per primary symbol with amplitude equal to 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, and 1. Steganalysis can easily identify such an abnormal statistical pattern, thus raising the eavesdropper's concerns about the existence of ongoing covert transmissions, see ¶ 0305, 0307).
Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose a critic module operably coupled to the encoder, the critic module configured to: compare the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device.
Xie teaches a critic module operably coupled to the encoder, the critic module configured to: compare the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (determination unit [critic module], determining a first distance between the corresponding points and a second distance between adjacent constellation points on the constellation diagram, see ¶ 0029; judging unit, whether the first distance is greater than the second distance, see ¶ 0030; determination unit is configured to determine that secret information exists in the first carrier information when the determination unit determines that the first distance is greater than a second distance, see ¶ 0031; sending device is divided into two paths, one is the carrier information encoded, and the other is the secret information encoded. After the two are encoded, the secret information is embedded in the carrier information, see ¶ 0055; corresponding points with consistent constellation points may include random noise [noise signal], while corresponding points with different constellation points may include random noise and secret information [encoded noise signal]…therefore, it is possible to determine whether there is secret information based on the distance between corresponding points [compare the encoded noise signal and noise signal], see ¶ 0084; The noise is random Gaussian noise, so the existence of the noise causes the first carrier information to jitter near the constellation point, see ¶ 0085; determination unit is further configured to determine that no secret information exists in the first carrier information when the determination unit determines that the first distance is less than or equal to the second distance, see ¶ 0038. Examiner construes that the determination unit is coupled to an encoder).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Xie to teach a critic module operably coupled to the encoder, the critic module configured to: compare the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect the secret information through the judgment of multiple features (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 3, Melodia, Rossato, Tollefson and Xie depending on Claim 2, Melodia teaches wherein the encoder is further configured to adjust characteristics of the encoded noise signal in response to the critic module determining that the statistical properties for the encoded noise signal differ from the statistical properties of the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (Through steganalysis an eavesdropper may analyze the statistical properties of the captured I/Q samples [noise signal] and infer whether there is an anomaly suggesting the presence of a covert slice [encoded noise signal], see ¶ 0305; Such a statistical behavior is inherited from the 4-ASK covert scheme in FIG. 8b, whose functioning results in 4 covert points per primary symbol with amplitude equal to 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, and 1. Steganalysis can easily identify such an abnormal statistical pattern, thus raising the eavesdropper's concerns about the existence of ongoing covert transmissions…for steganographic communications to be undetectable, they must statistically behave like primary ones. In practice, this is achieved by reducing the value of the K-S distance, see ¶ 0305, 0307; the steganographic system implements a mechanism that “mimics” I/Q displacements introduced by noise on the wireless channel by randomizing the covert embedding procedures. Rather than utilizing a fixed distance between covert symbols, the steganographic system randomly changes the distance between the covert symbols [adjust characteristics of the encoded noise signal in response to the critic module determining that the statistical properties of the encoded noise signal differ from the statistical properties of the noise signal], providing the undetectability mechanism, see ¶ 0308).
As to Claim 11, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 10, Melodia teaches determining statistical properties for each of the encoded noise signal and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (Through steganalysis an eavesdropper may analyze the statistical properties of the captured I/Q samples [noise signal] and infer whether there is an anomaly suggesting the presence of a covert slice [encoded noise signal], see ¶ 0305; Such a statistical behavior is inherited from the 4-ASK covert scheme in FIG. 8b, whose functioning results in 4 covert points per primary symbol with amplitude equal to 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, and 1. Steganalysis can easily identify such an abnormal statistical pattern, thus raising the eavesdropper's concerns about the existence of ongoing covert transmissions, see ¶ 0305, 0307).
Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose comparing, at the critic module, the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device.
Xie teaches comparing, at the critic module, the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (determination unit [critic module], determining a first distance between the corresponding points and a second distance between adjacent constellation points on the constellation diagram, see ¶ 0029; judging unit, whether the first distance is greater than the second distance, see ¶ 0030; determination unit is configured to determine that secret information exists in the first carrier information when the determination unit determines that the first distance is greater than a second distance, see ¶ 0031; sending device is divided into two paths, one is the carrier information encoded, and the other is the secret information encoded. After the two are encoded, the secret information is embedded in the carrier information, see ¶ 0055; corresponding points with consistent constellation points may include random noise [noise signal], while corresponding points with different constellation points may include random noise and secret information [encoded noise signal]…therefore, it is possible to determine whether there is secret information based on the distance between corresponding points [compare the encoded noise signal and noise signal], see ¶ 0084; The noise is random Gaussian noise, so the existence of the noise causes the first carrier information to jitter near the constellation point, see ¶ 0085; determination unit is further configured to determine that no secret information exists in the first carrier information when the determination unit determines that the first distance is less than or equal to the second distance, see ¶ 0038. Examiner construes that the determination unit is coupled to an encoder).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Xie to teach comparing, at the critic module, the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect the secret information through the judgment of multiple features (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 12, Melodia, Rossato, Tollefson and Xie depending on Claim 10, Melodia teaches adjusting, at the encoder, characteristics of the encoded noise signal in response to the critic module; and determining, at the encoder, that the statistical properties for the encoded noise signal differ from the statistical properties of the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (Through steganalysis an eavesdropper may analyze the statistical properties of the captured I/Q samples [noise signal] and infer whether there is an anomaly suggesting the presence of a covert slice [encoded noise signal], see ¶ 0305; Such a statistical behavior is inherited from the 4-ASK covert scheme in FIG. 8b, whose functioning results in 4 covert points per primary symbol with amplitude equal to 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, and 1. Steganalysis can easily identify such an abnormal statistical pattern, thus raising the eavesdropper's concerns about the existence of ongoing covert transmissions…for steganographic communications to be undetectable, they must statistically behave like primary ones. In practice, this is achieved by reducing the value of the K-S distance, see ¶ 0305, 0307; the steganographic system implements a mechanism that “mimics” I/Q displacements introduced by noise on the wireless channel by randomizing the covert embedding procedures. Rather than utilizing a fixed distance between covert symbols, the steganographic system randomly changes the distance between the covert symbols [adjust characteristics of the encoded noise signal in response to the critic module determining that the statistical properties of the encoded noise signal differ from the statistical properties of the noise signal], providing the undetectability mechanism, see ¶ 0308).
As to Claim 19, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 18, Melodia teaches determining statistical properties for each of the encoded noise signal and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (Through steganalysis an eavesdropper may analyze the statistical properties of the captured I/Q samples [noise signal] and infer whether there is an anomaly suggesting the presence of a covert slice [encoded noise signal], see ¶ 0305; Such a statistical behavior is inherited from the 4-ASK covert scheme in FIG. 8b, whose functioning results in 4 covert points per primary symbol with amplitude equal to 0.25, 0.5, 0.75, and 1. Steganalysis can easily identify such an abnormal statistical pattern, thus raising the eavesdropper's concerns about the existence of ongoing covert transmissions, see ¶ 0305, 0307).
Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose a critic means, operably coupled to the encoding means, the critic means for: comparing the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device. Xie teaches a critic means, operably coupled to the encoding means, the critic means for: comparing the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device (determination unit [critic module], determining a first distance between the corresponding points and a second distance between adjacent constellation points on the constellation diagram, see ¶ 0029; judging unit, whether the first distance is greater than the second distance, see ¶ 0030; determination unit is configured to determine that secret information exists in the first carrier information when the determination unit determines that the first distance is greater than a second distance, see ¶ 0031; sending device is divided into two paths, one is the carrier information encoded, and the other is the secret information encoded. After the two are encoded, the secret information is embedded in the carrier information, see ¶ 0055; corresponding points with consistent constellation points may include random noise [noise signal], while corresponding points with different constellation points may include random noise and secret information [encoded noise signal]…therefore, it is possible to determine whether there is secret information based on the distance between corresponding points [compare the encoded noise signal and noise signal], see ¶ 0084; The noise is random Gaussian noise, so the existence of the noise causes the first carrier information to jitter near the constellation point, see ¶ 0085; determination unit is further configured to determine that no secret information exists in the first carrier information when the determination unit determines that the first distance is less than or equal to the second distance, see ¶ 0038. Examiner construes that the determination unit is coupled to an encoder).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Xie to teach a critic means, operably coupled to the encoding means, the critic means for: comparing the encoded noise signal generated by the encoder and the noise signal of the predetermined hardware device. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect the secret information through the judgment of multiple features (see ¶ 0005).
Claim(s) 4, 6, 7, 9, 13, 15, 17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication 2021/0352053 to Melodia et al (“Melodia”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication 2020/0175724 to Rossato et al (“Rossato”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2017/0026146 to Tollefson et al (“Tollefson”) in further view of U.S. Patent Publication 2024/0104681 to Kishore et al (“Kishore”).
As to Claim 4, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 1, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose wherein each of the encoder and the decoder includes a multi-node neural network. Kishore teaches wherein each of the encoder and the decoder includes a multi-node neural network (applying a first image and a message to an encoder of a steganographic encoder-decoder neural network, generating in the encoder, based at least in part on the first image and the message, a perturbed image containing the message, decoding the perturbed image in a decoder of the steganographic encoder-decoder neural network, and providing information characterizing the decoded perturbed image to the encoder, see ¶ 0006).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach wherein each of the encoder and the decoder includes a multi-node neural network. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect the secret information through the judgment of multiple features (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 6, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 1, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose wherein: the encoder further configured to transmit the bitstream to the decoder for a predetermined training session; and the decoder further configured to: receive the bitstream from the encoder during the training session; and compare the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. Kishore teaches wherein: the encoder further configured to transmit the bitstream to the decoder for a predetermined training session (The input secret message 110, also illustratively denoted in the figure as input secret message M, is illustratively a secret digital message to be inserted into the input image 111 by incorporating one or more bits of the input secret message 110 into each of a plurality of pixels of the input image 111, see ¶ 0029; Given a trained encoder-decoder pair, F is defined as a pre-trained decoder and {tilde over (X)} is initialized as Enc(X,M), where Enc is the trained encoder that is paired with the decoder F, see ¶ 0063); and the decoder further configured to: receive the bitstream from the encoder during the training session (The critic network illustratively comprises a neural classifier, in some embodiments configured as one or more generative adversarial network (GAN) discriminators, that is trained to identify whether a given image is an original cover image or a steganographic image with a hidden message, see ¶ 0086; As these components are fully differentiable, the iterative encoder, the decoder, and the critic network can all be learned jointly, see ¶ 0087); and compare the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy (the secret message includes no redundancy for error correction, and there is zero tolerance for even a single incorrectly recovered bit. This includes certain applications in which the secret message is encrypted, as the encrypted message comprises a random bit string that must be recovered with zero error for successful decryption, see ¶ 0005).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach wherein: the encoder further configured to transmit the bitstream to the decoder for a predetermined training session; and the decoder further configured to: receive the bitstream from the encoder during the training session; and compare the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide zero error recovery of the secret message (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 7, Melodia, Rossato, Tollefson and Kishore depending on Claim 6, Kishore teaches wherein the decoder further configured to transmit the decoding accuracy to the encoder (applying a first image and a message to an encoder of a steganographic encoder-decoder neural network, generating in the encoder, based at least in part on the first image and the message, a perturbed image containing the message, decoding the perturbed image in a decoder of the steganographic encoder-decoder neural network, and providing information characterizing the decoded perturbed image to the encoder, see ¶ 0006).
As to Claim 9, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 1, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose wherein the at least one covert wireless signal is encrypted. Kishore teaches wherein the at least one covert wireless signal is encrypted (certain applications in which the secret message [covert wireless signal] is encrypted, as the encrypted message comprises a random bit string that must be recovered with zero error for successful decryption, see ¶ 0005).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach wherein: the encoder further configured to transmit the bitstream to the decoder for a predetermined training session; and the decoder further configured to: receive the bitstream from the encoder during the training session; and compare the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to recover the encrypted message with zero error for successful decryption (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 13, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 10, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose creating a multi-node neural network at each of the encoder and the decoder. Kishore teaches creating a multi-node neural network at each of the encoder and the decoder (applying a first image and a message to an encoder of a steganographic encoder-decoder neural network, generating in the encoder, based at least in part on the first image and the message, a perturbed image containing the message, decoding the perturbed image in a decoder of the steganographic encoder-decoder neural network, and providing information characterizing the decoded perturbed image to the encoder, see ¶ 0006).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach wherein each of the encoder and the decoder includes a multi-node neural network. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to detect the secret information through the judgment of multiple features (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 15, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 10, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose transmitting the bitstream from the encoder to the decoder for a predetermined training session; receiving the bitstream at the decoder during the training session; and comparing, at the decoder, the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. Kishore teaches transmitting the bitstream from the encoder to the decoder for a predetermined training session (The input secret message 110, also illustratively denoted in the figure as input secret message M, is illustratively a secret digital message to be inserted into the input image 111 by incorporating one or more bits of the input secret message 110 into each of a plurality of pixels of the input image 111, see ¶ 0029; Given a trained encoder-decoder pair, F is defined as a pre-trained decoder and {tilde over (X)} is initialized as Enc(X,M), where Enc is the trained encoder that is paired with the decoder F, see ¶ 0063); receiving the bitstream at the decoder during the training session (The critic network illustratively comprises a neural classifier, in some embodiments configured as one or more generative adversarial network (GAN) discriminators, that is trained to identify whether a given image is an original cover image or a steganographic image with a hidden message, see ¶ 0086; As these components are fully differentiable, the iterative encoder, the decoder, and the critic network can all be learned jointly, see ¶ 0087); and comparing, at the decoder, the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy (the secret message includes no redundancy for error correction, and there is zero tolerance for even a single incorrectly recovered bit. This includes certain applications in which the secret message is encrypted, as the encrypted message comprises a random bit string that must be recovered with zero error for successful decryption, see ¶ 0005).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach transmitting the bitstream from the encoder to the decoder for a predetermined training session; receiving the bitstream at the decoder during the training session; and comparing, at the decoder, the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide zero error recovery of the secret message (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 17, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 10, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose encrypting the at least one covert wireless signal. Kishore teaches encrypting the at least one covert wireless signal (certain applications in which the secret message [covert wireless signal] is encrypted, as the encrypted message comprises a random bit string that must be recovered with zero error for successful decryption, see ¶ 0005).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach encrypting the at least one covert wireless signal. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to recover the encrypted message with zero error for successful decryption (see ¶ 0005).
As to Claim 20, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson depending on Claim 18, Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson do not expressly disclose the encoding means further transmitting the bitstream to the decoding means for a predetermined training session; and the decoding means further: receiving the bitstream from the encoder during the training session; and comparing the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. Kishore teaches the encoding means further transmitting the bitstream to the decoding means for a predetermined training session (The input secret message 110, also illustratively denoted in the figure as input secret message M, is illustratively a secret digital message to be inserted into the input image 111 by incorporating one or more bits of the input secret message 110 into each of a plurality of pixels of the input image 111, see ¶ 0029; Given a trained encoder-decoder pair, F is defined as a pre-trained decoder and {tilde over (X)} is initialized as Enc(X,M), where Enc is the trained encoder that is paired with the decoder F, see ¶ 0063); and the decoding means further: receiving the bitstream from the encoder during the training session (The critic network illustratively comprises a neural classifier, in some embodiments configured as one or more generative adversarial network (GAN) discriminators, that is trained to identify whether a given image is an original cover image or a steganographic image with a hidden message, see ¶ 0086; As these components are fully differentiable, the iterative encoder, the decoder, and the critic network can all be learned jointly, see ¶ 0087); and comparing the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy (the secret message includes no redundancy for error correction, and there is zero tolerance for even a single incorrectly recovered bit. This includes certain applications in which the secret message is encrypted, as the encrypted message comprises a random bit string that must be recovered with zero error for successful decryption, see ¶ 0005).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Melodia, Rossato and Tollefson with Kishore to teach the encoding means further transmitting the bitstream to the decoding means for a predetermined training session; and the decoding means further: receiving the bitstream from the encoder during the training session; and comparing the received bitstream with the decoded bitstream to thereby determine a decoding accuracy. The suggestion/motivation would have been in order to provide zero error recovery of the secret message (see ¶ 0005).
Conclusion
/EBONI N GILES/ Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622