DETAILED ACTION
Responsive to communications on 09/15/2022
Claims 1-19 pending on the application
Claims 1-19 rejected
Claim 17 is objected to
Priority
No claim to foreign or domestic priority made on Application Data Sheet received on 09/15/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
No IDS received effective in communications as of 01/05/2026
Drawings
Responsive to drawings received on 09/15/2022:
The drawings are objected to because the specification incorrectly outlines the process represented by FIG 5.
In paragraph 64 of the application, in reference to FIG. 5, the specification states, “At step 404, the user 5 provides an input indicating a desire to activate a simulation mode in the vehicle 10. At step 406, a determination is made whether the vehicle 10 is in a park mode. If the vehicle 10 is not in a park mode, the method 400 advances to step 408, where the user 5 is informed that the simulation mode is available when the vehicle 10 is in park mode, and the method 400 returns to step 406. If the vehicle is in park mode, the method 400 advances to step 410, wherein a determination is made whether the vehicle 10 is in communication with the headset 60. If the vehicle 10 is not in communication with the headset 60, the method 400 advances to step 412, where the user is prompted to electronically connect the headset 60 to the vehicle 10, and the method 400 returns to the step 410.“
The FIG 5, does not depict this process as outlined. The paragraph depicts boxes 406, and 410 as where the decisions are occurring. The paragraph states that step 406 leads to step 408, and that 410 lead to step 412. The specification states that if the figure is not in communication with the headset it goes to step 412, and if it is communication it goes to step 414. This is incorrect since the figure depicts step 412 leading to step 414, the figure also does not show 406 leading to 408, nor does it show 410 leading to 412. The seemingly correct interpretation of this drawing is that decisions are made in steps 404 and 408, if the car is not in park in step 404, it goes to step 406 where the user is requested to park their car and then returns to step 404. If the car cannot communicate with the headset, it goes to step 410 where the user is prompted and then goes back to 408. The examiner recommends typing in the steps into the flowchart to provide greater clarity.
Specification
Responsive to specifications received on 09/15/2022. Specification is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “within a computerized processor” causes confusion. It is unclear what the term “within” implies, since the term “within” is often used with nouns rather than verbs. It also leads to confusion if the control feature or simulator or stored within the processor or such. It may be more appropriate to say, “containing a computerized processor configured to” The examiner is interpreting this limitation that the system includes the computer processor, not that there is a physical necessity that a control feature be within the processor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20220036758 A1 (Oh_2022) in view of US 20170287357 A1 (Weiss_2017)
Claim 1:
Oh_2022 makes obvious A system for an augmented-virtual reality simulator using a vehicle, the system comprising: (par 1: “The present invention relates to a system and method for providing vehicle function guidance and virtual test-driving experience based on augmented reality content.”) the vehicle including: a control feature (par 241: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.” Examiner note: Where the steering wheel is an example of a control feature for the vehicle.)
configured for selective usepar 29: “Further, the outputting of the augmented reality content (Examiner note: in a simulation mode) may include providing the augmented reality content on the basis of at least one of a user input for performing an operation with respect to driving of the vehicle (Examiner note: this is describing a user using the control feature as input to simulate driving the vehicle) and an input for operation according to automatic activation of a function of the vehicle.” See also par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.)
a computerized simulation controller including programming to: (par 83: “Specifically, the communication module 130 can communicate with computing devices in which augmented reality content sources for realizing augmented reality environments are stored and communicate with various user input components such as a controller which receives user input.”) monitor activation of the augmented-virtual reality simulator; command activation of the simulation mode based upon the activation of the augmented-virtual reality simulator; par 19 “Further, when entry of the augmented reality terminal into the vehicle is detected (Examiner note: where “is detected” implies a monitoring of the activation of the simulator) , the test-driving experience service providing server may provide a test-driving experience mode in which functions of the vehicle are experienced using the augmented reality content on the basis of the vehicle description application of the detected augmented reality terminal.” Examiner note: this is an activation of the simulator mode based on the detection/activation)
monitor inputs to the control feature; and operate the augmented-virtual reality simulator based upon the inputs to the control feature; (par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle. (Examiner notes: inputs to the control feature) For example, when the user steers the steering wheel to the left, the test-driving experience system can update the test-driving virtual image to an image in which the corresponding vehicle moves to the left and display the image in real time. Accordingly, the test-driving experience system can provide realistic augmented reality content through which the user can experience functions of the vehicle as if the user actually drives the vehicle even though the vehicle is a parked displayed vehicle.”) Examiner note: where this process as outlined depicts the control features being monitored and operating the simulation.
and a headset configured for being worn by a user providing a graphical rendering to the user based upon the augmented-virtual reality simulator. (Par 58: “The augmented reality terminal 100 according to an embodiment may include wearable type computer devices 101 and 102 such as a smart glasses display and a head mounted display (HMD).”)
Oh_2022 does not explicitly recite in an actual operation mode, wherein the control feature is utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle
Weiss_2017, however, makes obvious in an actual operation mode, wherein the control feature is utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle (par 133: “Specifically, the vehicle simulation system 100 can enable the vehicle 102 to transition from a standard mode, where standard operating tasks can be performed, to a simulation mode where a trainee can train on a fully realistic vehicle simulator to complement actual vehicle operation.” … par 86: “The vehicle 102 can include a plurality of controls 106 each configured to manipulate the vehicle 102 to perform a desired operation. That is, each of the plurality of controls 106 can be configured to control a component on the vehicle 102 that, in some form, manipulates the vehicle 102”)
Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation, specifically using the actual vehicle in virtual reality. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017.
The rationale for doing so would have been to follow a teaching taught in the prior art of Weiss_2017. Oh_2022 teaches simulating driving through show room vehicles. One reason for using virtual reality in this context, is due to the fact that par 7-8: “Such vehicles integrated with the latest technology are displayed in a shop or a showroom such that customers purchase them and product description or test-driving experience with respect to corresponding vehicles is provided to customers. However, most vehicles displayed in showrooms are manufactured such that they do not actually operate.” Weiss_2017 states par 7: “The aforementioned shortcomings of current simulation methods can be overcome by providing systems and methods for converting an operational vehicle into a simulation vehicle. Such systems and methods may eliminate the need for end users to purchase an expensive dedicated simulator, enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators, and provide a simulation environment where the operator can learn on an actual vehicle.” Firstly, In cases where the vehicle displayed in the showroom is manufactured in a way that is able to operate, the inventor of Oh_2022 would necessarily contain a vehicle which is able to both drive in a conventional and simulated manner. Secondly, The inventor of Oh_2022 would also use the teaching of Weiss_2017 this to gain the benefit of not needing to have a dedicated show room vehicle, and instead use a real working vehicle which can be simulated on. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 2:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the control feature includes one of a steering wheel, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, or a transmission gear selector. (par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.)
Claim 3:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the vehicle includes a plurality of control features configured for selective use par 29: “Further, the outputting of the augmented reality content may include providing the augmented reality content on the basis of at least one of a user input for performing an operation with respect to driving of the vehicle (Examiner note: this is describing a user using the control feature to simulate driving the vehicle) and an input for operation according to automatic activation of a function of the vehicle.” See also par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.)
and wherein the plurality of control features include a steering wheel, an accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, and a transmission gear selector. (par 14: “An object of the present invention devised to solve the above-described problems is to provide a system and method for providing vehicle function description and virtual test-driving experience based on augmented reality content using a general vehicle for display in a showroom (hereinafter, a displayed vehicle).”) … par 241-242: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle. For example, when the user steers the steering wheel to the left, the test-driving experience system can update the test-driving virtual image to an image in which the corresponding vehicle moves to the left and display the image in real time.“) Examiner note: Where the use of a real displayed vehicle to control the virtual image in real time to turn the wheel, brake, and press functions on the real display vehicle makes obvious the use of a “accelerator pedal, a brake pedal, and a transmission gear selector,” which are parts of a display vehicle. )
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite in an actual operation mode, wherein the control features are utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle
Weiss_2017, however, makes obvious in an actual operation mode, wherein the control features are utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle (par 133: “Specifically, the vehicle simulation system 100 can enable the vehicle 102 to transition from a standard mode, where standard operating tasks can be performed, to a simulation mode where a trainee can train on a fully realistic vehicle simulator to complement actual vehicle operation.” … par 86: “The vehicle 102 can include a plurality of controls 106 each configured to manipulate the vehicle 102 to perform a desired operation. That is, each of the plurality of controls 106 can be configured to control a component on the vehicle 102 that, in some form, manipulates the vehicle 102”)
As stated previously, Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation, specifically using the actual vehicle and in virtual reality. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017.
The rationale for doing so would have been to follow a teaching taught in the prior art of Weiss_2017. Oh_2022 teaches simulating driving through show room vehicles. One reason for using virtual reality in this context, is due to the fact that par 7-8: “Such vehicles integrated with the latest technology are displayed in a shop or a showroom such that customers purchase them and product description or test-driving experience with respect to corresponding vehicles is provided to customers. However, most vehicles displayed in showrooms are manufactured such that they do not actually operate.” Weiss_2017 states par 7: “The aforementioned shortcomings of current simulation methods can be overcome by providing systems and methods for converting an operational vehicle into a simulation vehicle. Such systems and methods may eliminate the need for end users to purchase an expensive dedicated simulator, enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators, and provide a simulation environment where the operator can learn on an actual vehicle.” Firstly, In cases where the vehicle displayed in the showroom is manufactured in a way that is able to operate, the inventor of Oh_2022 would necessarily contain a vehicle which is able to both drive in a conventional and simulated manner. Secondly, The inventor of Oh_2022 would also use the teaching of Weiss_2017 to gain the benefit of not needing to have a dedicated show room vehicle, and instead use a real working vehicle which can be simulated on. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 5:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes virtual reality, wherein the graphical rendering replaces visible features in an environment of the user.
Weiss_2017, however, makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes virtual reality, wherein the graphical rendering replaces visible features in an environment of the user. (Par 30: “ In some aspects, the simulation controller is configured to alter a camera angle and a simulated position displayed by virtual reality goggles in the simulated environment based on a position of an operator monitored by the performance capture device.” … Par 125: “In the illustrated non-limiting example, as shown in FIG. 22B, the virtual reality goggles 718 may project a simulated physical warehouse and a simulated physical version of the material handling vehicle 710 to the operator. The position and orientation of the operator in the simulated material handling vehicle may correlate with the operator's position and orientation in real life. That is, the operator's physical movements (e.g., turning their head) may be reflected in the simulated environment. In addition, the simulation controller 112 may be configured to adapt the simulated environment in response to manipulation of the plurality of controls 106 on the material handling vehicle 710.”)
As stated previously, Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation, specifically using the actual vehicle and in virtual reality. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017.
The rationale for doing so would have been a substitution of one known element with another to obtain a predictable result. Both Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 use virtual reality headsets. Oh_2022 teaches the use of a “head mounted display (HMD).” In par 58 to use the “augmented reality terminal,” and Weiss_2017 teaches the use of par 98 “virtual reality goggles for the virtual reality display. As shown, the use of a head mounted display was known in the art to be used for virtual reality. Both the function of the augmented reality and virtual reality is the same, which is the simulate the vehicle. Therefore, it would have been obvious to use simple substitution of the augmented reality head mounted display of Oh_2022 with a virtual reality display of Weiss_2017 obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 6:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes augmented reality, (Par 54: “In an embodiment of the present invention, the augmented reality terminal 100 provides an augmented reality environment to a user and can execute a vehicle description application capable of providing a test-driving experience service using audio, images and virtual augmented reality content (avatar or the like in the embodiment) corresponding to actual objects in the augmented reality environment.”) wherein the graphical rendering includes a mixture of images of visible features in an operating environment of the user and computerized graphics rendered based upon a three-dimensional model. (Par 67 – 68: “The head mounted display type computing device 102 can output a 3D image by respectively displaying different images having a parallax offset on left-eye and right-eye displays in order to allow a user to recognize a 3D scene. In addition, the head mounted display type computing device 102 can also provide an augmented reality environment by outputting images obtained by imaging the surrounding physical space and augmented reality content generated on the basis of the images as 3D images.”).
Claim 7:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes a driving simulation. (Par 14: An object of the present invention devised to solve the above-described problems is to provide a system and method for providing vehicle function description and virtual test-driving experience based on augmented reality content using a general vehicle for display in a showroom (hereinafter, a displayed vehicle).
Claim 9:
The system of claim 7,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the driving simulation includes a virtual test drive. (Par 14: An object of the present invention devised to solve the above-described problems is to provide a system and method for providing vehicle function description and virtual test-driving experience based on augmented reality content using a general vehicle for display in a showroom (hereinafter, a displayed vehicle).
Claim 12:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes operation of one of vibration outputs, haptic outputs, climate control system outputs, or audio outputs. (Abstract : “a vehicle speaker for outputting audio according to the augmented reality content; a virtual driving device for providing haptic including predetermined vibration or tilting in the vehicle; “)
Claim 17:
A method for an augmented-virtual reality simulator using a vehicle, the method comprising: (par 1: “The present invention relates to a system and method for providing vehicle function guidance and virtual test-driving experience based on augmented reality content.”) operating the vehicle including a control feature (par 241: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.” Examiner note: Where the steering wheel is an example of a control feature for the vehicle.)
configured for selective par 29: “Further, the outputting of the augmented reality content (Examiner note: in a simulation mode) may include providing the augmented reality content on the basis of at least one of a user input for performing an operation with respect to driving of the vehicle (Examiner note: this is describing a user using the control feature as input to simulate driving the vehicle) and an input for operation according to automatic activation of a function of the vehicle.” See also par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.)
within a computerized processor: (par 83: “Specifically, the communication module 130 can communicate with computing devices in which augmented reality content sources for realizing augmented reality environments are stored and communicate with various user input components such as a controller which receives user input.”) monitoring activation of the augmented-virtual reality simulator; commanding activation of the simulation mode based upon the activation of the augmented-virtual reality simulator; (par 19 “Further, when entry of the augmented reality terminal into the vehicle is detected (Examiner note: where “is detected” implies a monitoring of the activation of the simulator) , the test-driving experience service providing server may provide a test-driving experience mode in which functions of the vehicle are experienced using the augmented reality content on the basis of the vehicle description application of the detected augmented reality terminal.” Examiner note: this is an activation of the simulator mode based on the detection/activation)
monitoring inputs to the control feature; and operating the augmented-virtual reality simulator based upon the inputs to the control feature; (par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle. (Examiner notes: inputs to the control feature) For example, when the user steers the steering wheel to the left, the test-driving experience system can update the test-driving virtual image to an image in which the corresponding vehicle moves to the left and display the image in real time. Accordingly, the test-driving experience system can provide realistic augmented reality content through which the user can experience functions of the vehicle as if the user actually drives the vehicle even though the vehicle is a parked displayed vehicle.”) Examiner note: where this process as outlined depicts the control features being monitored and operating the simulation. )
and within a headset configured for being worn by a user, providing a graphical rendering to the user based upon the augmented-virtual reality simulator. (Par 58: “The augmented reality terminal 100 according to an embodiment may include wearable type computer devices 101 and 102 such as a smart glasses display and a head mounted display (HMD).”)
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite use in an actual operation mode, wherein the control feature is utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle, and
Weiss_2017, however, makes obvious use in an actual operation mode, wherein the control feature is utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle, and
(par 133: “Specifically, the vehicle simulation system 100 can enable the vehicle 102 to transition from a standard mode, where standard operating tasks can be performed, to a simulation mode where a trainee can train on a fully realistic vehicle simulator to complement actual vehicle operation.” … par 86: “The vehicle 102 can include a plurality of controls 106 each configured to manipulate the vehicle 102 to perform a desired operation. That is, each of the plurality of controls 106 can be configured to control a component on the vehicle 102 that, in some form, manipulates the vehicle 102”)
Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation, specifically using the actual vehicle and in virtual reality. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017.
The rationale for doing so would have been to follow a teaching taught in the prior art of Weiss_2017. Oh_2022 teaches simulating driving through show room vehicles. One reason for using virtual reality in this context, is due to the fact that par 7-8: “Such vehicles integrated with the latest technology are displayed in a shop or a showroom such that customers purchase them and product description or test-driving experience with respect to corresponding vehicles is provided to customers. However, most vehicles displayed in showrooms are manufactured such that they do not actually operate.” Weiss_2017 states par 7: “The aforementioned shortcomings of current simulation methods can be overcome by providing systems and methods for converting an operational vehicle into a simulation vehicle. Such systems and methods may eliminate the need for end users to purchase an expensive dedicated simulator, enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators, and provide a simulation environment where the operator can learn on an actual vehicle.” Firstly, In cases where the vehicle displayed in the showroom is manufactured in a way that is able to operate, the inventor of Oh_2022 would necessarily contain a vehicle which is able to both drive in a conventional and simulated manner. Secondly, The inventor of Oh_2022 would also use the teaching of Weiss_2017 this to gain the benefit of not needing to have a dedicated show room vehicle, and instead use a real working vehicle which can be simulated on. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 18:
The method of claim 17,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein monitoring inputs to the control feature includes monitoring inputs to a steering wheel. (par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.)
Claims 4, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US OH_2022, Weiss_2017, and further in view of US 5929533 A (Streib_1999)
Claim 4:
The system of claim 1, wherein the computerized simulation controller further includes programming to:
Oh_2022 makes obvious to (pr 187: “In an embodiment, the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode is a service that substitutes an actual vehicle test-driving service with a virtual environment, and when a user enters a parked displayed vehicle and selects the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode, can display virtual realistic driving images through the window display device 300 provided on the front, rear, left and right windows of the displayed vehicle.”) Examiner note: Where the passage makes obvious that the virtual driving mode is displayed when the passenger enters a parked vehicle.
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite monitor a transmission mode of the vehicle
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite the transmission mode indicating that the vehicle is in park.
Streib_1999 however, makes obvious monitor a transmission mode of the vehicle (par 2: “The transmission position detector 20 supplies a signal when a gear 21 of the automatic transmission 47 is in neither the neutral position nor the park position and is connected to control apparatus 10 via line 22. “) Examiner note: Where a transmission position detector implies the transmission mode is being monitored.
Streib_1999 however, makes obvious based upon the transmission mode indicating that the vehicle is in park. (par 14: “If the vehicle is parked with the drive train engaged (transmission not in the neutral or park positions) and with the motor running, this power increase leads also to an increase of the drive force whereby the parked vehicle can start to move away in an unwanted manner.”) Examiner note: Where this passage makes obvious that the transmission detector detects when the vehicle is in park and for what purpose, again see par 2 in the passage discussed above)
Oh_2022, Weiss_2017 and Streib_1999 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of vehicle engineering. All inventions pertain to the use and manipulation of vehicles while parked. Oh_2022 teaches simulation of driving by driving a real parked display vehicle par 187: “when a user enters a parked displayed vehicle and selects the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode.” Weiss_2017 similarly teaches using a real vehicle as the simulation platform where the real vehicle is disallowed movement, par 90: “Thus, in the simulation mode, the plurality of controls 106 can output a signal to the vehicle controller 108 proportional to a degree of manipulation, however, the manipulation of the plurality of controls 106 may not result in mechanical movement of the vehicle 102. In some non-limiting examples, the vehicle 102 may be prevented from travel along a surface when in the simulation mode. In some non-limiting examples, the vehicle 102 may be configured to maintain all components active that do not result in physical translation of the vehicle 102 (e.g., forks, mast, horn, lights, etc.).” Streib_1999 teaches a method of manipulating the car engine when the vehicle is parked, abstract “In this method, the influence of the control on the drive power of the drive unit is limited when the vehicle is parked”.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022, Weiss_2017 and Streib_1999.
The rationale for doing so would have been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims. Weiss_2017 states that when this is done, the manipulation of controls must not allow mechanical movement of the vehicle. A known way of limiting movement of a car vehicle is by placing the vehicle in park. Streib_1999 teaches a method where the method is able to monitor that the car is in park. A person ordinarily skilled in the art would recognize applying this known method would have yielded the predictable result of not allowing the simulation car to move when the simulation is running.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the driving simulation with a real vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_1999 with the method of monitoring if the car is parked of Streib_1999 for the benefit of ensuring the car is parked to ensure the manipulation of the plurality of controls 106 may not result in mechanical movement of the vehicle and to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 19:
The method of claim 17, further comprising, within the computerized processor,
Oh_2022 makes obvious (pr 187: “In an embodiment, the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode is a service that substitutes an actual vehicle test-driving service with a virtual environment, and when a user enters a parked displayed vehicle and selects the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode, can display virtual realistic driving images through the window display device 300 provided on the front, rear, left and right windows of the displayed vehicle.”) Examiner note: Where the passage makes obvious that the virtual driving mode is displayed when the passenger enters a parked vehicle.
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite Monitoring a transmission mode of the vehicle;
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite based upon the transmission mode indicating that
Streib_1999 however, makes obvious monitor a transmission mode of the vehicle (par 2: “The transmission position detector 20 supplies a signal when a gear 21 of the automatic transmission 47 is in neither the neutral position nor the park position and is connected to control apparatus 10 via line 22. “) Examiner note: Where a transmission position detector implies the transmission mode is being monitored.
Streib_1999 however, makes obvious based upon the transmission mode indicating that the vehicle is in park. (par 14: “If the vehicle is parked with the drive train engaged (transmission not in the neutral or park positions) and with the motor running, this power increase leads also to an increase of the drive force whereby the parked vehicle can start to move away in an unwanted manner.”) Examiner note: Where this passage makes obvious that the transmission detector detects when the vehicle is in park and for what purpose, again see par 2 in the passage discussed above)
Oh_2022, Weiss_2017 and Streib_1999 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor of vehicle engineering. All inventions pertain to the use and manipulation of vehicles while parked. Oh_2022 teaches simulation of driving by driving a real parked display vehicle par 187: “when a user enters a parked displayed vehicle and selects the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode.” Weiss_2017 similarly teaches using a real vehicle as the simulation platform where the real vehicle is disallowed movement, par 90: “Thus, in the simulation mode, the plurality of controls 106 can output a signal to the vehicle controller 108 proportional to a degree of manipulation, however, the manipulation of the plurality of controls 106 may not result in mechanical movement of the vehicle 102. In some non-limiting examples, the vehicle 102 may be prevented from travel along a surface when in the simulation mode. In some non-limiting examples, the vehicle 102 may be configured to maintain all components active that do not result in physical translation of the vehicle 102 (e.g., forks, mast, horn, lights, etc.).” Streib_1999 teaches a method of manipulating the car engine when the vehicle is parked, abstract “In this method, the influence of the control on the drive power of the drive unit is limited when the vehicle is parked”.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022, Weiss_2017 and Streib_1999.
The rationale for doing so would have been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims. Weiss_2017 states that when this is done, the manipulation of controls must not allow mechanical movement of the vehicle. A known way of limiting movement of a car vehicle is by placing the vehicle in park. Streib_1999 teaches a method where the method is able to monitor that the car is in park. A person ordinarily skilled in the art would recognize applying this known method would have yielded the predictable result of not allowing the simulation car to move when the simulation is running.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the driving simulation with a real vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_1999 with the method of monitoring if the car is parked of Streib_1999 for the benefit of ensuring the car is parked to ensure the manipulation of the plurality of controls 106 may not result in mechanical movement of the vehicle and to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claims 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US OH_2022, Weiss_2017, and further in view of US 20220339546 A1 (Brown_2022)
Claim 8:
The system of claim 7,
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite wherein the driving simulation includes a race.
Brown_2022, however, makes wherein the driving simulation includes a race. (Par 49: “The UI module 152 interacts with the user for not only receipt of gaming/racing instructions, such as a remotely connecting to and controlling a remote control vehicle, but also for receiving feedback on the actual real-world movements of the vehicle. For example, one embodiment may include the user controlling a gaming controller and watching the vehicle tracking information generated by the vehicle and/or the vehicle control engine on a computer monitor. In another exemplary embodiment, the user may be wearing a VR headset and controlling the vehicle with a driving simulator having a steering wheel and acceleration/brake pedals.”)
Oh_2022,Weiss_2017, and Brown_2022 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022,Weiss_2017, and Brown_2022.
The rationale for doing so would have been the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims. Brown_2022 teaches using a similar driving simulator setup (with the difference that it does not use a real vehicle) to simulate racing. The invention of Brown_2022 and the combined invention made obvious by Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 are similar devices as they simulate vehicle driving processes. Oh_2022 focuses on simulating a test drive. Brown_2022 improves their driving simulator by having a race functionality. Effectively both devices function the same way, and a person ordinarily skilled in the art would have recognized that the driving simulation of Oh_2022 could also include race functionality as taught by Brown_2022.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the driving simulation with a real vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_1999 with racing functionality of Brown_2022 for the benefit of including a race simulation function to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 13:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite
Brown_2022, however, makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes limited-edition non-fungible tokens. (Par 62: “Local vehicle instructions can include increasing the rotational speed of the wheel to accelerate, adjusting the direction of the wheels of the vehicle to create turning, dampening wheel rotation for braking, reversing the wheel rotation direction to switch into reverse, among others. Local vehicle instructions may additionally include loading and/or controlling trim and other visual representations for the vehicle, such as loading imagery such as a team logo or proprietary NFT and controlling or managing the display.”)
Oh_2022,Weiss_2017, and Brown_2022 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022,Weiss_2017, and Brown_2022.
The rationale for doing so would have been to follow known work in a field of endeavor for use in the same field of endeavor based on market forces that are predictable for one known in the art. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.Brown_2022 includes NFT content in their racing simulator. Par 23: “In one embodiment, the image may be a non-fungible token (NFT) owned by the team, with appropriate digital rights management functions facilitating distribution of the imagery to the vehicle.” If market incentives are present where companies and users require digital rights to the vehicles used in the simulations, the inventor of Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 would have known to add NFT capability for their vehicle. Therefore, in view of these market forces, it would have been obvious to combine the driving simulation using a real car as made obvious by Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 with the NFTs of Brown_2022 for the benefit of allowing proprietary ownership to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claims 10, 11, 14, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and further in view of US 10977956 B1 (Madison_2021)
Claim 10:
The system of claim 7,
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite wherein the driving simulation includes driving instruction for a student driver.
Madison_2021, however, makes obvious wherein the driving simulation includes driving instruction for a student driver. (Par 44: “In some embodiments, the virtual reality driving simulation determined to be appropriate may include both: (i) an instructional lesson, to be rendered in virtual reality, for teaching driving-related rules and/or skills to the user, and (ii) a driving scenario, to be rendered in virtual reality, for the user to practice the driving-related rules and/or skills taught by the instructional lesson. As described in more detail below, when the virtual reality driving simulation is rendered by the VR device 142, the driving scenario may be rendered shortly, or immediately, after the instructional lesson has been rendered. For example, only a few seconds or minutes may separate the instructional lesson and the driving scenario during the virtual reality driving simulation. Accordingly, the driving-related rules and/or skills may be practiced by the user shortly or immediately after learning them, which can improve knowledge transfer and skill acquisition. Furthermore, the same general environment (i.e., a virtual reality environment) may be used for both the instructional lesson and the driving scenario, which, in some cases, may be pedagogically more effective than conventional driver training in which the student learns driving-related rules and/or skills in a classroom environment and subsequently practice these rules and/or skills in a different environment. Although the same general environment (i.e., a virtual reality environment) is used for the both the instructional lesson and the driving scenario in the present disclosure, the particulars of the driving scenario (e.g., traffic conditions, road conditions, vehicle type, etc.) may be varied relative to those demonstrated during the instructional lesson, so that the student can practice the driving-related rules and/or skills learned during the instructional lesson in a wide variety of driving scenarios. Having the student apply the newly learned driving-related rules and/or skills in a wide variety of driving scenarios may help improve knowledge transfer and skill acquisition.”)
Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and Madison_2021 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and Madison_2021.
The rationale for doing so would have been to follow a teaching and motivation provided by Madison_2021. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims. Madison_2021 similarly simulates driving, but includes driving instructions for a student driver so that “Having the student apply the newly learned driving-related rules and/or skills in a wide variety of driving scenarios may help improve knowledge transfer and skill acquisition.” Oh_2022 teaches in par 196 of a guide system for explaining the vehicle functions “In addition, upon execution of the vehicle function virtual experience mode, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can provide guide (description) information about a predetermined first vehicle function.” In order to gain the benefit of improving knowledge of the vehicle functions, the inventor of Oh_2022 would be motivated to add driving instructions, especially for a student driver, so that they could better learn the functions of the car.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 with the instruction method of Madison_2021 for the benefit of better teaching of vehicle function to student and new drivers to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 11:
The system of claim 1,
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes a simulation of operating a boat or an airplane.
Madison_2021 however, makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator includes a simulation of operating a boat or an airplane. (Par 34-35: “In general, the input parameters may correspond to one or more features to be rendered during the virtual reality driving simulation. For example, the input parameters may include, but are not limited to, one or more of the following: Type of vehicle (e.g., a car, truck, motorcycle, plane, boat, watercraft, heavy machinery, forklift, etc.) to be rendered in the virtual reality driving simulation, including the make, year, and/or model of the vehicle;“)
Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and Madison_2021 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and Madison_2021.
The rationale for doing so would have been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims. Madison_2021 similarly simulates driving, but has a more general setup and allows choosing between what type of vehicle the user would like to drive. Par 80: “In some embodiments, the simulator module 112 may adjust various control elements of the virtual reality driving simulation according to the selected vehicle 401. For example, the simulator module 112 may adjust the vehicle acceleration, turning radius, braking speed, visibility, height, etc. of the simulation based on the vehicle 401. Accordingly, this may provide added realism by adjusting the control of the vehicle according to the real-life control and/or handling of the vehicle.” As stated above, Oh_2022 has this capability, as the parameters are also adjusted for the vehicle being used par 231: “For example, the test-driving experience system can preset, store and manage virtual driving parameters and/or a scenario optimized for the type of a displayed vehicle (e.g., a car, an SUV, a truck, a sports car, or the like).” It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to adjust the parameters of driving for the simulated vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 to allow the simulation of different vehicles or even boats and airplanes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the parameter customization of simulated vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 with the modification of parameters of Madison_2021 for the benefit of granting a wider range of realism simulation including boats and planes to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 14:
Oh_2022 makes obvious A system for an augmented-virtual reality simulator using a vehicle, the system comprising: (par 1: “The present invention relates to a system and method for providing vehicle function guidance and virtual test-driving experience based on augmented reality content.”) the vehicle including: a control feature (par 241: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.” Examiner note: Where the steering wheel is an example of a control feature for the vehicle.)
configured for selective use par 29: “Further, the outputting of the augmented reality content (Examiner note: in a simulation mode) may include providing the augmented reality content on the basis of at least one of a user input for performing an operation with respect to driving of the vehicle (Examiner note: this is describing a user using the control feature as input to simulate driving the vehicle) and an input for operation according to automatic activation of a function of the vehicle.” See also par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle.)
a computerized simulation controller including programming to: (par 83: “Specifically, the communication module 130 can communicate with computing devices in which augmented reality content sources for realizing augmented reality environments are stored and communicate with various user input components such as a controller which receives user input.”) monitor activation of the augmented-virtual reality simulator; command activation of the simulation mode based upon the activation of the augmented-virtual reality simulator; par 19 “Further, when entry of the augmented reality terminal into the vehicle is detected (Examiner note: where “is detected” implies a monitoring of the activation of the simulator) , the test-driving experience service providing server may provide a test-driving experience mode in which functions of the vehicle are experienced using the augmented reality content on the basis of the vehicle description application of the detected augmented reality terminal.” Examiner note: this is an activation of the simulator mode based on the detection/activation)
monitor inputs to the control feature; and operate the augmented-virtual reality simulator including a driving simulator configured to simulate a virtual test drive based upon the inputs to the control feature; (par 241-243: “Here, the test-driving experience system according to an embodiment can change the displayed test-driving virtual image in real time according to operation of the user performed on the steering wheel, the brake and/or a function button of the corresponding displayed vehicle. (Examiner notes: inputs to the control feature) For example, when the user steers the steering wheel to the left, the test-driving experience system can update the test-driving virtual image to an image in which the corresponding vehicle moves to the left and display the image in real time. Accordingly, the test-driving experience system can provide realistic augmented reality content through which the user can experience functions of the vehicle as if the user actually drives the vehicle even though the vehicle is a parked displayed vehicle.”) Examiner note: where this process as outlined depicts the control features being monitored and operating the virtual test drive simulation.
and a headset configured for being worn by a user providing a graphical rendering to the user based upon the augmented-virtual reality simulator; (Par 58: “The augmented reality terminal 100 according to an embodiment may include wearable type computer devices 101 and 102 such as a smart glasses display and a head mounted display (HMD).”)
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite in an actual operation mode, wherein the control feature is utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle,
Oh_2022 does not expressly recite and wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator enables the user to select from a plurality of virtual vehicles.
Weiss_2017, however, makes obvious in an actual operation mode, wherein the control feature is utilized to control actual operation of the vehicle, (par 133: “Specifically, the vehicle simulation system 100 can enable the vehicle 102 to transition from a standard mode, where standard operating tasks can be performed, to a simulation mode where a trainee can train on a fully realistic vehicle simulator to complement actual vehicle operation.” … par 86: “The vehicle 102 can include a plurality of controls 106 each configured to manipulate the vehicle 102 to perform a desired operation. That is, each of the plurality of controls 106 can be configured to control a component on the vehicle 102 that, in some form, manipulates the vehicle 102”)
As stated previously, Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation, specifically using the actual vehicle and in virtual reality. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017.
The rationale for doing so would have been to follow a teaching taught in the prior art of Weiss_2017. Oh_2022 teaches simulating driving through show room vehicles. One reason for using virtual reality in this context, is due to the fact that par 7-8: “Such vehicles integrated with the latest technology are displayed in a shop or a showroom such that customers purchase them and product description or test-driving experience with respect to corresponding vehicles is provided to customers. However, most vehicles displayed in showrooms are manufactured such that they do not actually operate.” Weiss_2017 states par 7: “The aforementioned shortcomings of current simulation methods can be overcome by providing systems and methods for converting an operational vehicle into a simulation vehicle. Such systems and methods may eliminate the need for end users to purchase an expensive dedicated simulator, enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators, and provide a simulation environment where the operator can learn on an actual vehicle.” Firstly, In cases where the vehicle displayed in the showroom is manufactured in a way that is able to operate, the inventor of Oh_2022 would necessarily contain a vehicle which is able to both drive in a conventional and simulated manner. Secondly, The inventor of Oh_2022 would also use the teaching of Weiss_2017 to gain the benefit of not needing to have a dedicated show room vehicle, and instead use a real working vehicle which can be simulated on. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 do not expressly recite and wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator enables the user to select from a plurality of virtual vehicles.
Madison_2021, however, makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator enables the user to select from a plurality of virtual vehicles. (par 78: “The display 400 may include one or more features corresponding to the one or more input parameters. For example, the display 400 may include a vehicle 401 corresponding to the type of vehicle specified by the one or more input parameters. The vehicle 401 may include a car with a steering wheel on the left hand side, a car with the steering wheel on the right hand side, a truck, a motorcycle, plane, boat, watercraft, heavy machinery, forklift, etc. The vehicle 401 may also correspond to the make, year, and/or model of the vehicle owned by the user in real-life.”)
Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and Madison_2021 are analogous art to the claimed invention because they are from the same field of endeavor called vehicle simulation. Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to combine Oh_2022, Weiss_2017, and Madison_2021.
The rationale for doing so would have been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield a predictable result. The invention of Oh_2022 allows users to simulate driving using a parked display vehicle. The invention of Weiss_2017 discusses a workflow to simulate vehicle use using a real vehicle, rather than just a display vehicle. As already stated, the it would have been obvious to combine the vehicle simulation system of Oh_2022 with the simulation method of using a functional vehicle of Weiss_2017 for the benefit of enable vehicles already in use to double as simulators to obtain the invention as specified in the claims. Madison_2021 similarly simulates driving, but has a more general setup and allows choosing between what type of vehicle the user would like to drive. Par 80: “In some embodiments, the simulator module 112 may adjust various control elements of the virtual reality driving simulation according to the selected vehicle 401. For example, the simulator module 112 may adjust the vehicle acceleration, turning radius, braking speed, visibility, height, etc. of the simulation based on the vehicle 401. Accordingly, this may provide added realism by adjusting the control of the vehicle according to the real-life control and/or handling of the vehicle.” As stated above, Oh_2022 has this capability, as the parameters are also adjusted for the vehicle being used par 231: “For example, the test-driving experience system can preset, store and manage virtual driving parameters and/or a scenario optimized for the type of a displayed vehicle (e.g., a car, an SUV, a truck, a sports car, or the like).” It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to adjust the parameters of driving for the simulated vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 to allow the simulation of different vehicles or even boats and airplanes.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the parameter customization of simulated vehicle of Oh_2022 and Weiss_2017 with the modification of parameters of Madison_2021 for the benefit of granting a wider range of realism simulation including boats and planes to obtain the invention as specified in the claims.
Claim 15:
The system of claim 14,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator enables the user to select from a plurality of maps upon which to operate the virtual test drive. (Par 227: “Specifically, the test-driving experience system can provide the virtual driving environment setting interface through which a parameter (e.g., first vehicle function on/off, or the like) and/or a scenario (e.g., a weather environment, the name of a road on which a vehicle will travel, an area, a course, and the like) to be set for a corresponding vehicle can be selected on the basis of the vehicle description application 111 at the time of performing virtual driving through the vehicle test-driving virtual experience mode.” Examiner note: Where the selection of a name of a road, an area, or a course are interpreted as a selection from a plurality of maps. )
Claim 16:
The system of claim 14,
Oh_2022 makes obvious wherein the augmented-virtual reality simulator: identifies a bumpy road condition; and controls a vibration unit in a seat of the user based upon the bumpy road condition. (Par 221: “For example, in a case where a vehicle is traveling on an unpaved road (Examiner note: this is a bumpy road condition) in the first vehicle function virtual experience scenario image, the test-driving experience system can control the active suspension system 550 and/or the virtual driving device 500 such that irregular vibration and shock effects are delivered to the corresponding displayed vehicle.”)
Conclusion
/A.H.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2187
/EMERSON C PUENTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2187