This Office Action is in response to communications filed on 6/16/2026.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-17, 19 & 21 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 8 & 15 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits that claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 12, 14-17, 19 & 21 are patentable because the cited references in the Non-final Rejection dated 3/16/2026, individually or in combination, fail to disclose or render obvious all of the limitations of these claims. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that Tenny fails to disclose a peer-to-peer secondary communication link over a short-range wireless protocol because the PC5 sidelink interface of Tenny is not a short-range wireless protocol operating on the same licensed cellular spectrum used by the network and part of the same 3GPP radio access architecture as the UE interface. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that someone of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the PC5 interface defines peer-to-peer communication between UE devices, also known as sidelink communication, intended for vehicles within short range of each other, often used in the 5.9 GHz band, which is separate from typical 800 MHz or 2 GHz cellular bands, for vehicle-to-vehicle communication to help prevent accidents and ease traffic flow. Thus, the PC5 interface may be interpreted as a short-range wireless protocol.
Applicant argues that Tenny does not teach or suggest using a secondary device, via a peer-to-peer link, to obtain confirmation that a target access point has an active session recorded for the computing device because the relay in Tenny is not used to query the network for the remote UE to retrieve confirmation that a target access pint has an active session recorded for the remote UE. Examiner notes that Tenny is not used to teach of querying the network for the remote UE to retrieve confirmation that a target access pint has an active session recorded for the remote UE. Dao is used to teach of requesting, by a UE, confirmation that a target access point has the active session recorded for the UE. Tenny is used to teach that the UE could establish a peer-to-peer secondary communication, over short-range wireless protocol PC5, with a secondary UE connected to the network. It would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art to combine the teaches of Dao and Tenny for scenarios where the UE is out of range of the target access point and communicates the request for confirmation that the target access point has the active session recorded through the secondary UE via the PC5 interface. In this scenario, the UE would send the request to the secondary UE via the PC5 peer-to-peer secondary communication link for confirmation that the target access pint has the active session recorded for the UE, as required by amended claim 1. Thus, the argument that the relay in Tenny is not used to query the network for the remote UE to retrieve confirmation that a target access pint has an active session recorded for the remote UE is moot.
Applicant argues that Dao does not disclose, suggest or contemplate having a separate secondary device receive confirmation on the UE’s behalf and then convey it to the UE over a peer-to-peer secondary communication link established between the UE and the secondary device. Examiner notes that Dao is not used to teach of having a separate secondary device receive confirmation on the UE’s behalf and then convey it to the UE over a peer-to-peer secondary communication link established between the UE and the secondary device. Tenny is used to teach that a secondary UE may be in sidelink peer-to-peer communication using the PC5 interface with the UE to communicate with the network and can receive confirmation on the UE’s behalf and convey it to the UE over the established PC5 interface. It would have been obvious to someone having skill in the art to combine the teaches of Dao and Tenny for scenarios where the UE is out of range of the target access point and communicates the request for confirmation that the target access point has the active session recorded through the secondary UE via the PC5 interface. In this scenario, the UE would send the request to the secondary UE via the PC5 peer-to-peer secondary communication link for confirmation that the target access pint has the active session recorded for the UE, as required by amended claim 1. Thus, the argument that the Dao does not disclose, suggest or contemplate having a separate secondary device receive confirmation on the UE’s behalf and then convey it to the UE over a peer-to-peer secondary communication link established between the UE and the secondary device is moot.
Applicant argues that Yang, Liu, Huang, Kumar, Yu and Hannu fail do not cure the deficiencies of Tenny and Dao. Given the above discussion demonstrating that the combination of Tenny and Dao do teach of the limitations discussed above, it is moot that Yang, Liu, Huang, Kumar, Yu and Hannu do not teach of the limitations discussed above.
Applicant argues that the Non-final Rejection dated 3/16/2026 does not articulate reasoning with rational for combining Tenny’s PC5 cellular relay architecture with the WLAN centric session-clearing scheme of Yang/Liu and the 5G NAS session establishment scheme of Dao because Yang and Liu are directed to IEEE 802.11 WLAN environments in which a station communicates with one or more access points over Wi-Fi, Dao is directed to a 5G core network session establishment procedure in which UEs interact with AMF and SMF nodes, and there is no apparent reason a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to graft the PC5 cellular sidelink relay architecture of Tenny (e.g., designed for out-of-coverage or poor-coverage 5G UEs to reach a gNB through a relay UE) onto a Wi-Fi station that is preparing to reconnect to a Wi-Fi access point and that has no need for cellular coverage extension at all. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0051] of Yang discloses that the technical solutions provided in the embodiments of the disclosure may be applied not only to WiFi but also to other communications systems (e.g. 3GPP communication systems). Examiner has not provided motivations for using PC5 to extend coverage of WiFi stations, but has provided motivations for extending the coverage of 3GPP cellular UEs, which may be considered “other communication systems” by Yang, by using the teachings of Tenny. Examiner also notes that the session establishment procedure taught by Dao involves Access Node 205 (see Figs 2 & 5 and [0137]-[0142] of Dao), which may be interpreted as a target access point, and thus the confirmation request to the AMF or SMF nodes would confirm whether AN 205 has an active session recorded.
Applicant argues that a person of ordinary skill in the art would not have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the disparate references cited in the Non-final Rejection date 3/16/2026 to arrive at the claimed invention because Tenny's PC5 sidelink relay architecture relies on 3GPP-defined RLC channels, adaptation layers, and signaling radio bearers that do not have any counterpart in the WLAN session-clearing context of Yang and Liu, and there is no teaching or suggestion in any reference of how a Wi-Fi station could use a peer-to-peer short-range wireless link to a separately networked Wi-Fi device to obtain, from the access point's session context, confirmation of an active session, and then use that confirmation to determine whether to send a clearing request to the access point. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that [0051] of Yang discloses that the technical solutions provided in the embodiments of the disclosure may be applied not only to WiFi but also to other communications systems (e.g. 3GPP communication systems). Examiner has not provided motivations for using PC5 to extend coverage of WiFi stations, but has provided motivations for extending the coverage of 3GPP cellular UEs, which may be considered “other communication systems” by Yang, by using the teachings of Tenny.
Applicant argues that Tenny and Dao, individually or in combination, fail to disclose the limitations of claims 8 and 15 that are similar to those of claim 1 based on the same arguments discussed above. Applicant respectfully disagrees and for the same reasons as discussed above maintains that the combination of Tenny and Dao do teach of the limitations discussed above.
Applicant argues that claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19 & 21 are patentably distinguishable over the cited references in the Non-final Rejection dated 3/16/2026 based on the above arguments made for claims 1, 8 & 15 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 8 or 15. Examiner respectfully disagrees and for the same reason maintains that the cited references in the Non-Final Rejection dated 3/16/2026 do disclose and teach of all the limitations in these claims.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims in the present application recite Markush groups in the format of “at least one of A, B or C” (see MPEP §2117). For the purpose of this review, the examiner is interpreting these Markush claims as a single element selection from a closed group of elements consisting of alternatives A, B, C, A&B, A&C, B&C, or A&B&C.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, 12, 14, 15, 19 & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2024/0276218)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0377851)(herein after “Liu”), and further in view of Dao et al. (US 2018/0199398)(herein after “Dao”) and Tenny et al. (US 12219625)(herein after “Tenny”).
Regarding claims 1 & 15, Yang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a plurality of computer-readable instructions executable by a controller of a computing device ([0010] discloses an STA device including a processor (i.e. a controller) and a memory (i.e. a non-transitory computer-readable medium) that stores a computer program that can be run (i.e. executed) by the processor.), and
a computing device comprising: a wireless communications interface configured to connect to a network deployed by one or more access points (Fig 1, [0004] & [0052] disclose an STA device (i.e. a computing device and an access point) that can access a wireless communication network through an AP. Fig 32, [0274] & [0312] disclose that the STA may include a communication unit 410 that may be an interface (i.e. to connect the STA to the wireless communication network through the AP).);
a controller for the wireless communications interface ([0010] discloses that an STA communication device may include a processor (i.e. a controller).), the controller configured to, or wherein execution of the instructions configures the controller to:
when an active session is predicted, send a clearing request to the target access point to clear the active session ([0241] discloses an STA that is associated with an AP (i.e. STA knows that there is an association with the AP and thus would predict that there is an active session), sending a disassociation frame to the AP (i.e. a request to clear the active session).); and
connect to the target access point ([0246] discloses that the STA sends an authentication frame to the AP that the AP uses to identify the STA and perform a regular authentication and association process with the STA (i.e. the STA connects to the AP).).
Yang fails to disclose, but Liu teaches predict whether a target access point for connecting to the network has an active session with the computing device when the computing device is disconnected from the target access point ([0056] discloses an AP MLD, in lossy power saving mode (i.e. non connected), announcing a BSS Max Idle period to a non-AP MLD (i.e. an STA-MLD), that maintains an association between the AP-MLD and non-AP MLD for the BSS Max Idle period so that the non-AP MLD can send keep alive messages within the BSS MAX Idle period to keep the association between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD active. The non-AP MLD can thus predict whether the association with the AP-MLD is active, while in power saving mode and not connected to the AP-MLD), based on whether the non-AP MLD sends keep alive messages within the BSS Max Idle period (i.e. predicts that the association is active) or does not send a keep alive message with a BSS Max Idle period (i.e. predicts that the association is not active).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a computing device, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a computing device, when an active session is predicted, send a clearing request to the target access point to clear the active session; and connect to the target access point, as disclosed by Yang, and predict whether a target access point for connecting to the network has an active session with the computing device when the computing device is disconnected from the target access point, as taught by Liu. The motivation to do so would have been to have an STA, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of an STA, that is in power saving mode, predict whether an association with an AP is still active based on sending or not sending keep alive messages within a BSS Max Idle period, and when an association with the AP is predicted to be still active, wake up and send a disassociation frame to the AP to de-associate with the AP, so that the STA can change the MAC address to improve user privacy before re-associating, in non-power saving mode, with the AP.
Yang fails to disclose, but Dao further teaches prior to sending the clearing request, to request confirmation that the target access point has the active session recorded for the computing device (Fig 7 & [0159]-[0160] discloses a session establishment procedure that initiates with a UE sending a NAS session request message 705. Fig 5 & [0142] disclose an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter used to indicate whether a PDU session, that involves AN 204 (i.e. a target access point), is in the Session-ACTIVE state that has two values: “Yes” or “No”, which may be sent from an SMF to the UE. The NAS session request message occurs prior to any clearing request being sent. Thus, the UE, prior to sending any clearing request, can send the NAS session request message to get confirmation, through receiving the Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter, of whether a session at a target access point is active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “Yes”) or not active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “No”).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a computing device, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a computing device, predict whether a target access point for connecting to the network has an active session with the computing device when the computing device is disconnected from the target access point, and when an active session is predicted, send a clearing request to the target access point to clear the active session; and connect to the target access point, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu, and request confirmation of the active session at the target access point, as further taught by Dao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a UE, that is in idle mode, predict whether a PDU session with an AP is still active, and when the PDU session with the AP is predicted to be still active, request confirmation that the PDU session is still active at the AP, so that the UE can avoid taking further actions that assumed the PDU session was active (based on the UE’s prediction), when in fact the PDU session was not active (based on receiving an indication that the PDU session is not active in a response such as an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter indicating “No”) to prevent unnecessary signaling that may lead to network congestion.
Yang fails to disclose, but Tenny further teaches wherein, the controller is further configured to: establish a peer-to-peer secondary communication link, over a short-range wireless protocol, to a secondary device connected to the network (Fig 3 & col 4, lines 43-61 disclose a remote UE establishing a PC5-RRC connection with a relay UE (i.e. short-range wireless protocol communication with a secondary device) through a discovery procedure 321. The discovery procedure occurs prior to any clearing request being sent by the remote UE.), and
wherein the request is from the secondary device and via the peer-to-peer secondary communication link (Fig 1 & col 3, lines 27-30 disclose that relay UE 103 operates to relay communications between remote UEs 104 & 105 and the network. Thus, a request confirmation message, sent prior to a clearing request, may be relayed to the network, from relay 103 via a PC5-RRC communication link between remote UE 104 or 105 and relay UE 103.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a computing device, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a computing device, request confirmation of the active session at the target access point, as disclosed by Dao, wherein the controller is the computing device is further configured to establish a peer-to-peer secondary communication link to a secondary device connected to the network, and wherein the request is from the secondary device via the peer-to-peer secondary communication, as further taught by Tenny. The motivation to do so would have been to have a remote UE, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a remote UE, that is outside the coverage area of an AP, request confirmation that a PDU session is still active at the AP, by sending a request message to a relay UE that forwards the message to the AP and network, in order to provide extended coverage for transmitting the request confirmation message from the remote UE.
Regarding claim 8, Yang discloses a method in a computing device ([0005] discloses a method including sending by an STA device.), the method comprising:
identifying a target access point for connecting to a network ([0241] discloses an STA identifying and associating with an AP (i.e. a target AP).);
when an active session is predicted, sending a clearing request to the target access point to clear the active session ([0241] discloses the STA that is associated with the AP (i.e. STA knows that there is an association with the AP and thus would predict that there is an active session), sending a disassociation frame to the AP (i.e. a request to clear the active session).); and
connecting to the target access point ([0246] discloses that the STA sends an authentication frame to the AP that the AP uses to identify the STA and perform a regular authentication and association process with the STA (i.e. the STA connects to the AP).).
Yang fails to disclose, but Liu teaches predicting whether a target access point for connecting to the network has an active session with the computing device when the computing device is disconnected from the target access point ([0056] discloses an AP MLD, in lossy power saving mode (i.e. non connected), announcing a BSS Max Idle period to a non-AP MLD (i.e. an STA-MLD), that maintains an association between the AP-MLD and non-AP MLD for the BSS Max Idle period so that the non-AP MLD can send keep alive messages within the BSS MAX Idle period to keep the association between the AP MLD and non-AP MLD active. The non-AP MLD can thus predict whether the association with the AP-MLD is active, while in power saving mode and not connected to the AP-MLD), based on whether the non-AP MLD sends keep alive messages within the BSS Max Idle period (i.e. predicts that the association is active) or does not send a keep alive message with a BSS Max Idle period (i.e. predicts that the association is not active).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method where a computing device, when an active session is predicted, sends a clearing request to the target access point to clear the active session; and connects to the target access point, as disclosed by Yang, and predicts whether a target access point for connecting to the network has an active session with the computing device when the computing device is disconnected from the target access point, as taught by Liu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where an STA, that is in power saving mode, predicts whether an association with an AP is still active based on sending or not sending keep alive messages within a BSS Max Idle period, and when an association with the AP is predicted to be still active, wakes up and sends a disassociation frame to the AP to de-associate with the AP, so that the STA can change the MAC address to improve user privacy before re-associating, in non-power saving mode, with the AP.
Yang fails to disclose, but Dao further teaches prior to sending the clearing request, requesting confirmation that the target access point has the active session recorded for the computing device (Fig 7 & [0159]-[0160] discloses a session establishment procedure that initiates with a UE sending a NAS session request message 705. Fig 5 & [0142] disclose an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter used to indicate whether a PDU session, that involves AN 204 (i.e. a target access point), is in the Session-ACTIVE state that has two values: “Yes” or “No”, which may be sent from an SMF to the UE. The NAS session request message occurs prior to any clearing request being sent. Thus, the UE, prior to sending any clearing request, can send the NAS session request message to get confirmation, through receiving the Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter, of whether a session at a target access point is active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “Yes”) or not active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “No”).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method where a computing device predicts whether a target access point for connecting to the network has an active session with the computing device when the computing device is disconnected from the target access point, and when an active session is predicted, sends a clearing request to the target access point to clear the active session; and connects to the target access point, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu, and requests confirmation of the active session at the target access point, as further taught by Dao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a UE, that is in idle mode, predicts whether a PDU session with an AP is still active, and when the PDU session with the AP is predicted to be still active, requests confirmation that the PDU session is still active at the AP, so that the UE can avoid taking further actions that assumed the PDU session was active (based on the UE’s prediction), when in fact the PDU session was not active (based on receiving an indication that the PDU session is not active in a response such as an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter indicating “No”) to prevent unnecessary signaling that may lead to network congestion.
Yang fails to disclose, but Tenny further teaches establishing a peer-to-peer secondary communication link, over a short-range protocol, to a secondary device connected to the network (Fig 3 & col 4, lines 43-61 disclose a remote UE establishing a PC5-RRC connection with a relay UE (i.e. short-range wireless protocol communication with a secondary device) through a discovery procedure 321. The discovery procedure occurs prior to any clearing request being sent by the remote UE.), and
wherein the requesting is from the secondary device and via the peer-to-peer secondary communication link (Fig 1 & col 3, lines 27-30 disclose that relay UE 103 operates to relay communications between remote UEs 104 & 105 and the network. Thus, a request confirmation message, sent prior to a clearing request, may be relayed to the network, from relay 103 via a PC5-RRC communication link between remote UE 104 or 105 and relay UE 103.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method where a computing device requests confirmation of the active session at the target access point, as disclosed by Dao, and establishes a peer-to-peer secondary communication link to a secondary device connected to the network, and wherein the requesting is from the secondary device via the peer-to-peer secondary communication, as further taught by Tenny. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a remote UE, that is outside the coverage area of an AP, requests confirmation that a PDU session is still active at the AP, by sending a request message to a relay UE that forwards the message to the AP and network, in order to provide extended coverage for transmitting the request confirmation message from the remote UE.
Regarding claims 5 & 19, Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny disclose the computing device of claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Yang fails to disclose, but Dao further teaches wherein to confirm the active session at the target access point, the controller is configured to, or the instructions configure the controller to, send a confirmation query to the target access point (Fig 7 & [0159]-[0160] discloses a session establishment procedure that initiates with a UE sending a NAS session request message 705. Fig 5 & [0142] disclose an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter used to indicate whether a PDU session is in the Session-ACTIVE state that has two values: “Yes” or “No”, which may be sent from an SMF to the UE. The NAS session request message occurs prior to any clearing request being sent. Thus, the UE can send the NAS session request message as a confirmation query and, through receiving the Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter, receive confirmation of whether a session at a target access point is active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “Yes”) or not active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “No”).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the computing device of claim 1 or the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny, wherein to confirm the active session at the target access point, the controller is configured to, or the instructions configure the controller to, send a confirmation query to the target access point, as further taught by Dao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a UE, that is in idle mode, predict whether a PDU session with an AP is still active, and when the PDU session with the AP is predicted to be still active, request confirmation that the PDU session is still active at the AP, so that the UE can avoid taking further actions that assumed the PDU session was active (based on the UE’s prediction), when in fact the PDU session was not active (based on receiving an indication that the PDU session is not active in a response such as an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter indicating “No”) to prevent unnecessary signaling that may lead to network congestion.
Regarding claim 12, Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny disclose the method of claim 8.
Yang fails to disclose, but Dao further teaches wherein the confirming the active session at the target access point comprises sending a confirmation query to the target access point (Fig 7 & [0159]-[0160] discloses a session establishment procedure that initiates with a UE sending a NAS session request message 705. Fig 5 & [0142] disclose an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter used to indicate whether a PDU session is in the Session-ACTIVE state that has two values: “Yes” or “No”, which may be sent from an SMF to the UE. The NAS session request message occurs prior to any clearing request being sent. Thus, the UE can send the NAS session request message as a confirmation query and, through receiving the Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter, receive confirmation of whether a session at a target access point is active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “Yes”) or not active (i.e. Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter is “No”).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 8, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny, wherein the confirming of the active session at the target access point comprises sending a confirmation query to the target access point, as further taught by Dao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a UE, that is in idle mode, to predict whether a PDU session with an AP is still active, and when the PDU session with the AP is predicted to be still active, request confirmation that the PDU session is still active at the AP, so that the UE can avoid taking further actions that assumed the PDU session was active (based on the UE’s prediction), when in fact the PDU session was not active (based on receiving an indication that the PDU session is not active in a response such as an Activate-Session-when-RRC-Resumed parameter indicating “No”) to prevent unnecessary signaling that may lead to network congestion.
Regarding claims 7, 14 & 21, Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny disclose the computing device of claim 1, the method of claim 8 and the a non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Yang discloses wherein the controller is further configured to: in response to a failure to connect to the target access point, randomize a media access control address of the computing device ([0004] discloses an STA device adopting a randomized MAC address. [0244] discloses that is response to an STA being disassociated from an AP (e.g. a failure to connect to a target access point), the STA may change the MAC address (i.e. randomize a MAC address).); and
connect to the target access point using the randomized media access control address (Fig 18 & [0192] discloses the STA sending a frame to the AP with the randomized MAC address that is changed.).
Claims 2, 9 & 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2024/0276218)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0377851)(herein after “Liu”), and Dao et al. (US 2018/0199398)(herein after “Dao”) and Tenny et al. (US 12219625)(herein after “Tenny”), as applied to claims 1, 8 & 15 respectively, and further in view of Huang et al. (US 2011/0117905)(herein after “Huang”).
Regarding claims 2 & 16, Yang in view of Liu and Dai and Tenny disclose the computing device of claim 1 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15.
Yang fails to disclose, but Huang further teaches wherein, to predict whether the target access point has the active session, the controller is configured to, or the instructions configure the controller to: determine that a most recent access point is the target access point; and detect a disconnection error parameter ([0087]-[0089] discloses a UE detecting a failure reason (i.e. detecting a disconnection error parameter) such as a radio link failure, handoff failure or a bottom layer error, and in all cases determines a most recent source cell as a target cell for re-establishing an RRC connection.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the computing device of claim 1 or the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 15, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny, wherein, to predict whether the target access point has the active session, the controller is configured to: determine that a most recent access point is the target access point; and detect a disconnection error parameter, as further taught by Huang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a UE, lose RRC connection to an AP, detect a reason for the loss of RRC connection (e.g. radio link failure or handoff failure) and determine to quickly re-establish RRC connection with AP that the UE just lost RRC connection with (i.e. the most recent AP), in order to minimize the time that the UE is disconnected to minimize impact to user experience.
Regarding claim 9, Yang in view of Liu and Dai and Tenny disclose the method of claim 8.
Yang fails to disclose, but Huang further teaches wherein, wherein the predicting whether the target access point has the active session comprises: determining that a most recent access point is the target access point; and detecting a disconnection error parameter ([0087]-[0089] discloses a UE detecting a failure reason (i.e. detecting a disconnection error parameter) such as a radio link failure, handoff failure or a bottom layer error, and in all cases determines a most recent source cell as a target cell for re-establishing an RRC connection.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 1, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny, wherein, to predict whether the target access point has the active session, the controller is configured to: determine that a most recent access point is the target access point; and detect a disconnection error parameter, as further taught by Huang. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method where a UE loses an RRC connection to an AP, detects a reason for the loss of RRC connection (e.g. radio link failure or handoff failure) and determines to quickly re-establish RRC connection with AP that the UE just lost RRC connection with (i.e. the most recent AP), in order to minimize the time that the UE is disconnected to minimize impact to user experience.
Claims 3, 10 & 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US 2024/0276218)(herein after “Yang”) in view of Liu et al. (US 2021/0377851)(herein after “Liu”), and Dao et al. (US 2018/0199398)(herein after “Dao”) and Tenny et al. (US 12219625)(herein after “Tenny”) and Huang et al. (US 2011/0117905)(herein after “Huang”), as applied to claims 2, 9 & 16 respectively, and further in view of Kumar et al. (US 2013/0273848)(herein after “Kumar”) and Yu et al. (WO 2023/156022)(herein after “Yu”) and Hannu et al. (US 9332550)(herein after “Hannu”).
Regarding claims 3, 10 & 17, Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny and Huang disclose the computing device of claim 2, the method of claim 9 and the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16.
Yang discloses wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: the computing device experiencing a basic service set loss ([0244] discloses an STA detecting a disassociation from an AP (i.e. a basic service set loss).).
Yang fails to disclose, but Kumar further teaches wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: the computing device missing a threshold number of beacons ([0047] discloses detecting failure to receive a TIM based on a threshold number of missed beacon transmissions.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a computing device of claim 2, the method of claim 9, or the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny and Huang, wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: the computing device missing a threshold number of beacons, as further taught by Kumar. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, or a method for a UE to, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a UE, detect a failure to receive a TIM after determining a number of missed beacon transmissions so that the UE can send a PS-Poll after missing the threshold number of beacon transmissions to compensate for missed TIMs.
Yang fails to disclose, but Yu further teaches wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: channel congestion above a threshold level (Page 13, lines 5-10 disclose determining whether a radio channel congestion is above a threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a computing device of claim 2 or the method of claim 9, or the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny and Huang, wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: channel congestion above a threshold level, as further taught by Yu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, a method for a UE to, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a UE, in sidelink communication with other UEs, detect a failure due to congestion by determining that a channel congestion is above a threshold so that the UE can deprioritize sidelink communication with UEs with heavy traffic.
Yang fails to disclose wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: lack of receipt of an acknowledgement to a prior clearing request (optional).
Yang fails to disclose, but Hannu teaches wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: lack of network activity for a threshold amount of time and a radio parameter not meeting a threshold condition. (Col 2, lines 43-49 discloses a UE detecting a lack of network activity based on setting a radio inactivity timer to 3 seconds.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a computing device of claim 2 or the method of claim 9, or the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 16, as disclosed by Yang in view of Liu and Dao and Tenny and Huang, wherein the disconnection error parameter is selected from the group consisting of: lack of network activity for a threshold amount of time and a radio parameter not meeting a threshold condition, as further taught by Hannu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a UE, a method for a UE to, or a non-transitory computer-readable medium with instructions executed by a controller of a UE, detect lack of network activity by determining that there has been no radio activity for a set period of time (e.g. 3 seconds) so that the UE can trigger a fast dormancy to preserve battery life.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rao et al. (US 2020/0389761) discloses Systems and Methods for Network Node Communication Using Dynamically Configurable Interaction Modes.
Kourous-Harrigan et al. (US 11030889) discloses Systems and Methods for Dynamic Traffic Lane Management.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419