DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 11 December 2025. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-6 are presently pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 2 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashiya et al. (US 5,947,925).
Regarding claim 1, Ashiya discloses a catheter (Fig. 2, 3) comprising a shaft (Fig. 2, 4), the shaft comprising:
a first lumen (Fig. 2, 34) configured to communicate from a proximal end to a distal end of the shaft and having an opening area (Col. 5, lines 3-12); and
a second lumen (Fig. 2, 32) positioned on an outer periphery side of the first lumen (Fig. 2, where 32 and 34 run parallel to each other and 32 is located on an upper side of the catheter), configured to communicate from a proximal end side to a distal end side of the shaft (Fig. 2, where 32 runs from the proximal end towards the balloon 36), and having an opening area that is smaller than the opening area of the first lumen in a transverse section of the shaft (Fig. 4-5, where the lumen 32 is smaller than the lumen surrounding the guidewire 2, see annotated figure below),
wherein a dimension in a first direction in which the first lumen and the second lumen are aligned at a distal end portion of the shaft is less than a dimension in the first direction in a proximal end portion that is closer to the proximal side than the distal end portion of the shaft (Fig. 2, where the lumen 32 is aligned at a proximal end and the lumen 32 turns and is shorter than the lumen 34 at the distal end),
an opening width in the first direction of the second lumen in a transverse section of the distal end portion of the shaft is smaller than an opening width in the first direction of the second lumen in a transverse section of the proximal end portion of the shaft (Fig. 2 & 4, where the opening of 32 is smaller than the diameter of the lumen 34 that surrounds guidewire 2, see annotated figure below), and
in the distal end portion of the shaft, a thickness on the first lumen side in the first direction is larger than a thickness on the second lumen side in the first direction (Fig. 2, where the shaft 4 is thicker on a top portion than a bottom portion where 34 is located).
Regarding claim 2, Ashiya discloses the catheter according to Claim 1, wherein an opening width in a second direction perpendicular to the first direction of the second lumen in the transverse section of the distal end portion of the shaft is larger than an opening width in the second direction of the second lumen in the transverse section of the proximal end portion of the shaft (Fig. 5-6, where the opening of 32 has a smaller width in figure 5 and in figure 6 the opening 32 has a larger width in another section, additionally, the width of the lumen 32 is not limited to a specific range at a point, col. 5, lines 35-38).
Regarding claim 3, Ashiya discloses the catheter according to Claim 2, wherein an opening area of the second lumen in the transverse section of the distal end portion of the shaft is substantially the same as an opening area of the second lumen in the transverse section of the proximal end portion of the shaft (Fig. 2, 32, where the opening area is substantially the same and the width of the opening is not limited, col 5, lines 35-38, meaning the opening can be shaped accordingly to be “substantially” the same).
Regarding claim 4, Ashiya discloses the catheter according to Claim 1, further comprising a balloon (Fig. 2, 36) joined to the distal end portion of the shaft and configured to communicate with the second lumen (Fig. 2, where 36 is connected with 32).
Regarding claim 5, Ashiya discloses the catheter according to Claim 2, further comprising a balloon joined to the distal end portion of the shaft and configured to communicate with the second lumen (Fig. 2, where 36 is connected with 32).
Regarding claim 6, Ashiya discloses the catheter according to Claim 3, further comprising a balloon joined to the distal end portion of the shaft and configured to communicate with the second lumen (Fig. 2, where 36 is connected with 32).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HADEN MATTHEW RITCHIE/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783