DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
2. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the first and second battery cells” (final line) should be corrected to invoke full and proper antecedent basis (e.g., “the plurality of first battery cells” and “the plurality of second battery cells”).
Claim 1, lines 10-11 and claim 1, lines 12-13 should correct “and second battery cells to “the plurality of second battery cells” to invoke full and proper antecedent basis.
The claim set as a whole should be reviewed and corrected to invoke full and proper antecedent basis with respect to the defined “the plurality of first battery cells” and “the plurality of second battery cells.”
Claim 14 is objected to as it recites “the thickness” with respect to each of the external side wall, the barrier wall, and the cover member; this should be corrected to “a thickness” wherever it is the first time the feature is being described for clarity. The issue is not one of being indefinite as these entities intrinsically have a thickness value; however, for clarity, “a thickness” should be utilized in each instance.
Claim 14 fails to invoke proper antecedent basis with respect to “the at least one barrier wall” in each instance where “the barrier wall” occurs which requires correction.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 1, and thus dependent claims 2-18; claim 19, and thus dependent claim 20; claim 2, and thus dependent claims 3-6 and 11; claim 3, and thus dependent claims 5 and 6; claim 4; claim 8; claim 17, and thus dependent claim 18; and claim 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A) Claims 1 and 19 each recite, “a panel member covering ends of the internal space…” The Examiner is not clear how the internal space described has plural ends that the panel member covers. P164 of the PGPUB describes that a panel member 160 covers the open end of the internal space S (Figs. 1, 5). It is not clear how the claimed panel member is configured or arranged to achieve the feature of “covering ends of the internal space” as claimed.
B) Claims 1 and 19 each recite, “wherein the first and second battery cells” are disposed in each of the installation spaces. It is not clear how it is possible to configure or arrange the battery cells to meet the feature claimed given the [plurality of first battery cells] are disposed on the first side of the at least one barrier wall, the [plurality of second battery cells] are disposed on the second side of the at least one barrier wall, and the internal space is divided into a plurality of installation spaces by the at least one barrier wall. Accordingly, the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of second battery cells cannot be disposed in each of the installation spaces as claimed. The configuration appears impossible to configure.
The issue compounds at claim 3 in reciting adjacent first battery cells and between adjacent second battery cells disposed in the installation spaces.
C) Claims 1 and 19 each recite: “a cover member surrounding at least a portion of an outer portion of the plurality of first and second battery cells...” It is not clear if the feature requires the cover member to surround at least a portion of an outer portion (singular as claimed) of either the plurality of first battery cells or the plurality of second battery cells, or if the cover member is required to surround respective outer portions of the plurality of first battery cells and the plurality of battery second cells.
D) Claim 2 recites, “…in a thickness direction of the battery cell…” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation.
E) Claim 4 recites “the plurality of battery cells” rendering the claim indefinite given this does not make clear what is being referenced given claim 1 defines a plurality of first battery cells and a plurality of second battery cells.
F) Claim 8 recites that the electrode lead is disposed on both ends of each battery cell. This is not the configuration taught in the disclosure; instead, there are two electrode leads provided to each battery cell, one on each end of the respective battery cell.
G) Claims 17 and 18 each recite “the battery cell” which is not clear given the earlier recitation of “each battery cell” in claim 17, and the defining of a plurality of battery cells. In other words, there is insufficient antecedent basis for “the battery cell” as used in these claims.
H) Claim 19 recites: a blocking member disposed between at least a portion of the adjacent battery cell bundles to prevent heat or flames generated in one of the battery cell bundles from spreading to adjacent battery cell bundles. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “the adjacent battery cell bundles” as claimed.
The claim is further indefinite as it then recites “to adjacent battery cell bundles” which does not make clear if this is failing to properly reference the already-defined adjacent battery cell bundles or other adjacent battery cell bundles.
I) Claims 8 and 17 utilize the term “pouch-type” which renders the claim indefinite given the addition of the word “type” to an otherwise definite expression extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. App. 1955); see MPEP 2173.05.
Appropriate correction and/or explanation is required. The claims will be examined as best as possible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1, 2, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ju et al. (US 2018/0183119).
First Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, Ju teaches a battery cell bundle (Fig. 7; entire disclosure relied upon), comprising:
a support member including at least one barrier wall 12 including first and second sides extending from an end of the support member (i.e., the top-facing surface) (Figs. 2, 4);
a plurality of first battery cells 21 disposed along the support member on the first side of the at least one barrier wall 12;
a plurality of second battery cells 21 disposed along the support member on the second side of the at least one barrier wall 12;
a cover member 11 surrounding at least a portion of an outer portion of the plurality of first and second battery cells, and coupled to [see concave portion 111 of cover member 11 and convex portion 121 of the at least one barrier all 12- (Figs. 2, 4; P38)] the support member such that the cover member 11 and the support member define an internal space for accommodating the plurality of first and second battery cells 21 (Figs. 2, 4); and
a panel member [any of 13, second frame 30, or the other second frame 30] covering ends [an end?] of the internal space,
wherein the internal space is divided into a plurality of installation spaces by the at least one barrier wall 11, and
wherein the first and second battery cells 21 are disposed in each of the installation spaces.
Second Interpretation
Regarding claim 1, Ju teaches a battery cell bundle (Fig. 7), comprising:
a support member 10 including at least one barrier wall 12 including first and second sides extending from an end of the support member (Fig. 3- the cooling plate(s) 12 and housing 11 are taught as integrally formed in this embodiment – P38);
a plurality of first battery cells 21 disposed along the support member 10 on the first side of the at least one barrier wall 12;
a plurality of second battery cells disposed along the support member 10 on the second side of the at least one barrier wall 12;
a second frame 30 (“cover member”) surrounding at least a portion of an outer portion of the plurality of first and second battery cells 21, and coupled to the support member 10 such that the cover member and the support member define an internal space for accommodating the plurality of first and second battery cells 21 (Fig. 7); and
a panel member (either the other second frame 30 or 13) covering ends [an end?] of the internal space,
wherein the internal space is divided into a plurality of installation spaces by the at least one barrier wall 12 (Fig. 7), and
wherein the first and second battery cells 21 are disposed in each of the installation spaces.
Regarding claim 2, Ju teaches (Second Interpretation) wherein the support member 10 further includes an external side wall extending from at least one end of the at least one barrier wall 12 in a thickness direction of the battery cell (Fig. 3; P38).
Regarding claim 12, Ju teaches (Second Interpretation) wherein the support member 10 includes a plurality of barrier walls 12 connected to the external side wall (Fig. 3).
7. Claims 1-3, 5, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2022/0123423).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches a battery cell bundle (Figs. 2-11; not limited to entire disclosure), comprising:
a cross beam 13 (“support member”) including at least one side wall 132 (“barrier wall”) including first and second sides extending from an end of the cross beam 13 (“support member”) (Fig. 7); [alternatively, this could be interpreted as: a cross beam 13 (“support member”) including at least top plate 131 (“at least one barrier wall”) including first and second sides (side plates 132) extending from end of the cross beam 13 (“support member”) – hereinafter “Second Interpretation” in the dependent claims]; [alternatively, this could be interpreted as a cross beam 13 (“support member”) including at least one barrier (any of 16, 172, 172, and/or 131) including first and second sides extending from an end of the cross beam 13 (“support member”) – hereinafter “Third Interpretation” in the dependent claims];
a first battery group 3 including a plurality of first battery cells 5 (P92) disposed along the cross beam 13 (“support member”) on the first side of the at least one barrier wall 132 (or 131- Second Interpretation) (Figs. 3, 8);
a second battery group 4 including a plurality of second battery cells 5 (P92) disposed along the cross beam 13 (“support member”) on the second side of the at least one barrier wall 132 (or 131- Second Interpretation) (Figs. 3, 8);
a first box body 1 (=frame 12 + base plate 11) (“cover member”) surrounding at least a portion of an outer portion of the plurality of first and second battery cells 5, and coupled to the cross beam 13 (“support member”) (P83) such that the first boxy body 1 (“cover member”) and the cross beam 13 (“support member”) define an internal space for accommodating the plurality of first and second battery cells 5 (Figs. 2-4); and
an upper box cover 2 (“a panel member”) covering ends of the internal space,
wherein the internal space is divided into a plurality of installation spaces 14 by the at least one barrier wall 132, and
wherein the first and second battery cells 5 are disposed in each of the installation spaces (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, Wang teaches wherein the cross beam 13 (“support member”) further includes top plate 131 (“an external side wall”) extending from at least one end of the at least one barrier wall 132 in a thickness direction of the battery cell.
Alternatively, in the second interpretation: the cross beam 13 (“support member”) further includes protective plate 16 (“an external side wall”) extending from at least one end of the at least one barrier wall 132 in a thickness direction of the battery cell.
Alternatively, in the third interpretation: the cross beam 13 (“support member”) further includes an external side wall 132 extending from at least one end of the at least one barrier wall (any of 16, 171, 172, 131) in a thickness direction of the battery cell.
Regarding claim 3, Wang teaches wherein the cross beam 13 (“support member”) includes a first venting member (baffle plate 15 – P82-89, 91, 96) at a position between adjacent first battery cells 5 and between adjacent second battery cells 5 disposed in the installation spaces (Figs. 7-11; P82-89, 91, 96) (all Interpretations).
Regarding claim 5, Wang teaches (third interpretation) teaches the first venting member (baffle plate 15 – P82-89, 91, 96) includes a first venting hole (Fig. 11) formed on the external side wall 132.
Regarding claim 12, Wang teaches wherein the cross beam 13 (“support member”) includes a plurality of barrier walls (132 or 16) connected to the external side wall.
Regarding claim 16, Wang teaches wherein the first box body 1 (“cover member”) is (at least indirectly or directly) bonded to the external side wall and the upper box cover 2 (“a panel member”) (P76, 79; Fig. 9)
8. Claims 1-2, 7-9, 12-13, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365956).
Regarding claim 1, Jeon teaches a battery cell bundle 100, comprising:
a unit plate 21 (“a support member”) including at least one plate portion 22 (“barrier wall”) including first and second sides extending from an end of the support member;
a plurality of first battery cells 10 disposed along the unit plate 21 (“support member”) on the first side of the at least one barrier wall 22;
a plurality of second battery cells 10 disposed along the unit plate 21 (“support member”) on the second side of the at least one barrier wall 22;
a tubular case (“cover member”) (=40a, 40b, 50, 50 – at least three of these entities) (P100) surrounding at least a portion of an outer portion of the plurality of first and second battery cells, and coupled to the unit plate 21 (“support member”) (P110) such that the cover member and the unit plate 21 (“support member”) define an internal space for accommodating the plurality of first and second battery cells 10; and
a cover plate 70 (“panel member”) covering ends [an end?] of the internal space,
wherein the internal space is divided into a plurality of installation spaces by the at least one barrier wall 22, and
wherein the first and second battery cells 10 are disposed in each of the installation spaces.
Fig. 2 of Jeon is reproduced below for convenience:
Regarding claim 2, Jeon teaches wherein the unit plate 21 (“support member”) further includes an external side wall 23 extending from at least one end of the unit plate 21 (“at least one barrier wall”) in a thickness direction of the battery cell (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Jeon teaches wherein the cover member 70 (“panel member”) includes a through- hole 82 through which an electrode lead of a battery cell disposed in the internal space and adjacent to the panel member is exposed (P134).
Regarding claim 8, Jeon teaches wherein the first and second battery cells include a pouch-type secondary battery (P34), and wherein the electrode lead 15 is disposed on both ends of each battery cell (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Jeon teaches wherein the panel member includes the through hole 82; the through hole may simultaneously constitute, “a second venting member” capable of discharging gas from the internal space as claimed (the claim does not require the taught through-hole of claim 7 and the second venting member to be distinctive entities).
Regarding claim 12, Jeon teaches wherein the unit plate 21 (“support member”) includes a plurality of barrier walls (i.e., unit plate 22 + the other side portion 23 on the opposite side thereof) connected to the external side portion 23 (“external side wall”) (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Jeon teaches wherein the cover member (=40a, 40b, 50, 50 – at least three of these entities) has a U-shaped cross- section (i.e., selecting any of these three entities results in a U-shaped cross-section).
Regarding claim 17, Jeon teaches wherein each battery cell is a pouch-type secondary battery that includes an electrode assembly, wherein three sides of the battery cell surrounding the electrode assembly are sealed (P34-47).
9. Claims 1-10, 13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (WO 2021/002626) (using US 2022/0115737 as a family member and translation thereof).
Regarding claim 1, Shin teaches a battery cell module 200(“battery cell bundle”), comprising:
a flame retardant plate 230 (“support member”) including at least one body 231 (“barrier wall”) including first and second sides extending from an end (i.e., top surface thereof) of the support member;
a plurality of first battery cells 110 (in first assembly 100) disposed along the support member 230 on the first side of the at least one barrier wall 231;
a plurality of second battery cells 110 (in second assembly 100) disposed along the support member 230 on the second side of the at least one barrier wall 231;
an upper cover 220 (“cover member”) surrounding at least a portion of an outer portion of the plurality of first and second battery cells 110, and coupled to the support member 230 (Fig. 5- see insertion protrusion 226p) such that the upper cover 220 (“cover member”) and the support member 230 define an internal space for accommodating the plurality of first and second battery cells 110; and
a panel member 270 covering ends of the internal space (alternatively this could be base plate 240, front cover 250, or rear cover 260),
wherein the internal space is divided into a plurality of installation spaces by the at least one barrier wall 230, and
wherein the first and second battery cells 110 are disposed in each of the installation spaces (Figs. 1-9; entire disclosure relied upon)..
Regarding claim 2, Shin teaches wherein the support member 230 further includes a flame barrier 236 (“external side wall”) extending from at least one end of the at least one barrier wall 231 in a thickness direction of the battery cell (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Shin teaches wherein the support member 230 includes a first venting member 236h at a position between adjacent first battery cells and between adjacent second battery cells disposed in the installation spaces (Fig. 2-4).
Regarding claim 4, Shin teaches the battery cell bundle of claim 2, further comprising:
an internal busbar 272 electrically connecting the plurality of (first?) battery cells to each other, wherein the support member 230 includes a first venting member 236h at a position corresponding to the internal busbar 272 (Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 5, Shin teaches wherein the first venting member 236h includes a first venting hole formed on the flame barrier 236 (“external side wall”).
Regarding claim 6, Shin teaches wherein the first venting hole 236h is connected to each of the plurality of installation spaces (see figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 7, Shin teaches wherein the panel member (selecting frame 276) includes a through-hole through which an electrode lead (111, or 112) of a battery cell 100 disposed in the internal space and adjacent to the panel member is exposed (Figs 2-4).
Regarding claim 8, Shin teaches wherein the first and second battery cells include a pouch-type secondary battery (P47-48), and wherein the electrode lead (111 or 112) is disposed on both ends of each battery cell.
Regarding claim 9, Shin teaches wherein the panel member includes a second venting member for discharging gas from the internal space (i.e., the same hole for the lead or any of the other holes) (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 10, Shin teaches wherein the second venting member includes a second venting hole formed on the panel member (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 13, Shin teaches wherein the upper cover 220 (“cover member”) has a U-shaped cross- section (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Shin teaches a battery rack 300 (“a battery cell assembly”) (Figs. 9-10), comprising:
a plurality of battery cell modules 200 (“bundles”)to accommodate a plurality of battery cells 110 in the plurality of battery cell modules 200 (“bundles”); and
a flame retardant cover 320 (“blocking member”) disposed between at least a portion of [[the]] adjacent battery cell bundles 200 to prevent heat or flames generated in one of the battery cell bundles from spreading to adjacent battery cell bundles;
wherein at least one of the battery cell bundles includes:
[the features of claim 1; the rejection of which is entirely incorporated into the instant rejection].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2022/0123423) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Omura et al. (US 2020/0212404).
Regarding claim 4, Wang teaches the terminals of all the cells facing inward toward the support member, the support member including a first venting member (baffle plate 15 – P82-89, 91, 96) at a position corresponding to the location of the terminals (see Figs. 2, 8-10).
Wang does not teach an internal busbar electrically connecting the plurality of [first?] battery cells to each other. It is a well-known technique to connect adjacent battery cells to one another via a busbar 2 in order to form a module, the connection being one of series and/or parallel that increases voltage and/or current as taught by Omura (P2, 4, 38; Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide an internal busbar electrically connecting the plurality of first battery cells to each other via the terminals in order to form a module in order to provide the predictable result of increasing the current and/or voltage thereof to meet the demand of the intended load as taught by Omura (P2, 4, 38; Fig. 1), the applied bus bar being at a position corresponding to the terminals which also corresponds to the location of the venting member (baffle plate 15).
12. Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365956) as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (US 2022/0271388). It is noted that claim 9 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as a compact prosecution rejection.
Regarding claim 9, Jeon fails to disclose wherein the cover member 70 (“panel member”) includes a second venting member for discharging gas from the internal space [that is separate from the through-hole of the electrode lead of parent claim 7].
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches analogous art of a grouping of battery cells including an end plate 300 (i.e. analogous to cover plate 70), and that it is a known technique to provide said end plate 300 with a venting hole 310 in order to discharge gas accumulated in the housing (P47), or to use an existing hole for exposing an existing busbar or terminal as a vent hole (P47). Thus, Choi teaches that the terminal hole 82 of Jeon could be used as the venting hole, or a separate vent hole 310 may be further provided in order to effectively disperse hot gas and/or flame from the ends thereof during thermal runaway (P47).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to configure cover member 70 (“panel member”) of Jeon with an additional through-hole (“second venting member”) for discharging gas from the internal space as taught by Choi given the technique and construct are taught as a suitable alternative to using the existing hole of the end plate exposing the busbar/terminal in order to provide the predictable result of effectively dispersing hot gas and/or flame from the ends of the module/bundle thereof during thermal runaway (P47).
Regarding claim 10, Jeon as modified by Choi teaches wherein the second venting member includes a second venting hole formed on the cover member 70 (“panel member”) (P47).
13. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (US 2018/0183119). as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (KR 2021-0077416) (machine translation provide; drawings provided by Applicant).
Regarding claim 11, Ju’s support member does not have a T-shaped cross-section; however, the use of an analogous means 170/155 by which to divided the cell groupings is taught by Lee as shown below having a T-shaped cross section:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to substitute the support member/at least one barrier wall 12 of Ju with the support member 170/155 of Lee performing the same function on the basis of design choice, and further to provide the predictable results of additional protection by way of 170 extending across the top of the cell groupings.
13. Claims 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365956) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above.
Regarding claim 14, Jeon teaches wherein [a] thickness of the external side wall (side plate portion 23) has a value greater than a value of [a] thickness of the plate portion 22 (“[at least one] barrier wall”) (P51; Fig 8).
Jeon does not explicitly teach that [a] thickness of the cover member has a value smaller than a value of the thickness of the plate portion 22 (“[at least one] barrier wall”) as claimed. The feature is considered an obvious matter of design choice for which no objective evidence in the record exists of new or unexpected results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to determine the appropriate dimensions including thickness of all entities utilized including the cover member and the plate portion 22 (“at least one barrier wall”) in order to provide the predictable results of achieving a construct in which the plate portion 22 (“at least one barrier wall”) is sufficient to support the cells placed thereon, and the cover member is suitable to protect the internal entities from the exterior.
Regarding claim 15, Jeon is silent as to the thickness of the tubular case (“cover member”) (=40a, 40b, 50, 50 – at least three of these entities); however, the feature is considered an obvious matter of design choice for which no objective evidence in the record exists of new or unexpected results.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to determine the appropriate dimensions including thickness of all entities utilized including the cover member in order to achieve a construct in which the interior entities are suitably protected from the elements and the exterior.
Regarding claim 16, Jeon teaches wherein the coupling groove 22b of unit plate 21 located in side plate portion 23 (“external side wall”) is fixed to the cover member (=40a, 40b, 50, 50) (P109-110) via mechanical means, and cover plate 70 (“panel member”) is coupled to the cover member (=40a, 40b, 50, 50) via a fixing member (P131). These entities are thus fixed to one another, and Jeon teaches that the coupling is not limited thereto (P131); however, bonding of these components to one another is not explicitly taught; however, it is well within the ambit of one having ordinary skill in the art to select bonding in place of, or in addition to, mechanical fastening means as described by Jeon (P131) in order to secure the components to one another with redundancy or extra rigidity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to implement bonding of these components to one another in place of or in addition to the described mechanical fastening means given Jeon teaches that the coupling is not limited to the described mechanical fastening means (P131), the implementation of bonding being well known and within the ambit of ordinary skill in the art in order to achieve the predictable result of securing the components to one another with redundancy or extra rigidity.
15. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon et al. (US 2020/0365956) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Mochuizuki et al. (US 2021/0257696).
Regarding claim 18, Jeon teaches there is a heat transfer member 59 between the cover member (50 included “cover member”) and the surface of the battery cell (Fig. 8). Jeon teaches that all four sides of the electrode assembly are sealed such that there is not an “unsealed” surface of the battery cell (?) as claimed. The construct of sealing four sides versus three sides (i.e., folding the pouch in half such that the folded seam does not require sealing) is a well-known technique taught by Mochizuki which teaches the functional equivalency thereof (P194).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to utilize a three-sealed side pouch versus a four-side seal pouch as a matter of design choice given Mochuizuki teaches the functional equivalency of these options for a pouch housing of a battery (P194).
16. Claim19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (US 2018/0183119) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0181405).
Regarding claim 19, Ju teaches a battery cell module (“bundle”) of claim 1 which corresponds to lines 10-23 of the claim. Ju fails to disclose a battery cell assembly comprising a plurality of battery cell modules (“bundles”) that accommodate a plurality of battery cells in the plurality of battery cell bundles; and a blocking member disposed between at least a portion of [[the]] adjacent battery cell bundles to prevent heat or flames generated in one of the battery cell bundles from spreading to [the?] adjacent battery cell bundles. It is noted that “to prevent heat or flames generated in one of the battery cell bundles from spreading to adjacent battery cell bundles” is a functional capability of the blocking member, wherein if there is a physical structure between the battery cell bundles, it will be intrinsically capable of achieving the feature.
In the same field of endeavor, Kim teaches analogous art of a plurality of battery modules (“bundles”) assembled into a battery pack and that it is a known technique to provide a partition block 180 between the modules located in the same row along with barrier 123 between the columns of modules, the block 180 separating the modules and preventing them from moving within the rows (P59), and the barrier configured to vertically partition the space to allow creation of the rows and assembly of the pack (P12; not limited to entire disclosure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of Ju’s modules and provide them within a battery pack (“a battery cell assembly”) in order to provide the well-known advantage of increasing the voltage and current output thereof to meet the demands of the load, and to utilize a partition block 180 between the modules located in the same row along with barrier 123 for those in the same column (both reading on the claimed “blocking member”) in order to separate the modules and prevent them from moving (P59) and to achieve a structure allowing for assemblage of multiple modules (P12).
17. Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ju et al. (US 2018/0183119) in view of Yoneyama (US 2020/0411816).
Regarding claim 19, Ju teaches a battery cell module (“bundle”) of claim 1 which corresponds to lines 10-23 of the claim. Ju fails to disclose a battery cell assembly comprising a plurality of battery cell modules (“bundles”) that accommodate a plurality of battery cells in the plurality of battery cell bundles; and a blocking member disposed between at least a portion of [[the]] adjacent battery cell bundles to prevent heat or flames generated in one of the battery cell bundles from spreading to [the?] adjacent battery cell bundles. It is noted that “to prevent heat or flames generated in one of the battery cell bundles from spreading to adjacent battery cell bundles” is a functional capability of the blocking member, wherein if there is a physical structure between the battery cell bundles, it will be intrinsically capable of achieving the feature.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoneyama teaches analogous art of a battery pack and plurality of modules disposed adjacent to each other, wherein it is a known means to include a insulating sheet 52 coupled with a compressible side frame 30 (P31-34) (“a blocking member”) between adjacent modules (Figs. 4-6) in order to achieve a means by which modules may be assembled securely into a pack (P5) and achieves a weight reduction compared to other assembly means (P37).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide a plurality of Ju’s modules and provide them within a battery pack (“a battery cell assembly”) in order to provide the well-known advantage of increasing the voltage and current output thereof to meet the demands of the load, and to utilize the known means of assembly as taught by Yoneyama located between adjacent modules that allows for the modules to be securely assembled into a pack (P5) that achieves a weight reduction compared to other assembly means (P37).
Regarding claim 20, Ju as modified by Yoneyama teaches wherein the blocking member has a stack structure (Figs. 4-6) including a heat insulating member 52 and a compressible, elastic side frame 30 (“compression member”), wherein the heat insulating member includes a heat insulating material (P40), and the compression member is attached to the heat insulating member and compressively deformable (P31-34).
Conclusion
18. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 2018/0048033):
Jeon et al. (US 2021/0391609):
Kim et al. (US 2021/0249733):
Kong et al. (US 2016/0268658):
See also: Tada et al. (US 2020/0358063) and Mauroka et al. (US 2015/0228945) (see insulation member 340 which is an insulation member between adjacent modules).
Conclusion
/AMANDA J BARROW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729