DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 21, 23, 24, 29, 31, and 37 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 21, 24, and 37 each recite “the set of signals”, which appears to be referring to – the received set of signals –.
Claim 21 recites “the first region the posture space” in line 13, which appears to be missing the word – of – between the words “region” and “the”.
Claim 23 recites “the second sunset” in line 3, which appears to include a misspelling of the word – subset –.
Claim 23 recites “maintaining the time-varying cursor control point within the first region during the second time period”, which appears to include an error in which the word “second” should be replaced with the word – first –.
Claim 29 recites “a first attraction criteria” in line 14, which appears to be referring to – the attraction criteria –, as recited earlier in the claim, particularly since claim 32 later specifies that the attraction criteria is a first attraction criteria.
Claim 31 recites “the cursor coordinate” in line 2, which appears to be referring to – the time-varying cursor control coordinate –.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0253705 A1 to Goldfarb et al. (Goldfarb).
Regarding claim 21
Goldfarb teaches a method for operating a grasping device and grasping devices therefrom are provided (abstract).
Goldfarb meets the limitations of a postural controller for a prosthetic device (paragraph 0019 discloses control of joints for high degree of freedom jointed mechanical devices, such as a prosthetic hand device 100, using control signals to drive between two or more pre-defined related poses/postures), the postural controller comprising: memory (512; paragraph 0079) storing a posture space domain (paragraph 0005 discloses that the memory stores a plurality of parallel, bi-directional state flow maps that each define a sequence of poses for the plurality of joints) defining: a first region corresponding to a first posture of the prosthetic device (302; corresponding to a reposed thumb orientation); a second region corresponding to a second posture of the prosthetic device (304; corresponding to an opposed orientation); and a boundary wedge between the first region and the second region and configured to bias a cursor coordinate to remain within the first region or the second region (the presence co-contraction required to move from one first flow map/region to the other second flow map/region is construed to be a boundary wedge that biases a cursor coordinate to remain within the first flow map/region or the second flow map/region as disclosed in paragraphs 0023 and 0030); and a processor (514; paragraph 0081) configured to: receive a set of signals representing muscle contractions of a user of the prosthetic device (paragraph 0035 discloses a control system coupled to one or more EMG signals, which represent muscle contractions of the user, to provide actuation inputs to cause motion of the digits in the prosthetic hand device 100, as shown in block 404 of fig. 4), the set of signals comprising a first subset of signals that maps to the first region (paragraph 0075 discloses that flexion EMG signals, which are a first subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate grasping an object or closing the digits of the hand device within the first region when the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation) and a second subset of signals that maps to the second region (paragraph 0075 discloses that extension EMG signals, which are a second subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate extension to release or extend the digits within the second region when the thumb is in an opposed thumb orientation); map the received set of signals to the first region the posture space domain based on the boundary wedge (mapping of the EMG signals to the first region/state flow map 302 is based on the co-contraction/boundary wedge); determine an intended posture based on the mapping of the received set of signals to the first region (the flexion and extension signals determine the intended pose/posture based on the mapping of the signals to the first region when the thumb is in a reposed orientation); and determine a set of joint angles for the prosthetic device from the intended posture (determination of the intended pose/posture requires that a set of joint angles for the prosthetic device 100 is also determined as defined by the pose/posture in the state flow map/first region).
Regarding claim 22
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 21, wherein the processor (514) is configured to: set an activation threshold for signals received from one or more sensors and representing the muscle contractions of the user; and in response to the signals satisfying the activation threshold, map the received set of signals to the posture space domain (paragraph 0051 discloses threshold levels for initiating a transition that can be specified on a directional basis and that in some embodiments finer control of the transitions between poses may be desired – satisfaction of the threshold therefore causes mapping of the received set of signals to the posture spaced domain as claimed).
Regarding claim 23
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 21, wherein: the first subset of signals corresponds to a first time period (paragraph 0075 discloses that flexion EMG signals, which are a first subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate grasping an object or closing the digits of the hand device within the first region when the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation during a first time period in which the user intends to grasp an object or close the digits of the hand device); the second sunset of signals corresponds to a second time period (paragraph 0075 discloses that extension EMG signals, which are a second subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate extension to release or extend the digits within the second region when the thumb is in an opposed thumb orientation during a second time period in which the user intends to release or extend the digits); and the processor is configured to: map a time-varying cursor control point to a postural control space using the received set of signals (a time-varying cursor control point is mapped to a postural control space using the flexion or extension signals received to determine the appropriate pose/posture to move into); and maintaining the time-varying cursor control point within the first region during the second time period based on the boundary wedge (the time-varying cursor control point is maintained within the first region where the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation during either time period unless co-contraction is present and is thereby based on the boundary wedge as claimed).
Regarding claim 24
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 23, wherein: the boundary wedge further defines a potential threshold (the potential threshold defined is the co-contraction of the muscles); and in response to the set of signals satisfying the potential threshold, mapping the time-varying cursor control point to the second region during the second time period (when co-contraction occurs, the threshold is satisfied and the time-varying cursor control point is mapped to the second region where the thumb is in an opposed thumb orientation during the second time period).
Regarding claim 25
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 21, wherein: the boundary wedge is a first boundary wedge (presence or lack of co-contraction); and the posture space domain defines: a third region corresponding to a third posture of the prosthetic device (paragraph 0068 discloses thresholds utilized to trigger transitions to alternate versions of a pose, for example, to pick up a small object which is a third region corresponding to a third posture); and a second boundary wedge between the second region and the third region and configured to bias a cursor coordinate to remain within the first region or the third region (paragraph 0068 discloses that the alternate version of a pose is based on a magnitude of the EMG signals, which is a second boundary wedge between the second region where the thumb is in an opposed orientation and the third region where the alternate pose is being performed).
Regarding claim 26
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 25, wherein: the first boundary wedge defines a first potential threshold (presence or lack of co-contraction); and the second boundary wedge defines a second potential threshold different from the first potential threshold (the magnitude of the EMG signals, for example a low magnitude, is a second potential threshold that is defined by the second boundary wedge and is different from the first potential threshold).
Regarding claim 27
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 21, wherein the first region is at least one of a different shape or area than the second region (the first region where the thumb is in a reposed orientation is at least one of a different shape or area than the second region where the thumb is in an opposed orientation).
Regarding claim 28
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 21, wherein the prosthetic device comprises a prosthetic hand (prosthetic hand; 100 is shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 29
Goldfarb meets the limitations of a postural controller for a prosthetic device (paragraph 0019 discloses control of joints for high degree of freedom jointed mechanical devices, such as a prosthetic hand device 100, using control signals to drive between two or more pre-defined related poses/postures), the postural controller comprising: memory (512; paragraph 0079) storing a posture space domain (paragraph 0005 discloses that the memory stores a plurality of parallel, bi-directional state flow maps that each define a sequence of poses for the plurality of joints) defining: a first region corresponding to a first posture of the prosthetic device (302; corresponding to a reposed thumb orientation) and configured with an attraction criteria (the presence of co-contraction required to move from one first flow map/region to the other second flow map/region is construed to be an attraction criteria as disclosed in paragraphs 0023 and 0030); a second region corresponding to a second posture of the prosthetic device (304; corresponding to an opposed orientation); and a processor (514; paragraph 0081) configured to: receive a set of signals representing muscle contractions of a user during a sampling period (paragraph 0035 discloses a control system coupled to one or more EMG signals, which represent muscle contractions of the user, to receive a set of signals during a sampling period and to provide actuation inputs to cause motion of the digits in the prosthetic hand device 100, as shown in block 404 of fig. 4), the set of signals comprising a first subset of signals that maps to the first region during a first portion of the sampling period (paragraph 0075 discloses that flexion EMG signals, which are a first subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate grasping an object or closing the digits of the hand device within the first region when the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation during a first portion of the sampling period) and a second subset of signals that maps to the second region during a second portion of the sampling period (paragraph 0075 discloses that extension EMG signals, which are a second subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate extension to release or extend the digits within the second region when the thumb is in an opposed thumb orientation during a second portion of the sampling period); generate a cursor coordinate in the posture space domain using the set of signals (a cursor coordinate is generated in the posture space domain using the set of signals which determines the proper state flow map as shown in fig. 3); in response to the set of signals satisfying a first attraction criteria (co-contraction not present), map the cursor coordinate to the first region (mapping of the EMG signals to the first region/state flow map 302 is based on the co-contraction/boundary wedge); and determine an intended posture based on the mapping of the cursor coordinate to the first region (the flexion and extension signals determine the intended pose/posture based on the mapping of the signals to the first region when the thumb is in a reposed orientation); and determine a set of joint angles for the prosthetic device from the intended posture (determination of the intended pose/posture requires that a set of joint angles for the prosthetic device 100 is also determined as defined by the pose/posture in the state flow map/first region).
Regarding claim 30
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 29, wherein: the processor is configured to generate a time-varying cursor control coordinate based on changes in the set of signals over the sampling period (a time-varying cursor control coordinate based on changing flexion or extension signals over the sampling period is generated by the processor as disclosed by Goldfarb); and in response to the set of signals satisfying the first attraction criteria, the first attraction criteria is configured to maintain the time-varying cursor control coordinate within the first region (the time-varying cursor control point is maintained within the first region where the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation unless co-contraction is present and is thereby in response to the first attraction criteria being satisfied as claimed).
Regarding claim 31
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 29, wherein the attraction criteria defines a potential field within the first region that biases the cursor coordinate to be maintained within the first region of the posture space domain (the cursor coordinate is maintained within the first region where the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation unless co-contraction is present and is thereby biased within the first region in response to the potential field defined by the attraction criteria being satisfied as claimed).
Regarding claim 32
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 31, wherein: the attraction criteria is a first attraction criteria (co-contraction not present); and the second region is configured with a second attraction criteria (co-contraction present).
Regarding claim 33
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 32, wherein the first attraction criteria is different from the second attraction criteria (the magnitude of the EMG signals, for example a low magnitude, is a second attraction criteria that is different from the first potential threshold).
Regarding claim 34
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 29, wherein the first region is adjacent to the second region in a postural control space (fig. 3 shows that the first and second regions are adjacent).
Regarding claim 35
Goldfarb teaches the postural controller of claim 29, wherein the set of signals comprises measurements from at least two electromyographic sensors positioned at different locations on the user (paragraph 0021 discloses that one sensor derives an EMG signal from an agonist muscle and one sensor derives an EMG signal from an antagonist muscle of the muscle pair).
Regarding claim 36
Goldfarb meets the limitations of a prosthetic system for controlling movement of a prosthetic device, the prosthetic system comprising: one or more sensors configured for placement on a user (paragraph 0044 discloses EMG sensors as shown in fig. 2 on the user); memory (512; paragraph 0079) storing a posture space domain (paragraph 0005 discloses that the memory stores a plurality of parallel, bi-directional state flow maps that each define a sequence of poses for the plurality of joints) defining: a first region corresponding to a first posture of the prosthetic device (302; corresponding to a reposed thumb orientation); a second region corresponding to a second posture of the prosthetic device (304; corresponding to an opposed orientation); and a boundary wedge between the first region and the second region and configured to bias a cursor coordinate to remain within the first region or the second region (the presence co-contraction required to move from one first flow map/region to the other second flow map/region is construed to be a boundary wedge that biases a cursor coordinate to remain within the first flow map/region or the second flow map/region as disclosed in paragraphs 0023 and 0030); and a processor (514; paragraph 0081) configured to: receive a set of signals from the one or more sensors and representing muscle contractions of the user of the prosthetic device (paragraph 0035 discloses a control system coupled to one or more EMG signals, which represent muscle contractions of the user, to provide actuation inputs to cause motion of the digits in the prosthetic hand device 100, as shown in block 404 of fig. 4); map the received set of signals to the first region of the posture space domain based on the boundary wedge (mapping of the EMG signals to the first region/state flow map 302 is based on the co-contraction/boundary wedge); determine an intended posture based on the mapping of the received set of signals to the first region (the flexion and extension signals determine the intended pose/posture based on the mapping of the signals to the first region when the thumb is in a reposed orientation); and cause the prosthetic device to perform the intended posture (paragraph 0035 discloses causing motion of the digits to perform the intended posture).
Regarding claim 37
Goldfarb teaches the prosthetic system of claim 36, wherein: the set of signals comprising a first subset of signals that maps to the first region (paragraph 0075 discloses that flexion EMG signals, which are a first subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate grasping an object or closing the digits of the hand device within the first region when the thumb is in a reposed thumb orientation) and a second subset of signals that maps to the second region (paragraph 0075 discloses that extension EMG signals, which are a second subset of signals, provide basis for the direction of adjusting the hand device, for example to indicate extension to release or extend the digits within the second region when the thumb is in an opposed thumb orientation); the boundary wedge further defines a potential threshold (the potential threshold defined is the co-contraction of the muscles); and in response to the set of signals satisfying the potential threshold, mapping the time-varying cursor control point to the second region during the second time period (when co-contraction occurs, the threshold is satisfied and a time-varying cursor control point is mapped to the second region where the thumb is in an opposed thumb orientation during the second time period).
Regarding claim 38
Goldfarb teaches the prosthetic system of claim 36, wherein the first region is at least one of a different shape or area than the second region (the first region where the thumb is in a reposed orientation is at least one of a different shape or area than the second region where the thumb is in an opposed orientation).
Regarding claim 39
Goldfarb teaches the prosthetic system of claim 36, wherein the one or more sensors comprise at least three sensors that are configured to mount on a limb of the user (paragraphs 0043-0044 discloses any number of internal and/or external sensor devices 127, as well as EMG sensors 136).
Regarding claim 40
Goldfarb teaches the prosthetic system of claim 39, wherein the prosthetic device comprises a prosthetic finger, a prosthetic hand, or a combination thereof (fig. 2 shows a prosthetic hand 100).
Conclusion
/M.A.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/BRIAN A DUKERT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774