Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-9 and 12-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
In the rejection presented below, a new interpretation of Yang’s invention is presented in regards to the discharge guide member, the venting member, and the discharge holes, which is consistent with the applicant’s amended claim language.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/12/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang (KR 20090002428 A, with Google patents translation used for citation purposes).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang discloses a battery module (Abstract, “According to the present invention, a module assembly including a plurality of battery modules or unit modules in which a plurality of battery cells or unit modules are built”) comprising a battery cell assembly formed by stacking a plurality of battery units, shown in Yang’s figure 3 (Paragraph 0054, “[0054] First, referring to FIG. 3, the unit module stack 300 includes four unit modules 200, 201, 202, and 203, and two battery cells per unit module 200 (not shown). Since the built-in, a total of eight battery cells are included.”), wherein each battery unit includes at least one battery cell including electrode leads (Paragraph 0048, “Referring to FIG. 1, the pouch-type battery 100 has a structure in which two electrode leads 110 and 120 protrude from each other to protrude from an upper end portion and a lower end portion of the battery body 130.”).
Additionally, Yang discloses a busbar assembly electrically connected to the electrode leads of the plurality of battery units (Paragraph 0054, “The outer electrode terminals 320 and 321 of the fields 200 and 201 are bent in a '-' shape in a cross-section toward the inside in a state in which they protrude slightly from the other electrode terminal connecting portions 310.”). Additionally, Yang discloses a module housing structured to cover at least a portion of an external surface of the battery cell assembly and the busbar assembly (Paragraph 0060, “6 is a perspective view schematically showing a medium-large battery pack mounted in a pack housing according to an embodiment of the present invention.”).
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the battery unit includes a venting member configured to discharge gas generated in the battery unit externally of the battery unit (Paragraph 0028, “The gas exhaust ports having a structure in communication with the vent part of the battery cell or the unit module may induce the discharge of the gas in a desired constant direction.”; Paragraph 0055, “In addition, when the gas is discharged through the vent part due to a malfunction of the battery cell, the gas is discharged to the outside of the battery module 400”). Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the module housing includes a discharge guide member configured to guide gas being discharged from the venting member to flow in a predetermined direction (Paragraph 0055, “In addition, when the gas is discharged through the vent part due to a malfunction of the battery cell, the gas is discharged to the outside of the battery module 400 through the gas outlet 424 formed at the front upper part, the upper part front part, and the rear upper part of the module case. It consists of a structure.”), where the discharge guide member is the inner faces of the member which is bordered by the gas outlet holes 242 and therefore guides gas to flow in a predetermined direction through the shape of the face.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the module housing includes an end plate disposed to cover the busbar assembly in a portion in which the battery cell assembly is coupled to the busbar assembly, where the end plate is component 450, shown in Yang’s figure 8, which surrounds the coupling region of the battery cell assembly 200 and busbar assembly 310, based on the placement of the component’s shown Yang’s figure 8.
Additionally, Yang discloses that the venting member includes a second venting member disposed in a portion of the battery unit opposing the end plate, shown in Yang’s figure 2, where the second venting member is the vertically oriented venting hole 424 (Paragraph 0071, “the gas discharge holes (FIG. 4: 424)”), which is a second venting member disposed adjacent and connecting to, and therefore in a portion of the battery unit opposing the end plate, as the side of the battery opposing the end plate is in direct communication with the second end plate.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the end plate includes a discharge hole, here the hole perimeter which is the outer bound of the passage of the second venting member, which is a part of the end plate, as depicted in Yang’s figure 4. Additionally, the discharge member includes a second guide member, specifically the internal faces of the guide member that feeds gas through the vertically oriented gas discharge holes 424, which guides gas that is to be discharged through the second venting member and the discharge hole in a second direction through the venting member and the discharge hole. Additionally, in regards to the limitation which requires a venting flow path through which gas flows formed between the second guide member and the end plate, as the discharge hole is a hole located within the end plate, and the discharge hole is a hole that is a perimeter of an end of the second guide member, the path of the gas flowing through the second guide member and out of the discharge hole therefore is a venting flow path through which gas flows between the second guide member and the end plate.
Regarding Claim 2, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the module housing includes a module cover covering an upper surface of the battery assembly, where figure 8 shows components 530 of the module housing covering a top surface, as well as the battery-covering portions of the upper case 410 (Paragraph 0055, “Referring to FIG. 4, the battery module 400 has a structure in which a unit module stack (FIG. 3: 300) is vertically mounted on a module case including an upper case 410”). Additionally, the venting member includes a first venting member disposed in a portion of the battery unit opposing the module cover, shown in figure 4 as being the upward facing discharge holes 424 (Paragraph 0071, “the gas discharge holes (FIG. 4: 424)”), which being on a top face of the battery unit, are in a portion which opposes the module cover.
Regarding Claim 3, Yang anticipates figure 2. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the discharge guide member includes at least one first guide member formed in a groove shape in the module cover, here the through holes 412 located in the upper case 410, which communicates with the first venting member, configured to guide gas discharged from the first venting member in a first direction, which is through the height of the battery module (Paragraph 0064, “a coolant flow path formed between the battery cells of the unit module along the plurality of through holes 412 formed on the top of the battery module.”).
Regarding Claim 4, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 3. Additionally, Yang discloses structure where each of the battery units includes a plurality of the first venting member, as shown in Yang’s figures 4 and 8.
Additionally, the at least one first guide member communicates with the plurality of first venting members, through both being connected to the space above the battery module, as shown in Yang’s figure 4.
Regarding Claim 5, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 3. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the module cover includes a plurality of first guide members, to correspond to the first venting member, included in each of the plurality of battery units, where Yang’s figure 4 shows a plurality of first guide members 412 corresponding to the first venting member 424, in a battery unit. Additionally Yang’s figure 8 shows that this structure is present in each of the plurality of battery units.
Regarding Claim 6, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein each of the first guide members has a shape partitioned from each other in a stacking direction of the battery unit, shown in Yang’s figure 4, where the guide members 412 are partitioned from each other along the stacking direction.
Regarding Claim 7, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 5. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the plurality of the first guide members is communicated with each other at an end of the first guide members in the first direction, as shown in Yang’s figure 4, where the guide members are exposed to a co-communicative space located above, where the vertical axis is the first direction, as discussed above.
Regarding Claim 8, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 3. Additionally, Yang discloses structure which further comprises a blocking cover, here a cell cover, acting to block the spread of heat or flames, through their disclosure of the cell cover acting to direct gas flow (Paragraph 0032, “In addition, the battery module is composed of a unit module that the cell cover wraps a plurality of battery cells so that the gas generated from the battery cell can be discharged only through the front and rear of the battery module, between the unit module and the module case It may have a structure in which a sealing member for separating the refrigerant passage and the gas passage is mounted.”). Additionally, where the cell cover extends through the battery cell assembly, as well as across its top, it is therefore disposed between an upper surface of the battery cell assembly and the module cover, as shown in Yang’s figure 4.
Regarding Claim 9, Yang anticipates the invention of claim 8. Additionally, where the blocking cover surrounds individual battery cells, as shown in Yang’s figure 2, it forms through holes between instances of the blocking cover, where the through hole size is the gap between each battery cell unit. Here, this size is such as to allow for the gas communication between the first venting member and the first guide member, as the size of the first guide members 412 is equal to the size of the through hole (Paragraph 0064, “a coolant flow path formed between the battery cells of the unit module along the plurality of through holes 412 formed on the top of the battery module. After passing through to cool vertically, and discharged through the through-hole formed in the lower battery module”), thereby resulting in structure where the first venting member penetrates through the blocking cover through a potential flow path and is communicated with the first guide member.
Regarding Claim 12, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the discharge hole 424, shown in Yang’s figure 4 as being the space formed by the end plate below the end plate, has a size and shape sufficient to surround the second venting member, where it is a hole located at the end of the second venting member, thereby surrounding it.
Regarding Claim 13, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the second guide member includes an open end in a direction in which the battery units are stacked, where the second guide member is the internal faces of the component 544, it is open on an end which faces towards the battery, where the closed end is the internal solid face.
Additionally, where the vent path guides the discharge of gas to the side of the through the vertically oriented vent holes 424, the upward direction is the second direction, which is toward an open end, the open end being away from the battery units. Further, this is in a direction in which the battery units are stacked, with the upward direction is parallel with a direction in which the battery units are stacked on top of the lower case 420, shown in Yang’s figure 4.
Regarding Claim 14, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the module housing surrounds 5 surfaces other than a bottom surface among six surfaces forming an external surface of the battery cell assembly, shown in Yang’s figure 8. Here, figure 8 shows components 530 of the module housing surrounding a top surface, component 520 covering a front surface, component 550 covering a rear surface, and side panels constructed of overlapping components 510, 512, 514, and 516 covering side surfaces of the battery cell assembly.
Regarding Claim 15, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 14. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the module housing includes a module cover covering an upper surface of the battery cell assembly, shown in figure 8 as component 530, and end plates 520 and 550 corresponding to portions in which the battery cell assembly is coupled to the busbar assembly.
Additionally, Yang discloses side plates covering side surfaces of the battery assembly, shown in figures 7 and 8 as comprising components 510, 512, 513, 514, and 516 covering side surfaces of the battery cell assembly. Where each of the side plates is formed by combining a plurality of plates overlapping each other, said plates being plates 512, 513, and 514.
Regarding Claim 16, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 15. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein each of the side plates is fastened to the end plates and the module cover, shown in Yang’s figure 7.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725