DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the handheld speed and brake controller is wireless as recited in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 8 it is unclear how the controller sets the motorized electric hubs.
In claim 9 it is unclear how a speed of each of the motorized electric hubs is set separately.
In claim 10 it is unclear how a speed of each of the motorized electric hubs is proportional to a step size and step frequency of a person.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bristol (US 8,893,937) in view of Fysh (GB 2123362).
Bristol discloses a handcart comprising: a pair of two wheels (152a, 152b), a support frame (145a, 145b) attached to the pair of two wheels (152a, 152b); a backpack frame (105) attached to the support frame (145a, 145b); a handheld speed and brake controller (col. 7 lines 66-67, 160) communicably attached to each of the hubs (unnumbered hub of 152a and 152b).
Bristol does not disclose each wheel comprising a motorized electric hub.
Fysh teaches the use of a motorized electric hub (2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device of Bristol to include the motorized electric hub as taught by Fysh in order to facilitate assembly.
Re claim 2, Bristol discloses an adjustable shoulder strap (130a) attached to the backpack frame (105).
Re claim 3, Bristol discloses an adjustable waist strap (138) attached to the backpack frame (105).
Re claim 4, Bristol discloses a bracket (115) configured to provide a separation between the backpack frame (105) and the support frame (145a, 145b) for a movement of a person wearing the backpack frame (105).
Re claim 5, Bristol discloses a load support (215) disposed across a back of the support frame (145a, 145b) and configured to prevent a load from falling off the back of the handcart (see Fig 2).
Re claim 7, Bristol discloses the handheld speed and brake controller (col. 7 lines 66-67, 160) is wireless and in a wireless communication and Fysh teaches the use of each of the motorized electric hubs (2).
Re claim 14, Bristol discloses the backpack frame (105) is reversibly attachable to a person wearing the backpack frame to be forward facing or rearward facing *see Figs 2 and 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Some further comment regarding the Applicant’s remarks are deemed appropriate. Applicant's arguments filed August 13, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has failed to address the 112 2nd rejections of claim 8-10. Bristol discloses in ¶11 that the controller is handheld. Applicant’s remarks have been accorded due consideration; however, they are not deemed fully persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VICKY A JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617