DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendments and remarks filed 19 October 2025. The Applicant has amended claims 11-17 and canceled claims 9-10. Claims 1-8 were previously canceled. Claims 11-17 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Reply to Applicant’s Remarks
Applicant’s remarks filed 19 October 2025 have been fully considered and are addressed as follows:
Claims Objections:
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 19 October 2025 has overcome the claim objections set forth in the previous office action.
Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f):
Applicant’s amendment to the claims filed 19 October 2025 has avoided automatic traveler being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claims Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102/103:
Applicant’s arguments, see Arguments/Remarks, filed 19 October 2025, with regard to the rejections of claims 11-17 under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the Applicant’s arguments for claim 11 that “Sakaguchi does not disclose… the work vehicle will be stopped…stopping where…the front of the own position is an unworked area…”, the Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Sakaguchi teaches a turning transition traveling is effected at a foregoing automated traveling to a subsequent automated traveling… (para 0062), i.e., unworked area is ahead of the planned travel path of the work vehicle… and Sakaguchi further teaches further in the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated; Therefore, the automated traveling will be stopped as being triggered by this operation and the traveling mode will be transitioned to the manual traveling (para 0062), i.e., one mode of the work vehicle operation being stopped before transitioning to another mode of operation. Sakaguchi further clarifies the in para 0063 that “The border-crossing determination section 53 determines possibility of the machine body 10 border-crossing the borderline…when the distance to the field borderline becomes 1 meter, speed reduction or stop of traveling of the machine body 10 will be effected”, i.e. vehicle is stopped to switch to manual travelling, and there is 1 meter of unworked area in front of the work vehicle at this point.
In addition, Sakaguchi discloses a discharging process, which also reads on the amended limitation. Sakaguchi teaches that “The discharging position setting section 423 sets a vehicle stop position of the combine when grains in the grain tank 14 stored therein to full are to be discharged to the transporter vehicle CV by the grain discharging device 18…(para 0051), i.e., work vehicle stops to discharge to vehicle CV, while vehicle CV is in an unworked area (Fig. 2, vehicle CV is outside of SA). Sakaguchi further teaches “… a transporter vehicle CV shown in FIG. 2 can collect and transport the grains discharged from the grain discharging device 18 of the combine… (para 0036) The grain discharging device 18 is provided upwardly of the grain tank 14. Further, the self-machine position detection module 80 is attached to an upper face of the driving section 12 (para 0027), i.e., an upward operation of work instrument.
Therefore, the prior art discloses the claim limitations as recited and the prior art and rejections have been maintained.
With respect to the dependent claims 12-17, the Applicant provides no additional arguments other than their dependency from the independent claim 11. Because independent claim 11 are not allowable, dependent claims 12-17 are not allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites “…the work vehicle is stopped where the upward operation of the work instrument is performed and the front of the own position is an unworked area” which is ambiguous. It is not clear what the relationship between “the work vehicle is stopped”, “where the upward operation of the work instrument is performed” and “the front of the own position is an unworked area” is, and it is not clear what “where…” is referring to. In addition, it is not clear how “the front of the own position” is defined, i.e., whether the own position is the current vehicle position OR a reference position in an area of interest, and how “the front” of a “position” (which is a “point”) is defined. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claim is interpreted by the examiner as “…the work vehicle is stopped and the upward operation of the work instrument is performed in an area where the front of the work vehicle is an unworked area” for the purpose of examination.
Claims 12-17 are rejected by virtue of the dependency on previously rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sakaguchi (US20210302962, hereinafter Sakaguchi).
As to Claim 11, Sakaguchi teaches an automatic traveling method of a work vehicle provided with a work instrument, comprising:
an automatic traveling step that performs automatic traveling of the work vehicle in an automatic straight work (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062: The combine effects the automated traveling along a straight traveling route by way of controlling by the automated traveling control section 512, para 0068: The subsequent reference line thus calculated will be set as the next (subsequent) traveling route by the traveling route setting section 513… operate the automated traveling operational tool 93 to request transition to the automated traveling to the automated traveling management section 514, Fig. 4-7); and
a work instrument elevating step that upward or downward controls the work instrument in response to an upward or downward operation of the work instrument (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062: In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated), wherein
the work vehicle is stopped where the upward operation of the work instrument is performed and the front of the own position is an unworked area (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062-0063: …a turning transition traveling is effected at a foregoing automated traveling to a subsequent automated traveling…, i.e., unworked area is ahead of the planned travel path of the work vehicle… in the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated; Therefore, the automated traveling will be stopped as being triggered by this operation and the traveling mode will be transitioned to the manual traveling… The border-crossing determination section 53 determines possibility of the machine body 10 border-crossing the borderline…when the distance to the field borderline becomes 1 meter, speed reduction or stop of traveling of the machine body 10 will be effected, i.e. vehicle is stopped to switch to manual travelling, Fig. 3-7; also see para 0051: The discharging position setting section 423 sets a vehicle stop position of the combine when grains in the grain tank 14 stored therein to full are to be discharged to the transporter vehicle CV by the grain discharging device 18…para 0036: a transporter vehicle CV shown in FIG. 2 can collect and transport the grains discharged from the grain discharging device 18 of the combine…para 0027: The grain discharging device 18 is provided upwardly of the grain tank 14. Further, the self-machine position detection module 80 is attached to an upper face of the driving section 12; Fig. 2).
As to Claim 12, Sakaguchi teaches the automatic traveling method according to claim 11,
wherein based on the upward operation of the work instrument during the automatic traveling and a front of the own position is an already worked area, the work instrument elevating step upward controls the work instrument, and a switching step switches from the automatic traveling to manual traveling (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062-0063: …In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated. Therefore, the automated traveling will be stopped as being triggered by this operation and the traveling mode will be transitioned to the manual traveling; para 0011-0012: When the harvester arrives at the outer circumference area and the first automated traveling along the initial reference line is completed, a turning transition traveling is effected manually involving a turning in the outer circumference area in order to be able to enter the subsequent reference line calculated as the subsequent traveling route, also see para 0033-para 0037, para 0068, Fig. 4-7 and 9).
As to Claim 13, Sakaguchi teaches the automatic traveling method according to claim 11, wherein
a switching step detects a shift from the unworked area to an already worked area, where the work instrument is upward controlled based on the upward operation of the work instrument (see at least Sakaguchi para 0068: when the machine body 10 enters the outer circumference area SA from the unworked area CA, the turning transition traveling will be started by driver's judgement, i.e., detecting a shift from unworked area to worked area; para 0062-0063: a turning transition traveling which is effected at the time of transition from a foregoing automated traveling to a subsequent automated traveling is a manual traveling and its control is effected by the controlling by the manual traveling control section 511. In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated; also see para 0033-para 0037, Fig. 4-7); and
the switching step switches the automatic traveling of the work vehicle to manual traveling, during the automatic traveling, upon detecting the shift from the unworked area to the already worked area (see at least Sakaguchi para 0068: when the machine body 10 enters the outer circumference area SA from the unworked area CA, the turning transition traveling will be started by driver's judgement, i.e., detecting a shift from unworked area to worked area; para 0062-0063: a turning transition traveling which is effected at the time of transition from a foregoing automated traveling to a subsequent automated traveling is a manual traveling and its control is effected by the controlling by the manual traveling control section 511. In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated; also see para 0033-para 0037, Fig. 4-7).
As to Claim 14, Sakaguchi teaches the automatic traveling method according to claim 11, wherein
a switching step detects a shift from the unworked area to an already worked area, where a work speed of the work instrument changes from a predetermined work speed threshold or below to over the work speed threshold (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062: a turning transition traveling which is effected at the time of transition from a foregoing automated traveling to a subsequent automated traveling is a manual traveling and its control is effected by the controlling by the manual traveling control section 511. In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated, i.e., work speed will be lowered due to the elevation of the harvesting section, also see para 0011-0012, Fig. 4-7); and
the switching step switches the automatic traveling of the work vehicle to manual traveling, during the automatic traveling, upon detecting a shift from the unworked area to the already worked area (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062-0063: a turning transition traveling which is effected at the time of transition from a foregoing automated traveling to a subsequent automated traveling is a manual traveling and its control is effected by the controlling by the manual traveling control section 511. In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated; also see para 0033-para 0037, Fig. 4-7).
As to Claim 15, Sakaguchi teaches the automatic traveling method according to claim 12, further comprising:
an own position detecting step that detects an own position of the work vehicle (see at least Sakaguchi para 0055: self-machine position calculation section 50 calculates a self-machine position in the form of map coordinates (or field coordinates), based on positioning data transmitted sequentially from the GPS unit), wherein
the work vehicle is a combine harvester provided with a mower as the work instrument (see at least Sakaguchi para 0024-0025: harvester and harvesting section, also see Fig. 1), and
based on the upward operation of the mower during the performing of the automatic traveling and a front of the own position is an already mowed area, the work instrument elevating step upward controls the mower, and the switching step switches the automatic traveling to the manual traveling (see at least Sakaguchi para 0062: …In the case of transition to be made from the automated traveling to the manual turning transition traveling, the harvesting section 15 will be elevated and the steering lever 92 will be pivotally operated. Therefore, the automated traveling will be stopped as being triggered by this operation and the traveling mode will be transitioned to the manual traveling; para 0011-0012: When the harvester arrives at the outer circumference area and the first automated traveling along the initial reference line is completed, a turning transition traveling is effected manually involving a turning in the outer circumference area in order to be able to enter the subsequent reference line calculated as the subsequent traveling route, also see para 0033-para 0037, Fig. 4-7).
As to Claim 16, Sakaguchi teaches the automatic traveling method according to claim 11, further comprising:
a reference traveling line setting step that sets a reference traveling line showing a traveling direction of the automatic straight work (see at least Sakaguchi para 0040 for reference side and a line lies parallel with the reference side…; also see para 0011, Fig. 3, Fig. 5 and Fig. 9), and
a set traveling line setting step that sets a set traveling line parallel to the reference traveling line based on the reference traveling line (see at least Sakaguchi para 0040 for traveling route, also see para 0011, Fig. 3, Fig. 5 and Fig. 9), wherein
during the performing of the manual traveling, in a state where a movement direction of the work vehicle is within a predetermined angle relative to the traveling direction of the reference traveling line, and the work vehicle is downward controlled based on a downward operation of the work instrument, the switching step switches the manual traveling to the automatic traveling (see at least Sakaguchi para 0011-para 0012: When a harvesting work is to be effected on the unworked area, traveling along a side of the unworked area is effective. Thus, the initial reference line can be utilized as a substitute for a reference line obtained conventionally by the teaching traveling…with repetition of the turning transition traveling and the automated traveling along the subsequent reference line, harvesting work in the unworked area will be completed, para 0037: the grain stalks in the unworked area being reaped in association with automated traveling along traveling route; also see para 0041-para 0043, Fig. 3, 5 and 9).
As to Claim 17, Sakaguchi teaches the automatic traveling method according to claim 16, further comprising:
a recommended traveling line setting step that, for an un-mowed area, sets a recommended traveling line parallel to the reference traveling line (see at least Sakaguchi para 0040 for reference sides S1-S4 which form a square or rectangle and a line lies parallel with the reference side…; also see para 0011, Fig. 3, Fig. 5 and Fig. 9), wherein
the work instrument is downward controlled thereby to switch the manual traveling to the automatic traveling, where the work vehicle is within a predetermined range from the recommended traveling line in a direction orthogonal to the traveling direction of the reference traveling line, the recommended traveling line is set as the set traveling line thereby to perform the automatic traveling (see at least Sakaguchi para 0040 for reference sides S1-S4 with form a square or rectangle surrounding the unworked area CA and a line lies parallel with the reference side…; para 0037: the grain stalks in the unworked area being reaped in association with automated traveling along traveling route; para 0011-para 0012: When a harvesting work is to be effected on the unworked area, traveling along a side of the unworked area is effective. Thus, the initial reference line can be utilized as a substitute for a reference line obtained conventionally by the teaching traveling…with repetition of the turning transition traveling and the automated traveling along the subsequent reference line, harvesting work in the unworked area will be completed, also see Figs. 3-5 and Fig. 9).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner’s Notes
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention. This will assist in expediting compact prosecution. MPEP 714.02 recites: “Applicant should also specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure. See MPEP §2163.06. An amendment which does not comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.121(b), (c), (d), and (h) may be held not fully responsive. See MPEP § 714.” Amendments not pointing to specific support in the disclosure may be deemed as not complying with provisions of 37 C.F.R. 1.131(b), (c), (d), and (h) and therefore held not fully responsive. Generic statements such as "Applicants believe no new matter has been introduced" may be deemed insufficient.
Inquiry
/HONGYE LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3664