DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The Abstract filed on 10/07/2025 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Status of Claims
The Applicant’s amendment and arguments, filed 10/07/2025, has been entered. Claims 1 and 10 are amended; and claims 2-9 and 11-20 stand as originally or previously presented. Support for the amendments is found in the original filing, and there is no new matter.
Upon considered said amendments and arguments, the previous 35 U.S.C.102(a)(1)/35 U.S.C.103 rejection set forth in Office Action mailed 07/11/2025 has been withdrawn. Amended and new grounds of rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 citing to the originally cited art and newly found art are set forth below as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Allie et al. (US 20170179472 A1, hereinafter Allie), in view of Zhou et al. (US 20200185709 A1, hereinafter Zhou).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 7, Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a composite body (Allie, solid electrolyte-cathode composite comprising a first inorganic solid particulate electrolyte having high conductivity, a first low melting point solid inorganic electrolyte, and a cathode active material, [0019, 0039, 0065]) comprising:
a lithium compound (Allie, the composite electrode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte to facilitate faster ionic transport through the body of the cathode, wherein the high ionic conductivity solid electrolytes includes LLZO (lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide (garnet, Li7La3Zr2O12)), [0058]) having a lithium ion conductivity of 1.0 x10-6 S/cm or more at 25°C (Allie, the term “high ionic conductivity” may be understood to refer to conductivities greater than about 5 x 10-5 S/cm, [0058]; the disclosed conductivity range of greater than about 5 x 10-5 S/cm falls within the claimed range of 1.0 x10-6 S/cm or more);
Allie is silent regarding a lithium tetraborate, wherein the lithium tetraborate is doped with an element selected from the group consisting of C, P, S, Se, Ge, F, Cl, Br, I, N, Al, Ga, and In, the lithium tetraborate that satisfies the following requirement 1,
the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 1),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 2),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 3), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 7).
Zhou discloses a composite body (Zhou, a coated electrochemically active cathode powder, [0011]) comprising:
a lithium tetraborate (Zhou, an electrochemically active material, such as NMC, coated with a coating comprising a lithium tetraborate (LBO), [0038]), wherein the lithium tetraborate is doped with an element selected from the group consisting of Al, (Zhou, the lithium tetraborate coating comprises 0.01 to 100 wt % of LiaXbBcOd, wherein X is one or more of Al, and wherein 0≤a≤10, 0≤b≤10, 0≤c≤10, and 0≤d≤10, and the compound LiaXbBcOd may comprise LBO comprising deposits of oxides of aluminum, [0042]).
In addition, Zhou discloses that the cathode powder and LBO powder are dry mixed, and the mixing may be performed by using an auto-grinder to homogenously mix the LBO and cathode powder and cover the cathode powder in the LBO (Zhou, [0038, 0071]; the Examiner notes that an auto grinder may additionally grind the powders together).
Zhou teaches that the LBO coating also forms a more stable SEI layer on the surface of the active cathode material (by interacting with the products of electrolyte decomposition), the decomposition of the electrolyte is further reduced, thereby further improving cycling performance of the battery cell and improving the safety of the battery (Zhou, [0013-0014]).
Zhou and Allie are analogous to the current invention as they are directed towards a cathode for a battery.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the coated chemically active cathode powder of Zhou as the cathode active material of modified Allie, in order to improve cycling performance and safety of the battery.
With respect to the limitations the lithium tetraborate that satisfies the following requirement 1,
the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 1),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 2),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 3), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 7).
it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the recited lithium tetraborate.
Applicant discloses a method of subjecting a lithium tetraborate crystal to a mechanical milling treatment can be mentioned from the viewpoint that the second lithium compound can be produced with high productivity (see Instant Specification [0056]), and the second lithium compound may be lithium tetraborate which may be doped with an element selected from the group consisting of Al (see Instant Specification [0024]).
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that the milling method and composition of the lithium tetraborate is critical to the recited bulk elastic modulus, x-ray, and NMR measurements such that it would fulfil the recited measurements and necessarily possess the inherent properties.
Modified Allie discloses the lithium tetraborate coating comprises 0.01 to 100 wt % of LiaXbBcOd, wherein X is one or more of Al, and wherein 0≤a≤10, 0≤b≤10, 0≤c≤10, and 0≤d≤10, and the compound LiaXbBcOd may comprise LBO comprising deposits of oxides of aluminum, (Zhou, [0042]), and the cathode powder and LBO powder are dry mixed, and the mixing may be performed by using an auto-grinder to homogenously mix the LBO and cathode powder and cover the cathode powder in the LBO (Zhou, [0038, 0071]; the Examiner notes that an auto grinder may additionally grind the powders together).
It is submitted that the lithium tetraborate comprising deposits of oxides of aluminum of modified Allie is substantially similar to the instant lithium tetraborate doped with Al such that the lithium tetraborate of modified Allie would reasonably possess the same properties and exhibit the same results.
Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities, it appears reasonable that the lithium tetraborate of modified Allie would inherently possess physical properties, e.g. a reduced two-body distribution function G(r), such that the lithium tetraborate of modified Allie would necessarily fulfill the recited limitations, i.e. the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 1),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 2),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 3), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 7).
Assuming, arguendo, that such properties are not inherent, it is submitted that before the effective filing date of the current invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would find such properties obvious over the instant lithium tetraborate. The skilled artisan would reasonably find that the disclosed lithium tetraborate is so similar to the instant lithium tetraborate, that the prior art lithium tetraborate would also exhibit the following requirement 1,
the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 1),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 2),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 3), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 7).
MPEP 2112.01 (I) states:
“Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.”
MPEP 2113 (III) states:
"[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Office personnel should note that reliance on the alternative grounds of 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 does not eliminate the need to explain both the anticipation and obviousness aspects of the rejections.”
The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product and the method of producing the prior art product do not necessarily result in claimed product.
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a composite body (Allie, solid electrolyte-cathode composite comprising a first inorganic solid particulate electrolyte having high conductivity, a first low melting point solid inorganic electrolyte, and a cathode active material, [0019, 0039, 0065]), wherein
the lithium compound is a lithium-containing oxide (Allie, the composite electrode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte to facilitate faster ionic transport through the body of the cathode, wherein the high ionic conductivity solid electrolytes include LLZO (lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide (garnet, Li7La3Zr2O12)), [0058]).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a composite body (Allie, solid electrolyte-cathode composite comprising a first inorganic solid particulate electrolyte having high conductivity, a first low melting point solid inorganic electrolyte, and a cathode active material, [0019, 0039, 0065]), wherein
the lithium compound includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium compound having a garnet-type structure or a garnet-type similar structure containing at least Li, La, Zr, and O (Allie, the composite cathode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte to facilitate faster ionic transport through the body of the cathode, wherein the high ionic conductivity solid electrolytes includes LLZO (lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide (garnet, Li7La3Zr2O12)), [0058]).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a lithium ion conductor formed (Allie, the composite cathode may be constructed as a standalone wafer or pellet, or may be fabricated as a thin coating applied to a substrate, and the composite electrode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte, [0057, 0062]) of the composite body (Allie, the solid electrolyte-cathode composite, [0039])
Regarding Claim 8, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding an all-solid state lithium ion secondary battery (Allie, solid state battery, [0087]) comprising, in the following order:
a positive electrode active material layer; a solid electrolyte layer; and a negative electrode active material layer (Allie, solid state cell battery includes cathode 6, electrolyte separator 4, and anode layer 2, Figure 7, [0014, 0091]),
wherein at least one of the positive electrode active material layer, the solid electrolyte layer, or the negative electrode active material layer contains the lithium ion conductor (Allie, the composite electrode may be the composite cathode, [0087]).
Regarding Claim 9, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding an electrode sheet for an all-solid state lithium ion secondary battery comprising the lithium ion conductor (Allie, form the electrode or composite electrode directly onto the current collector or other substrate, [0071]).
Regarding Claim 10-13, 17, and 20, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding lithium tetraborate, wherein the lithium tetraborate is doped with an element selected from the group consisting of Al, (Zhou, the lithium tetraborate coating comprises 0.01 to 100 wt % of LiaXbBcOd, wherein X is one or more of Al, and wherein 0≤a≤10, 0≤b≤10, 0≤c≤10, and 0≤d≤10, and the compound LiaXbBcOd may comprise LBO comprising deposits of oxides of aluminum, [0042]). Modified Allie is silent regarding lithium tetraborate satisfying the requirement 1,
Requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 10),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 11),
a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 is 0.9400 or more in a Raman spectrum (Claims 12 and 20),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 13), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 17).
With respect to the limitations the lithium tetraborate satisfies the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 10),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 11),
a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 is 0.9400 or more in a Raman spectrum (Claims 12 and 20),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 13), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 17),
it is submitted that such limitations are simply measurements of, and thus descriptions of, inherent properties of the recited lithium tetraborate.
Applicant discloses a method of subjecting a lithium tetraborate crystal to a mechanical milling treatment can be mentioned from the viewpoint that the second lithium compound can be produced with high productivity (see Instant Specification [0056]), and the second lithium compound may be lithium tetraborate which may be doped with an element selected from the group consisting of Al (see Instant Specification [0024]).
Accordingly, it is reasonably interpreted that the milling method and composition of the lithium tetraborate is critical to the recited bulk elastic modulus, x-ray, and NMR measurements such that it would fulfil the recited measurements and necessarily possess the inherent properties.
Modified Allie discloses the lithium tetraborate coating comprises 0.01 to 100 wt % of LiaXbBcOd, wherein X is one or more of Al, and wherein 0≤a≤10, 0≤b≤10, 0≤c≤10, and 0≤d≤10, and the compound LiaXbBcOd may comprise LBO comprising deposits of oxides of aluminum, (Zhou, [0042]), and the cathode powder and LBO powder are dry mixed, and the mixing may be performed by using an auto-grinder to homogenously mix the LBO and cathode powder and cover the cathode powder in the LBO (Zhou, [0038, 0071]; the Examiner notes that an auto grinder may additionally grind the powders together).
It is submitted that the lithium tetraborate comprising deposits of oxides of aluminum of modified Allie is substantially similar to the instant lithium tetraborate such that the lithium tetraborate of modified Allie would reasonably possess the same properties and exhibit the same results.
Therefore, based upon such substantial similarities, it appears reasonable that the lithium tetraborate of modified Allie would inherently possess physical properties, e.g. the lithium tetraborate satisfies the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 10),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 11),
a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 is 0.9400 or more in a Raman spectrum (Claims 12 and 20),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 13), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 17).
Assuming, arguendo, that such properties are not inherent, it is submitted that before the effective filing date of the current invention, one having ordinary skill in the art would find such properties obvious over the instant lithium tetraborate. The skilled artisan would reasonably find that the disclosed lithium tetraborate is so similar to the instant lithium tetraborate, that the prior art lithium tetraborate would also exhibit the lithium tetraborate satisfies the requirement 1: in a reduced two-body distribution function G(r) obtained from an X-ray total scattering measurement of the lithium tetraborate, a first peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 1.43 ±0.2 Å and a second peak in which a peak top is located in a range where r is 2.40 0.2 Å are present, G(r) of the peak top of the first peak and G(r) of the peak top of the second peak indicate more than 1.0, and an absolute value of G(r) is less than 1.0 in a range where r is more than 5 Å and 10 Å or less (Claim 10),
a proportion of a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where a solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 120°C is 70% or less with respect to a full width at half maximum of a peak in which a frequency shift appears in a range of -100 to +100 ppm in a spectrum obtained in a case where the solid 7Li-NMR measurement of the lithium tetraborate is carried out at 20°C (Claim 11),
a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 is 0.9400 or more in a Raman spectrum (Claims 12 and 20),
the lithium tetraborate has a bulk elastic modulus of 45 GPa or less (Claim 13), and satisfies the following requirement 2 or requirement 3,
the requirement 2: a Raman intensity of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor at 1,800 cm-1 is 1.60 times or more with respect to a Raman intensity at 1,000 cm-1 in a Raman spectrum,
the requirement 3: a coefficient of determination obtained by carrying out a linear regression analysis according to a least squares method in a wave number range of 600 to 850 cm-1 of the lithium tetraborate in the lithium ion conductor is 0.8900 or more in the Raman spectrum (Claim 17).
MPEP 2112.01 (I) states:
“Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product.”
MPEP 2113 (III) states:
"[T]he lack of physical description in a product-by-process claim makes determination of the patentability of the claim more difficult, since in spite of the fact that the claim may recite only process limitations, it is the patentability of the product claimed and not of the recited process steps which must be established. We are therefore of the opinion that when the prior art discloses a product which reasonably appears to be either identical with or only slightly different than a product claimed in a product-by-process claim, a rejection based alternatively on either section 102 or section 103 of the statute is eminently fair and acceptable. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith." In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Office personnel should note that reliance on the alternative grounds of 35 U.S.C. 102 or 35 U.S.C. 103 does not eliminate the need to explain both the anticipation and obviousness aspects of the rejections.”
The prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product and the method of producing the prior art product do not necessarily result in claimed product.
Regarding Claim 14, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a composite body (Allie, solid electrolyte-electrode composite comprising a first inorganic solid particulate electrolyte having high conductivity, and a first low melting point solid inorganic electrolyte, [0019, 0039]), wherein the lithium compound is a lithium-containing oxide (Allie, the composite electrode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte to facilitate faster ionic transport through the body of the cathode, wherein the high ionic conductivity solid electrolytes includes LLZO (lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide (garnet, Li7La3Zr2O12)), [0058]).
Regarding Claim 15, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a composite body (Allie, solid electrolyte-electrode composite comprising a first inorganic solid particulate electrolyte having high conductivity, and a first low melting point solid inorganic electrolyte, [0019, 0039]), wherein the lithium compound includes at least one selected from the group consisting of a lithium compound having a garnet-type structure or a garnet-type similar structure containing at least Li, La, Zr, and O (Allie, the composite electrode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte to facilitate faster ionic transport through the body of the cathode, wherein the high ionic conductivity solid electrolytes includes LLZO (lithium lanthanum zirconium oxide (garnet, Li7La3Zr2O12)), [0058]).
Regarding Claim 16, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding a lithium ion conductor formed (Allie, the composite electrode may be constructed as a standalone wafer or pellet, or may be fabricated as a thin coating applied to a substrate, and the composite electrode includes a high ionic conductivity solid particulate inorganic electrolyte, [0057, 0062]), of the composite body (Allie, the solid electrolyte-electrode composite, [0039]).
Regarding Claim 18, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding an all-solid state lithium ion secondary battery (Allie, solid state battery, [0087]) comprising, in the following order:
a positive electrode active material layer; a solid electrolyte layer; and a negative electrode active material layer (Allie, solid state cell battery includes cathode 6, electrolyte separator 4, and anode layer 2, Figure 7, [0014, 0091]),
wherein at least one of the positive electrode active material layer, the solid electrolyte layer, or the negative electrode active material layer contains the lithium ion conductor (Allie, the composite electrode may be the composite cathode, [0087]).
Regarding Claim 19, Modified Allie discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above. Modified Allie discloses the limitations regarding an electrode sheet for an all-solid state lithium ion secondary battery comprising the lithium ion conductor (Allie, form the electrode or composite electrode directly onto the current collector or other substrate, [0071]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 10-11, filed 10/07/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Allie et al. (US 20170179472 A1, hereinafter Allie), in view of over Zhou et al. (US 20200185709 A1, hereinafter Zhou).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20020119375 A1 discloses a use of lithium borate in non-aqueous rechargeable lithium batteries (Title);
US 20170294644 A1 discloses an aluminum anode active material layer comprising a lithium tetraborate salt interface layer [0095].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.N./Examiner, Art Unit 1752
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752