DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, 11, 13-15, 17-19 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu et al.( WO2021062738) (note: examiner relies on foreign translation of document provided herewith) in view of Dong et al. (US20210136142).
Regarding claim 1, Lu teaches receiving, by a session management function (SMF), from a wireless device, a first message comprising (page 18 lines 25-35 “1101. The terminal device sends a second PDU session modification request message to the AMF network element. Wherein, the second PDU session modification request message is used to request the PDU session of the terminal device to add the first data stream of the transmission terminal device, and the second PDU session modification request message includes the service identification information and the first indication information of the first data stream. The operation of the first indication information on the first data stream is similar to a new operation. The service identification information of the first data flow includes the packet filter of the data packet of the first data flow or the application layer identification information corresponding to the first data flow.…1102. The AMF network element sends the second PDU session modification request message to the SMF network element.”),
and sending, by the SMF to the wireless device, page 18 lines 21-22 “the SMF network element delivers the information of the DNS server corresponding to the first data stream to the terminal device and the first UPF network that is determined to offload the first data stream”).
Lu does not teach delay information, wherein the processing of the data is offloaded from being processed by the wireless device to being processed by an application server, based on the delay information.
Dong teaches delay information ([0099] “ latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is determined. For example, the offloading routing module 232 may be executed by the processor 230 to determine the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129. In an embodiment, the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is a sum of the processor delay, transmission delay”), wherein the processing of the data is offloaded from being processed by the wireless device to being processed by an application server ([0099] “ latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is determined. For example, the offloading routing module 232 may be executed by the processor 230 to determine the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129. In an embodiment, the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is a sum of the processor delay, transmission delay”, [0021] “a client, the offloading request message comprising task-related data describing a task associated with an application executable at the client, determine whether to offload the task to an edge cloud server of a plurality of edge cloud servers distributed within the MEC network based on the task-related data and server data associated with each of the plurality of edge cloud servers, and transmit a response message to the client based on whether the task is offloaded to the edge cloud server”, (Examiner’s Note: edge cloud server ==application server), based on the delay information ([0099] “ latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is determined. For example, the offloading routing module 232 may be executed by the processor 230 to determine the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129. In an embodiment, the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is a sum of the processor delay, transmission delay”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu incorporate the teachings of Dong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the system by allowing the system to effectively offload task .
Regarding claim 11, Lu teaches A session management function (SMF) comprising one or more processors and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (page 24 lines 50-54 “In the implementation process, each step of the above method can be completed by an integrated logic circuit of hardware in the processor or instructions in the form of software. The steps of the method disclosed in the embodiments of the present application may be directly embodied as being executed and completed by a hardware processor”), cause the SMF to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a wireless device, a first message comprising (page 18 lines 25-35 “1101. The terminal device sends a second PDU session modification request message to the AMF network element. Wherein, the second PDU session modification request message is used to request the PDU session of the terminal device to add the first data stream of the transmission terminal device, and the second PDU session modification request message includes the service identification information and the first indication information of the first data stream. The operation of the first indication information on the first data stream is similar to a new operation. The service identification information of the first data flow includes the packet filter of the data packet of the first data flow or the application layer identification information corresponding to the first data flow.…1102. The AMF network element sends the second PDU session modification request message to the SMF network element.”),
and sending, to the wireless device, page 18 lines 21-22 “the SMF network element delivers the information of the DNS server corresponding to the first data stream to the terminal device and the first UPF network that is determined to offload the first data stream”).
Lu does not teach delay information, wherein the processing of the data is offloaded from being processed by the wireless device to being processed by an application server; based on the delay information.
Dong teaches delay information ([0099] “ latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is determined. For example, the offloading routing module 232 may be executed by the processor 230 to determine the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129. In an embodiment, the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is a sum of the processor delay, transmission delay”) ,
wherein the processing of the data is offloaded from being processed by the wireless device to being processed by an application server ([0099] “ latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is determined. For example, the offloading routing module 232 may be executed by the processor 230 to determine the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129. In an embodiment, the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is a sum of the processor delay, transmission delay”, [0021] “a client, the offloading request message comprising task-related data describing a task associated with an application executable at the client, determine whether to offload the task to an edge cloud server of a plurality of edge cloud servers distributed within the MEC network based on the task-related data and server data associated with each of the plurality of edge cloud servers, and transmit a response message to the client based on whether the task is offloaded to the edge cloud server”,(Examiner’s Note: edge cloud server ==application server);
based on the delay information ([0099] “ latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is determined. For example, the offloading routing module 232 may be executed by the processor 230 to determine the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129. In an embodiment, the latency experienced during offloading of the task 163 to the edge cloud server 125-129 is a sum of the processor delay, transmission delay”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu incorporate the teachings of Dong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the system by allowing the system to effectively offload task .
Regarding claim 2, 12, Lu does not teach wherein the delay information comprises a delay value.
Dong teaches wherein the delay information comprises a delay value ([0082] “the offloading metric refers to a value or metric that is determined for each one of the edge cloud servers 125-129 based on a computed energy consumption and latency experienced by the respective edge cloud server 125-129 during offloading of the task 163 to the respective edge cloud server 125-129”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu incorporate the teachings of Dong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the system by allowing the system to effectively offload task .
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Ghadge (US202003747).
Regarding claim 21, Lu teaches A wireless device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (page 24 lines 50-54 “In the implementation process, each step of the above method can be completed by an integrated logic circuit of hardware in the processor or instructions in the form of software. The steps of the method disclosed in the embodiments of the present application may be directly embodied as being executed and completed by a hardware processor”), cause the wireless device to:
send, to a session management function (SMF), a first message comprising (page 18 lines 25-35 “1101. The terminal device sends a second PDU session modification request message to the AMF network element. Wherein, the second PDU session modification request message is used to request the PDU session of the terminal device to add the first data stream of the transmission terminal device, and the second PDU session modification request message includes the service identification information and the first indication information of the first data stream. The operation of the first indication information on the first data stream is similar to a new operation. The service identification information of the first data flow includes the packet filter of the data packet of the first data flow or the application layer identification information corresponding to the first data flow.…1102. The AMF network element sends the second PDU session modification request message to the SMF network element.”),
wherein the processing of data is offloaded from the wireless device to an application server (page 18 lines 21-22 “the SMF network element delivers the information of the DNS server corresponding to the first data stream to the terminal device and the first UPF network that is determined to offload the first data stream”);
and receive, from the SMF, page 18 lines 21-22 “the SMF network element delivers the information of the DNS server corresponding to the first data stream to the terminal device and the first UPF network that is determined to offload the first data stream”).
Lu does not teach delay information, based on the delay information.
Ghadge teaches delay information ([0036] “A latency sensitive PDN session 133 may facilitate local offload of low latency traffic (illustrated in FIG. 1 as dashed-line 114) for UE 110 while a non-latency sensitive PDN session 103 may be used for non-low latency traffic (illustrated in FIG. 1 as dashed line 112) for UE 110, as discussed for embodiments herein, [0057] “At 302, UE 110 attaches (via over-the-air RF communications) to RAN element 124 and communicates a Create PDN Request message to mobility element 104 to initiate a PDN session creation to an APN say, the Internet, in which the Create PDN Request message includes, among other information, PCO IE 200 carrying private extension indication {0017H} [MS Supports Create Low Latency PDN Session, as discussed in FIG. 2]”), , based on the delay information ([0036] “A latency sensitive PDN session 133 may facilitate local offload of low latency traffic (illustrated in FIG. 1 as dashed-line 114) for UE 110 while a non-latency sensitive PDN session 103 may be used for non-low latency traffic (illustrated in FIG. 1 as dashed line 112) for UE 110, as discussed for embodiments herein, [0057] “At 302, UE 110 attaches (via over-the-air RF communications) to RAN element 124 and communicates a Create PDN Request message to mobility element 104 to initiate a PDN session creation to an APN say, the Internet, in which the Create PDN Request message includes, among other information, PCO IE 200 carrying private extension indication {0017H} [MS Supports Create Low Latency PDN Session, as discussed in FIG. 2]”, (Examiner’s Note: Ghadge clearly shows when establishing sessions for offloading the UE, it considers latency which is equivalent to delay).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu incorporate the teachings of Ghadge. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to to ensure an edge user plane (UP) is not overloaded .
Claim(s) 3-4, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Dong in view of Wang et al.(US20160219481).
Regarding claim 3, 13, Lu, Dong does not teach wherein the offloading information indicates that the offloading of processing of the data is supported based on an amount of time associated with the offloading of processing of the data being less than the delay value.
Wang teaches wherein the offloading information indicates that the offloading of processing of the data is supported based on an amount of time associated with the offloading of processing of the data being less than the delay value([0070-77] “If the MeNB configures the SeNB to make report periodically, then when the period time expires, the SeNB may report the offloaded bearer status information as a level indication of the data packet transmission failure times per DRB or per UE/delay/buffer status or data or an indication of whether the threshold pre-configured by the MeNB is reached. If the MeNB configures the SeNB to report a triggering event (i.e., make report when an triggering condition is satisfied), then the SeNB should send the reported message when the offloaded data packet transmission failure times per DRB or per UE/delay/buffer status reaches the lever threshold configured by the MeNB or the data … canceling offloading transmission for the SeNB”, (Examiner’s Note: if the delay of offloading is greater then the delay threshold the offloading is cancelled which is equivalent to not support, if the delay of the offloading is less than the delay threshold the offloading is maintained which is equivalent to supported).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu, Dong to incorporate the teachings of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of data transmission.
Regarding claim 4, 14, Lu, Dong does not teach wherein the offloading information indicates that the offloading of processing of the data is not supported based on an amount of time associated with the offloading of processing of the data being greater than the delay value.
Wang teaches wherein the offloading information indicates that the offloading of processing of the data is not supported based on an amount of time associated with the offloading of processing of the data being greater than the delay value ([0070-77] “If the MeNB configures the SeNB to make report periodically, then when the period time expires, the SeNB may report the offloaded bearer status information as a level indication of the data packet transmission failure times per DRB or per UE/delay/buffer status or data or an indication of whether the threshold pre-configured by the MeNB is reached. If the MeNB configures the SeNB to report a triggering event (i.e., make report when an triggering condition is satisfied), then the SeNB should send the reported message when the offloaded data packet transmission failure times per DRB or per UE/delay/buffer status reaches the lever threshold configured by the MeNB or the data … canceling offloading transmission for the SeNB”, (Examiner’s Note: if the delay of offloading is greater then the delay threshold the offloading is cancelled which is equivlant to not support, if the delay of the offloading is less than the delay threshold the offloading is maintained which is equivalent to supported).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu, Dong to incorporate the teachings of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of data transmission.
Claim(s) 5-6, 10, 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu in view of Dong, further in view of Jung et al.(US20210168655).
Regarding claim 5, 15, Lu, Dong does not teach wherein the delay information comprises a request for a delay value indicating an amount of time associated with the offloading of processing of the data.
Jung teaches wherein the delay information comprises a request for a delay value indicating an amount of time associated with the offloading of processing of the data ([0086-87] “Furthermore, the UE 100 may transmit information about requirements for the offloading data corresponding to the offloading point. The information about the requirements for the offloading data may include reference information for processing the offloading data”, [0017] “The information about the requirements may include at least one of quality of service (QoS) information, latency information, processing time information, or capacity information that needs to be satisfied when the offloading data is processed by the server”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lu in view of Dong to incorporate the teachings of Jung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a more robust system [0014].
Regarding claims 6, 16, Lu in view of Dong does not teach wherein the amount of time comprises a processing time at an application server.
Jung teaches wherein the amount of time comprises a processing time at an application server ([0086-87] “Furthermore, the UE 100 may transmit information about requirements for the offloading data corresponding to the offloading point. The information about the requirements for the offloading data may include reference information for processing the offloading data”, [0017] “The information about the requirements may include at least one of quality of service (QoS) information, latency information, processing time information, or capacity information that needs to be satisfied when the offloading data is processed by the server”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the Lu in view of Dong to incorporate the teachings of Jung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a more robust system [0014].
Regarding claim 10, Lu in view of Dong does not explicitly teach wherein the amount of time comprises a transmission delay associated with transmission of the data between the wireless device and an application server associated with the application.
Jung teaches wherein the amount of time comprises a transmission delay associated with transmission of the data between the wireless device and an application server associated with the application ([0086-87] “Furthermore, the UE 100 may transmit information about requirements for the offloading data corresponding to the offloading point. The information about the requirements for the offloading data may include reference information for processing the offloading data”, [0017] “The information about the requirements may include at least one of quality of service (QoS) information, latency information, processing time information, or capacity information that needs to be satisfied when the offloading data is processed by the server”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lu, Dong to incorporate the teachings of Jung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a more robust system [0014].
Claim(s) 7-9, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu, in view of Dong, further in view of Jung further in view of Wang.
Regarding claim 7, 17, Lu, Dong and Jung does not explicitly teach wherein the amount of time comprises a first transmission time associated with transmission of data between the wireless device and a base station, the first transmission time being associated with at least one of: transmission of data from the wireless device to the base station; or transmission of data to the wireless device from the base station.
Wang teaches wherein the amount of time comprises a first transmission time associated with transmission of data between the wireless device and a base station, the first transmission time being associated with atleast one of of: transmission of data from the wireless device to the base station; or transmission of data to the wireless device from the base station . If the MeNB configures the SeNB to report a triggering event (i.e., make report when an triggering condition is satisfied), then the SeNB should send the reported message when the offloaded data packet transmission failure times per DRB or per UE/delay/buffer status reaches the lever threshold configured by the MeNB or the data … canceling offloading transmission for the SeNB”, (Examiner’s Note: delay is equivalent to the time associated with transmission of data between the wireless device and a base station).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lu, Dong, Jung to incorporate the teachings of Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to increase the reliability of data transmission.
Regarding claims 8, 18, Lu teaches further comprising sending, (page 18 lines 25-35 “1101. The terminal device sends a second PDU session modification request message to the AMF network element. Wherein, the second PDU session modification request message is used to request the PDU session of the terminal device to add the first data stream of the transmission terminal device, and the second PDU session modification request message includes the service identification information and the first indication information of the first data stream. The operation of the first indication information on the first data stream is similar to a new operation. The service identification information of the first data flow includes the packet filter of the data packet of the first data flow or the application layer identification information corresponding to the first data flow.…1102. The AMF network element sends the second PDU session modification request message to the SMF network element.”)
Lu does not teach a request for information of the first transmission time.
Dong teaches a request for information of the first transmission time ([0009] “determining a transmission delay of the plurality of messages forwarded by the plurality of NEs, determining an execution time for the edge cloud server to perform the task and transmit the result of the task back to the client, determining the latency experienced during offloading of the task to the edge cloud server based on a sum of the processing delay, transmission delay, and execution time, and determining the latency experienced during local execution of the task at the client.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lu incorporate the teachings of Dong. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to to ensure an edge user plane (UP) is not overloaded .
Regarding claim 9, 19, Lu, Dong does not explicitly teach wherein the request for information of the first transmission time comprises at least one of: one or more quality of service parameters; a data network name (DNN); or single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI).
Jung teaches teach wherein the request for information of the first transmission time comprises one or more of: one or more quality of service parameters ([0086-87] “Furthermore, the UE 100 may transmit information about requirements for the offloading data corresponding to the offloading point. The information about the requirements for the offloading data may include reference information for processing the offloading data”, [0017] “The information about the requirements may include at least one of quality of service (QoS) information, latency information, processing time information, or capacity information that needs to be satisfied when the offloading data is processed by the server”); a data network name (DNN); and single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lu, Dong to incorporate the teachings of Jung. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide a more robust system [0014].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Argument 1
Applicant remarks Therefore, Lu does not teach or suggest "receiving, by a session management function (SMF), from a wireless device, a first message comprising delay information for offloading of processing of data for an application, wherein the processing of the data is offloaded from being processed by the wireless device to being processed by an application server[,]" as recited in amended claim 1.
Examiner’s Response 1
Examiner respectfully disagrees. For claims 1, 11 the rejection has been updated to incorporate a new reference Dong. The combination of Lu in view of Dong teaches receiving, by a session management function (SMF), from a wireless device, a first message comprising delay information for offloading of processing of data for an application, wherein the processing of the data is offloaded from being processed by the wireless device to being processed by an application server. See updated rejection above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411