DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 97-116 are pending. Claims 97, 99, 102 are amended. Claims 101, 102, 104, 111-115 remain withdrawn. Claims 97-100, 103, 105-110, and 116 are currently being examined as drawn to the elected species of:
A. species of cell penetrating polypeptide: (i) conjugated to a therapeutic agent (claim 99, withdraw claims 104 and 115);
B. species of cell penetrating polypeptide: (ii) NOT joined to sequence AGIH (withdraw claim 101);
C. species of cell penetrating polypeptide: (ii) NOT joined to or comprises a peptide linker comprising a portion of CH1 and a swivel sequence (withdraw claim 102);
D. species of cell penetrating peptide: (i) comprises an amino substitution to asparagine at residue 31 (D31N) (claim 103); and
E. site of interest: (ii) is NOT an injury site (withdraw claims 111-114).
The claims are amended to recite the “purified DNA” is purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, nucleoside purine or pyrimidine base.
New Rejections
(addressing amendments)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 97-100, 103, 105-110, and 116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 1997032602, Weisbart, in view of QIAGEN® Plasmid Purification Handbook (“Qiagen”), second edition, August 2003; and as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication 2008/0292618, Weisbart.
Weisbart teaches administering anti-dsDNA 3E10 antibody to live targeted cells (which is a site of interest), wherein the 3E10 antibody is complexed/conjugated with a therapeutic biologically active compound or biological compound of interest for transport into the cells (p. 3-5; p. 12, line 34 to p. 13, line 1; claims 1-20); wherein the biologically active compound is a carrier with, or conjugated to, DNA, DNA plasmid containing genes of interest, a gene, or genetic material, which would encompass artificial DNA (p. 5, lines 7-18; p. 7, lines 18-28; p. 8, lines 5-15; claims 2, 7, 9, and 16); wherein the 3E10 antibody can be a functional fragment thereof such as an scFv (p. 6, lines 9-13); wherein the 3E10 antibody is humanized (p. 6, lines 14-34); wherein the 3E10 antibody has a mutation at position 31 of aspartic acid to asparagine (D31N) (p. 7, lines 3-17; p. 20, lines 9-20); wherein the 3E10 antibody complex/conjugate is administered to a patient or animal by injection (p. 9, lines 16-32).
Weisbart teaches: “Recent work indicates that cellular penetration requires complexes of antibody and DNA. MAb 3E10 can penetrate many different types of cell lines in tissue culture. In contrast, mAb 3E10 may be restricted in the cells it can bind and penetrate in vivo, where there is an absence of free DNA to facilitate its penetration” (p. 8-9). Weisbart teaches: “The results showed that residues required for binding DNA but not HP8/HEVIN were necessary for antibody penetration, indicating that cellular penetration required the presence of DNA or binding of antibody to a membrane determinant precisely resembling DNA” (abstract; p. 10, lines 30-32). Therefore, Weisbart determined that cellular penetration of 3E10 antibody requires the presence of, and binding to, DNA.
As evidenced by US 2008/0292618, Weisbart, the 3E10 antibody is transported into cells via the nucleoside salvage pathway through ENT2-mediated nucleoside salvage pathway (Example 1). Therefore, the method of WO 1997032602, Weisbart, delivering 3E10 complexes into cells necessarily depends on ENT2-mediated nucleoside salvage pathway.
Weisbart does not teach the DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest was purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides.
Qiagen sells commercially available kits for rapidly isolating and purifying plasmid DNA, particularly for cell transfection purposes. Qiagen teaches the process for purification of plasmids in the figure on p. 12, which involves binding, wash, and elution steps utilizing QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin. Qiagen teaches the Anion-Exchange Resin purifies the plasmid DNA away from RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities (i.e. nucleotides and nucleosides) (p. 13):
Principle and procedure
QIAGEN plasmid purification protocols are based on a modified alkaline lysis procedure, followed by binding of plasmid DNA to QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin under appropriate low-salt and pH conditions. RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities are removed by a medium-salt wash. Plasmid DNA is eluted in a high-salt buffer and then concentrated and desalted by isopropanol precipitation.
Page 70:
DNA binding and washing on the QIAGEN-tip
The cleared lysate is loaded onto a pre-equilibrated QIAGEN-tip by gravity flow. The salt and pH conditions of the lysate and the superior selectivity of the QIAGEN Resin
ensure that only plasmid DNA binds, while degraded RNA, cellular proteins, and
metabolites are not retained and appear in the flow-through fraction. The QIAGEN-tip is then washed with medium-salt buffer (Buffer QC) which completely removes any remaining contaminants, such as traces of RNA and protein (e.g., RNase A), without affecting the binding of the plasmid DNA (see Figure 4 on page 61). Buffer QC also disrupts nonspecific interactions, and allows removal of nucleic acid-binding proteins without the use of phenol. The low concentration of alcohol in the wash buffer eliminates nonspecific hydrophobic interactions, further enhancing the purity of the bound DNA. The plasmid DNA is then efficiently eluted from the QIAGEN-tip with high salt buffer (Buffer QF or QN). For further information about QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, see Appendix E: QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, pages 76–78.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to purify the DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides in the method of Weisbart. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to because: (1) Weisbart teaches 3E10 antibody requires the presence of, and binding to, DNA for transport into a cell, and teaches complexing 3E10 with DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest for delivery into a cell; (2) Qiagen teaches and demonstrates isolation and purification of DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest, away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides, for use in cell delivery is routine and commercially available.
3. Claim(s) 97-100, 103, 105-110, and 116 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 7,189,396, Weisbart, in view of QIAGEN® Plasmid Purification Handbook, second edition, August 2003; and as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication 2008/0292618, Weisbart.
US Patent 7,189,396, Weisbart claims priority to WO 1997032602, Weisbart, cited above, and has the same disclosure that anticipates the instant claims for the same reasons set forth above. US Patent 7,189,396 further patented a method for transporting a biologically active molecule into the nucleus of a target cell in vitro, comprising: a) combining said biologically active molecule in vitro with monoclonal antibody (mAb) 3E10 as produced by a hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439 or an scFv fragment thereof, to form an antibody-biologically active molecule conjugate or fusion protein, and b) contacting the target cell in vitro under suitable conditions with the antibody-biologically active molecule conjugate of a),
thereby transporting the biologically active molecule into the nucleus of the target cell; wherein said biologically active molecule is genetic material.
Wesibart further demonstrates and teaches cellular penetration of 3E10 antibody requires the presence of, and binding to, DNA, as stated above.
As evidenced by US 2008/0292618, Weisbart, the 3E10 antibody is transported into cells via the nucleoside salvage pathway through ENT2-mediated nucleoside salvage pathway (Example 1). Therefore, the method disclosed and claimed by the US Patent for delivering 3E10 complexes into cells necessarily depends on ENT2-mediated nucleoside salvage pathway.
Weisbart does not teach the DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest was purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides.
Qiagen sells commercially available kits for rapidly isolating and purifying plasmid DNA, particularly for cell transfection purposes. Qiagen teaches the process for purification of plasmids in the figure on p. 12, which involves binding, wash, and elution steps utilizing QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin. Qiagen teaches the Anion-Exchange Resin purifies the plasmid DNA away from RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities (i.e. nucleotides and nucleosides) (p. 13):
Principle and procedure
QIAGEN plasmid purification protocols are based on a modified alkaline lysis procedure, followed by binding of plasmid DNA to QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin under appropriate low-salt and pH conditions. RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities are removed by a medium-salt wash. Plasmid DNA is eluted in a high-salt buffer and then concentrated and desalted by isopropanol precipitation.
Page 70:
DNA binding and washing on the QIAGEN-tip
The cleared lysate is loaded onto a pre-equilibrated QIAGEN-tip by gravity flow. The salt and pH conditions of the lysate and the superior selectivity of the QIAGEN Resin
ensure that only plasmid DNA binds, while degraded RNA, cellular proteins, and
metabolites are not retained and appear in the flow-through fraction. The QIAGEN-tip is then washed with medium-salt buffer (Buffer QC) which completely removes any remaining contaminants, such as traces of RNA and protein (e.g., RNase A), without affecting the binding of the plasmid DNA (see Figure 4 on page 61). Buffer QC also disrupts nonspecific interactions, and allows removal of nucleic acid-binding proteins without the use of phenol. The low concentration of alcohol in the wash buffer eliminates nonspecific hydrophobic interactions, further enhancing the purity of the bound DNA. The plasmid DNA is then efficiently eluted from the QIAGEN-tip with high salt buffer (Buffer QF or QN). For further information about QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, see Appendix E: QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, pages 76–78.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to purify the DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides in the method of Weisbart. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to because: (1) Weisbart teaches 3E10 antibody requires the presence of, and binding to, DNA for transport into a cell, and teaches complexing 3E10 with DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest for delivery into a cell; (2) Qiagen teaches and demonstrates isolation and purification of DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest, away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides, for use in cell delivery is routine and commercially available.
Response to Relevant Arguments
4. Applicants argue that the claims are amended to clarify the DNA is purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid (i.e., RNA), nucoleotide, and nucleoside purine or pyrimidine bases and Weisbart does not teach this.
5. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive. New rejections are set forth above adding the Qiagen reference. Qiagen teaches and demonstrates isolation and purification of DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest, away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides, for use in cell delivery is routine and commercially available.
Double Patenting
Maintained Rejection
(with Qiagen reference added to address amendments)
6. Claims 97-100, 103, 105-110, and 116 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,383,945; in view of QIAGEN® Plasmid Purification Handbook, second edition, August 2003. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US Patent is claiming methods of delivering complexes/conjugates of 3E10 antibody or an scFv fragment of 3E10 bound to DNA to live cells at a site of interest, that overlap with the instant claims, rendering the instant claims obvious.
The US Patent claims:
1. A method for selectively targeting live cells at a site of interest with a cell-penetrating polypeptide, the method comprising:
(a) introducing an isolated DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest;
(b) administering the cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising cell-penetrating determinants, before, after or concurrently with the DNA of step (a);
(c) contacting the DNA or its degradation product with the cell-penetrating polypeptide so that the cell-penetrating polypeptide binds the DNA or its degradation product near or around the live cells so as to form a complex;
(d) contacting one of the live cells with the complex in (c) so as to bind and penetrate the live cell; and
(e) permitting additional complexes to form as in (c) and contacting additional cells with said complexes so as to bind and penetrate additional live cells at the site of interest;
wherein introducing an isolated DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the isolated DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period; thereby, selectively targeting live cells at the site of interest with a cell-penetrating polypeptide, wherein the cell-penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody.
2. A method for inhibiting a tumor associated with ischemia, cellular/tissue necrosis or cellular/tissue apoptosis by selective targeting of live cells at a site of interest by the method of claim 1.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the anti-DNA antibody binds single-stranded DNA, double-stranded DNA or both.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the 3E10 antibody has a binding specificity of an antibody as produced by a hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439 or a fragment thereof.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein cell penetration is dependent on a salvage pathway.
6. The method of claim 5, wherein the salvage pathway is a nucleoside salvage pathway mediated by equilibrative nucleoside transporters (ENTs) or SLC29 family of integral membrane proteins.
7. The method of claim 6, wherein the equilibrative nucleoside transporter (ENT) or a member of the SLC29 family of integral membrane proteins is an equilibrative nucleoside transporter ENT2.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the cells are present in a mammal or derived from a mammal.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell-penetrating polypeptide is or comprises a therapeutic agent.
10. The method of claim 1, wherein the 3E10 antibody is a humanized variant of an antibody produced by the hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the 3E10 antibody, the fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody, or the single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody is joined to an amino acid sequence AGIH at its amino terminus.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the 3E10 antibody, the fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody or the single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody has a change in its amino acid sequence, wherein the change in the amino acid sequence enhances cell penetration and comprises an amino acid substitution in the 3E10 variable heavy chain at amino acid 31 from an aspartic acid to an asparagine (D31N).
13. The method of claim 1, wherein the isolated DNA is single-stranded, double-stranded, triple-stranded, or four-stranded or a combination thereof, comprising a phosphodiester bond, a phosphorothioate bond or a methylphosphonate bond or a combination thereof or an artificial DNA comprising a pseudopeptide backbone, comprising an ethylglycine, a propylglycine, an ethyl-β-alanine, a propionyl linker, a retro inverso linker, a (S,S)-cyclohexyl linker, a (R,R)-cyclohexyl linker, an L-ornithine, a 2-me-ethyl-glycine, an ethyl-lysine, a L-proline, a n-proline, a glycine backbone/ethyl linker, a L-4-trans-amino proline, a L-4-cis-amino proline, a D-4-trans-amino proline, a P-alanine/proline, a glycylglycine/ethyl linker, a glyeine/ethyl linker, a proline-glycine, a f3-amino-alanine, E-OPA, Z-OPA, APNA, a serinol-ethyl-methyl linker, a serinol-ethyl-ethyl linker, an α-methyl- serinol-ethyl-ethyl linker, an aminopentan, a hydroxyethyl phosphono glycine, an aminoethyl phosphono glycine, a lysine, an aminoethyl prolyl or a serinyl methylene or a combination thereof.
14. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell-penetrating polypeptide further comprises a cytotoxic agent selected from the group consisting of a chemotherapeutic agent, a drug, a growth inhibitory agent, a toxin and a radioactive isotope.
15. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide further comprises a cytoprotective agent selected from the group consisting of a heat shock protein, stress protein and chaperone protein.
16. The method of claim 1, wherein the cell-penetrating polypeptide is further linked or bound to an imaging agent or detectable marker.
17. The method of claim 16, wherein the imaging agent or detectable marker is selected from the group consisting of a radioisotope, a fluorophore, a fluorescent quencher, an enzyme, a luminescent compound, a chemiluminescent compound, a bioluminescent compound, a photon emitter, a heavy metal, a ferromagnetic agent, a contrast agent, a metal chelator, and an epitope.
18. The method of claim 1, wherein the mAb 3E10 antibody, the fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody, or the single chain 17v (scFv) fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody is a humanized antibody or fragment from a hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439.
19. The method of claim 1, wherein the site of interest is an injury site.
20. The method of claim 19, wherein the injury site is an intracranial injury, brain injury, myocardial infarction, skin injury, liver injury, gastrointestinal injury, lung injury, eye injury, kidney injury, pancreas injury, peritoneal injury, bone injury, nasopharyngeal injury, uterine injury, cervical injury, breast injury, organ injury, tissue injury, burn or radiation injury.
The US Patent does not claim the isolated DNA was purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleoside purine and pyrimidine bases.
Qiagen sells commercially available kits for rapidly isolating and purifying plasmid DNA, particularly for cell transfection purposes. Qiagen teaches the process for purification of plasmids in the figure on p. 12, which involves binding, wash, and elution steps utilizing QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin. Qiagen teaches the Anion-Exchange Resin purifies the plasmid DNA away from RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities (i.e. nucleotides and nucleosides) (p. 13):
Principle and procedure
QIAGEN plasmid purification protocols are based on a modified alkaline lysis procedure, followed by binding of plasmid DNA to QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin under appropriate low-salt and pH conditions. RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities are removed by a medium-salt wash. Plasmid DNA is eluted in a high-salt buffer and then concentrated and desalted by isopropanol precipitation.
Page 70:
DNA binding and washing on the QIAGEN-tip
The cleared lysate is loaded onto a pre-equilibrated QIAGEN-tip by gravity flow. The salt and pH conditions of the lysate and the superior selectivity of the QIAGEN Resin
ensure that only plasmid DNA binds, while degraded RNA, cellular proteins, and
metabolites are not retained and appear in the flow-through fraction. The QIAGEN-tip is then washed with medium-salt buffer (Buffer QC) which completely removes any remaining contaminants, such as traces of RNA and protein (e.g., RNase A), without affecting the binding of the plasmid DNA (see Figure 4 on page 61). Buffer QC also disrupts nonspecific interactions, and allows removal of nucleic acid-binding proteins without the use of phenol. The low concentration of alcohol in the wash buffer eliminates nonspecific hydrophobic interactions, further enhancing the purity of the bound DNA. The plasmid DNA is then efficiently eluted from the QIAGEN-tip with high salt buffer (Buffer QF or QN). For further information about QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, see Appendix E: QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, pages 76–78.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to purify the DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides in the method of the US Patent. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to because: (1) the US Patent claims complexing isolated DNA with 3E10 antibody for cell delivery; and (2) Qiagen teaches and demonstrates isolation and purification of DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest, away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides, for use in cell delivery is routine and commercially available.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicants argue they do not agree with the ODP rejection over US Patent 10,383,945.
8. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because no specific reasons for traversal have been presented. The amendment to the claims was addressed by the addition of the Qiagen reference.
Maintained Rejection
9. Claims 97-100, 103, 105-110, and 116 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-40 of U.S. Patent No. 11,453,725. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US Patent is claiming methods of delivering complexes/conjugates of 3E10 antibody or an scFv fragment of 3E10 bound to DNA to live cells at a site of interest, that overlap with the instant claims, rendering the instant claims obvious.
The US Patent claims:
1. A method for selectively targeting live cells at a site of interest with a cell-penetrating polypeptide, the method comprising:
(a) introducing purified DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest;
(b) administering the cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising cell-penetrating determinants, before, after or concurrently with the purified DNA of step (a);
(c) contacting the purified DNA or its degradation product with the cell-penetrating polypeptide so that the cell-penetrating polypeptide binds the purified DNA or its degradation product near or around the live cells so as to form a complex;
(d) contacting one of the live cells with the complex in (c) so as to bind and penetrate the live cell; and
(e) permitting additional complexes to form as in (c) and contacting additional cells with said complexes so as to bind and penetrate additional live cells at the site of interest;
wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody,
thereby, selectively targeting live cells at the site of interest with a cell-penetrating polypeptide.
4. The method of claim 1 wherein the cell-penetrating polypeptide is conjugated to a therapeutic agent.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the m Ab 3E10 antibody, the fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody, or the scFv fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody is a humanized antibody or fragment from a hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the 3E10 antibody is a humanized variant of an antibody produced by the hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439.
11. The method of claim 1, wherein the fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody, or the scFv fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody has a change in its amino acid sequence, wherein the change in the amino acid sequence enhances cell penetration and comprises an amino acid substitution in the 3E10 variable heavy chain at amino acid 31 from an aspartic acid to an asparagine (D31N).
12. The method of claim 1, wherein cell penetration is dependent on a salvage pathway.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the salvage pathway is a nucleoside salvage pathway.
14. The method of claim 13, wherein the nucleoside salvage pathway is a pathway mediated by equilibrative nucleoside transporters (ENTs) or SLC29 family of integral membrane proteins.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the equilibrative nucleoside transporter (ENT) or a member of the SLC29 family of integral membrane proteins is a transporter for purine and pyrimidine nucleosides and nucleobases or a metabolite thereof.
16. The method of claim 15, wherein the transporter for purine and pyrimidine nucleosides and nucleobases or a metabolite thereof is an equilibrative nucleoside transporter ENT2.
17. The method of claim 1, wherein the purified DNA is single-stranded, double-stranded, triple-stranded, or four-stranded or a combination thereof.
26. The method of claim 1, wherein introducing the purified DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the purified DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing the purified DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases the purified DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period.
27. A method for inhibiting a tumor associated with ischemia, cellular/tissue necrosis or cellular/tissue apoptosis by selective targeting of live cells at a site of interest by the method of claim 1.
28. The method of claim 27, wherein the cellular/tissue necrosis or cellular/tissue apoptosis is associated with an ischemia, a chemical burn, a fire, radiation, hypothermia, freezing, a physical trauma, hypoxia, a poison, a chemotherapeutic agent, a cell damaging agent, a tumor or a cancer.
29. A method for selective targeting of live cells at a site of interest, wherein the site of interest has undergone or is undergoing radiation or chemotherapy, with a cell-penetrating polypeptide, the method comprising:
(a) administering purified DNA to the site of interest in an extracellular space;
(b) contacting a live cell at the site of interest with a cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising cell-penetrating determinants so that the cell-penetrating polypeptide binds the purified DNA or its degradation product so as to form a complex;
(c) contacting one of the live cells at the site of interest with the complex in (b) so as to bind and penetrate the live cell;
(d) permitting additional complexes to form as in b and contacting additional cells with said complexes so as to bind and penetrate additional live cells at the site of interest;
wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody, and
thereby, selectively targeting live cells at the site of interest, which has undergone or is undergoing radiation or chemotherapy, with a cell-penetrating polypeptide.
30. The method of claim 29, wherein the cell-penetrating polypeptide is conjugated to a therapeutic agent.
31. A method for inhibiting cellular injury in a subject, the method comprising:
(a) administering directly to the live cells at or near a site of cellular injury of the subject a cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising cell-penetrating determinants joined to a therapeutic agent;
(b) contacting purified DNA with the cell-penetrating polypeptide so that the cell-penetrating polypeptide binds the purified DNA or its degradation product near or around the live cells so as to form a complex;
(c) contacting one of the live cells with the complex in (b) so as to bind and penetrate the live cell; and
(d) permitting additional complexes to form as in (b) and contacting additional cells with said complexes so as to bind and penetrate additional live cells at the site of cellular injury;
wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody,
thereby, inhibiting cellular injury in the subject.
32. The method of claim 31, wherein introducing the purified DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the purified DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing the purified DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases the purified DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period.
33. A method for inducing cell death in a subject, the method comprising:
(a) administering directly to the live cells at or near a site of injury of the subject a cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising cell-penetrating determinants joined to a therapeutic agent;
(b) contacting purified DNA near or around the live cells with the cell-penetrating polypeptide so that the cell-penetrating polypeptide binds the purified DNA or its degradation product near or around the live cells so as to form a complex;
(c) contacting one of the live cells with the complex in (b) so as to bind and penetrate the live cell which induces cell death; and
(d) permitting additional complexes to form as in (b) and contacting additional cells with said complexes so as to bind and penetrate additional live cells inducing additional cell death at the site of injury;
wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody,
thereby inducing cell death at or near a site of injury with the cell-penetrating polypeptide.
34. The method of claim 33, wherein introducing the purified DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the purified DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing the purified DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases the purified DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period.
35. A method for selective targeting of live cells at or near a site of cellular injury with a cell-penetrating polypeptide which comprises cell-penetrating determinants joined to a therapeutic agent, the method comprising:
(a) contacting the live cells with a composition comprising
(i) a cell-penetrating polypeptide which comprises cell-penetrating determinants joined to a therapeutic agent and
(ii) purified DNA so that the cell-penetrating polypeptide binds the purified DNA or its degradation product near or around the live cells so as to form a complex such that the complex so formed binds one of the live cells and penetrates the live cell; and
(b) permitting additional complexes to form as in (a) and contacting additional cells with said complexes so as to bind and penetrate additional live cells at the site of cellular injury,
wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody,
thereby selectively targeting live cells at a site of cellular injury with a cell-penetrating polypeptide.
36. The method of claim 35, wherein introducing the purified DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the purified DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing the purified DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases the purified DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period.
37. A method for enhancing the effects of chemotherapy or radiation therapy by selectively targeting live cells by the method of claim 1.
38. The method of claim 37, wherein introducing the purified DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the purified DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing the purified DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases the purified DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period.
39. A method for increasing uptake and enhancing efficacy of a cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising an anti-DNA antibody or a fragment in targeting tumor or cancer cells, the method comprising:
(a) introducing purified DNA or artificial DNA at or near the tumor or cancer cells;
(b) administering the cell-penetrating polypeptide;
(c) allowing the cell-penetrating polypeptide to form additional complexes with the additional purified DNA or artificial DNA; and
(d) permitting the additional complexes in (c) to contact the tumor or cancer cells,
wherein the cell penetrating polypeptide is a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof, wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of mAb 3E10 antibody,
thereby increasing uptake and enhancing efficacy of a cell-penetrating polypeptide comprising an anti-DNA antibody or a fragment or a variant thereof in targeting tumor or cancer cells.
40. The method of claim 39, wherein introducing the purified DNA or artificial DNA near or around the live cells at the site of interest is or comprises administration of the purified DNA or artificial DNA at the site of interest by injection, microinjection, microprojectile or implantation or a combination thereof, or alternatively, implantation of an object or substance containing the purified DNA or artificial DNA, wherein the implant releases the purified DNA or artificial DNA in a single burst or over an extended period.
Response to Arguments
10. Applicants argue they do not agree with the ODP rejection over US Patent 11,453,725.
11. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive because no specific reasons for traversal have been presented. The rejection is maintained.
Maintained Rejection
(with Weisbart and Qiagen reference added to address amendments)
12. Claims 97-100, 103, 105-110, and 116 remain rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4-8 of U.S. Patent No. 7,189,396, in view of WO 1997032602, Weisbart and QIAGEN® Plasmid Purification Handbook, second edition, August 2003; as evidenced by US Patent Application Publication 2008/0292618, Weisbart. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the US Patent is claiming methods of delivering complexes/conjugates of 3E10 antibody or an scFv fragment of 3E10 bound to genetic material to target live cells that overlap with the instant claims, rendering the instant claims obvious.
The US Patent claims:
1. A method for transporting a biologically active molecule into the nucleus of a target cell in vitro, comprising:
a) combining said biologically active molecule in vitro with monoclonal antibody (mAb) 3E10 as produced by a hybridoma having ATCC accession number PTA 2439 or an scFv fragment thereof, to form an antibody-biologically active molecule conjugate or fusion protein, and
b) contacting the target cell in vitro under suitable conditions with the antibody-biologically active molecule conjugate of a),
thereby transporting the biologically active molecule into the nucleus of the target cell.
2. The method of claim 1 wherein said biologically active molecule is a nuclear transcription factor, an enzyme, an enzyme inhibitor, genetic material, an inorganic or organic molecule, a pharmaceutical agent, a drug, or a polypeptide.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the antibody is the scFv fragment.
6. The method of claim 1, wherein the contacting comprises incubating the cells in the presence of the conjugate or a fusion protein.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the scFv fragment comprises the variable region of the heavy chain (VH) and variable region of the kappa light chain (Vκ) of mAb 3E10.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the scFv fragment further comprises the signal peptide of the Vκ.
As evidenced by US 2008/0292618, Weisbart, the 3E10 antibody is transported into cells via the nucleoside salvage pathway through ENT2-mediated nucleoside salvage pathway (Example 1). Therefore, the method claimed by the US Patent delivering 3E10 complexes into cells necessarily depends on ENT2-mediated nucleoside salvage pathway.
The US Patent does not claim the genetic material is DNA purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleoside purine and pyrimidine bases.
WO 1997032602, Weisbart, teaches complexing 3E10 scFv antibody to biologically active material that is genetic material including DNA, or DNA plasmids containing a gene of interest, for delivery into live cells, as set forth above.
Qiagen sells commercially available kits for rapidly isolating and purifying plasmid DNA genetic material, particularly for cell transfection purposes. Qiagen teaches the process for purification of plasmids in the figure on p. 12, which involves binding, wash, and elution steps utilizing QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin. Qiagen teaches the Anion-Exchange Resin purifies the plasmid DNA away from RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities (i.e. nucleotides and nucleosides) (p. 13):
Principle and procedure
QIAGEN plasmid purification protocols are based on a modified alkaline lysis procedure, followed by binding of plasmid DNA to QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin under appropriate low-salt and pH conditions. RNA, proteins, dyes, and low-molecular-weight impurities are removed by a medium-salt wash. Plasmid DNA is eluted in a high-salt buffer and then concentrated and desalted by isopropanol precipitation.
Page 70:
DNA binding and washing on the QIAGEN-tip
The cleared lysate is loaded onto a pre-equilibrated QIAGEN-tip by gravity flow. The salt and pH conditions of the lysate and the superior selectivity of the QIAGEN Resin
ensure that only plasmid DNA binds, while degraded RNA, cellular proteins, and
metabolites are not retained and appear in the flow-through fraction. The QIAGEN-tip is then washed with medium-salt buffer (Buffer QC) which completely removes any remaining contaminants, such as traces of RNA and protein (e.g., RNase A), without affecting the binding of the plasmid DNA (see Figure 4 on page 61). Buffer QC also disrupts nonspecific interactions, and allows removal of nucleic acid-binding proteins without the use of phenol. The low concentration of alcohol in the wash buffer eliminates nonspecific hydrophobic interactions, further enhancing the purity of the bound DNA. The plasmid DNA is then efficiently eluted from the QIAGEN-tip with high salt buffer (Buffer QF or QN). For further information about QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, see Appendix E: QIAGEN Anion-Exchange Resin, pages 76–78.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to purify the DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides in the method of the US Patent. One would have been motivated to, and have a reasonable expectation of success to because: (1) the US Patent claims complexing genetic material with 3E10 antibody for cell delivery; (2) Weisbart teaches the genetic material can be DNA or DNA plasmids containing a gene of interest; and (3) Qiagen teaches and demonstrates isolation and purification of DNA or DNA plasmid containing genes of interest, away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, and nucleosides, for use in cell delivery is routine and commercially available.
Response to Arguments
13. Applicants argue that US Patent 7,189,396 claims do not teach or suggest the subject matter presently claimed in the instant case. Applicants argue that the patent claims are directed to methods for transporting a biologically active molecule into the nucleus of a target cell in vitro, while the instant claims are directed to administering a complex near or around live cells at a site of interest wherein the complex comprises a 3E10 antibody or a fragment thereof bound to purified DNA, wherein the purified DNA is purified away from non-DNA nucleic acid, nucleotide, nucleoside purine or pyrimidine base; wherein the complex penetrates the live cells at the site of interest, and wherein the fragment thereof is a single chain Fv (scFv) fragment of the mAb 3E10 antibody.
14. The arguments have been considered but are not persuasive in view of the addition of the Weisbart and Qiagen references, rendering obvious the biologically active molecule that is genetic material includes DNA or DNA plasmids containing a gene of interest and the DNA is purified.
15. All other rejections recited in the Office Action mailed July 28, 2025 are hereby withdrawn in view of amendments
16. Conclusion: No claim is allowed.
/Laura B Goddard/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642