DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the blade turret" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The blade turret is established in claim 2; however, claim 7 is currently written to depend upon claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1).
With regards to claim 1, Pieger teaches an additive manufacturing system for a workpiece comprising a building panel (17), a lifting device for the building panel (19, 35), a blade device (23), an optical device (31) and a control unit (37) as seen in Figure 3. Pieger teaches that the blade device comprises a coater element for applying or removing a powder material to or from the building panel (¶ 0027). Pieger teaches that the optical device comprises an optical element for reception of image data from the building panel and/or powder layer (¶ 0030). Pieger teaches that the lifting device is configured to raise and/or lower the build panel (¶ 0038-0041). Pieger teaches that the control unit is adapted to control the lifting device based on the image data (¶ 0049-0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nicase (FR 3058354 A1, machine translation provided for citation).
With regards to claims 2 and 3, Pieger teaches a recoating device for a powder bed additive manufacturing system as applied to claim 1 above, but does not teach that the blade recoating device comprises a blade turret.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nicase teaches a tool holder for the blade of a powder bed fusion device that serves to spread powder (pg 2) in which the blade holding device is seen in Figure 4 and comprises a cylindrical base body with plurality of receptacles into which blades (2) are inserted and provides operation in which the tool is designed to be able to rotate in order to replace the blade utilized during operation without halting operations (pg 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the blade turret design of Nicase in the process of Pieger as both relate to powder bed fusion devices comprising a blade element presenting a reasonable expectation of success, doing so allows for easily replacing a damaged blade without ceasing operations, and this represents use of a known improvement to improve a similar device in the same way.
With regards to claims 4 and 5, Nicase teaches that the turret comprises at least 4 receptions in which an object can be inserted. The phrase “into which a cleaning element for removing powder residues to be inserted” is an intended use of the receptacle as “to be inserted” is not positively stating that the device comprises a cleaning element for removing powder residue. As the device of Pieger in view of Nicase includes additional receptacles into which elements can be inserted it is interpreted to read upon the positively recited structure. Claim 5 also does not positively recite the illumination element.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Martin et al. (US 2018/0370142).
With regards to claim 6, Pieger teaches using a camera to image the powder bed for real time control using an off-axis camera (Fig. 3) as applied to claim 1 above, but does not explicitly teach using a camera with a filter for a wavelength between 820-870 nm imaging.
In a similar field of endeavor, Martin teaches camera devices for in situ monitoring and control of powder bed additive manufacturing (Abstract, Fig. 1). Martin teaches that known cameras for in situ control include near infrared filtered cameras 750-1400 nm (¶ 0011). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate a NIR camera for in situ monitoring and control in the device of Pieger as both relate to imaged based control of powder bed additive manufacturing presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and Pieger does not teach any specific camera prompting one of ordinary skill to look to related art. The particular band of 820-870 nm is obvious through routine optimization of the workable range of NIR taught by Martin in the absence of new or unexpected results.
Claim(s) 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nicase (FR 3058354 A1, machine translation provided for citation) and Zhao et al. (CN 108859108 A).
With regards to claim 7, Pieger teaches a recoating device for a powder bed additive manufacturing system as applied to claim 1 above, but does not teach that the blade recoating device comprises a blade turret.
In a similar field of endeavor, Nicase teaches a tool holder for the blade of a powder bed fusion device that serves to spread powder (pg 2) in which the blade holding device is seen in Figure 4 and comprises a cylindrical base body with plurality of receptacles into which blades (2) are inserted and provides operation in which the tool is designed to be able to rotate in order to replace the blade utilized during operation without halting operations (pg 3-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to utilize the blade turret design of Nicase in the process of Pieger as both relate to powder bed fusion devices comprising a blade element presenting a reasonable expectation of success, doing so allows for easily replacing a damaged blade without ceasing operations, and this represents use of a known improvement to improve a similar device in the same way.
Modified Pieger does not teach a releasable attachment mechanism. In a similar field of endeavor, Zhao teaches a quick change connection for a scraper device in a powder spreader including for cylindrical spreaders (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, pg 1, pg 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize a quick change release mechanism as taught by Zhao as doing so utilizes a known improvement to improve a similar device in the same way yielding predictable results and there is a reasonable expectation of success as all three relate to powder spreading devices.
With regards to claim 8, Nicase teaches that the turret comprises releasable fastening devices (clamps) as seen in Figure 6. The limitation “for releasably fastening a container lid of a building container and/or a powder container” represents an intended use of the releasable fastening element. There does not appear to be any additional structure required to releasably fasten a lid which is interpreted under a broadest reasonable interpretation to be generally a thin covering. The manner in which a device is operated does not structurally distinguish an apparatus from the prior art.
With regards to claim 9, Nicase teaches that the height of a blade can be positioned and then torqued in place (pg 4-5).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kelkar et al. (US 2019/0060998 A1).
With regards to claim 10, Pieger teaches a powder bed additive manufacturing system with a recoater as applied to claim 1 above, but does not teach including a distance sensor for detecting the distance between the build panel and the coater.
In a similar field of endeavor, Kelkar teaches that it was known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate Z-height sensors (316, 317) on a recoating element of a powder based additive manufacturing device (Abstract, Fig. 3A) in order to improve powder spread control (¶ 0046). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to incorporate a distance sensor in the device of Pieger as both Kelar and Pieger relate to powder based additive manufacturing systems with a powder spreader presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so utilizes a known sensor for a known purpose yielding a predictable result.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jacquemetton et al. (2019/0134754 A1).
With regards to claim 11, Pieger teaches a powder based additive manufacturing system comprising a recoater arm, but does not teach that the recoater includes a contact sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Jacquemetton teaches that it was known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to include a number of sensors in additive manufacturing systems including contact sensors on the recoater arm that make contact with the bed below (¶ 0037-0038). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize known sensors for the same purpose in the additive system of Pieger as both relate to powder based additive manufacturing presenting a reasonable expectation of success, and doing so utilizes a known sensor for its intended purpose yielding predictable results.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pieger (US 2019/0263062 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Madigan et al. (2019/0039318 A1).
With regards to claim 12, Pieger teaches a powder bed fusion additive manufacturing system comprising a controller and in situ monitoring, but does not teach including an on-axis sensor.
In a similar field of endeavor, Madigan teaches that it was known in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to incorporate on-axis sensors (109) in the additive manufacturing device for detecting emission from the process area (Fig. 1A, ¶ 0039-0041). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to utilize known sensors for control of a powder bed fusion device for their known purpose presenting a reasonable expectation of success and both Madigan and Pieger relate to controlled powder bed fusion systems.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
WO 2008/064620 A1 – Figure 7
US 2016/0121397 A1 – Figure 1
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743