DETAILED ACTION
A summary of this action:
Claims 1-20 have been presented for examination.
This action is non-Final.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim contains "N layers of shields at least one of two ends in a working direction of the magnetic shielding apparatus, and/or there is an assembly gap between adjacent shields in the N layers of shields" yet includes "and" that requires all possibilities. For the purposes of examination, "and/or" will be interpreted as "or" to correctly match " N layers of shields at least one of two ends" required by the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea of a mental process or mathematical concept without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 1-17 are directed to a method, which is a process and is a statutory category invention. Claims 18-20 are directed to a device or an apparatus, which is a system and is a statutory invention. Therefore, claims 1-20 are directed to patent eligible categories of invention.
Claim 1
Step 2A, Prong 1: Independent claims 18 and 19 and dependent claim 20, as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “processor,” “memory,” “electronic device,” and “magnetic shield apparatus,” “nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind.
Independent claim 1, recites determining a region of interest inside the magnetic shielding apparatus, the region of interest being a region where a magnetic shielding effect is expected, and the magnetic shielding apparatus comprising N layers of shields disposed in a nested manner, which is an abstract idea and covers mental processes of assessing a region of interest inside the magnetic shield apparatus where a magnetic shielding effect is expected, as described in [0007] of the specification, because the claims are derived from Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Independent claim 1, recites determining a complete parameter set, the complete parameter set being configured to describe a geometric structure of at least one layer of shield in the N layers of shields and a relative positional relationship between the region of interest and each layer of shield in the at least one layer of shield, which is an abstract idea and covers mental processes of assessing a complete parameter set that is configured to describe a geometric structure and a relative positional relationship between the region of interest, as described in [0008] of the specification, because the claims are derived from Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Independent claim 19, recites N layers of shields nested together, wherein N>1, and the magnetic shielding apparatus is designed based on the method for designing a magnetic shielding apparatus, which is an abstract idea and covers mental processes of assessing methods of implementing an optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters for a magnetic shielding apparatus, as described in [0045] of the specification, because the claims are derived from Mental Processes based on concepts performed in the human mind or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Thus, the claims recite the abstract idea of a mental process performed in the human mind, or with the aid of pencil and paper.
Dependent claims 2-17 and 20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims. See analysis below.
Step 2A, Prong 2: The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Independent claims 18 recites the additional limitation “processor,” “memory,” and “electronic device,” independent claim 19 and dependent claim 20 recite “magnetic shield apparatus,” this limitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Alternatively, this additional element merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional recited claim 1 limitation obtaining, based on the complete parameter set, a set of result parameters for describing the geometric structure, wherein the set of result parameters enable magnetic flux density in the region of interest to meet a preset threshold, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional claim 2 limitation of inputting the complete parameter set as independent variables and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest as a dependent variable into a derivative-free optimization model to obtain a set of optimal parameters though calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional recited claim 3 limitation of obtaining optimization parameters based on the complete parameter set through calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional recited claim 3 limitation of converting the optimization parameters into the magnetic flux density by using a method for obtaining magnetic field distribution of the magnetic shielding apparatus from the 10 geometric structure, are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
The additional recited claim 3 limitation of obtaining the optimal parameters and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest of the magnetic shielding apparatus with the optimal parameters by using repeated calculation or iterative calculation during calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional claim 9 limitation of obtaining, based on the constraints and the complete parameter set, the set of result parameters for describing the geometric structure, wherein the constraints limit a range of parameters in the complete parameter set, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional recited claim 10 limitation of obtaining, based on the complete parameter set, parameters that describe differential characteristics of the geometric structure in the first-level generalized coordinates, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
The additional recited claim 18 limitation of store instructions executable by the processor are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
The additional recited claim 18 limitation of perform the method for designing a magnetic shielding apparatus are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Dependent claims 2-17 and 20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims, and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in to determine whether they integrate the exception into a practical application. Therefore, the dependent claims do not integrate the claimed invention into a practical application.
Step 2B:
The claims do not amount to significantly more. The judicial exception does not amount to significantly more. Independent claims 18 recites the additional limitation “processor,” “memory,” and “electronic device,” independent claim 19 and dependent claim 20 recite “magnetic shield apparatus,” this limitation does not amount to significantly more because it is nothing more than generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Alternatively, this additional element merely uses a computer device as a tool to perform the abstract idea. (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional recited claim 1 limitation obtaining, based on the complete parameter set, a set of result parameters for describing the geometric structure, wherein the set of result parameters enable magnetic flux density in the region of interest to meet a preset threshold, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception does not amount to significantly more.
The additional claim 2 limitation of inputting the complete parameter set as independent variables and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest as a dependent variable into a derivative-free optimization model to obtain a set of optimal parameters though calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception does not amount to significantly more.
The additional recited claim 3 limitation of obtaining optimization parameters based on the complete parameter set through calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception does not amount to significantly more.
The additional recited claim 3 limitation of converting the optimization parameters into the magnetic flux density by using a method for obtaining magnetic field distribution of the magnetic shielding apparatus from the geometric structure, are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not amount to significantly more. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
The additional recited claim 3 limitation of obtaining the optimal parameters and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest of the magnetic shielding apparatus with the optimal parameters by using repeated calculation or iterative calculation during calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception does not amount to significantly more.
The additional claim 9 limitation of obtaining, based on the constraints and the complete parameter set, the set of result parameters for describing the geometric structure, wherein the constraints limit a range of parameters in the complete parameter set, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception does not amount to significantly more.
The additional recited claim 10 limitation of obtaining, based on the complete parameter set, parameters that describe differential characteristics of the geometric structure in the first-level generalized coordinates, can be viewed as is insignificant extra-solution activity, specifically pertaining to mere data gathering/output necessary to perform the abstract idea (MPEP 2106.05(g)) and does not amount to significantly more. This is akin to selecting information, based on types of information and availability of information in a power-grid environment, for collection, analysis and display, which has been identified as extra solution activity. Therefore, the judicial exception does not amount to significantly more.
The additional recited claim 18 limitation of store instructions executable by the processor are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not amount to significantly more. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
The additional recited claim 18 limitation of perform the method for designing a magnetic shielding apparatus are mere instructions to implement an abstract idea using a computer in its ordinary capacity, or merely uses the computer as a tool to perform the identified abstract idea. See MPEP (2106.05(f)) Use of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a mental process) does not amount to significantly more. (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
Dependent claims 2-17 and 20 further narrow the abstract ideas, identified in the independent claims, and do not introduce further additional elements for consideration beyond those addressed above. The additional elements have been considered both individually and as an ordered combination in to determine whether they amount to significantly more. Therefore, the dependent claims do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, the claims as a whole does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements, when considered alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
As stated in Section I.B. of the December 16, 2014 101 Examination Guidelines, “[t]o be patent-eligible, a claim that is directed to a judicial exception must include additional features to ensure that the claim describes a process or product that applies the exception in a meaningful way, such that it is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception.”
The dependent claims include the same abstract ideas recited as recited in the independent claims, and merely incorporate additional details that narrow the abstract ideas and fail to add significantly more to the claims.
Dependent claim 2 recites “wherein the independent variables comprise non-monotonically increasing independent variables, and the dependent variable does not increase monotonically when the non-monotonically increasing independent variables increase, and constants are set to define upper bounds of the non-monotonically increasing independent variables in the derivative-free optimization model,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 2 recites “verifying whether the non-monotonically increasing independent variables in the optimal parameters reach the upper bounds defined by the constants,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 2 recites “if yes, increasing the constants in the derivative-free optimization model and then re-executing the step of inputting the complete parameter set as independent variables and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest as a dependent variable into a derivative-free optimization model,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 2 recites “if no, verifying whether the magnetic flux density in the region of interest of the magnetic shielding apparatus with the optimal parameters meets the preset threshold; and if yes, outputting results, and the results output are the set of result parameters; if no, adjusting an input of the derivative-free optimization model, and then re-executing calculation of the derivative-free optimization model,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 4 recites “wherein the method for obtaining magnetic field distribution of the magnetic shielding apparatus from the geometric structure comprises a finite element method, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 5 recites “wherein basic geometric structures of the N layers of shields are the same and all have symmetry, and the region of interest is a three-dimensional space,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 6 recites “wherein a center of the region of interest is on a symmetry plane of the N layers of shields, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 7 recites “wherein the region of interest has axial symmetry, and an axis of symmetry of the region of interest coincides with an axis of symmetry of the N layers of shields,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 8 recites “determining basic parameters of the magnetic shielding apparatus based on the preset threshold of the magnetic flux density of the region of interest,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 8 recites “determining the complete parameter set based on the basic parameters, wherein the basic parameters comp1ise parameters used to represent a basic geometric structure of the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 8 recites “a quantity of layers of shields comprised by the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 8 recites “materials of the N layers of shields, a thickness of each layer of shields, a size of the region of interest,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 8 recites “a position of the region of interest relative to the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 9 recites “determining constraints,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 10 recites “selecting, based on the complete parameter set, independent parameters having the same quantity of parameters as the complete parameter set, wherein the independent parameters have the same completeness as the complete parameter set to completely describe the geometric structure, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 10 recites “constructing first-level generalized coordinates based on the independent parameters, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 11 recites “constructing second-level generalized coordinates based on the first-level generalized coordinates, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 11 recites “normalizing the first-level generalized coordinates by using the second-level generalized coordinates, which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 12 recites “wherein the basic geometric structure of the magnetic shielding apparatus is a geometric structure provided with at least one opening, centers of the basic geometric structures of the N layers of shields do not coincide with each other, and the opening connects the region of interest with outer space of the N layers of shields,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 13 recites “wherein the basic geometric structure of the magnetic shielding apparatus is a cylindrical structure with cylindrical symmetry and a single end open,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 13 recites “a ring structure extending in a direction from an outer edge of the shield to an axis of symmetry of the cylindrical structure is provided at an opening of at least one layer of shield in the N - 1 layers of shields,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 13 recites “ring structure shields a gap, perpendicular to a direction of the axis of symmetry, between adjacent shields,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 13 recites “the complete parameter set is used to represent parameters of a symmetrical section of the cylindrical structure,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 14 recites “wherein an opening of each of N - 1 layers of shields, in the layers of shields, except an innermost layer of shield is provided with the ring structure,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 15 recites “wherein the parameters in the complete parameter set comprise a radius Ri of a bottom surface of the cylindrical structure, an axial distance LAi from the bottom surface of the cylindrical structure to a center of the 20 region of interest, an axial distance LBi from each layer of shield in the N layers of shields to the center of the region of interest, and a width Ci of the ring structure, wherein i denotes the ith layer of shield,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 15 recites “when each layer of shield in the N layers of shields is provided with the ring structure, LBi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 15 recites “when at least one layer of shield in the N layers of shields is not provided with the ring structure, for a shield not provided with the ring structure, LBi is an axial distance from an outer edge of the shield not provided with the ring structure to the center of the region of interest; and for the shield, in the N layers of shields, provided with the ring structure, LBi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 16 recites “an outer-size constraint, used to define a maximum outer boundary of the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 16 recites “an inner-size constraint, used to define a minimum internal space of the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 16 recites “a spacing constraint, used to define a minimum spacing between adjacent shields,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 16 recites “a minimum-width constraint, used to define a minimum width of the ring structure,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 16 recites “a region-of-interest constraint, used to define a minimum axial distance from the region of interest to a bottom surface of the innermost layer of shield of the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 17 recites “wherein the constraints further comprise an additional constraint, and the additional constraint is used to limit a radius difference of outer layers of adjacent shields to be greater than that of inner layers of the adjacent shields, namely Ri+1 - Ri > Ri - Ri-1·,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process” or in the alternative a “Mathematical Concept.”
Dependent claim 19 recites “N layers of shields nested together, wherein N>l, and the magnetic shielding apparatus is designed based on the method for designing a magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 20 recites “wherein there is a length difference between adjacent shields of the N layers of shields at least one of two ends in a working direction of the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 20 recites “there is an assembly gap between adjacent shields in the N layers of shields in a direction perpendicular to a working direction of the magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 20 recites “the length difference and the assembly gap are designed based on the method for designing a magnetic shielding apparatus,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process.”
Dependent claim 20 recites “at least three layers of shields are provided for the N layers of shields, and at least two assembly gaps between every two adjacent shields are not equal and/or at least two length differences between every two adjacent shields are not equal,” which further narrows the abstract idea identified in the independent claim, which is directed to a “Mental Process” or in the alternative a “Mathematical Concept.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by KONG (CN 106845045 A), herein KONG.
Claim 1
Claim 1 is rejected because KONG anticipates determining a region of interest inside the magnetic shielding apparatus, the region of interest being a region where a magnetic shielding effect is expected, and the magnetic shielding apparatus comprising N layers of shields disposed in a nested manner KONG ([Abstract] The invention provides a design method and system for a magnetic shielding room (region of interest), comprising the following steps: based on the determined shielding space, constructing a mechanical model of a magnetic shielding room with multiple shielding layers (comprising N layers of shields); based on the mechanical model, according to different adjacent shielding layer interval, calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center (region of interest) of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber (magnetic shielding apparatus), and obtain the optimal interval between adjacent shielding layers (where a magnetic shielding effect is expected); based on the mechanical model, determine the total thickness of the multi-layer shielding layer (comprising N layers of shields), and calculate the thickness ratio of different shielding layers. The corresponding shielding effectiveness at the inner center (region of interest) of the magnetic shielding chamber obtains the optimum thickness of each shielding layer.”) See also KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “In the Ansys Maxwell simulation software, select the solver type Transient, and establish a two-layer nest (disposed in a nested manner) with an inner space of 2.5 x 2.5 x 2.4m3, the thickness of the inner and outer shielding materials is 2 mm, and the spacing is 0.2 m (set randomly). The cubic structure of the specified shielding material is Permalloy, and its magnetization curve is shown in Figure 4.”)
KONG also anticipates determining a complete parameter set, the complete parameter set being configured to describe a geometric structure of at least one layer of shield in the N layers of shields and a relative positional relationship between the region of interest and each layer of shield in the at least one layer of shield ([Content of the Invention | pdf page 2 of 8] “In order to achieve the above object and other related objects, the present invention provides a method for designing a magnetic shielding room (determining a complete parameter set), comprising the following steps: based on the determined shielding space (complete parameter set being configured to describe a geometric structure), constructing a mechanical model of a magnetic shielding room (region of interest) with multiple shielding layers (of at least one layer of shield in the N layers of shields); based on the mechanical model , according to the intervals of different adjacent shielding layers (relative positional relationship, calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center (relative positional relationship) of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber (between the region of interest), and obtain the optimal interval of adjacent shielding layers (each layer of shield in the at least one layer of shield).”)
KONG also anticipates obtaining, based on the complete parameter set, a set of result parameters for describing the geometric structure, wherein the set of result parameters enable magnetic flux density in the region of interest to meet a preset threshold KONG ([Content of the Invention | pdf page 2 of 8] “based on the mechanical model, determine the total thickness of the multi-layer shielding layer, calculate the thickness ratios of different shielding layers correspond to the shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber to obtain the optimum thickness of each shielding layer. In one embodiment of the present invention, according to the formula, calculate the shielding effectiveness at the inner center of the magnetic shielding room, wherein Bout represents the magnetic field size outside the magnetic shielding room, and B in represents the magnetic field size at the inner center of the magnetic shielding room.”) See also KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 5 of 8] “Specifically, after selecting the distance between the inner and outer shielding layers as 200 mm, first determine the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers, and then adjust the ratio of the thickness of the inner and outer layers. Taking the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers as 10mm as an example, adjust the thickness of the inner shielding layer in step 1) within a range of 1 mm-9 mm.”) Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 2
Claim 2 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 1 limitations.
KONG also anticipates inputting the complete parameter set as independent variables and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest as a dependent variable into a derivative-free optimization model to obtain a set of optimal parameters though calculation of the derivative-free optimization model KONG ([x] “It should be noted that the shielding material used in the above-mentioned magnetic shielding room is Permalloy, and its relative permeability is about 20,000 in the environment of an external 1 Hz sinusoidal alternating electromagnetic field. In the actual construction of a magnetic shielding room, due to the magnetic flux leakage path including doors, openings, etc., considering the magnetic permeability of the shielding material and material defects, the actual shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding room will be lower than the shielding calculated above. efficacy. The above calculation results only provide a reference for the actual structure
of the magnetic shielding room, rather than an absolute value of shielding effectiveness.” See also KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf pages 4-5] “First, based on the determined shielding space, a mechanical model of a magnetic shielding room with inner and outer shielding layers is constructed. Specifically include the following steps 1) In the Ansys Maxwell simulation software, select the solver type Transient, and establish a two-layer nest with an inner space of 2.5x2.5x2.4m 3 , the thickness of the inner and outer shielding materials is 2mm, and the spacing is 0.2m (set randomly). The cubic structure of the specified shielding material is Permalloy, and its magnetization curve is shown in Figure 4.”)
KONG also anticipates verifying whether the non-monotonically increasing independent variables in the optimal parameters reach the upper bounds defined by the constants, if yes, increasing the constants in the derivative-free optimization model and then re-executing the step of inputting the complete parameter set as independent variables and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest as a dependent variable into a derivative-free optimization model, if no, verifying whether the magnetic flux density in the region of interest of the magnetic shielding apparatus with the optimal parameters meets the preset threshold; and if yes, outputting results, and the results output are the set of result parameters; if no, adjusting an input of the derivative-free optimization model, and then re-executing calculation of the derivative-free optimization model KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “Correspondingly, the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is set (adjusting an input) to 15 mm and 20 mm (meets the preset threshold), and the above calculation is repeated (then re-executing calculation of the derivative-free optimization model), it can be obtained that when the thicknesses of the inner and outer shielding layers are both 7.5mm and 10mm, the best shielding effectiveness can be obtained at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber. Therefore, it can be confirmed that when the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is constant, the best shielding effectiveness can be obtained at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber when the thicknesses of the inner and outer shielding layers are equal.”) See also KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 5 of 8] “Specifically, after selecting the distance between the inner and outer shielding layers as 200mm, first determine the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers, and then adjust the ratio of the thickness of the inner and outer layers. Taking the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers as 10mm as an example, adjust the thickness of the inner shielding layer in step 1) within a range of 1 mm-9mm. For each change, calculate the size of the shielding effectiveness SE at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber. Plot the dependence of shielding effectiveness SE on the thickness of inner and outer layers. At the same time, in order to avoid accidental, increase the total thickness of 15mm and 20mm, repeat the above steps. Finally, it is obtained that when the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is constant, the best shielding effectiveness can be obtained at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber when the thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is equal. Therefore, when the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is 1 0mm, 15mm and 20mm respectively, the thicknesses of the inner and outer shielding layers are 5mm, 7.5mm and 10mm respectively, and the corresponding optimal shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber is about 69.2dB , 75.9dB and 80.7dB. Through the above steps, the optimal structural design of the magnetic shielding room with a shielding space of 2.5x2.5x2.4m3 (equivalent to the region of interest being a three-dimensional space) can be obtained: the interval between the inner and outer shielding layers is 0.2m, the distribution ratio of the thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is 1 :1, and the thickness of a single shielding layer 2.5mm, the shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding room is about 57 .8dB.”) Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 3
Claim 3 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 2 limitations.
KONG anticipates obtaining optimization parameters based on the complete parameter set through calculation of the derivative-free optimization model KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 5 of 8] “Next, in the above mechanical model, according to different intervals between the inner and outer shielding layers, the shielding effectiveness at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber is calculated to obtain the optimal interval between the inner and outer shielding layers…Specifically, adjust the size of the spacing in step 1), and change the spacing within the range of 100 mm to 800 mm. For each change, calculate the size of the shielding effectiveness SE at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber. After traversing the range of 100 mm- 800 mm, draw the dependence diagram of the shielding effectiveness SE on the distance I!.. It can be seen from the figure that when the spacing l!.=200mm, the optimal shielding effectiveness SE opt =49.5dB is obtained, and the shielding room corresponding to this spacing occupies a small space and the construction cost is low.”)
KONG also anticipates converting the optimization parameters into the magnetic flux density by using a method for obtaining magnetic field distribution of the magnetic shielding apparatus from the geometric structure, It should be noted that the shielding material used in the above-mentioned magnetic shielding room is Permalloy, and its relative permeability is about 20,000 in the environment of an external 1 Hz sinusoidal alternating electromagnetic field. In the actual construction of a magnetic shielding room, due to the magnetic flux leakage path including doors, openings, etc., considering the magnetic permeability of the shielding material and material defects, the actual shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding room will be lower than the shielding calculated above. efficacy. The above calculation results only provide a reference for the actual structure of the magnetic shielding room, rather than an absolute value of shielding effectiveness.
KONG also anticipates obtaining the optimal parameters and the magnetic flux density in the region of interest of the magnetic shielding apparatus with the optimal parameters by using repeated calculation or iterative calculation during calculation of the derivative-free optimization model, Next, in the above mechanical model, according to different intervals between the inner and outer shielding layers, the shielding effectiveness at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber is calculated to obtain the optimal interval between the inner and outer shielding layers. Specifically, adjust the size of the spacing in step 1 ), and change the spacing within the range of 1 00mm to 800mm. For each change, calculate the size of the shielding effectiveness SE at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber. After traversing the range of 100mm-800mm, draw the dependence diagram of the shielding effectiveness SE on the distance I!.. It can be seen from the figure that when the spacing Δ = 200mm, the optimal shielding effectiveness SEopt = 49.5dB is obtained, and the shielding room corresponding to this spacing occupies a small space and the construction cost is low. Finally, in the above mechanical model, the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is determined, and the shielding effectiveness at the inner center of the magnetic shielding chamber corresponding to different thickness ratios of the inner and outer shielding layers is calculated to obtain the optimal thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers… It should be noted that the shielding material used in the above-mentioned magnetic shielding room is Permalloy, and its relative permeability is about 20,000 in the environment of an external 1 Hz sinusoidal alternating electromagnetic field. In the actual construction of a magnetic shielding room, due to the magnetic flux leakage path including doors, openings, etc., considering the magnetic permeability of the shielding material and material defects, the actual shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding room will be lower than the shielding calculated above. efficacy. The above calculation results only provide a reference for the actual structure of the magnetic shielding room, rather than an absolute value of shielding effectiveness.”) Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 4
Claim 4 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 3 limitations.
KONG anticipates wherein the method for obtaining magnetic field distribution of the magnetic shielding apparatus from the geometric structure comprises a finite element method KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 5 of 8] “The space of the finite element integration is selected to be 1.4 times of the entire model space, and the boundary conditions for the calculation of the space field are determined to ensure the validity and efficiency of the calculation.”) Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 5
Claim 5 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 1 limitations.
KONG anticipates wherein basic geometric structures of the N layers of shields are the same and all have symmetry, and the region of interest is a three-dimensional space KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 6 of 8] “Correspondingly, for a magnetic shielding room with multiple shielding layers, after determining the total thickness of the multilayer shielding layers, when the thickness of each shielding layer is equal, the corresponding inner center of the magnetic shielding room has the best shielding effect. That is, the optimal thickness of each shielding layer is equal. In this example, Ansys Maxwell simulation software is used to design a magnetic shielding room, which is suitable for high-permeability shielding materials and AC electromagnetic fields at 1000 Hz. It should be noted that different simulation tools can be used, but the basic idea of magnetic shielding room design is completely the same. The magnetic shielding room of the present invention can be designed into magnetic shielding rooms with structures such as cubes and cylinders, and has a high degree of universality.”) Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 6
Claim 6 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 5 limitations.
KONG anticipates wherein a center of the region of interest is on a symmetry plane of the N layers of shields KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 6 of 8] “Every time there is a change, the shielding effectiveness SE at the center inside the magnetic shielding chamber (a center of the region of interest) is recalculated. After traversing the range from 100mm to 800mm, the dependence diagram of the shielding effectiveness SE on the interval ti. between the inner and outer shielding layers (on a symmetry plane of the N layers of shields) can be obtained as shown in Figure 2..”) Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 7
Claim 7 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 5 limitations.
KONG anticipates wherein the region of interest has axial symmetry, and an axis of symmetry of the region of interest coincides with an axis of symmetry of the N layers of shields KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “Wherein, the value of k is an approximate value. Simplify variable X 1 /X 2 =a, when the masking space is determined, let is a constant, then according to The k-factor of a shielded room with a special shape can be calculated. In the spherical shielding model, k=3; in the cylindrical shielding model, k=2 for lateral SE calculation, and k=1 for axial SE calculation.”) See also KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 6 of 8] “Wherein, the value of k is an approximate value. Simplify variable X 1 /X 2 =a, when the masking space is determined, let is a constant, then according to The k-factor of a shielded room with a special shape can be calculated. In the spherical shielding model, k=3; in the cylindrical shielding model, k=2 for lateral SE calculation, and k=l for axial SE calculation. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 8
Claim 8 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 1 limitations.
KONG anticipates determining basic parameters of the magnetic shielding apparatus based on the preset threshold of the magnetic flux density of the region of interest KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “In this example, Ansys Maxwell simulation software is used to design a magnetic shielding room, which is suitable for high-permeability shielding materials and AC electromagnetic fields at 1000 Hz. It should be noted that different simulation tools can be used, but the basic idea of magnetic shielding room design is completely the same. The magnetic shielding room of the present invention can be designed into magnetic shielding rooms with structures such as cubes and cylinders, and has a high degree of universality.”)
KONG also anticipates determining the complete parameter set based on the basic parameters, wherein the basic parameters comprise parameters used to represent a basic geometric structure of the magnetic shielding apparatus KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] ”According to the actual simulation calculation, when the total thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is 10mm, 15mm and 20mm respectively, that is, the corresponding thicknesses of the inner and outer shielding layers are 5mm, 7.5mm and 10mm respectively, the corresponding shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber is respectively Approximately 69.2dB, 75.9dB and 80.7dB. In the actual construction of the magnetic shielding room, the material usually used is permalloy, and its single layer thickness is generally below 3mm. Therefore, when building a magnetic shielding room, the following parameters can be used: the distance between the inner and outer shielding layers is 0.2m, and the thickness of the inner and outer shielding layers is 2.5mm, so the shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding room is about 57.BdB.”)
KONG also anticipates a quantity of layers of shields comprised by the magnetic shielding apparatus KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] ” Step S2 , based on the mechanical model, and according to different intervals between adjacent shielding layers, calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber, and obtain the optimal interval between adjacent shielding layers.”)
KONG also anticipates materials of the N layers of shields, a thickness of each layer of shields, a size of the region of interest KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] ” For the magnetic shielding room with two shielding layers, in step S1, according to the size of the reset shielding space, the thickness of the conventional shielding layer is selected, and the mechanical model of the magnetic shielding room is established. In step S2, the interval Δ between the inner and outer shielding layers is changed within the range of 100 mm to 800 mm.”)
KONG also anticipates a position of the region of interest relative to the magnetic shielding apparatus KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 2 of 8] “In order to achieve the above object and other related objects, the present invention provides a method for designing a magnetic shielding room, comprising the following steps: based on the determined shielding space, constructing a mechanical model of a magnetic shielding room with multiple shielding layers; based on the mechanical model , according to the intervals of different adjacent shielding layers, calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center (position of the region of interest) of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber (relative to the magnetic shielding apparatus), and obtain the optimal interval of adjacent shielding layers; based on the mechanical model, determine the total thickness of the multi-layer shielding layer, calculate The thickness ratios of different shielding layers correspond to the shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber to obtain the optimum thickness of each shielding layer.”) Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 9
Claim 9 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 1 limitations.
KONG anticipates determining constraints KONG ([Claims | pdf page 2 of 8] “the coefficient k is determined by the shape of the magnetic shielding room.
KONG also anticipates obtaining, based on the constraints and the complete parameter set, the set of result parameters for describing the geometric structure, wherein the constraints limit a range of parameters in the complete parameter set KONG ([Description | pdf page 2 of 8] “Permalloy refers to iron-nickel alloy, and its nickel content ranges from 35% to 90%. The biggest feature of permalloy is its high permeability in weak magnetic field. Their saturation magnetic induction is generally between 0.6T-1 .0T. The initial magnetic permeability of permalloy is generally above 1 0 4 , which can effectively shield low frequency magnetic fields; aluminum, as a material with high conductivity, can shield high-frequency magnetic fields. Therefore, permalloy and aluminum are usually used to construct magnetic shielding rooms.”) See also KONG ([Contents of the Invention | pdf page 2 of 8] “the purpose of the present invention is to provide a design method and system for a magnetic shielding room. Through theoretical simulation, according to the size of the shielding space, the thickness of each layer and the adjacent interval of the multi-layer shielding layer are determined. And estimate the shielding effectiveness, so as to guide the actual construction of the magnetic shielding room, meet the local high index requirements in the shielding space, reduce the construction cost, and facilitate the actual promotion and use.”) Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 10
Claim 10 is rejected because KONG anticipated the claim 1 limitations.
KONG anticipates selecting, based on the complete parameter set, independent parameters having the same quantity of parameters as the complete parameter set, wherein the independent parameters have the same completeness as the complete parameter set to completely describe the geometric structure KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 3 of 8] “Step S1. Based on the determined shielding space, construct a mechanical model of a magnetic shielding room with multiple shielding layers. In the present invention, the magnetic shielding room is constructed using Ansys Maxwell simulation software. Ansys Maxwell, as the industry's top electromagnetic field simulation analysis software, can help engineers complete 3D/2D finite element simulation analysis of electromagnetic equipment and electromechanical equipment, such as performance analysis of motors, actuators, transformers, sensors, and coils. Maxwell uses finite element algorithm to complete static, frequency domain and time domain magnetic and electric field simulation analysis. Specifically, when constructing the mechanical model of the magnetic shielding room with multiple shielding layers, the following operations are performed in the Ansys Maxwell simulation software: (1) Select the solver type, and establish the mechanical model of the magnetic shielding room according to the preset size, number of layers, spacing and materials; (2) Establish a coil model concentric with the mechanical model and close in size outside the magnetic shielding room; (3) Select the space for finite element integration, and determine the boundary conditions for space field calculations to ensure the validity and efficiency of calculations; (4) Create and set coil loading current source excitation; set calculation parameters and adaptive calculation parameters, check and run, check the results and calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding chamber.”)
KONG also anticipates constructing first-level generalized coordinates based on the independent parameters KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 3 of 8] “In an embodiment of the present invention, in the first acquisition module and the second acquisition module, when the magnetic shielding room includes two shielding layers, according to the formula calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center of the interior of the magnetic shielding chamber, wherein X 1 and X 2 are the dimensions (constructing first-level generalized coordinates) of the first layer and the second layer respectively, and μ 1 and μ 2 are the magnetic permeability of the first layer and the second layer material respectively rate, t 1 and t 2 are the thicknesses of the first layer and the second layer respectively, and the coefficient k (based on the independent parameters) is determined by the shape of the magnetic shielding room.”)
KONG also anticipates obtaining, based on the complete parameter set, parameters that describe differential characteristics of the geometric structure in the first-level generalized coordinates KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “Step S2 , based on the mechanical model, and according to different intervals between adjacent shielding layers, calculate the shielding effectiveness at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber, and obtain the optimal interval between adjacent shielding layers. For the magnetic shielding room with two shielding layers (in the first-level generalized coordinates), in step S1, according to the size of the preset shielding space, the thickness of the conventional shielding layer is selected, and the mechanical model of the magnetic shielding room is established (based on the complete parameter set). In step S2, the interval Δ between the inner and outer shielding layers is changed within the range of 100 mm to 800 mm (describe differential characteristics of the geometric structure). Every time there is a change, the shielding effectiveness SE at the center inside the magnetic shielding chamber is recalculated. After traversing the range from 1 00mm to 800mm, the dependence diagram of the shielding effectiveness SE on the interval Δ between the inner and outer shielding layers can be obtained as shown in Figure 2.”) Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected based on the this reference.
Claim 12
Claim 12 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 1 limitations.
KONG anticipates wherein the basic geometric structure of the magnetic shielding apparatus is a geometric structure provided with at least one opening, centers of the basic geometric structures of the N layers of shields do not coincide with each other, and the opening connects the region of interest with outer space of the N layers of shields KONG ([Contents of the Invention | pdf page 5 of 8] “First, based on the determined shielding space, a mechanical model of a magnetic shielding room (basic geometric structure) with inner and outer shielding layers (N layers of shields where inner and outer shielding layers do not coincide with each other) is constructed (magnetic shielding apparatus)... Next, in the above mechanical model, according to different intervals between the inner and outer shielding layers (of the N layers of shields), the shielding effectiveness at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber (centers of the basic geometric structures) is calculated to obtain the optimal interval between the inner and outer shielding layers... It should be noted that the shielding material used in the above-mentioned magnetic shielding room is Permalloy, and its relative permeability is about 20,000 in the environment of an external 1 Hz sinusoidal alternating electromagnetic field. In the actual construction of a magnetic shielding room, due to the magnetic flux leakage path including doors, openings (at least one opening), etc., considering the magnetic permeability of the shielding material and material defects, the actual shielding effectiveness at the center (the region of interest with outer space of the N layers of shields) of the magnetic shielding room will be lower than the shielding calculated above. efficacy. The above calculation results only provide a reference for the actual structure of the magnetic shielding room, rather than an absolute value of shielding effectiveness.”) Accordingly, claim 12 is rejected based on the combination of these references
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONG, in view of KIM (US 20180235112 A1), herein KIM.
Claim 18
Claim 18 is rejected because it is the system embodiment of claim 1, with similar limitations to claim 1, and is such rejected using the same reasoning found in claim 1.
KONG does not explicitly teach an electronic device, a processor, and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor to perform the method for designing a magnetic shielding.
However, KIM teaches an electronic device, a processor, and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor to perform the method for designing a magnetic shielding KIM ([0154] “The processing device described herein may be implemented using hardware components, software components, and/or a combination thereof. For example, the processing device and the component described herein may be implemented using one or more general-purpose or special purpose computers, such as, for example, a processor, a controller and an arithmetic logic unit (ALU), a digital signal processor, a microcomputer, a field programmable gate array (FPGA), a programmable logic unit (PLU), a microprocessor, or any other device capable of responding to and executing instructions in a defined manner.”) See also KIM ([0155] “The processing device may run an operating system (OS) and one or more software applications that run on the OS. The processing device also may access, store, manipulate, process, and create data in response to execution of the software.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of KIM with KONG, as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. KIM would modify KONG wherein an electronic device, a processor, and a memory configured to store instructions executable by the processor to perform the method for designing a magnetic shielding. The benefits of doing so minimizes an influence of a leaked magnetic field that is not received by an energy receiver during wireless energy transmission from an energy transmitter to the energy receiver. (KIM [0006]). Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claims 11 is rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONG, in view of LV (Optimal Design of Magnetic Shielding Device Based on Seeker Optimization Algorithm), herein LV.
Claim 11
Claim 11 is rejected because KONG teaches the claim 10 limitations.
KONG does not explicitly teach constructing second-level generalized coordinates based on the first-level generalized.
However, LV teaches constructing second-level generalized coordinates based on the first-level generalized coordinates LV ([Section 3.1 The Determination of the Search Step Length | pdf page 335] “By using the linear membership function, the membership degree is directly proportional to the order of the function value. That is, the maximum membership value is umax = 1.0 at the best position, the worst position has the minimum membership degree umin = 0.0111 and membership value is 0.0111 < u < 1.0 in other positions, for example (8):
In formula (8): ui is the membership degree of the objective function value i. uij is the membership degree of the objective function value i at j dimension search space. D is the dimension of search space. The formula (8) is used to simulate the randomness of human search behavior. Function rand (ui,1) (first-level generalized coordinates) is the real number distributed uniformly on the interval [ui,1]. The uncertainty reasoning obtains the membership degree uij by the formula (8), and the step length can be obtained according to the uncertain reasoning:
.
In formula (9): aij is the search step of j dimension search space. dij (constructing second-level generalized coordinates) is the parameter of
Gauss membership function.”)
LV also teaches normalizing the first-level generalized coordinates by using the second-level generalized coordinates LV ([Introduction | pdf page 331] “In theory, the more layer number and the larger thickness of the magnetic shielding device, the better the shielding performance. However, it will make the structure of the device complex, and the weight and cost will increase. Therefore, the optimization (normalizing) of structure parameters (first-level and second-level generalized coordinates) is one of the key technologies for the design of the magnetic shielding device. Li Pan analyzed and studied the influence of the structure parameters on the magnetic shielding coefficient of multilayer magnetic shield, and optimized the design (using the second-level to normalized the first-level) of the multilayer magnetic shield of nuclear magnetic resonance gyroscope [11].”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of LV with KONG as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. LV would modify KONG wherein outputting, by use of the classical computer. The benefits of doing so provides important application value in the fields of geomagnetic navigation, space engineering, space science, national defense industry, microparticle experiment where the optimization of its structure parameters has important theoretical value, economic value and engineering value in magnetic shielding devices. (LV [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 11 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claims 13-14 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONG, in view of LI (Design of high shielding effectiveness magnetic shield for fiber optic gyroscope), herein LI.
Claim 13
Claim 13 is rejected because KONG anticipates the claim 12 limitations.
KONG anticipates wherein the basic geometric structure of the magnetic shielding apparatus is a cylindrical structure with cylindrical symmetry and a single end open KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “Wherein, the value of k is an approximate value. Simplify variable X 1 /X 2 =a, when the masking space is determined, let is a constant, then according to The k-factor of a shielded room with a special shape can be calculated. In the spherical shielding model, k=3; in the cylindrical shielding model, k=2 for lateral SE calculation, and k=1 for axial SE calculation (cylindrical structure with cylindrical symmetry).”
KONG also anticipates a ring structure extending in a direction from an outer edge of the shield to an axis of symmetry of the cylindrical structure is provided at an opening of at least one layer of shield in the N - 1 layers of shields,” Specifically, the approximate formula for the influence of the shape and size of the multilayer shielding shell on the shielding effectiveness is expressed as: in, Represents multiplication operation, B out represents the magnetic field size outside the magnetic shielding room (outer edge of the shield), B in represents the magnetic field size at the center of the magnetic shielding room, Xi is the size of the ith layer, and n represents the number of shielding layers (at least one layer of shield in the N-1 layers of shields). It should be noted that the magnetic shielding room is usually a cube or a sphere, so for a cube, the size represents the side length; for a sphere, the size represents the radius (ring structure extending in a direction from an outer edge of the shield). It should be noted that, since the thickness of the shielding layer is negligible compared with the size of the shielding layer, the above X (at an opening) ; may be the size of the outer shielding layer or the size of the inner shielding layer. Therefore, the shielding effectiveness at the center of the magnetic shielding room with two layers of structure is: Wherein, i=1 or 2, μ ; is the magnetic permeability of the i-th layer material, t; is the thickness of the i-th layer, and the coefficient k is determined by the shape of the magnetic shielding room. Wherein, the value of k is an approximate value. Simplify variable X 1 /X 2 =a, when the masking space is determined, let is a constant, then according to The k-factor of a shielded room with a special shape can be calculated. In the spherical shielding model, k=3; in the cylindrical shielding model (axis of symmetry of the cylindrical structure), k=2 for lateral SE calculation, and k=1 for axial SE calculation.”
KONG does not explicitly teach ring structure shields a gap, perpendicular to a direction of the axis of symmetry, between adjacent shields.
However, LI teaches ring structure shields a gap, perpendicular to a direction of the axis of symmetry, between adjacent shields LI ([Section 2 Theory] “The arbitrary spatial magnetic field H can be decomposed into the radial magnetic field HR and the axial magnetic field HA, and its influence on the FOG can be equivalent to the sum of two mutually orthogonal magnetic fields (perpendicular to a direction of the axis of symmetry).. The shielding effectiveness of the magnetic shielding structure is closely related to the magnetic permeability of the shielding material and the thickness, gap width and via holes of the shielding structure… The shielding effectiveness of the magnetic shielding structure (ring structure) is closely related to the magnetic permeability of the shielding material and the thickness, gap width (shields a gap) and via holes of the shielding structure.”
LI also teaches “the complete parameter set is used to represent parameters of a symmetrical section of the cylindrical structure LI ([Section 3.1 Radial Magnetic Field Test] “We select three typical lines l1, l2, and l3 in the magnetic shield (complete parameter set), pick the points on it for experimental measurement and finite element simulation. The finite element simulation model of the magnetic shielding structure and the position of the lines are shown in Fig. 4. The magnetic flux density values at the corresponding points are compared to verify the feasibility of the FEM in the shielding effect calculate of magnetic shield at the radial magnetic field environment. The four fixed ports outside the cylindrical structure (cylindrical structure) are ignored in the modeling because they have no effect on the magnetic shielding performance. The lines we selected pass through the center hole, the square holes and the small via holes which makes these points representative (complete parameter set). Due to the symmetry of the magnetic field (symmetrical section) in the Helmholtz coil and the magnetic shield structure (symmetrical section), it is not necessary to measure the magnetic flux density in each quadrant. The coordinates of the points selected on the three lines are shown in Table 1.”) See also LI ([Figure 2] and [Figure3].)
LI Figure 2 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of LI with KONG as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. LI would modify KONG wherein the complete parameter set is used to represent parameters of a symmetrical section of the cylindrical structure. The benefits of doing so provides important application value in the fields of geomagnetic navigation, space engineering, space science, national defense industry, microparticle experiment where the optimization of its structure parameters has important theoretical value, economic value and engineering value in magnetic shielding devices. (LI [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim 14
Claim 14 is rejected because the combination of KONG and LI teaches the claim 13 limitations.
KONG also teaches “wherein an opening of each of N - 1 layers of shields, in the layers of shields, except an innermost layer of shield is provided with the ring structure KONG ([Description] “Under normal circumstances, low-frequency magnetic fields have more serious interference with weak magnetic fields, and the material properties, shape, size, spacing, and openings of permalloy will affect the shielding effectiveness of the shielding room. In addition, shielding materials, such as permalloy, are expensive, and the cost of building a small shielding room with a volume of 1m3 for carrying out experiments is several hundred thousand yuan. In order to obtain better shielding effectiveness, repeated trials are not possible. Therefore, for a specific magnetic shielding material, how to design a magnetic shielding room to achieve an optimal magnetic shielding performance has become an urgent technical problem to be solved.” Accordingly, claim 14 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KONG, in view of LI, in view of LV, in view of REN (Shielding Effectiveness of Double-Layer Magnetic Shield of Current Comparator Under Radial Disturbing Magnetic Field), herein REN
Claim 15
Claim 15 is rejected because the combination of KONG and LI teaches the claim 13 limitations.
The combination of KONG and LI does not explicitly teach “wherein the parameters in the complete parameter set comprise a radius Ri of a bottom surface of the cylindrical structure, an axial distance LAi from the bottom surface of the cylindrical structure to a center of the region of interest, an axial distance LBi from each layer of shield in the N layers of shields to the center of the region of interest, and a width Ci of the ring structure, wherein i denotes the ith layer of shield.”)
However, LV teaches wherein the parameters in the complete parameter set comprise a radius Ri of a bottom surface of the cylindrical structure, an axial distance LAi from the bottom surface of the cylindrical structure to a center of the region of interest LV ([Section 2.2 Calculation of Magnetic Shielding Performance | pdf page 332] “In formula (2): lr indicates the relative permeability of materials. t indicates the thickness of shielding layer. R indicates the radius (radius of a bottom surface) of shielding layer. For the cylindrical shielding device (cylindrical structure) with n layers, its axial section is shown in Fig. 2. In Fig. 2, ti; Ri and Li represent the thickness, radius and axial length (axial distance from the bottom surface) of the shielding layer respectively. DRi;iþ1 and DLi;iþ1 represent the radial interval and axial interval between the ith layer and the i + 1th layer respectively, so Riþ1 ¼ Ri þti þDRi;iþ1, Liþ1 ¼ Li þ2ti þ2DLi;iþ1.”)
LV also teaches an axial distance LBi from each layer of shield in the N layers of shields to the center of the region of interest, and a width Ci of the ring structure, wherein i denotes the fh layer of shield LV([Introduction | pdf page 330] “Although these studies have achieved good shielding effectiveness, they set the same values of material thickness t (width of the ring structure), radial interval DR and axial interval DL (axial distance LBi) in different layers (from each layer of shield in the N layers of shields) in the process of optimization, which can reduce the optimization variables and simplify the optimization problem. The reduction of variables will reduce the diversity of structure size, which limits the further improvement of magnetic shielding performance.”) See also LV ([Section 2.1 Principle of Magnetic Shielding] “In formula (1): B0 is the magnetic induction intensity before shielding. B1 is the magnetic induction intensity at the center of shielding device (center of the region of interest) after shielding. The larger the magnetic shielding coefficient is, the better the shielding effectiveness is.”)
LV also teaches when each layer of shield in the N layers of shields is provided with the ring structure, L Bi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest LV ([Introduction | pdf page 330] “In theory, the more layer number (each layer of shield in the N layers of shields) and the larger thickness (each layer of shield in the N layers of shields) of the magnetic shielding device, the better the shielding performance. However, it will make the structure (ring structure) of the device complex, and the weight and cost will increase. Therefore, the optimization of structure parameters is one of the key technologies for the design of the magnetic shielding device. Li Pan analyzed and studied the influence of the structure parameters on the magnetic shielding coefficient (L Bi is an axial distance) of multilayer magnetic shield (from a geometric center of the ring structure), and optimized the design of the multilayer magnetic shield (center of the region of interest)) of nuclear magnetic resonance gyroscope [11].”)
LV also teaches when at least one layer of shield in the N layers of shields is not provided with the ring structure, for a shield not provided with the ring structure, L Bi is an axial distance from an outer edge of the shield not provided with the ring structure to the center of the region of interest LV([2.1 Principle of Magnetic Shielding | pdf page 332] “As with the principle of the circuit, two resistors are connected in parallel, even if one of them has a large resistance, there will be current passing through. So, even if the permeability of the shielding layer is high, its internal space can not be absolutely “zero magnetic”. Theoretically, the thicker the shielding shell and the higher the permeability is, the better the shielding effect is. In order to achieve the best magnetic shielding performance, multilayer shielding is usually used to shield the residual magnetic flux by layer.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of LV with KONG and LI as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. LV would modify KONG and LI wherein when each layer of shield in the N layers of shields is provided with the ring structure, L Bi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest. The benefits of doing so results show that the seeker optimization algorithm has faster convergence speed, higher precision, and is more easy to find the global optimal solution than the traditional optimization method. (LV [Abstract]).
The combination of KONG, LI, and LV does not explicitly teach for the shield, in the N layers of shields, provided with the ring structure, L Bi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest.
However, REN teaches for the shield, in the N layers of shields, provided with the ring structure, L Bi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest REN ([Section III. Calculation of Radial Magnetic Shielding Effectiveness of Double-Layer Magnetic Shield] “The magnetic shielding effectiveness under the radial disturbing magnetic field, whose direction is perpendicular to the axis of the hollow toroidal shield, is called the radial magnetic shielding effectiveness. The radial magnetic shielding effectiveness is dependent upon a complete toroidal shell composed of four surfaces (including bottom surface of a cylindrical structure), as shown in Fig. 1. It is assumed that the double-layer magnetic shield is placed in the radial (comprise of radius) external magnetic field following uniform distribution. Owing to the geometric symmetry of the toroidal magnetic shield and the flux distribution, the semitoroidal magnetic shield of 180° is investigated (center of the region of interest).”) See also REN ([Introduction] “A long rectangular shell was recognized as the calculation model of the single-layer magnetic shield as presented in [17], where the magnetic shielding effectiveness under axial and radial magnetic fields was calculated, respectively. In [18], the air gap exiting in the joints of magnetic shielding cores was taken into account when calculating the shielding effectiveness of the single-layer magnetic shield under the axial magnetic field (an axial distance LAi from the bottom surface).”) See also REN ([Figure 1].)
REN Figure 1 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of REN with KONG, LI, and LV as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. REN would modify KONG, LI, and LV wherein for the shield, in the N layers of shields, provided with the ring structure, L Bi is an axial distance from a geometric center of the ring structure to the center of the region of interest. The benefits of doing so provides accuracy that is better than 30%, compared with the corresponding results of finite-element method simulations and through analyzing factors affecting the shielding effectiveness, it is approved that a greater shielding effectiveness under the radial disturbing magnetic field is achieved when the thickness of air gaps is approximately equal to that of shielding cores. (REN [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim 16
Claim 16 is rejected because the combination of KONG and LI teaches the claim 15 limitations.
KONG teaches “an outer-size constraint, used to define a maximum outer boundary of the magnetic shielding apparatus KONG ([Detailed description |pdf page 5 of 8] “The space of the finite element integration is selected to be 1.4 times of the entire model space, and the boundary conditions for the calculation of the space field are determined to ensure the validity and efficiency of the calculation.”)
KONG also teaches a spacing constraint, used to define a minimum spacing between adjacent shields KONG ([Description of the Drawing | pdf page 3 of 8] “For the magnetic shielding room with two shielding layers, in step S1, according to the size of the preset shielding space, the thickness of the conventional shielding layer is selected, and the mechanical model of the magnetic shielding room is established. In step S2, the interval I!. between the inner and outer shielding layers is changed within the range of 100 mm to 800 mm. Every time there is a change, the shielding effectiveness SE at the center inside the magnetic shielding chamber is recalculated. After traversing the range from 1 00mm to 800mm, the dependence diagram of the shielding effectiveness SE on the interval I!. between the inner and outer shielding layers can be obtained as shown in Figure 2. In this dependency diagram, the spacing of the inner and outer shielding layers for obtaining the best shielding performance SE can be clearly determined. For a magnetic shielding room with multiple shielding layers, the distance between adjacent shielding layers is constantly adjusted. When the shielding efficiency at the center of the corresponding magnetic shielding chamber is the best, the corresponding distance between adjacent shielding layers is the optimal distance.”) See also KONG ([Detailed Description | pdf page 4 of 8] “Fig. 2 shows the dependency diagram of the shielding effectiveness SE and the shielding layer spacing I!. at the inner center of the two-layer magnetic shielding chamber in the present invention.”)
KONG does not explicitly teach minimum-width constraint, used to define a minimum width of the ring structure.
However, LI teaches minimum-width constraint, used to define a minimum width of the ring structure LI ([Section 4.4 Gap Width | pdf page 8 of 11] “ Since this gap has shielding structure (ring structure) under the radial direction, we discuss the effect of the gap under axial magnetic field on the shielding effectiveness. We sweep the gap width n (from 0.1mm to 2 mm) (minimum-width constraint) to calculate shielding effectiveness (define a minimum width). Fig. 11 shows the effect of gap width on shielding effectiveness under axial magnetic field.”)
LI also teaches a region-of-interest constraint, used to define a minimum axial distance from the region of interest to a bottom surface of the innermost layer of shield of the magnetic shielding apparatus LI ([Section 3.2. Axial magnetic field test | pdf page 4 of 11] “We change the direction of the magnetic field (a region of interest constraint) to axial direction (used to define a minimum axial distance) and the other conditions are the same compared to that under (bottom surface) the radial magnetic field. Fig. 6 is a verification experiment diagram under axial magnetic field environment. We repeat the steps of the radial magnetic field verification test and obtain the comparison results under axial magnetic field which is shown in Fig. 7. From the results in the figure, we can confirm the rationality of using the FEM to study the effectiveness of magnetic shielding (innermost layer of shield) under axial magnetic field (constraint).”) See also LI ([Figure 4] and [Figure 6].) See also LI ([Section 3.1 Radial Magnetic Field | pdf page 4 of 11] “The experimental devices (magnetic shielding apparatus) under radial magnetic field are shown in Fig. 3. We place the magnetic shield at the center of the Helmholtz coil because the magnetic field at this location is relatively uniform which conforms to the FEM simulation.”)
LI Figure 4 Reference
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of LI with KONG as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. LI would modify KONG wherein minimum-width constraint, used to define a minimum width of the ring structure. The benefits of doing so provides important application value in the fields of geomagnetic navigation, space engineering, space science, national defense industry, microparticle experiment where the optimization of its structure parameters has important theoretical value, economic value and engineering value in magnetic shielding devices. (LI [Abstract]).
The combination of KONG, LI, and LV does not explicitly teach an inner-size constraint, used to define a minimum internal space of the magnetic shielding apparatus.
However, REN teaches an inner-size constraint, used to define a minimum internal space of the magnetic shielding apparatus LV ([Section 2.2 Calculation of Magnetic Shielding Performance | pdf page 332] “When x = 0, the boundary conditions (used to define minimal internal space) for the flux distribution function φm2(x) in the inner layer air gap (inner-size constraint) are presented in the following equations
REN Equation 12 and Equation 13 References
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of REN with KONG, LI, and LV as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. REN would modify KONG, LI, and LV an inner-size constraint, used to define a minimum internal space of the magnetic shielding apparatus. The benefits of doing so provides accuracy that is better than 30%, compared with the corresponding results of finite-element method simulations and through analyzing factors affecting the shielding effectiveness, it is approved that a greater shielding effectiveness under the radial disturbing magnetic field is achieved when the thickness of air gaps is approximately equal to that of shielding cores. (REN [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Claim 17
Claim 17 is rejected because the combination of KONG and LI teaches the claim 16 limitations.
The combination of KONG, LI, and LV does not explicitly teach wherein the constraints further comprise an additional constraint, and the additional constraint is used to limit a radius difference of outer layers of adjacent shields to be greater than that of inner layers of the adjacent shields, namely Ri+1 - Ri > Ri - Ri-1.
However, REN teaches “wherein the constraints further comprise an additional constraint, and the additional constraint is used to limit a radius difference of outer layers of adjacent shields to be greater than that of inner layers of the adjacent shields, namely Ri+1 - Ri > Ri - Ri-1 REN ([Section V. MAGNETIC SHIELDING EFFECTIVENESS ANALYSIS OF DOUBLE-LAYER MAGNETIC SHIELD | pdf page 7 of 7] “Many factors can affect the radial magnetic shielding effectiveness of the current comparator, such as the external disturbing magnetic field distribution, the thicknesses of magnetic shielding cores and air gaps, the material of the magnetic shielding core, and the circumference of the magnetic shield (wherein the constraints further comprise an additional constraint). According to the above analysis of the radial magnetic shielding effectiveness of double-layer magnetic shields 1#, 2#, and 3#, it is seen that double-layer magnetic shield 1# obtain a greater radial magnetic shielding effectiveness when the thickness of its shielding cores equals to that of air gaps approximately (additional constraint is used to limit a radius difference of outer layers of adjacent shields to be greater than that of inner layers of the adjacent shields). For single-layer magnetic shield 4# with a mean radius of 300 mm (Ri+1), when the thicknesses of the shielding core and the air gap both are 20 mm (> Ri - Ri-1), a radial magnetic shielding effectiveness is calculated from formula (17), which is about 57.1 (the FEM simulation result is 60.6).”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of REN with KONG, LI, and LV as the references deal with implement optimization of performance of the magnetic shielding apparatus by constructing a complete parameter set and optimizing parameters. REN would modify KONG, LI, and LV an inner-size constraint, used to define a minimum internal space of the magnetic shielding apparatus. The benefits of doing so provides accuracy that is better than 30%, compared with the corresponding results of finite-element method simulations and through analyzing factors affecting the shielding effectiveness, it is approved that a greater shielding effectiveness under the radial disturbing magnetic field is achieved when the thickness of air gaps is approximately equal to that of shielding cores. (REN [Abstract]). Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected based on the combination of these references.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 19-20 are objected to, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the 101 rejections of the claims. The closest pieces of prior art are the KONG (CN 106845045 A), LI (Design of high shielding effectiveness magnetic shield for fiber optic gyroscope), LV (Optimal Design of Magnetic Shielding Device Based on Seeker Optimization Algorithm), and KIM (US 20180235112 A1) references. The closest references alone and in combination do not teach the data sets and variables that are specifically limited to certain values as claimed in the independent claim. Therefore, the claims overcome the closest pieces of prior art such that none of the closest prior art references can be applied to form the basis of a 35 USC 102 rejection nor can they be combined to fairly suggest in combination, the basis of a 35 USC 103 rejection when the limitations are read in the particular environment of the claims.
Conclusion
/M.K.V./Examiner, Art Unit 2186
/RENEE D CHAVEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2186