-Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 12/11/2025.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 16, in line 10, “sate” appears that it should read as “state”. Regarding claim 22, in line 1, “the second busbar” appears that it should read as “wherein, the second busbar”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 10, 11, 14, 15, 19, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehme et al. (DE 10 2021 003884 A1, hereinafter “Boehme”) in view of Wagoner et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2018/0219501 A1, hereinafter “Wagoner”). Regarding claim 1, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 1) a protection device (comprising SS1, Re1, SS2, Re2, 16) comprising: a sensor (see [0049] “The circuit breakers SS1 , SS2 are, for example, each triggered to close on the basis of a voltage evaluation, in particular when at least one predetermined triggering criterion or several predetermined triggering criteria occur, which is determined by means of this voltage evaluation, for example, in the case of one between the positive potential line by means of a first voltage measuring device HV + L and the reference potential line ML and / or by means of a second voltage measuring device between the negative potential line HV-L and the reference potential line ML determined voltage change on an exponential function with a time constant in a predetermined frequency band range and / or when a predetermined voltage value is undershot, determined by means of the first voltage measuring device and / or by means of the second voltage measuring device.”), coupled to a first busbar (busbar HV+L) of a plurality of busbars (busbars HV+L, HV-L, and ML), configured to measure an electrical characteristic of the first busbar (see [0049] “The circuit breakers SS1 , SS2 are, for example, each triggered to close on the basis of a voltage evaluation, in particular when at least one predetermined triggering criterion or several predetermined triggering criteria occur, which is determined by means of this voltage evaluation, for example, in the case of one between the positive potential line by means of a first voltage measuring device HV + L and the reference potential line ML and / or by means of a second voltage measuring device between the negative potential line HV-L and the reference potential line ML ); a switch (comprising SS1 and Re1), connected between the first busbar and a reference terminal (ground reference terminal M), wherein, in an on state, the switch is configured to directly connect the first busbar to the reference terminal (see [0049] “The circuit breakers SS1 , SS2 are, for example, each triggered to close on the basis of a voltage evaluation”); and a controller (16), coupled to the sensor and to the switch, configured to control the switch to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the first busbar (see [0024] “The first circuit breaker and / or the second circuit breaker are / is in particular only controllable when - the voltage deviation of the voltage currently applied between the positive potential line and the reference potential line and the voltage applied between the negative potential line and the reference potential line from the previously determined voltage value exceeds a predetermined limit value, in one possible embodiment a limit value of 30 V,”), wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to conduct power at a first voltage range (voltage range of HV+ to HV-). Boehme does not disclose wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter, and wherein the power converter is configured to convert power between a second voltage range and the first voltage range. However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of busbars (busbars of DC+, DC-) are configured to be coupled to a power converter (168), and wherein the power converter is configured to convert power between a second voltage range (voltage range of 166 3AC, i.e. MV) and the first voltage range (voltage range of 166 DC, i.e. LV). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter, and wherein the power converter is configured to convert power between a second voltage range and the first voltage range, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection for an inverter application. Regarding claim 2, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the controller is configured to control the switch to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a threshold (see [0024] “The first circuit breaker and / or the second circuit breaker are / is in particular only controllable when - the voltage deviation of the voltage currently applied between the positive potential line and the reference potential line and the voltage applied between the negative potential line and the reference potential line from the previously determined voltage value exceeds a predetermined limit value, in one possible embodiment a limit value of 30 V,”). Regarding claim 3, Boehme does not disclose wherein the plurality of busbars are coupled to first side terminals at a first side of an inverter assembly, the inverter assembly further comprising: second side terminals at a second side of the inverter assembly; at least one inverter switching circuit configured to generate a pulsed voltage; and at least one transformer. However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of busbars (busbars of DC+, DC-) are coupled to first side terminals (terminals of DC+, DC-) at a first side of an inverter assembly (left-side of 168), the inverter assembly further comprising: second side terminals (terminals of L1 and N) at a second side of the inverter assembly (right-side of 168); at least one inverter switching circuit configured to generate a pulsed voltage (comprising 212); and at least one transformer (comprising 226). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the plurality of busbars are coupled to first side terminals at a first side of an inverter assembly, the inverter assembly further comprising: second side terminals at a second side of the inverter assembly; at least one inverter switching circuit configured to generate a pulsed voltage; and at least one transformer, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection for an inverter application.
Regarding claim 4, Boehme does not disclose wherein the inverter assembly comprises a cascade of inverters for each phase at the second side of the inverter assembly.
However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the inverter assembly (168) comprises a cascade of inverters (i.e. inverter block 206, inverter block 208, inverter block 210) for each phase (PHASE A, PHASE, B, PHASE C) at the second side of the inverter assembly (right-side of 168). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the inverter assembly comprises a cascade of inverters for each phase at the second side of the inverter assembly, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection to a multi-phase cascaded inverter application.
Regarding claim 5, Boehme does not disclose wherein the at least one transformer is configured to provide isolation between the second side terminals and the first side terminals of the inverter assembly.
However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the at least one transformer (comprising 226) is configured to provide isolation between the second side terminals and the first side terminals of the inverter assembly (transformer 226 provides isolation between the left-side of 168 and the right-side of 168). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the at least one transformer is configured to provide isolation between the second side terminals and the first side terminals of the inverter assembly, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection to an isolated inverter application.
Regarding claim 6, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the switch is coupled between the first busbar and a second busbar of the plurality of busbars (busbar ML), wherein the second busbar comprises the reference terminal (busbar ML comprises ground reference terminal).
Regarding claim 7, Boehme does not disclose wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar, of the plurality of busbars, at the first side of the inverter assembly is at the first voltage range, wherein the inverter assembly is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between the second side terminals of the inverter assembly, and wherein a level of the AC voltage is at the second voltage range higher than the first voltage range. However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar (voltage between DC+ and DC-), of the plurality of busbars, at the first side of the inverter assembly (left-side of 168) is at the first voltage range (LV), wherein the inverter assembly (168) is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between the second side terminals of the inverter assembly (AC voltage output between L1 and N), and wherein a level of the AC voltage is at the second voltage range (MV) higher than the first voltage range (MV is higher than LV, see [0022] “As used herein, “LV” voltage can be a power less than about 1.5 kilovolts. As used herein, “MV” voltage can be power greater than about 1.5 kilovolts and less than about 100 kilovolts. As used herein, the term “about” can mean within 20% of the stated value.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar, of the plurality of busbars, at the first side of the inverter assembly is at the first voltage range, wherein the inverter assembly is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between the second side terminals of the inverter assembly, and wherein a level of the AC voltage is at the second voltage range higher than the first voltage range, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection to an LV-to-MV inverter application.
Regarding claim 10, Boehme does not disclose wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to connect a power generation assembly to the inverter assembly, and wherein the power generation assembly is configured to: generate electrical energy, or store electrical energy.
However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of busbars (comprising busbars of DC+ and DC-) are configured to connect a power generation assembly (comprising 108, 110, 106, 118, 120, 138 of the wind power generation system 100 of Fig. 1) to the inverter assembly (see [0035] “DFIG 120 is coupled via the rotor bus 156 to a rotor side converter 166. The rotor side converter 166 is coupled to a line side converter 168 which in turn is coupled to a line side bus 188.”), and wherein the power generation assembly is configured to: generate electrical energy, or store electrical energy (DFIG 120 generates electrical energy and DC CAPACITOR 138 stores electrical energy). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to connect a power generation assembly to the inverter assembly, and wherein the power generation assembly is configured to: generate electrical energy, or store electrical energy, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection to an inverter for a power generating application.
Regarding claim 11, Boehme does not disclose wherein the power generation assembly comprises an energy storage assembly, wherein the energy storage assembly comprises one or more energy storage devices, and wherein each energy storage device of the one or more energy storage devices is configured to store electrical power. However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the power generation assembly (comprising 108, 110, 106, 118, 120, 138 of the wind power generation system 100 of Fig. 1) comprises an energy storage assembly (138), wherein the energy storage assembly comprises one or more energy storage devices (capacitor of 138), and wherein each energy storage device of the one or more energy storage devices is configured to store electrical power (DC CAPACITOR 138 stores electrical power). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the energy storage assembly comprises one or more energy storage devices, and wherein each energy storage device of the one or more energy storage devices is configured to store electrical power, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection to an inverter for a power generating/storing application. Regarding claim 14, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the electrical characteristic of the first busbar is at least one of: voltage; current; or power (see [0049] “The circuit breakers SS1 , SS2 are, for example, each triggered to close on the basis of a voltage evaluation, in particular when at least one predetermined triggering criterion or several predetermined triggering criteria occur, which is determined by means of this voltage evaluation, for example, in the case of one between the positive potential line by means of a first voltage measuring device HV + L and the reference potential line ML and / or by means of a second voltage measuring device between the negative potential line HV-L and the reference potential line ML determined voltage change on an exponential function with a time constant in a predetermined frequency band range and / or when a predetermined voltage value is undershot, determined by means of the first voltage measuring device and / or by means of the second voltage measuring device.”). Regarding claim 15, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the switch comprises a switching circuit (comprising SS1). Regarding claim 19, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 1) a method comprising: measuring, by a sensor (see [0049] “The circuit breakers SS1 , SS2 are, for example, each triggered to close on the basis of a voltage evaluation, in particular when at least one predetermined triggering criterion or several predetermined triggering criteria occur, which is determined by means of this voltage evaluation, for example, in the case of one between the positive potential line by means of a first voltage measuring device HV + L and the reference potential line ML and / or by means of a second voltage measuring device between the negative potential line HV-L and the reference potential line ML determined voltage change on an exponential function with a time constant in a predetermined frequency band range and / or when a predetermined voltage value is undershot, determined by means of the first voltage measuring device and / or by means of the second voltage measuring device.”), a level of an electrical characteristic relating to a first busbar (voltage of busbar HV+L) of a plurality of busbars (busbars HV+L, HV-L, and ML); determining, by a controller (16), a change in the level of the electrical characteristic of the first busbar, based on the measurement (see [0024] “The first circuit breaker and / or the second circuit breaker are / is in particular only controllable when - the voltage deviation of the voltage currently applied between the positive potential line and the reference potential line and the voltage applied between the negative potential line and the reference potential line from the previously determined voltage value exceeds a predetermined limit value, in one possible embodiment a limit value of 30 V,”); and connecting, by a switch (comprising SS1 and Re1), the first busbar of the plurality of busbars, to a reference terminal (ground reference terminal M) based on the measured electrical characteristic of the first busbar, wherein, in an on state, the switch is configured to directly connect the first busbar to the reference terminal, and wherein, in an off state, the switch is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (see [0049] “The circuit breakers SS1 , SS2 are, for example, each triggered to close on the basis of a voltage evaluation”, where when SS1 is open, HV+L and ML are disconnected, and when SS1 is closed, HV+L and ML are directly connected.), wherein the plurality of busbars are conducting power at a first voltage range (voltage range of HV+ to HV-). Boehme does not disclose wherein the plurality of busbars are coupled to first side terminals of an inverter assembly, wherein the inverter assembly is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between second side terminals of the inverter assembly, and wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar of the plurality of busbars at the first side terminals of the inverter assembly is at a Low Voltage (LV) range, and wherein the level of the AC voltage is at a Medium Voltage (MV) range higher than the LV range, wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter, and wherein the inverter assembly is configured to convert power from the first voltage to the AC voltage. However, Wagoner teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the plurality of busbars (comprising busbars of DC+ and DC-) are coupled to first side terminals of an inverter assembly (right-side of 168), wherein the inverter assembly (168) is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between second side terminals of the inverter assembly (AC voltage output between L1 and N, on the left-side terminals of 168), and wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar (voltage between DC+ and DC-), of the plurality of busbars at the first side of the inverter assembly (right-side of 168) is at a Low Voltage range (LV), and wherein the level of the AC voltage is at a Medium Voltage (MV) range (see [0024] “and a third DC to AC conversion entity configured to convert the LV DC power to an LV AC power suitable for use on an energy grid. A plurality of inverter blocks can be connected in series to build a MV AC voltage suitable for use on a MV AC grid.”) higher than the LV range (MV is higher than LV, see [0022] “As used herein, “LV” voltage can be a power less than about 1.5 kilovolts. As used herein, “MV” voltage can be power greater than about 1.5 kilovolts and less than about 100 kilovolts. As used herein, the term “about” can mean within 20% of the stated value.”), wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter (166), and wherein the inverter assembly is configured to convert power from the first voltage to the AC voltage (168 converts power from LV DC to MV AC). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Boehme wherein the plurality of busbars are coupled to first side terminals of an inverter assembly, wherein the inverter assembly is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between second side terminals of the inverter assembly, and wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar of the plurality of busbars at the first side terminals of the inverter assembly is at a Low Voltage (LV) range, and wherein the level of the AC voltage is at a Medium Voltage (MV) range higher than the LV range, wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter, and wherein the inverter assembly is configured to convert power from the first voltage to the AC voltage, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help provide input overvoltage protection to an LV-to-MV inverter application. Regarding claim 22, Boehme discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein the second busbar of the plurality of busbars comprises the reference terminal (busbar ML comprises ground reference terminal).
Claims 12, 13, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehme in view of Wagoner, and further in view of Jacobson (US Patent Application Publication US 2018/0309285 A1). Regarding claim 12, Boehme does not disclose wherein the controller is further coupled to a main control unit, and wherein the main control unit is configured to indicate to the controller to turn-on the switch. However, Jacobson teaches (see Fig. 4) wherein the controller (410) is further coupled to a main control unit (connected to external commands 428, Examiner’s Note: Although a main control unit connected to external commands 428 is not explicitly disclosed, one skilled in the art can readily understand that the external commands 428 are received from an external controller, i.e. controller of power supply 102), and wherein the main control unit is configured to indicate to the controller to turn-on the switch (see [0030] “The controller then uses the above input information to provide the gate currents to thyristors X1 and X2 and to control the current through the inductor L2, for example, by changing its current.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the controller is further coupled to a main control unit, and wherein the main control unit is configured to indicate to the controller to turn-on the switch, as taught by Jacobson, because it can help provide integrated overvoltage protection from a higher level controller.
Regarding claim 13, Boehme does not disclose wherein the switch is configured to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal within 10 microseconds. However, Jacobson teaches (see Fig. 4) wherein the switch (comprising X1, X2, Cx, D1, Rm, Din, L1, Laux) is configured to connect and disconnect the first busbar (terminal of Bus 1 Vin+) to the reference terminal (terminal of Bus 1 Vin-) within microseconds (see [0029] “Referring back to FIG. 4, the load(s) 304 in FIG. 3 are modeled here by two exemplary converters 412 and 416. Each converter includes a diode (D.sub.in1, D.sub.in2), a capacitor (C.sub.in1, C.sub.in2) and a clamp (Clamp1 and Clamp2). The clamps' functions are to limit the surge voltage at a safe level for other converter components for a short time interval (e.g., microseconds). However, an extended activation of the clamp is prohibitively difficult, because of high power dissipation and components' volume required.” And see [0031] “in the event of a transient (burst), the controller detects an overvoltage across Bus 1 or an overcurrent in the feeding cable and activates the crowbar circuit. During the corresponding initial time interval, clamps in individual converters inside the PBU would regulate the bus voltage by dissipating excess power.” Thus, during the short time interval, which is within microseconds, the switch, i.e. crowbar circuit, is configured to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal.). Jacobson does not disclose wherein the microseconds is within 10 microseconds. However, Jacobson teaches the general condition wherein the switch is configured to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal within microseconds (see [0029] “Referring back to FIG. 4, the load(s) 304 in FIG. 3 are modeled here by two exemplary converters 412 and 416. Each converter includes a diode (D.sub.in1, D.sub.in2), a capacitor (C.sub.in1, C.sub.in2) and a clamp (Clamp1 and Clamp2). The clamps' functions are to limit the surge voltage at a safe level for other converter components for a short time interval (e.g., microseconds). However, an extended activation of the clamp is prohibitively difficult, because of high power dissipation and components' volume required.” And see [0031] “in the event of a transient (burst), the controller detects an overvoltage across Bus 1 or an overcurrent in the feeding cable and activates the crowbar circuit. During the corresponding initial time interval, clamps in individual converters inside the PBU would regulate the bus voltage by dissipating excess power.” Thus, during the short time interval, which is within microseconds, the switch, i.e. crowbar circuit, is configured to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Jacobson wherein the microseconds is within 10 microseconds, because it can help avoid large leakage current with faster over-voltage protection, and further since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 16, Boehme does not disclose wherein the switching circuit comprises a thyristor and a diode, wherein the diode is connected in parallel with the thyristor, wherein, in an on state, the thyristor is configured to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal, wherein, in an off state, the thyristor is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal, wherein, in an off state the diode, is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar, wherein, in an off state the diode, is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal, wherein the controller is configured to control the thyristor to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a first threshold, and wherein the diode is configured to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a second threshold. However, Jacobson teaches (see Fig. 4) wherein the switching circuit comprises a thyristor (X1) and a diode (Din), wherein the diode is connected in parallel with the thyristor (Din is connected in parallel to X1), wherein, in an on state, the thyristor is configured to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal (when X1 is on, X1 connects Bus 1 Vin + to Bus 1 Vin -), wherein, in an off state, the thyristor is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (when X1 is off, X1 disconnects Bus 1 Vin + from Bus 1 Vin -), wherein, in an on state the diode, is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar terminal (when Din is on, Din connects Bus 1 Vin - to Bus 1 Vin +), wherein, in an off state the diode, is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (when Din is off, Din disconnects Bus 1 Vin - from Bus 1 Vin +), wherein the controller is configured to control the thyristor to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a first threshold (see [0031] “in the event of a transient (burst), the controller detects an overvoltage across Bus 1 or an overcurrent in the feeding cable and activates the crowbar circuit.”), and wherein the diode is configured to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a second threshold (see [0023] “When Vin drops below the threshold voltage of the input diode Din, Din turns on,” which is equivalent to the voltage of Bus 1 Vin - exceeding the threshold voltage of Din, with reference to Bus 1 Vin+).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the switching circuit comprises a thyristor and a diode, wherein the diode is connected in parallel with the thyristor, wherein, in an on state, the thyristor is configured to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal, wherein, in an off state, the thyristor is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal, wherein, in an off state the diode, is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar, wherein, in an off state the diode, is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal, wherein the controller is configured to control the thyristor to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a first threshold, and wherein the diode is configured to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a second threshold, as taught by Jacobson, because it can help provide surge protection to the switch.
Regarding claim 18, Boehme does not disclose wherein the switch further comprises a choke connected in series with the switching circuit, and a snubber circuit connected in parallel with the switching circuit, wherein the snubber circuit comprises a resistor connected in series with a capacitor. Jacobson discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein the switch further comprises a choke (L1) connected in series with the switching circuit, and a snubber circuit (comprising Cx, Rm) connected in parallel with the switching circuit, wherein the snubber circuit comprises a resistor (Rm) connected in series with a capacitor (Cx). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme wherein the switch further comprises a choke connected in series with the switching circuit, and a snubber circuit connected in parallel with the switching circuit, wherein the snubber circuit comprises a resistor connected in series with a capacitor, as taught by Jacobson, because it can help provide surge protection to the switch.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehme in view of Wagoner, and in view of Jacobson, and further in view of Du et al. (Chinese Patent CN 209358244 U, hereinafter “Du”). Regarding claim 17, Boehme does not disclose wherein the switching circuit comprises a transistor, a first diode, and a second diode, wherein the transistor is connected in series with the first diode forming a series connection, wherein the second diode is connected in parallel with the series connection of the transistor and the first diode, wherein the series connection of the transistor and the first diode is configured to have an on state and an off state, wherein, in the on state, the series connection of the transistor and the first diode is configured to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal, wherein, in the off state, the series connection of the transistor and the first diode is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal, wherein, in the on state, the second diode is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar, wherein, in the off state, the second diode is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal wherein the controller is configured to control the transistor to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a first threshold, and wherein the second diode is configured to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a second threshold. However, Jacobson discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein the switching circuit comprises a switching unit (comprising X1) and a second diode (Din), wherein the second diode is connected in parallel with the switching unit (Din is parallel to X1), wherein the switching unit is configured to have an on state and an off state (X1 is turned on and off by controller 410), wherein in the on state, the switching unit is configured to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal (when X1 is on, X1 connects Bus 1 Vin + to Bus 1 Vin -), wherein in the off state, the switching unit is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (when X1 is off, X1 disconnects Bus 1 Vin + from Bus 1 Vin -), and wherein in the on state the second diode is configured connect the reference terminal to the first busbar (when Din is on, Din connects Bus 1 Vin - to Bus 1 Vin +), wherein in the off state the second diode is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (when Din is off, Din disconnects Bus 1 Vin - from Bus 1 Vin +), wherein the controller is configured to control the switching unit to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic exceeding a first threshold (see [0031] “in the event of a transient (burst), the controller detects an overvoltage across Bus 1 or an overcurrent in the feeding cable and activates the crowbar circuit.”), and wherein the second diode is configured to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic exceeding a second threshold (see [0023] “When Vin drops below the threshold voltage of the input diode Din, Din turns on,” which is equivalent to the voltage of Bus 1 Vin - exceeding the threshold voltage of Din, with reference to Bus 1 Vin+). Jacobson does not disclose wherein the switching unit comprises a transistor, and a first diode, wherein the transistor is connected in series with the first diode. However, Du teaches (see Fig. 1 and Fig. 3) wherein the switching unit (comprising D1 and V1) comprises a transistor (V1), and a first diode (D1), wherein the transistor is connected in series with the first diode (V1 and D1 are connected in series). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Boehme as modified in view of Jacobson wherein the switching unit comprises a transistor, and a first diode, wherein the transistor is connected in series with the first diode, as taught by Wagoner, because it can help avoid large leakage current with faster over-voltage protection.
Claims 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boehme in view of Wagoner, and further in view of Li et al. (Chinese Patent CN 2886894 Y, hereinafter “Li”). Regarding claim 21, Boehme does not disclose further comprising: a second sensor, coupled to a second busbar of a plurality of busbars, configured to measure an electrical characteristic of the second busbar; and a second switch, connected between the second busbar and the reference terminal, configured to connect and disconnect the second busbar to and from the reference terminal, wherein the controller is configured to control the second switch to connect the second busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the second busbar. However, Li teaches (see Fig. 1) further comprising: a second sensor (bottom-side voltage detecting circuit 5), coupled to a second busbar (bottom-side busbar “-“) of a plurality of busbars (top-side busbar “+” and bottom-side busbar “-“ and middle busbar “ground”),configured to measure an electrical characteristic of the second busbar (measuring the voltage of bottom-side busbar “-“); and a second switch (comprising ug2, R4, C2, D2, R2), connected between the second busbar and the reference terminal, configured to connect and disconnect the second busbar to and from the reference terminal (see p. 2 “The voltage detecting circuit detects the voltage signal to the control circuit, the switch state of the power switch control signal to control the brake unit, keeping the voltage balance. the circuit device automatically adjusting brake unit is bus voltage deviation protection circuit, the brake circuit for detecting bus and line voltage deviation and timely adjust the bus and improve the stability of the system.”), wherein the controller (see p. 3 “control circuit”) is configured to control the second switch to connect the second busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the second busbar (see p. 2 “two paths of voltage detection circuits respectively detect the positive bus and the central line, central line voltage and the negative bus, comprising: level detection is not directly detecting the positive bus and the negative bus, and is increased by a voltage detection line. the braking module is not directly connected to the positive and negative buses, and is through the brake resistance of the fast recovery diode is connected to the positive bus and the negative bus. The advantage of such a device is that two paths of voltage detecting circuit is not directly detecting the positive bus and the negative bus, and is increased by a voltage detecting line, which obviously reduces the voltage value of the detection circuit, and increases the accuracy of voltage data detection. the braking module are conducted according to the deviation value of positive and negative buses, that is, between the positive bus line voltage than a voltage between the negative bus, the brake module ug1 of the bridge a1, bridge work brake resistor; between the positive bus line of voltage less than a voltage between the negative bus, the brake module ug2 of the bridge a2, bridge brake resistor working. so that the voltage balance of the positive and negative buses, the stability of the system is enhanced.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Boehme to further comprise: a second sensor, coupled to a second busbar of a plurality of busbars, configured to measure an electrical characteristic of the second busbar; and a second switch, connected between the second busbar and the reference terminal, configured to connect and disconnect the second busbar to and from the reference terminal, wherein the controller is configured to control the second switch to connect the second busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the second busbar, as taught by Li, because it can help provide increased accuracy of voltage detection and ensure the stability of the system. Regarding claim 23, Boehme does not disclose further comprising: measuring, by a second sensor, a level of an electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar of a plurality of busbars coupled to the first side terminals of the inverter assembly; determining, by the controller, a change in the level of the electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar, based on the measurement; and connecting, by a second switch, the second busbar of the plurality of busbars, to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar. However, Li teaches (see Fig. 1) further comprising: measuring, by a second sensor (bottom-side voltage detecting circuit 5), a level of an electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar (bottom-side busbar “-“) of a plurality of busbars (top-side busbar “+” and bottom-side busbar “-“ and middle busbar “ground”) coupled to the first side terminals of the inverter assembly (input terminals of 3); determining, by the controller (see p. 3 “control circuit”), a change in the level of the electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar, based on the measurement (see p. 2 “The voltage detecting circuit detects the voltage signal to the control circuit, the switch state of the power switch control signal to control the brake unit, keeping the voltage balance. the circuit device automatically adjusting brake unit is bus voltage deviation protection circuit, the brake circuit for detecting bus and line voltage deviation and timely adjust the bus and improve the stability of the system.”); and connecting, by a second switch (comprising ug2, R4, C2, D2, R2), the second busbar of the plurality of busbars, to the reference terminal (middle busbar “ground”) based on the measured electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar (see p. 2 “two paths of voltage detection circuits respectively detect the positive bus and the central line, central line voltage and the negative bus, comprising: level detection is not directly detecting the positive bus and the negative bus, and is increased by a voltage detection line. the braking module is not directly connected to the positive and negative buses, and is through the brake resistance of the fast recovery diode is connected to the positive bus and the negative bus. The advantage of such a device is that two paths of voltage detecting circuit is not directly detecting the positive bus and the negative bus, and is increased by a voltage detecting line, which obviously reduces the voltage value of the detection circuit, and increases the accuracy of voltage data detection. the braking module are conducted according to the deviation value of positive and negative buses, that is, between the positive bus line voltage than a voltage between the negative bus, the brake module ug1 of the bridge a1, bridge work brake resistor; between the positive bus line of voltage less than a voltage between the negative bus, the brake module ug2 of the bridge a2, bridge brake resistor working. so that the voltage balance of the positive and negative buses, the stability of the system is enhanced.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Boehme to further comprise: measuring, by a second sensor, a level of an electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar of a plurality of busbars coupled to the first side terminals of the inverter assembly; determining, by the controller, a change in the level of the electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar, based on the measurement; and connecting, by a second switch, the second busbar of the plurality of busbars, to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar, as taught by Li, because it can help provide increased accuracy of voltage detection and ensure the stability of the system.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838