-Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
This action is in response to the RCE filed on 06/30/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, 19, 21, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: Regarding claim 1, in line 9, “the first voltage range” appears that it should read as “a first voltage range”;in line 9-10, “the second voltage range” appears that it should read as “a second voltage range”;in line 11, “a first voltage range” appears that it should read as “the first voltage range”;in line 13-14, “a second voltage range” appears that it should read as “the second voltage range”. Regarding claim 16, in line 8-9, “in an off state the diode, is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar” appears that it should read as “in an on state, the diode is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar”.
Regarding claim 19, in line 11, “the first voltage range” appears that it should read as “a first voltage range”;in line 11, “the second voltage range” appears that it should read as “a second voltage range”;
in line 11, “the on state” appears that it should read as “an on state”;in line 17, “the level of the AC voltage” appears that it should read as “a level of the AC voltage”.
Regarding claim 21, in line 2, “a plurality of busbars” appears that it should read as “the plurality of busbars”.
Regarding claim 23, in line 3, “a plurality of busbars” appears that it should read as “the plurality of busbars”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 10, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klodowski (US Patent Application Publication US 2011/0141637 A1, hereinafter “Klodowski”) in view of Miyazaki et al. (US Patent 5,790,396, hereinafter “Miyazaki”). Regarding claim 1, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) a protection device (circuit 100 for controlling the DC bus voltages) comprising: a sensor (sensing unit 150) coupled to a first busbar (positive DC bus 170) of a plurality of busbars (positive DC bus 170, neutral DC bus 175, and negative DC bus 180), configured to measure an electrical characteristic of the first busbar (sensing unit 150 measures a voltage across first capacitor 142 on the positive DC bus 170; see [0018] “Circuit 100 may include at least one sensing unit, such as sensing unit 150 and sensing unit 152, configured to measure a voltage across first capacitor 142 and second capacitor 144, respectively”); a switch (first switch 120) connected between the first busbar and a reference terminal (neutral DC bus 175); and a controller configured to control the switch to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal in response to the measured electrical characteristic of the first busbar indicating that a voltage of the first busbar has increased beyond the first voltage range toward the second voltage range (if sensing unit 150 senses an overvoltage across first capacitor 142, first switch 120 operates to discharge the positive DC voltage, the DC bus voltage overshooting the maximum operating voltage during a grid fault toward approximately twice the normal operating value; see [0018] “if sensing unit 150 senses an overvoltage across first capacitor 142, first switch 120 operates, independently from second switch 122, to discharge the positive DC voltage”, and see [0004] “the DC bus voltage may overshoot and exceed the maximum peak operating voltage”), wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to conduct power at a first voltage range (the positive DC bus voltage and the negative DC bus voltage are constrained to a maximum operating voltage; see [0004]), wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter (energy converter 300; see [0021]), and wherein the power converter is configured to convert power between a second voltage range and the first voltage range (energy converter 300 is a 3-level converter bridge connected to the DC buses and, via transformer 400, to the electrical grid; see [0021] and [0023]).
Klodowski does not disclose wherein, in an on state the switch is configured to directly connect the first busbar to the reference terminal.
However, Miyazaki teaches (see Fig. 7) wherein, in an on state a switch (short-circuit switching element 50a) is configured to directly connect a first busbar (positive side of the DC power source) to a reference terminal (neutral point C), the short-circuit switching element being turned on to directly short-circuit the DC power source to the neutral point through reactor 51a; see col. 11, ll. 4-9 of Miyazaki: “50a, 50b are short-circuit switching elements which are turned ON in response to a shortcircuit command Sc”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Klodowski so that, in an on state, the switch directly connects the first busbar to the reference terminal, as taught by Miyazaki, because it can help provide a rapid, low-impedance path that quickly clamps the busbar overvoltage to protect the connected converter components.
Regarding claim 2, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the controller is configured to control the switch to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a threshold (first switch 120 operates when sensing unit 150 senses an overvoltage, i.e., the measured voltage exceeding the maximum operating voltage; see [0004] “the positive DC bus voltage and the negative DC bus voltage must be constrained to a maximum operating voltage”).
Regarding claim 3, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 3 and Fig. 4) wherein the plurality of busbars are coupled to first side terminals (input terminals 310) at a first side of an inverter assembly (energy converter 300), the inverter assembly further comprising: second side terminals at a second side of the inverter assembly (the alternating-current output side of energy converter 300 coupled to transformer 400); at least one inverter switching circuit configured to generate a pulsed voltage (the 3-level converter bridge comprising insulated gate bipolar transistors; see [0021] “energy converter 300 is a 3-level converter bridge that includes three series of four IGBTs, with each IGBT in parallel with a diode”); and at least one transformer (transformer 400; see [0023] “A transformer 400 is configured to transfer electrical energy from energy converter 300 to the electrical grid”).
Regarding claim 5, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein the at least one transformer is configured to provide isolation between the second side terminals and the first side terminals of the inverter assembly (transformer 400 transfers electrical energy from energy converter 300 to the electrical grid and thereby provides galvanic isolation; see [0023]).
Regarding claim 6, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the switch is coupled between the first busbar (positive DC bus 170) and a second busbar (neutral DC bus 175) of the plurality of busbars, wherein the second busbar comprises the reference terminal (first switch 120 is coupled between the positive DC bus 170 and the neutral DC bus 175, which serves as the reference terminal; see [0016]).
Regarding claim 10, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to connect a power generation assembly (wind turbine 10 including generator 50) to the inverter assembly, and wherein the power generation assembly is configured to: generate electrical energy, or store electrical energy (the generator generates electrical energy, and solar and battery energy storage sources are contemplated; see [0015] “solar, battery energy storage systems, water, geothermal”).
Regarding claim 11, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein the power generation assembly comprises an energy storage assembly, wherein the energy storage assembly comprises one or more energy storage devices, and wherein each energy storage device of the one or more energy storage devices is configured to store electrical power (a battery energy storage system; see [0015] “battery energy storage systems”).
Regarding claim 13, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) the switch (first switch 120) comprising a semiconductor switching device (an insulated gate bipolar transistor; see [0017]) to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal. Klodowski does not disclose wherein the switch is configured to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal within 10 microseconds. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the switch of Klodowski to connect and disconnect the first busbar to the reference terminal within 10 microseconds, because it can help provide sufficiently fast overvoltage protection to clamp the busbar voltage before the connected components are damaged, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 14, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the electrical characteristic of the first busbar is at least one of: voltage; current; or power (sensing unit 150 measures a voltage across first capacitor 142; see [0018]).
Regarding claim 15, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the switch comprises a switching circuit (first switch 120, first discharge resistor 130, and diode 160 form a switching circuit; see [0016], [0017], and [0020]).
Regarding claim 16, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the switching circuit comprises a thyristor and a diode (first switch 120 may be a silicon-controlled rectifier, and a diode 160 is connected in parallel therewith; see [0017] “possibly forced commutated silicon-controlled rectifiers (SCR's)”, and see [0020] “circuit 100 may include a plurality of diodes 160, 162, 164, 166”), wherein the diode is connected in parallel with the thyristor (diode 160 is connected in parallel with first switch 120), wherein, in an on state, the thyristor is configured to connect the first busbar to the reference terminal (the silicon-controlled rectifier is turned on to discharge the positive DC bus 170 to the neutral DC bus 175), wherein, in an off state, the thyristor is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (the silicon-controlled rectifier is turned off), wherein, in an off state the diode is configured to connect the reference terminal to the first busbar (diode 160 conducts from the neutral DC bus 175 to the positive DC bus 170 when first switch 120 is off), wherein the diode is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (diode 160 blocks in the forward direction), wherein the controller is configured to control the thyristor to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a first threshold (the silicon-controlled rectifier is turned on when sensing unit 150 senses an overvoltage exceeding the maximum operating voltage; see [0018] and [0004]), and wherein the diode is configured to transition from an off state to an on state based on the electrical characteristic of the first busbar exceeding a second threshold (diode 160 becomes conductive when the voltage thereacross exceeds its forward conduction threshold).
Regarding claim 21, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) further comprising: a second sensor (sensing unit 152) coupled to a second busbar (negative DC bus 180) of the plurality of busbars, configured to measure an electrical characteristic of the second busbar (sensing unit 152 measures a voltage across second capacitor 144; see [0018]); and a second switch (second switch 122) connected between the second busbar and the reference terminal, configured to connect and disconnect the second busbar to and from the reference terminal (second switch 122 operates to discharge the negative DC voltage; see [0016] and [0018]), wherein the controller is configured to control the second switch to connect the second busbar to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic of the second busbar (see [0018] “if sensing unit 152 senses there is an overvoltage across second capacitor 144, second switch 122 operates, independently from first switch 120, to discharge the negative DC voltage”).
Claims 4, 7, 19, 22, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klodowski in view of Miyazaki and Gan et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2013/0121042 A1, hereinafter “Gan”).
Regarding claim 4, Klodowski does not disclose wherein the inverter assembly comprises a cascade of inverters for each phase at the second side of the inverter assembly.
However, Gan teaches (see Fig. 2) wherein an inverter assembly (a cascaded H-Bridge medium voltage drive) comprises a cascade of inverters for each phase at the second side of the inverter assembly (each phase comprises six power cells connected in series, each power cell including an H-Bridge inverter; see [0058] and [0059] “each phase comprises 6 power cells connected in series and outputs a high voltage”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inverter assembly of Klodowski to comprise a cascade of inverters for each phase, as taught by Gan, because it can help synthesize a higher, medium-voltage output using modular, series-connected power cells while reducing harmonic content.
Regarding claim 7, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 4) wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar, of the plurality of busbars, at the first side of the inverter assembly is at the first voltage range (the DC bus voltage between the positive DC bus 170 and the neutral DC bus 175), and wherein the inverter assembly is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between the second side terminals of the inverter assembly (energy converter 300 generates an AC output; see [0021]). Klodowski does not disclose wherein a level of the AC voltage is at the second voltage range higher than the first voltage range.
However, Gan teaches (see Fig. 2) wherein a level of the AC voltage is at a second voltage range higher than the first voltage range (the series-connected power cells of each phase output a high voltage that is higher than the DC bus voltage of an individual power cell; see [0058] “each phase comprises 6 power cells connected in series and outputs a high voltage”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the inverter assembly of Klodowski so that the AC voltage is at a second voltage range higher than the first voltage range, as taught by Gan, because it can help step up the low-voltage DC bus to a higher, medium-voltage AC output suitable for grid connection.
Regarding claim 19, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1, Fig. 3, and Fig. 4) a method comprising: measuring, by a sensor (sensing unit 150), a level of an electrical characteristic relating to a first busbar (positive DC bus 170) of a plurality of busbars coupled to first side terminals of an inverter assembly (energy converter 300), wherein the inverter assembly is configured to generate an alternating current (AC) voltage between second side terminals of the inverter assembly (energy converter 300 generates an AC output transferred via transformer 400 to the grid; see [0021] and [0023]); determining, by a controller, a change in the level of the electrical characteristic of the first busbar, based on the measurement (sensing unit 150 senses an overvoltage across first capacitor 142; see [0018]); and connecting, by a switch (first switch 120), the first busbar of the plurality of busbars, to a reference terminal (neutral DC bus 175) in response to the measured electrical characteristic of the first busbar indicating that a voltage of the first busbar has increased beyond the first voltage range toward the second voltage range (first switch 120 operates when the DC bus voltage overshoots the maximum operating voltage toward approximately twice the normal value; see [0004], [0018], and [0022]), and wherein in an off state the switch is configured to disconnect the first busbar from the reference terminal (first switch 120 is turned off), wherein the plurality of busbars are conducting power at the first voltage (the DC buses conduct at the operating voltage; see [0004]), wherein the plurality of busbars are configured to be coupled to a power converter (energy converter 300), and wherein the inverter assembly is configured to convert power from the first voltage to the AC voltage (energy converter 300 converts the DC bus voltage to an AC voltage; see [0021]).
Klodowski does not disclose wherein in the on state the switch is configured to directly connect the first busbar to the reference terminal.
However, Miyazaki teaches (see Fig. 7) wherein in an on state a switch (short-circuit switching element 50a) is configured to directly connect a first busbar (positive side of the DC power source) to a reference terminal (neutral point C); see col. 11, ll. 4-9 “50a, 50b are short-circuit switching elements which are turned ON in response to a shortcircuit command Sc”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Klodowski so that in the on state the switch directly connects the first busbar to the reference terminal, as taught by Miyazaki, because it can help provide a rapid, low-impedance path to clamp the busbar overvoltage.
Klodowski in view of Miyazaki does not disclose wherein a level of a first voltage between the first busbar and a second busbar of the plurality of busbars at the first side terminals of the inverter assembly is at a Low Voltage (LV) range, and wherein the level of the AC voltage is at a Medium Voltage (MV) range higher than the LV range.
However, Gan teaches (see Fig. 2) wherein a level of a first voltage between a first busbar and a second busbar at the first side terminals of the inverter assembly is at a Low Voltage (LV) range (the DC bus voltage of an individual power cell), and wherein the level of the AC voltage is at a Medium Voltage (MV) range higher than the LV range (the series-connected power cells output a high, medium-voltage output; see [0058] “each phase comprises 6 power cells connected in series and outputs a high voltage”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Klodowski in view of Miyazaki so that the first voltage is at an LV range and the AC voltage is at an MV range higher than the LV range, as taught by Gan, because it can help step up the low-voltage DC bus to a medium-voltage AC output suitable for grid connection.
Regarding claim 22, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) wherein the second busbar of the plurality of busbars comprises the reference terminal (the neutral DC bus 175, to which first switch 120 connects the positive DC bus 170, serves as the reference terminal; see [0016]).
Regarding claim 23, Klodowski discloses (see Fig. 1) further comprising: measuring, by a second sensor (sensing unit 152), a level of an electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar (negative DC bus 180) of the plurality of busbars coupled to the first side terminals of the inverter assembly (sensing unit 152 measures a voltage across second capacitor 144; see [0018]); determining, by the controller, a change in the level of the electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar, based on the measurement (sensing unit 152 senses an overvoltage across second capacitor 144; see [0018]); and connecting, by a second switch (second switch 122), the second busbar of the plurality of busbars, to the reference terminal based on the measured electrical characteristic relating to the second busbar (second switch 122 operates to discharge the negative DC voltage; see [0018]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klodowski in view of Miyazaki and Rongve et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2013/0335863 A1, hereinafter “Rongve”).
Regarding claim 12, Klodowski does not disclose wherein the controller is further coupled to a main control unit, and wherein the main control unit is configured to indicate to the controller to turn-on the switch.
However, Rongve teaches (see Fig. 3) wherein a controller (short-circuiting control unit 36, which actuates the switch SW) is further coupled to a main control unit (converter 20), and wherein the main control unit is configured to indicate to the controller to turn-on the switch (converter 20 provides a protection activation signal to the short-circuiting control unit 36, which closes the switch SW to activate the crowbar; see [0034] “the electric short-circuiting arrangement 26 thus includes a short-circuiting control unit 36 for actuating the switch”, and see [0052] “the AND circuit will provide a control signal closing the switch if a DC voltage is present across the bridge legs at the same time as a delayed protection activation signal is present, thereby activating the crowbar”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the protection device of Klodowski so that the controller is further coupled to a main control unit configured to indicate to the controller to turn-on the switch, as taught by Rongve, because it can help coordinate the protective short-circuiting with the operation of the converter and provide a back-up overvoltage protection function.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klodowski in view of Miyazaki and Schnetzka (US Patent Application Publication US 2006/0208685 A1, hereinafter “Schnetzka”).
Regarding claim 17, Klodowski does not disclose wherein the switching circuit comprises a transistor, a first diode, and a second diode, wherein the transistor is connected in series with the first diode forming a series connection, and wherein the second diode is connected in parallel with the series connection of the transistor and the first diode.
However, Schnetzka teaches (see Fig. 6A) wherein a switching circuit comprises a transistor (IGBT 650A), a first diode (diode 652B), and a second diode (diode 652A), wherein the transistor is connected in series with the first diode forming a series connection (IGBT 650A is connected in series with diode 652B), and wherein the second diode is connected in parallel with the series connection of the transistor and the first diode (diode 652A is connected in inverse parallel with IGBT 650A); see [0055] “IGBT 650A is connected in series with inverse or anti-parallel diode 652B such that the inverse or anti-parallel diode 652B can provide reverse blocking for the IGBT 650A”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switching circuit of Klodowski to comprise a transistor connected in series with a first diode and a second diode connected in parallel with the series connection, as taught by Schnetzka, because it can help provide reverse-voltage blocking capability for the switching circuit while permitting reverse current conduction through the anti-parallel diode.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klodowski in view of Miyazaki and Wei et al. (US Patent Application Publication US 2010/0177452 A1, hereinafter “Wei”).
Regarding claim 18, Klodowski does not disclose wherein the switch further comprises a choke connected in series with the switching circuit, and a snubber circuit connected in parallel with the switching circuit, wherein the snubber circuit comprises a resistor connected in series with a capacitor.
Miyazaki teaches (see Fig. 7) a choke connected in series with the switching circuit (reactor 51a connected in series with short-circuit switching element 50a; see col. 6, ll. 48-58 “a series circuit composed of a reactor and a switching element provided between the positive and negative sides of the DC power source and the neutral point”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the switch of Klodowski to include a choke connected in series with the switching circuit, as taught by Miyazaki, because it can help limit the rate of rise of the short-circuit current through the switching circuit.
Klodowski in view of Miyazaki does not disclose a snubber circuit connected in parallel with the switching circuit, wherein the snubber circuit comprises a resistor connected in series with a capacitor.
However, Wei teaches (see Fig. 4) a snubber circuit comprising a resistor (resistor 36) and a capacitor (damping capacitor 38) for suppressing overvoltage transients across the DC bus; see [0007] “snubber circuits at the motor terminals or across the DC bus”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the switch of Klodowski in view of Miyazaki to include a snubber circuit comprising a resistor connected in series with a capacitor connected in parallel with the switching circuit, as taught by Wei, because it can help suppress voltage transients and protect the switching circuit from voltage spikes.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2017/0214335 A1 discloses a three-level power converter having a groundable capacitor midpoint and half-bridge switch legs with anti-parallel freewheeling diodes.
US 5,883,775 discloses a bi-directional thyristor crowbar overvoltage protector employing a symmetrical avalanche diode and triggered at two distinct voltage limits.
/MONICA LEWIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2838 /
/JYE-JUNE LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2838