DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 10-17 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 recites the limitation “the electronics layer” in line 5. The limitation lacks antecedent basis support. Appropriate correction is required.
Dependent claim 11 discloses “an electronics layer” in line 11, the claim depends from independent claim 10 which previously introduced the electronics layer. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 recites the limitation “wherein coil layer”. This is grammatically incorrect and should be corrected to “wherein the coil layer”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-4, 6, 8, 10, 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LITSYN et al. (US 2017/0285706 A1, hereinafter LITSYN) in view of YANG et al. (US 2015/0123603 A1, hereinafter YANG).
Regarding claims 1 and 10 (claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LTSYN discloses a disposable charging system for a portable electronic device, comprising:
a cover layer (See Fig.1, Item#100, discloses a charging sticker comprising a top surface interpreted as the cover layer, Fig.3A shows the top of the charging device 100 which faces away from electronic device 30 to which it is attached);
an electronics layer disposed below the cover layer (See Pars.34-35 and Figs.6A-6B, disclose a flexible electronic layer 620), comprising:
a circuit board disposed on a flexible substrate (See Fig.7, discloses the flexible electronic layer 710A, a primary power source 720A a non-volatile memory 730A and logic 740A and their electrical connection are placed on the flexible substrate); and
a battery electrically coupled to the circuit board (See Fig.7A, Item#720A, discloses a primary power source in connection with the logic and memory components. Fig.8A-8C, disclose the power source is a battery cell electrically connected to a converter circuit via wiring traces),
an exterior surface facing away from the electronics layer and configured to attach to the portable electronic device (See Fig.3A and Par.30, discloses the sticker charger 100 comprises a surface which attaches to the electronic device 30. Par.59 discloses an attachment layer to attach to a consumer electronic).
However, LITSYN does not disclose the charger is a wireless charger comprising:
wherein circuit board configured to create an inductive current;
a coil layer disposed below the electronics layer, comprising:
a planar transmitting coil disposed along an inner facing surface of the coil layer, wherein the planar transmitting coil is configured to:
convert the inductive current from the circuit board into a magnetic field;
and direct the magnetic field to the attached portable electronic device.
YANG discloses a wireless charger for charging an electronic device, the wireless charger comprising:
a circuit board (See Fig.2, Item#10, discloses a circuit board and electronic component 13 mounted on it), wherein circuit board configured to create an inductive current (See Par.48, discloses inductive current is generated by the coil pattern 20 and the electronic component 13 generating induction magnetic field),
a coil layer disposed below the electronics layer (See Fig.2, discloses a coil layer 20 below an electronic layer 10), comprising:
a planar transmitting coil disposed along an inner facing surface of the coil layer (See Fig.2, discloses a coil pattern on the coil layer), wherein the planar transmitting coil is configured to:
convert the inductive current from the circuit board into a magnetic field (See Par.60, discloses the wireless power transmitter transfers wireless power from the battery to an external electronic device. This inherently indicates the presence of an inverter to convert the DC power from the battery to AC to be transmitted wirelessly);
and direct the magnetic field to the attached portable electronic device (See Par.60, discloses the power is transmitted wirelessly to an electronic device).
LITSYN and YANG are analogous art since they both deal with battery chargers for electronic devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LITSYN with the teachings of YANG by adding the disclosed coil layer and conversion circuitry for the benefit of providing a charger which is capable of charging an electronic device via wired and wireless interfaces.
Regarding claims 3-4, LITSYN and YANG disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 1 as discussed above, further comprising a sensor coupled to the circuit board and configured to generate a signal in response to a detected condition (See LITSYN, Fig.94-9B, and Pars. 38-39, disclose the converter sensing a connection of the cable connector to an electronic device and activating a connection between the battery and the step-up converter to output electrical power to the electronic device. In the case where the connector is not connected to an electronic device the converter prevents leakage current from the battery).
Regarding claim 6, LITSYN and YANG disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 3 as discussed above, further comprising a battery switch coupled to the battery and configured to activate the battery in response to the signal generated in response to the detected condition (See LITSYN, Fig.94-9B, and Pars. 38-39, disclose the converter sensing a connection of the cable connector to an electronic device and activating an electronic switch connection between the battery and converter to output electrical power to the electronic device. In the case where the connector is not connected to an electronic device the converter prevents leakage current from the battery.
Regarding claims 8 and 17 (Claim 8 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LITSYN and YANG disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 1, wherein an adhesive is disposed over at least a portion of the exterior surface of the coil layer (See LITSYN, Fig.3A and Par.30, discloses the sticker charger 100 comprises a surface which attaches to the electronic device 30. Par.59 discloses an attachment layer to attach to a consumer electronic. See Pars.4 and 25 disclose an adhesive attachment).
Regarding claim 14, LITSYN and YANG disclose a wireless charging system according to claim 10, wherein the circuit board and the battery are both disposed on the coil layer (See LISTYN, Fig.7A, discloses the electronics layer 710A. The battery 720A and logic circuit 740A and memory are all placed on the electronic layer).
Claim(s) 2, 9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LITSYN in view of YANG and in further view of HWANG (US 2019/0221353 A1, hereinafter HWANG).
Regarding claim 2, LITSYN and YANG disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 1 as discussed above, However, LITSYN and YANG do not disclose further comprising:
a back layer disposed between the coil layer and the electronics layer; and
a thermal layer disposed between the electronics layer and the cover layer.
HWANG discloses a wireless charger comprising:
a back layer between a coil layer and an electronic layer (See Fig.3, Item#114 and Pars.38-40, disclose a magnetic field shielding layer for condense the magnetic field in a desired direction towards the charge receiving electronic device); and
a thermal layer disposed between the electronics layer and the cover layer (See Fig.4, discloses heat radiating case 130 comprising a radiating member layer 140 between the circuit board 162 and the cover. The cover is considered the outer most part of the heat radiating case 130).
LITSYN, YANG and HWANG are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LISTYN and YANG with the teachings of HWANG by adding the back layer between the coil layer and the electronic layer and the thermal layer between the electronic layer and the cover layer for the benefit of directing the magnetic field towards the charge receiving electronic device and for removing heat generated in the electronic layer to the outside of the wireless charger.
Regarding claim 11, LISTYN and YANG disclose a wireless charging system according to claim 10 as discussed above, further comprising:
a cover layer (See LISTYN, Fig.1, Item#100, discloses a charging sticker comprising a top surface interpreted as the cover layer, Fig.3A shows the top of the charging device 100 which faces away from electronic device 30 to which it is attached);
an electronics layer disposed below the cover layer (See LISTYN, Pars.34-35 and Figs.6A-6B, disclose a flexible electronic layer 620), wherein the circuit board and the battery are both disposed on the electronics layer (See LISTYN, Fig.7A, discloses the electronics layer 710A. The battery 720A and logic circuit 740A and memory are all placed on the electronic layer).
However, LISTYN and YANG do not disclose a back layer disposed between the coil layer and the electronics layer; and a thermal layer disposed between the electronics layer and the cover layer.
HWANG discloses a wireless charger comprising:
a back layer between a coil layer and an electronic layer (See Fig.3, Item#114 and Pars.38-40, disclose a magnetic field shielding layer for condense the magnetic field in a desired direction towards the charge receiving electronic device); and
a thermal layer disposed between the electronics layer and the cover layer (See Fig.4, discloses heat radiating case 130 comprising a radiating member layer 140 between the circuit board 162 and the cover. The cover is considered the outer most part of the heat radiating case 130).
LITSYN, YANG and HWANG are analogous art since they all deal with wireless charging.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LISTYN and YANG with the teachings of HWANG by adding the back layer between the coil layer and the electronic layer and the thermal layer between the electronic layer and the cover layer for the benefit of directing the magnetic field towards the charge receiving electronic device and for removing heat generated in the electronic layer to the outside of the wireless charger.
Regarding claims 9 and 13 (Claim 9 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LITSYN, YANG and HWANG as applied to claim 1 disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 1 as discussed above, However, LITSYN, YANG and HWANG as applied to claim 1 do not disclose wherein coil layer comprises a plurality of coils positioned adjacently across the inner facing surface of the coil layer.
HWANG further teaches the wireless charger comprising a plurality of coils positioned adjacently across the inner facing surface of the coil layer (See Fig.3, disclose a plurality of coils 111-113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed LITSYN, YANG and HWANG as applied to claim 1 with the further teachings of HWANG by replacing the single coil [YANG] with the plurality of coils for the benefit of ensuring the device is able to charge a plurality of electronic devices with different location of charge receiving coils [ensures alignment between the transmitting coil and the receiving coil].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LITSYN in view of YANG and in further view of HAMILTON et al. (US 2005/0127866 A1, hereinafter HAMILTON).
Regarding claim 5, LITSYN and YANG disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 3 as discussed above, However, LITSYN and YANG do not disclose wherein the sensor comprises an accelerometer.
HAMILTON discloses a charger system which is activated based on a signal from a sensor, wherein the sensor comprising user’s body motion (i.e. accelerometer) (See Par.46).
LITSYN, YANG and HAMILTON are analogous art since they all deal with charging systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LITSYN and YANG with the teachings of HAMILTON by using an accelerometer to activate the charger for the benefit of providing a different mechanism which keeps the charger in sleep mode until it is removed from packaging to be used.
Claim(s) 7 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LITSYN in view of YANG and in further view of YLOTALO et al. (US 2012/0209102 A1, hereinafter YLOTALO).
Regarding claims 7 and 12 (claim 7 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), LITSYN and YANG disclose a disposable wireless charging system according to claim 1 as discussed above, the battery is further disposed on the flexible substrate (See LITSYN, Fig.7, Item#710A). However, LITSYN and YANG do not explicitly disclose a wherein the battery comprises a printed battery.
YLOTALO discloses a single use device comprising a printed battery (See Fig.5 and Par.53).
LITSYN, YANG and YLOTALO are analogous art since they all deal with electronic circuits.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LITSYN and YANG with the teachings of YLOTALO by using a printed battery in the disclosed charger for the benefit of reducing the size and weight of the charging label.
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LITSYN in view of YANG and in further view of BRUNING et al. (US 2003/0231001 A1, hereinafter BRUNING).
Regarding claim 15, LITSYN and YANG disclose a wireless charging system according to claim 14 as discussed above, further comprising:
a cover layer disposed above the coil layer (See LITSYN, discloses the side connected to the electronic device is considered to be the cover. LITSYN as modified by YANG disclose the cover facing the electronic device comprises a coil under the cover).
However, LITSYN and YANG do not disclose a solar panel disposed on an exterior facing surface of the cover layer, wherein the solar panel is electrically coupled to the circuit board.
BRUNING discloses a wireless charger comprising a solar panel electrically connected to an interior circuit (See Figs.2-3, Item#18, disclose a solar cell which converts incident sunlight to electricity and charges the battery 20. The power is then routed to induction coil 26).
LITSYN, YANG and BRUNING are analogous art since they all deal with chargers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LITSYN and YANG with the teachings of BRUNING by adding a solar panel for the benefit of providing an external power source to recharge the charger battery.
Regarding claim 16, LITSYN, YANG and BRUNING disclose a wireless charging system according to claim 15 a discussed above, wherein the solar panel comprises a photovoltaic material (See Figs.2-3, Item#18, disclose a solar cell). However, LITSYN, YANG and BRUNING do not explicitly disclose the photovoltaic material is deposited onto a flexible substrate. However, the examiner explains that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by LITSYN, YANG and BRUNING as applied to claim 15 by using a flexible solar panel for the benefit of ensuring the charger continues to be flexible to be able to conform to different shaped devices (See Figs. 2A-2D and Par.34).
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859