Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of compound 6:
in the reply filed on 04/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/29/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Ma et al (US 20130119354 A1).
Ma discloses an OLED comprising the claimed organic layer [claim 21-25, abstract] comprising a dopant exemplified by compound 3 and 11
[p69-70]
[p69] wherein the R1 to R4 groups include deuterium [claim 1] and in general, any of the groups may include partial and full deuteration [0102]. Ma also discloses the claimed host materials [0025].
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Li et al (US 20220194956 A1).
Li discloses an OLED [abstract, examples] comprising the claimed organic layer comprising a dopant exemplified by:
[p38, reads on compound of claim 15, p65 of claims, last embodiment] as well as a host material including the claimed host compounds including for example H2:
[p35].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai et al (US 20200251666 A1, CN 111518139).
Cai discloses an OLED comprising the claimed organic layer comprising a dopant exemplified by:
[p38] and a host compound of the claims:
[p40].
The difference between the claimed compounds and the disclosed compounds is that the disclosed compounds include an additional CN functional group, which is not included in the RA, RB and RX functional groups of the claimed Formula I. As taught by Cai, the additional CN group is added in order to make predictable changes to the iridium complex, such as blue shift in the emission spectrum [0008].
If the cyano group improved compounds of Cai would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have prepared the claimed compounds without the cyano group modification.
Claim(s) 1-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai496 (US 20210403496 A1) discloses a metal complex of Formula 1:
[claim 1, p25] wherein Ar is an aryl or heteroaryl group, with an exemplary formula includes fully deuterated phenyl group:
[p44].
The difference between the claimed compounds and the disclosed compounds is that the disclosed compounds include an additional CN functional group, which is not included in the RA, RB and RX functional groups of the claimed Formula I. As taught by Cai, the additional CN group is added in order to make predictable changes to the iridium complex, such as blue shift in the emission spectrum [0009].
If the cyano group improved compounds of Cai496 would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan, then it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention to have prepared the claimed compounds without the cyano group modification.
Other References
CN 114773399 A, CN 113773349 A and CN 114106056 A disclose the claimed compounds, but are not available as prior art under 35 USC 102.
CN 111808143 A discloses all of the claimed limitations, but also requires an adamantyl group, which is excluded from the claimed Formula 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12577202. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patent claims disclose the same OLED and consumer product thereof [claims 1 and 19] comprising compounds of the claimed formula I, both iridium and platinum compounds below:
[clm 17]
[clm 18].
MICHAEL M. DOLLINGER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1766
/MICHAEL M DOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766