DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s response filed 4/15/2026 is acknowledged.
In light of the applicant’s remarks, the drawing objection and 112 rejection set forth in the previous office action have been withdrawn.
Claims 1-11 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Rosen (US 20180113185 A1) in view of Sato (US 20230062864 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rosen teaches a magnetic resonance (MR) imaging system ([0009] a MRI system is disclosed)
a magnet system configured to generate a static magnetic field (B0) about at least a portion of a subject including an organ receiving blood from multiple, different supplies ([0009] The MRI system includes a magnet system configured to generate a static magnetic field about at least a region of interest (ROI) of a subject arranged in the MRI system; [0067] The report may indicate at least one of hyper-acute or mild blood brain barrier (BBB) disruption the organ receiving blood from multiple supplies is a limitation regarding the target population rather than the system itself, see MPEP 2112.02, furthermore, seeing as this reference is investigating the brain and blood brain barrier, it is understood that the brain is an organ receives blood from multiple supplies)
and having received a dose of a material configured to change MR contrast ([0011] the subject having received solution comprising nanodiamonds, wherein the excitation pulses comprises at least one embedded electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) pulse and a controller configured to manipulate dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP) contrast caused by the nanodiamonds)
a plurality of gradient coils configured to apply magnetic gradients to the static magnetic field ([0009] The MRI system includes at least one gradient coil configured to establish at least one magnetic gradient field with respect to the static magnetic field)
a radio frequency (RF) system configured to apply an excitation field to the subject and acquire MR image data from the subject ([0009] The system also includes a radio frequency (RF) system configured to deliver excitation pulses to the subject)
a computer system programmed to acquire an MR dataset from the organ receiving the blood from multiple, different supplies ([0009] The computer system is programmed to: control the at least one gradient coil and the RF system to perform a MRI pulse sequence; acquire data corresponding to signals from the subject having received solution comprising nanodiamonds; and reconstruct, from the data, at least one anatomical image of the subject and spatially distributed nanodiamonds within the subject relative to the anatomical image)
reconstruct the MR dataset into a first set of MR images using a first reconstruction process configured to weight the first set of MR images to the material configured to change the MR contrast ([0010] The method includes arranging a subject to receive solution comprising nanodiamonds and performing a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) process to acquire a first data from the subject)
reconstruct the MR dataset into a second set of MR images using a second reconstruction process configured to weight the second set of MR images against the material configured to change the MR contrast ([0010] The method also includes performing an Overhauser-enhanced magnetic resonance imaging (OMRI) process to acquire a second data from the subject and reconstructing the first and second data to generate a report indicating a spatial distribution of the nanodiamonds in the subject; [0042] processing may, for example, include one or more of the following: reconstructing two-dimensional or three-dimensional images by performing a Fourier transformation of raw k-space data; performing other image reconstruction algorithms, such as iterative or backprojection reconstruction algorithms; applying filters to raw k-space data or to reconstructed images; generating functional magnetic resonance images; calculating motion or flow images; [0073] The MRI system may reconstruct, from the second data, at least one DNP image of the subject and spatially distributed nanodiamonds within the subject relative to the anatomical image)
and a display configured to display the first set of MR images and the second set of MR images ([0033] The MRI system 100 includes an operator workstation 102, which will typically include a display 104, one or more input devices 106, such as a keyboard and mouse, and a processor 108. The processor 108 may include a commercially available programmable machine running a commercially available operating system. The operator workstation 102 provides the operator interface that enables scan prescriptions to be entered into the MRI system 100. In general, the operator workstation 102 may be coupled to four servers: a pulse sequence server 110; a data acquisition server 112; a data processing server 114; and a data store server 116. The operator workstation 102 and each server 110, 112, 114, and 116 are connected to communicate with each other; [0043] Images reconstructed by the data processing server 114 are conveyed back to the operator workstation 102 where they are stored. Real-time images are stored in a data base memory cache (not shown in FIG. 1), from which they may be output to operator display 112 or a display 136 that is located near the magnet assembly 124 for use by attending physicians. Batch mode images or selected real time images are stored in a host database on disc storage 138. When such images have been reconstructed and transferred to storage, the data processing server 114 notifies the data store server 116 on the operator workstation 102. The operator workstation 102 may be used by an operator to archive the images, produce films, or send the images via a network to other facilities).
Rosen fails to teach a user-selectable weighting of the first set of MR images relative the second set of MR images.
However, Sato teaches a user-selectable weighting of the first set of MR images relative the second set of MR images ([0080] a GUI for receiving user designation with respect to processing in the image processing unit 22, in particular, processing in the weight calculation unit 222; [0088] The image processing device 2 may also be provided with a UI unit to receive a user instruction regarding the filter size and thresholds for the weight)
Rosen and Sato are considered analogous because both disclose systems that analyze MR image data. Furthermore, seeing as the weighting done in Sato is done on an intensity image (first MR image) relative to a phase image (second MR image) as depicted in fig. 7 of the Sato disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to include a user interface that allows image weights to be manually toggled in order to improve SNR (Sato [0002])
Regarding claim 7, Rosen teaches a method for imaging a portion of a subject including an organ receiving blood from multiple, different supplies using a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) system ([0009] a MRI system is disclosed)
delivering a dose of a material configured to change MR contrast to the subject following delivery of the dose of the material configured to change MR contrast to the subject, simultaneously acquiring MR data from multiple, different supplies to form an MR dataset ([0011] the subject having received solution comprising nanodiamonds, wherein the excitation pulses comprises at least one embedded electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) pulse and a controller configured to manipulate dynamic nuclear polarization (DNP) contrast caused by the nanodiamonds)
reconstructing the MR dataset into a first set of MR images using a first reconstruction process configured to weight the first set of MR images to the material configured to change the MR contrast; reconstructing the MR dataset into a second set of MR images using a second reconstruction process configured to weight the second set of MR images against the material configured to change the MR contrast ([0010] The method includes arranging a subject to receive solution comprising nanodiamonds and performing a magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) process to acquire a first data from the subject. The method also includes performing an Overhauser-enhanced magnetic resonance imaging (OMRI) process to acquire a second data from the subject and reconstructing the first and second data to generate a report indicating a spatial distribution of the nanodiamonds in the subject)
and displaying the first set of MR images and the second set of MR images together ([0033] The MRI system 100 includes an operator workstation 102, which will typically include a display 104, one or more input devices 106, such as a keyboard and mouse, and a processor 108. The processor 108 may include a commercially available programmable machine running a commercially available operating system. The operator workstation 102 provides the operator interface that enables scan prescriptions to be entered into the MRI system 100. In general, the operator workstation 102 may be coupled to four servers: a pulse sequence server 110; a data acquisition server 112; a data processing server 114; and a data store server 116. The operator workstation 102 and each server 110, 112, 114, and 116 are connected to communicate with each other).
Rosen fails to teach a user-selectable weighting of the first set of MR images relative the second set of MR images.
However, Sato teaches a user-selectable weighting of the first set of MR images relative the second set of MR images ([0080] a GUI for receiving user designation with respect to processing in the image processing unit 22, in particular, processing in the weight calculation unit 222; [0088] The image processing device 2 may also be provided with a UI unit to receive a user instruction regarding the filter size and thresholds for the weight)
Rosen and Sato are considered analogous because both disclose systems that analyze MR image data. Furthermore, seeing as the weighting done in Sato is done on an intensity image (first MR image) relative to a phase image (second MR image) as depicted in fig. 7 of the Sato disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to include a user interface that allows image weights to be manually toggled in order to improve SNR (Sato [0002])
Claim(s) 2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen in view of Sato as applied to claims 1 and 7 respectively above, and further in view of Kimura (US 20100253342 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Rosen discloses the system set forth above, but fails to teach the first set of MR images includes maximum intensity projection images and the second set of MR images includes minimum intensity projection images.
However, Kimura teaches the first set of MR images includes maximum intensity projection images and the second set of MR images includes minimum intensity projection images ([0046] The synthesis includes cumulative addition of pixel values, maximum intensity projection (MIP), minimum intensity projection (minIP))
Rosen and Kimura are considered analogous because both disclose systems of reconstructing contrast MRI images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a maximum and minimum intensity projection so that fluids flowing at a lower velocity can be visualized in a more enhanced manner than fluids flowing at a higher velocity.
Regarding claim 8, Rosen discloses the method set forth above, but fails to teach the first set of MR images includes maximum intensity projection images and the second set of MR images includes minimum intensity projection images.
However, Kimura teaches the first set of MR images includes maximum intensity projection images and the second set of MR images includes minimum intensity projection images ([0046] The synthesis includes cumulative addition of pixel values, maximum intensity projection (MIP), minimum intensity projection (minIP))
Rosen and Kimura are considered analogous because both disclose systems of reconstructing contrast MRI images. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a maximum and minimum intensity projection so that fluids flowing at a lower velocity can be visualized in a more enhanced manner than fluids flowing at a higher velocity.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen in view of Sato as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Block (US 20150226815 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Rosen teaches the system set forth above, but fails to teach the computer system is configured to acquire the MR dataset from the organ receiving the blood from multiple, different supplies during a single MR acquisition.
However, Block teaches the computer system is configured to acquire the MR dataset from the organ receiving the blood from multiple, different supplies during a single MR acquisition ([0003] DCE-MRI at a temporal resolution of only a few seconds from a single, continuous image acquisition)
Rosen and Block are considered analogous because both disclose contrast MRI systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use a single MRI acquisition in order to reduce the requirements on bolus timing accuracy and can thereby significantly simplify the imaging workflow (Block [0003])
Claim(s) 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen in view of Sato as applied to claims 1 and 7 respectively above, and further in view of Wang (US 20220187405 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 9, Rosen discloses the system set forth above, but fails to teach wherein the organ includes a placenta and the multiple, different supplies include a supply from a mother and a supply from a fetus.
However, Wang teaches wherein the organ includes a placenta and the multiple, different supplies include a supply from a mother and a supply from a fetus ([0067] FIGS. 10A-10L depict examples of DDI application in a human placenta. FIG. 10A illustrates an example human placenta including an umbilical cord, a chorionic plate, chorioamniotic membranes, a chorionic villous tree, and a basal plate. Two aspects of the immunologic nature of Villous Inflammation include 1) circulating maternal T cells entering the intervillous space that can infiltrate the villus, and 2) after maternal T-cell infiltration, Hofbauer cells, or fetal placental macrophages, may be activated. In summary, infiltration T cell and activated macrophage in placental inflammation)
Rosen and Wang are considered analogous because both disclose contrast MRI systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to perform the system disclosed in Rosen on a human placenta in vivo in order to enable safe longitudinal inflammation imaging of a placenta during human pregnancy (Wang [0067]).
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen in view of Sato as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Xu (US 20230241255 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Rosen teaches the system set forth above, but fails to teach the material configured to change MR contrast includes iron.
However, Xu teaches the material configured to change MR contrast includes iron ([0008] contrast agent compositions comprising iron)
Rosen and Xu are considered analogous because both disclose contrast MRI systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use iron as a contrast agent in order to require less magnetic field force generated by MRI scanner (Xu [0009]).
Regarding claim 6, Rosen discloses the system set forth above, but fails to teach the material configured to change MR contrast includes Ferumoxytol.
However, Xu teaches the material configured to change MR contrast includes Ferumoxytol ([0073] In addition, Ferumoxytol, an FDA-approved iron oxide nanoparticle used for anemia treatment, can be used as another comparative contrast agent)
Rosen and Xu are considered analogous because both disclose contrast MRI systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use in anemia treatment (Xu [0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Rosen teaches the method set forth above, but fails to teach the material configured to change MR contrast includes iron.
However, Xu teaches the material configured to change MR contrast includes iron ([0008] contrast agent compositions comprising iron)
Rosen and Xu are considered analogous because both disclose contrast MRI systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use iron as a contrast agent in order to require less magnetic field force generated by MRI scanner (Xu [0009]).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosen in view of Sato and Kimura as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Xu.
Regarding claim 11, Rosen as modified fails to teach the material configured to change MR contrast includes Ferumoxytol.
However, Xu teaches the material configured to change MR contrast includes Ferumoxytol ([0073] In addition, Ferumoxytol, an FDA-approved iron oxide nanoparticle used for anemia treatment, can be used as another comparative contrast agent)
Rosen and Xu are considered analogous because both disclose contrast MRI systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the pending application to use in anemia treatment (Xu [0073]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s lengthy response is fundamentally based on the argument that inherency was improperly applied in making the precious rejection. First and foremost, applicant appears to be ignoring an important assertion that was made in the previous office action which is repeated here for emphasis: The organ receiving blood from multiple supplies is a limitation regarding the target population rather than the system itself, see MPEP 2112.02. Essentially, according to the MPEP, should all the structurally relevant portions of the claim be disclosed in the prior art, the claim should be rejected. In the instant case, the structure disclosed in the independent claim includes a magnet system generating a magnetic field around a subject, a plurality of gradient coils applying magnetic gradients to a static field, an RF system applying an excitation field and imaging a subject, acquiring and reconstructing an MR dataset into a first and second set of images and displaying said reconstructions. All of these limitations are found in the prior art combination and applicant makes no attempt to argue against these structural limitations in the prior art rejection and focuses entirely on the limitations regarding the target population. As such, applicant’s arguments are already rendered moot due to this fact alone. The goal of the Rosen reference is irrelevant, the structure is substantially the same as the structure disclosed in the independent claim. Furthermore, the office maintains the position that the claim language is written broadly enough to be rejected by the outstanding prior art combination. The cited prior art teaches imaging blood on the blood brain barrier. The brain is well known in the art to receive blood from multiple different sources in order to function correctly and as such is analogous to the target population in the pending application. Given the applicant’s disclosure of an organ such as a placenta it appears that the pending application is intended to be used during a pregnancy, which the office concedes is not the case for the cited prior art combination. However, this is not present in the claims in any way shape or form. If the nature of the different blood supplies in the pending application differs from that in the prior art as applicant is arguing then this distinction should be added into the claims. In order to overcome the outstanding prior art rejection applicant is strongly encouraged to amend the claims to include more limitations regarding the physical structure of the invention in the pending application that enables the functionality that applicant appears to believe differentiates the claim from the cited prior art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ghiasi (US 20220378334 A1) teaches [abst] fetal-blood-oxygen-saturation estimation technique receives multiple channels of PPG signals from two or more photodetectors detecting transabdominal diffused light from two or more light sources emitting two or more distinct wavelengths, wherein the photodetectors and light sources are positioned on a maternal abdomen
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GABRIEL VICTOR POPESCU/ Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/SERKAN AKAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797