DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the request for continued examination correspondence filed 09/30/2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/30/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #96bis R1-1905371 "PDCCH skipping and switching of PDCCH monitoring periodicity (04-2019) (hereinafter "3GPP") in view of Tiirola et al (WO2018127802A1).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP teaches a method comprising:
detecting a user equipment (UE)-specific Downlink Control Information (DCI) format during the DRX operation by the UE, wherein the UE-specific DCI format comprises a bit field that indicates an adaptation on Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring (pg. 1- 4 specifically Section 2-3 & 2.1 and 2.2; explicitly discloses that a UE, while operating during DRX on-duration or DRX active time (sections 2.1 and 3); detects and decodes UE-specific DCI formats (DCI format 1_1 and/or 1_0) on the PDCCH (section 2); the UE-specific DCI is modified to include an explicit bit field of one or two bits (Sections 2.1 and 2.2), which indicates an adaptation of PDCCH monitoring behavior, including skipping one or more PDCCH monitoring occasions or dynamically switching the PDCCH monitoring periodicity (Section 2.1, 2.2 and proposal 3); accordingly the UE detects a UE specific DCI during DRX operation, wherein the DCI comprises a bit field that indicates an adaption on PDCCH monitoring);
But 3GPP fails to teach and switching from a first Search Space Set (SSS) to a second SSS by the UE in response to the bit field indicates SSS switching.
However, Tiirola teaches and switching from a first Search Space Set (SSS) to a second SSS by the UE in response to the bit field that indicates adaptation on PDCCH monitoring also indicates SSS switching ([0022]-[0026], [0028], [0036]-[0037], [0044]-[0046], expressly discloses that “a UE can be configured with two or more search space configurations”, define Configuration A and Configuration B, each having distinct PDCCH monitoring characteristics (bandwidth, number of CCEs, blind decoding behavior; further clarifies that they UE may have at least two USS configurations, one used in configuration A and another in configuration B—corresponding to first SSS and a second SSS; explicitly states switching between the different configurations…can be based on switching from narrow BW to wider BW or from wider BW to lower BW etc; switching between search space configuration; further discloses the switching triggered by an explicit DL indication caried in control signaling; and further bit field PDCCH monitoring adaptation also indicating SSS switching, DCI bit field that indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring necessarily also indicates switching between search space sets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP teaches a UE comprising:
a DCI detection circuit that detects a UE-specific DCI format during the DRX operation, wherein the UE-specific DCI format comprises a bit field that indicates an adaptation on PDCCH monitoring (pg. 3, DCI format for PoSS; pg. 8 Section 2.2 - PoSS can be used for dynamic adaption PDCCH monitoring);
But 3GPP fails to teach and a PDCCH monitoring control circuit that switches from a first SSS to a second SSS in response to the bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH monitoring also indicates SSS switching.
However, Tiirola teaches and a PDCCH monitoring control circuit that switches from a first SSS to a second SSS in response to the bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH monitoring also indicates SSS switching ([0022]-[0026], [0028], [0036]-[0037], [0044]-[0046], expressly discloses that “a UE can be configured with two or more search space configurations”, define Configuration A and Configuration B, each having distinct PDCCH monitoring characteristics (bandwidth, number of CCEs, blind decoding behavior; further clarifies that they UE may have at least two USS configurations, one used in configuration A and another in configuration B—corresponding to first SSS and a second SSS; explicitly states switching between the different configurations…can be based on switching from narrow BW to wider BW or from wider BW to lower BW etc; switching between search space configuration; further discloses the switching triggered by an explicit DL indication caried in control signaling; and further bit field PDCCH monitoring adaptation also indicating SSS switching, DCI bit field that indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring necessarily also indicates switching between search space sets).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Claims 2-10, & 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #96bis R1-1905371 "PDCCH skipping and switching of PDCCH monitoring periodicity (04-2019) (hereinafter "3GPP") in view of Tiirola et al (WO2018127802A1) in further view of PDCCH-based power saving signal/channel" 3GPP Draft; R1-1906980 On PDCCH-based power saving signal vol RAN WG1, May 13-17, 2019 05/03/2019 pg. 1-12 XP051709014, Reno USA (“TSG”).
Regarding claim 2, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method wherein the UE-specific DCI format is a scheduling DCI using DCI format 0_1, 1_1,02, or 1_2. (pg. 9-11 section 2.3 DCI formats - design DCI fields with full flexibility only for power saving purpose).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 3, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method further comprising:
wherein the second SSS, compared to the first SSS, is configured with no PDCCH monitoring or PDCCH monitoring with longer period or smaller number of PDCCH candidates. (pg. 3 section 2.1 Search Space Set configuration, monitoring periodicity, offset, and duration can be configured; Section 2.1: “DCI format for WUS can be associated with SS set. A UE can monitor the DCI format for WUS based on the configured parameters for the associated SS set.” Section 2.2 states: “A list of candidates for associated adaptive parameters can be preconfigured…and the PDCCH-based PoSS can indicate one of the preconfigured candidates.” Also in Section 2.2 states: “Instead of adapting PDCCH monitoring per search space set, a UE can skip PDCCH monitoring by deactivating multiple search space sets to save power. Further stating in 2.2: “The granularity for (de)activation of search space sets can be per CORESET…or per active BWP.” And Section 2.3 states: “If the first field indicates activation of associated search space sets, some additional fields can indicate scaling on PDCCH monitoring…”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 4, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method wherein the second SSS is a dormant SSS. (pg. 3 section 2.1 different Search space sets configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 5, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method further comprising:
stopping monitoring DCI scrambled by any one of a Cell- Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), a Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI), and a Modulation Coding Scheme- Cell-RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI) in response to switching to the dormant SSS. (pg. 8 section 2.2 stopping monitoring when switching SSS, US skipping PDCCH monitoring by deactivating multiple SSS to save power).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method wherein the bit field indicates a ratio of PDCCH monitoring periodicity reduction. (pg. 8 section 2.2 some potential adaptive parameters can be PDCCH monitoring periodicity – bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 7, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method further comprising:
disabling a configured SSS by the UE in response to the bit field indicates SSS disabling (pg. 8 section 2.2 stopping monitoring when switching SSS; granularity of de(activation) SSS - per CORESET);
and stopping performing PDCCH monitoring by the UE in response to disabling the configured SSS. (pg. 8 section 2.2 PoSS design during DRX Active Time or without DRX).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 8, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method wherein the adjusting of the PDCCH monitoring periodicity is performed for all types of SSS, or for type-3 common SSS and UE-specific SSS, or for UE specific SSS only. (pg. 10 section 2.3 first field indicates activation of associated SSS, some additional fields can indicate scaling on PDCCH monitoring periodicity. DCI formats and adjusting the monitoring).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 9, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method wherein the bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH monitoring for a first SSS having the same Control Resource Set (CORESET) pool index value as a second SSS where the UE-specific DCI format is detected. (pg. 8 section 2.2 some potential adaptive parameters can be PDCCH monitoring periodicity -- bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 10, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the method The method of Claim 1, further comprising:
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message comprising a timer value by the UE; (pg. 2-3 section 2.1, WUS monitoring, configured with RRC and starts DRX duration timer).
and starting the timer by the UE in response the UE- specific DCI format; wherein the adjusting of the PDCCH monitoring periodicity is performed when the time expires. (pg. 2-3 section 2.1, WUS monitoring, configured with RRC and starts DRX duration timer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 12, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the UE-specific DCI format is a scheduling DCI using DCI format 0_1, 1_1,02, or 1_2. (pg. 9-11 section 2.3 DCI formats - design DCI fields with full flexibility only for power saving purpose).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 13, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the second SSS, compared to the fist SSS, is configured with no PDCCH monitoring or PDCCH monitoring with longer period or smaller number of PDCCH candidates. (pg. 3 section 2.1 Search Space Set configuration, monitoring periodicity, offset, and duration can be configured; Section 2.1: “DCI format for WUS can be associated with SS set. A UE can monitor the DCI format for WUS based on the configured parameters for the associated SS set.” Section 2.2 states: “A list of candidates for associated adaptive parameters can be preconfigured…and the PDCCH-based PoSS can indicate one of the preconfigured candidates.” Also in Section 2.2 states: “Instead of adapting PDCCH monitoring per search space set, a UE can skip PDCCH monitoring by deactivating multiple search space sets to save power. Further stating in 2.2: “The granularity for (de)activation of search space sets can be per CORESET…or per active BWP.” And Section 2.3 states: “If the first field indicates activation of associated search space sets, some additional fields can indicate scaling on PDCCH monitoring…”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 14, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the second SSS is a dormant SSS. (pg. 3 section 2.1 different Search space sets configuration).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 15, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the UE further stops monitoring DCI scrambled by any one of a Cell- Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), a Configured Scheduling-RNTI (CS-RNTI), and a Modulation Coding Scheme- Cell-RNTI (MCS-C-RNTI) in response to switching to the dormant SSS. (pg. 8 section 2.2 stopping monitoring when switching SSS, US skipping PDCCH monitoring by deactivating multiple SSS to save power).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the bit field indicates a ratio of PDCCH monitoring periodicity reduction. (pg. 8 section 2.2 some potential adaptive parameters can be PDCCH monitoring periodicity – bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH).
Regarding claim 17, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the UE disables a configured SSS in response to the bit field indicates SSS disabling, (pg. 8 section 2.2 stopping monitoring when switching SSS; granularity of de(activation) SSS - per CORESET) and stops performing PDCCH monitoring in response to disabling the configured SSS. (pg. 8 section 2.2 stopping monitoring when switching SSS; granularity of de(activation) SSS - per CORESET).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 18, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the adjusting of the PDCCH monitoring periodicity is performed for all types of SSS, or for type-3 common SSS and UE-specific SSS, or for UE specific SSS only. (pg. 10 section 2.3 first field indicates activation of associated SSS, some additional fields can indicate scaling on PDCCH monitoring periodicity. DCI formats and adjusting the monitoring).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 19, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH monitoring for a first SSS having the same Control Resource Set (CORESET) pool index value as a second SSS where the UE-specific DCI format is detected. (pg. 8 section 2.2 some potential adaptive parameters can be PDCCH monitoring periodicity -- bit field indicates adaptation on PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Regarding claim 20, 3GPP and Tiirola fails to teach but TSG teaches the UE wherein the UE further receives an RRC message comprising a timer value (pg. 2-3 section 2.1, WUS monitoring, configured with RRC and starts DRX duration timer), and starts the timer in response the UE-specific DCI format, wherein the adjusting of the PDCCH monitoring periodicity is performed when the time expires. (pg. 2-3 section 2.1, WUS monitoring, configured with RRC and starts DRX duration timer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the PoSS-based wake-up signaling described in 3GPP reference to include an explicit bit field indicating a switching between search space sets (SSS), as taught by Tiirola. The 3GPP reference already discloses dynamic UE behavior based on PoSS including wake-up/go-to-sleep signaling and adaptations to multiple parameters such as BWP and PDCCH monitoring behavior. It also allows for monitoring different sets of control resources. (e.g. CORESET/SS configuration) using PoSS-triggered control signaling. Tiirola discloses that a UE is configured with multiple SSS and switches from a first search space configuration to a second search space configuration, in response to an explicit indication carried in DL control signaling such as DCI, where the DCI—implemented via one or more bit fields—indicates adaptation of PDCCH monitoring and thereby also indicates the search space set switching. Furthermore, TSG teaches PDDCH—based power saving methods with dynamic UE behavior based on wakeup signaling and adaptation to multiple parameters. These mechanisms provide predictable, power-efficient search space adaptation logic that naturally complements PoSS functionality in 3GPP.
A combination of known elements is likely to be obvious if it yields a predictable result. The combination of PoSS signaling from the 3GPP reference with the dynamic SSS switching from Tiirola merely applies a known control mechanism (bit-based SSS switching in DCI) to an existing wake-up context. It would have been a routine design choice for a POSITA to include a bit-field in the PoSS-based DCI to explicitly control switching between SSSs for power-saving or latency tuning purposes, just as Tiirola suggests for different monitoring cycles. This combination enhances the flexibility of DRX operation and improves power efficiency without introducing any unexpected technical hurdles.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kumagai et al (WO2021065016) discloses a terminal and communication method.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419