DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Applicant’s remarks and amendments, filed 22 June 2026 in response to the non-final rejection mailed 20 February 2026, are acknowledged and have been fully considered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims are acknowledged. The listing of claims filed 22 June 2026 replaces all prior versions and listings of the claims.
Claims 80, 83, and 87 are pending. Claims 1-79, 81, 82, 84-86, and 88-99 remain cancelled. Claims 80, 83, and 87 are being examined on the merits.
Response to Amendment
Any previous rejection or objection not mentioned herein is withdrawn.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 25 November 2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of Application No. 18/518,560 (corrected from 18/518,568 in the non-final rejection dated 20 February 2026) has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit (as a continuation-in-part (CIP) application) of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed applications, Application Nos. 62/991,174; 62/992,825; 63/005,535; and 63/005,541, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
Claim 80 is drawn to a method for treating cytokine storm in a viral disease due to SARS-CoV-2 in a patient in need, however none of the listed provisional patent applications disclose treatment of a cytokine storm. Application Nos. ‘174 and ‘825 disclose antiviral activity of OT-101 and antiviral treatments using antisense or TGF beta inhibitors, however cytokine storms are not disclosed. Application Nos. ‘535 and ‘541 disclose additional data regarding the antiviral activity of OT-101 and ‘535 proposes theories regarding the role of TGF-β2, however cytokine storms are not disclosed. These provisional applications disclose the antiviral activity of the TGF-β2 inhibitor OT-101, however, they provide no disclosure or evidence regarding the role of OT-101 in treating a cytokine storm induced by a viral disease due to SARS-CoV-2 or any other virus.
All other claims depend from claim 80. The earliest priority for the instant Claims 80, 83, and 87 is therefore 6 May 2020 because the provisional Application No. 63/020,889 discloses a TGF-beta storm treatment comprising the TGF-beta inhibitor OT-101 for treatment of COVID-19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(maintained)
Claims 80, 83, and 87 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Bogdahn et al. (Neuro-Oncology, 2011, 132-142) in view of Chen (Int J Biol Sci, 2020, pages 1954-1955).
The instant claims are as of record, drawn to a method for treating cytokine storm in a viral disease due to SARS-CoV-2 in a patient in need, the method comprising administering to the patient a composition comprising antisense oligonucleotide SEQ ID No:13 (OT-101; e.g., trabedersen).
Bogdahn et al. teach the antisense nucleotide trabedersen (OT-101; Bogdahn et al., page 133; as required for instant Claim 80) and its administration to patients via a subcutaneous port (intravenous; as required for instant Claim 83) with either 10 μM or 80 μM trabedersen, which is a concentration of 0.06-0.46 mg/mL, and isotonic saline (sterile saline; Bogdahn et al., Treatment, page 133; as required for instant Claim 87). Trabedersen is known to be an inhibitor of TGF-β2 (Bogdahn et al., page 133; as required for instant Claim 80).
Bogdahn et al. do not teach treating cytokine storm in a viral disease due to SARS-CoV-2 in a patient in need.
Chen, however, teaches that the majority of patients with COVID-19 (e.g., the clinical disease caused by SARS-CoV-2), death has been caused by lung failure due to severe acute respiratory distress syndrome attributed to uncontrolled inflammatory responses characterized by a cytokine storm, particularly a massive increase of TGF- β (Chen, Rational and Hypothesis, page 1954; as required for instant Claim 80). Chen proposes that neutralizing and eliminating excess TGF-β with TGF-β inhibitors could treat this cytokine storm and that clinical trials comprising TGF-β1, 2, and 3 antibodies and/or inhibitors should be completed (e.g., the proposed design using anti-active antibodies can be extrapolated to TGF-β inhibitors of the three known types of TGF-β in humans) Chen, Proposed Therapy and Design of clinical trials, page 1955).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill of the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the method of Bogdahn et al. in patients with SARS-CoV-2 viral infections as taught by Chen in order to treat TGF-β-induced cytokine storms. A skilled artisan would know that trabedersen is a well-known TGF-β2 inhibitor that is safe and well tolerated by patients (Boghdan et al., Discussion, page 140) and would therefore be motivated to provide the drug to patients suffering from SARS-CoV-2 associated cytokine storm. Additionally, a skilled artisan could do so with a reasonable expectation of success because trabedersen is a known TGF-β2 inhibitor and cytokine storms in SARS-CoV-2 are associated with increases in TGF-β (Chen, Rational and Hypothesis, page 1954).
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 22 June 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that there is no reasonable expectation of success for using a known TGF-β2 inhibitor for the elimination of excess TGF-β which is associated with cytokine storms in patients with SARS-CoV-2 viral infections because Chen merely hypothesizes that lung fibrosis resulting from cytokine storms is mainly caused by TGF-β. Without specific details such as exclusion criteria, dosage, treatment regiment, and clinical trial results, Applicant argues that there can be no reasonable expectation of success. Finally, Applicant argues that because Chen does not specifically mention the TGF-β2 inhibitor OT-101 or specifically identify the mechanism of TGF-β2 inhibition, there can be no reasonable expectation of success.
This argument is not persuasive, however, because OT-101 is a well-known inhibitor of TGF-β2 and it would have been obvious to a skilled artisan to use a known TGF-β2 inhibitor to treat cytokine storms caused by an excess of TGF-β. Since it is known that excess TGF-β is associated with these SARS-CoV-2 cytokine storms, a skilled artisan would have a reasonable expectation of success (or at least motivation to try) of using OT-101 to inhibit TGF-β2 to reduce the excess TGF-β, thereby treating cytokine storm by reducing the amount of the cytokine TGF-β2. Additionally, applicant argues that Chen only mentions TGF-β1,(2,3) antibodies and broadly mentions TGF-β inhibitors and so does not disclose the active of OT-101. This is not persuasive because as disclosed by Boghdahn et al., OT-101 (trabedersen) is a well-known TGF-β2 inhibitor for use in humans and administered intravenously in the disclosed doses, which overlap with the claimed doses. A skilled artisan would at least be motivated to try a known TGF-β2 inhibitor, which is known to be usable in humans in the dose of Boghdahn et al., in a human suffering SARS-CoV-2-induced cytokine storms because it was known that these cytokine storms are associated with elevated TGF-β, broadly.
Applicant additionally argues that because the OT-101 technology and method for treating cytokine storms was licensed at a market value of over $50,000,000, this secondary consideration overcomes any suggestion of obviousness. Based upon the evidence presented in the 35 USC § 103 rejection presented above, it is maintained that the market value of the invention is not persuasive or novel over the objective evidence of obviousness.
Conclusion
No claims are currently allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1655
/AARON J KOSAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655