DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Uesugi (US 2010/0093919) in view of Kawabe et al. (EP 3431517).
Considering Claims 1-6, 8, 9, and 11: Uesugi teaches an oil repellant composition comprising a copolymer comprising a perfluorinated monomer, a polyalkyleneglycol (meth)acrylate/acrylic monomer having a hydrophilic group, and a monomer having a cation-donating group (¶0014) that is preferably dimethylaminoethyl (meth)acrylate (¶0160). Kawabe et al. teaches adding the acetylene alcohol as being added at 0.1-20 parts per 100 parts of polymer (Claim 12).
Uesugi does not teach the polymer as being fluorine free. However, Kawabe et al. teaches an replacing perfluorinated monomers with long chain acrylate esters monomers having a C18-30 hydrocarbon group (¶0010). The monomer has the structure
, where A11 is hydrogen, methyl, or halogen and A12 is a C18-30 alkyl group (¶0027). The polymers are used in oil repellant compositions (¶0002). Uesugi and Kawabe et al. are analogous art as they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely oil repellant compositions. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have replaced the perfluorinated monomers of Uesugi with the long chain hydrocarbon monomer of Kawabe et al., and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kawabe et al. suggests, fluoroalkyl compounds are an environmental hazard (¶0003-04).
Uesugi does not teach adding an acetylene alcohol to the composition. However, Kawabe et al. teaches adding acetylene alcohol to the oil repellant composition (¶0099-0104). Kawabe et al. teaches the acetylene alcohol as having the same formula as Formula 1 (¶0102). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added the acetylene alcohol of Kawabe et al. to the composition of Uesugi, and the motivation to do so would have been, as Kawabe et al. suggests, to reduce the dynamic surface tension of the emulsion and to allow for the emulsion to permeate into the substrate (¶0099).
Considering Claim 7: Uesugi teaches the hydrophilic monomer as having the structure
(¶0111).
Considering Claim 10: Uesugi teaches the hydrophobic monomer as being 50 to 80% by weight (¶0109).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive, because:
A) The applicant’s argument that the proposed modification of Uesugi with Kawabe et al. would eliminate an essential component of Uesugi and change the mode of operation is not persuasive. While the fluorine containing monomer of Uesugi is required in the invention to provide oil repellency to the polymer (¶0017-19), the combination of Uesugi and Kawabe et al. show that the same effect can be provided by the non-fluorinated monomer of Kawabe et al. Kawabe et al. teaches that oil repellency can be provided by a long chain acrylate ester (¶0031), and this effect can be obtained without the use of environmentally harmful fluorine compounds (¶0003-04). As such, the proposed modification maintains the function of the fluorinated monomers, and thus is not changing the mode of operation of the polymer.
B) The applicant’s argument that the proposed modification would render the polymer unsuitable for its intended purpose is not persuasive. Both the polymer of Uesugi and Kawabe et al. are intended for providing soil release to a textile material. Kawabe et al. teaches that oil repellency can be provided by a long chain acrylate ester (¶0031), and this effect can be obtained without the use of environmentally harmful fluorine compounds (¶0003-04). As both the fluorinated and non-fluorinated monomers can be used for provided oil repellency in soil release compositions, the substitution of one for the other would still allow for the polymer to be used in soil release agents.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/LIAM J HEINCER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767