DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-5, 11-13 and 15-18 are pending. Claims 2-3, 8-10, 14, 20, 24-25 and 31 have been canceled. Claims 1 and 12 have been amended. Claims 1, 4-5, 11-13 and 15-18 are being examined in this application. In the response to the restriction requirement, Applicants elected Invention I, encephalopathy, flavivirus, and dexamethasone.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 14 under 35 USC 112(d) is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
This is a new rejection.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the anti-viral agent" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 18 recites the limitation "the anti-inflammatory agent" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The rejection of claims 1-5 and 8-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Galipeau et al. is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 4-5, 12-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Echols (US 2003/0100498).
With respect to claims 1, 4-5 and 13, Echols teaches a method for inducing an increase in the number of CD4+ T-lymphocytes in an HIV-infected patient comprising administering human granulocyte-macrophage stimulating factor (GM-CSF) to the patient in an amount and for a time sufficient to induce a clinically significant increase in the patient's CD4+ T-lymphocyte count (claim 1).
It is noted that once the GM-CSF is administered to a patient, it would inherently prevent the instantly claimed viral infection-related conditions.
With respect to claim 12, Echols teaches that the human GM-CSF is recombinant GM-CSF (claim 2).
With respect to claim 15, Echols does NOT teach that the patient is treated with anti-inflammatory agents.
With respect to claim 16, Echols teaches that the GM-CSF is administered concurrently with at least one antiretroviral agent (abstract; paras [0007], [0014]).
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 4-5, 11, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shams (US 2014/0193506).
With respect to claims 1, 4-5 and 13, Shams teaches a method of protecting a subject against influenza infection, comprising administering to the lungs of a subject in need thereof an effective amount of a source of hGM-CSF, thereby protecting said subject (claim 1).
It is noted that once the GM-CSF is administered to a patient, it would inherently prevent the instantly claimed viral infection-related conditions.
With respect to claim 11, Shams teaches administering the composition by inhalation (paras [0160], [0232]).
With respect to claim 15, Shams does NOT teach that the patient is treated with anti-inflammatory agents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The rejection of claims 1-5, 8-14 and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galipeau et al. in view of Wang et al. is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
The rejection of claims 1-5, 8-14 and 17-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Galipeau et al. in view of Harvard Health Publishing is withdrawn in view of the amendments to the claims.
Double Patenting
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 4-5, 11-13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-14, 16-18 and 21-24 of copending Application No. 18/238261 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same method.
With respect to claims 1, 4-5 and 13, '261 teaches a method of reducing the risk of, preventing, or treating a pathologic entity of Type 2 diabetes in a subject, the method comprising administering to the subject a composition comprising granulocyte macrophage colony stimulating factor (GM-CSF) or an mRNA construct encoding GMCSF, recombinantly produced molecule thereof, or biologically active fragment thereof, or an analog thereof wherein the subject has or is suspected of developing a pathologic entity of Type 2 diabetes (claim 1).
It is noted that once the GM-CSF is administered to a patient, it would inherently prevent the instantly claimed viral infection-related conditions.
With respect to claim 11, '261 teaches administering the composition by inhalation (claim 11).
With respect to claim 12, '261 teaches that the subject is human (claim 12), and further teaches that GM-CSF is recombinantly produced (claim 14).
With respect to claim 15, '261 does NOT teach that the patient is treated with anti-inflammatory agents.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
This rejection has been modified.
Claims 1, 4-5, 13 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 76-94 of copending Application No. 18/837235 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they relate to the same method.
With respect to claims 1, 4-5 and 13, '235 teaches a method for treating or preventing a neurodegenerative or neurological disease or disorder comprising administering a GMCSF agent (claim 76).
It is noted that once the GM-CSF is administered to a patient, it would inherently prevent the instantly claimed viral infection-related conditions.
With respect to claim 15, '235 does NOT teach that the patient is treated with anti-inflammatory agents.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
/SERGIO COFFA Ph.D./
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1658
/SERGIO COFFA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658