DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
The amendment filed 11/26/26 has been entered.
1) Claims amended:
(1) Independent claims: 1, 7 and 13.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. The pending claims comprising of 3 groups:
1) Method1: 1-6, and
2) System1: 7-12 and
3) CRM1: 13-20.
All of similar scope.
As of 11/26/25, independent claim 1 is as followed:
1. (Currently Amended) A method for performing an information technology (IT) ecosystem management and monitoring operation, comprising:
[1] executing a sustainability application on a hardware processor of an information handling system, the sustainability application being implemented to facilitate performance of an IT sustainability task, the information handling system being configured according to a modular IT component architecture, the modular IT component architecture being configured with a collection of sub-components, the collection of sub-components being configured to be connected together in a modular configuration, the modular IT component architecture allowing sub-components of the information handling system to be replaced without affecting other sub- components of the information handling system;
[2] providing an IT ecosystem monitoring and management console, the IT ecosystem monitoring and management console comprising an IT ecosystem sustainability system, the IT ecosystem sustainability system comprising a sustainability component; and,
[3] communicating between the sustainability component and the sustainability application to perform an IT component sustainability servicing operation, the IT component sustainability servicing operation servicing an IT component of the modular IT component architecture, such that performance of the IT component servicing operation assists in reducing an impact of the IT component of the modular IT component architecture on the environment, the IT component sustainability servicing operation empowering performance of a sustainability operation, the sustainability operation comprising a circular sustainability operation, the circular sustainability operation including procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of a particular IT component or sub-component, throughout a lifecycle of the IT component to reduce an impact of the IT component on the environment, the circular sustainability operation including a predict and model step, a subscribe step, a deploy step, a support step, a use step, and a sustain step, the predict and model step being performed to establish requirements, standards and goals for the procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of a particular IT component, the subscribe step and the deploy step being performed individually or in combination, to reduce the amount of waste at typical end-of-life (EOL) for the particular IT component by creating additional options for procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of the particular IT component, the support step and the use step being performed individually or in combination, to achieve IT sustainability servicing goals, the sustain step, being performed individually or in combination with the predict and model step to predict a carbon footprint associated with procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of the particular IT component over a lifecycle of the particular IT component.
Note: for referential purpose, numerals [1]-[3] are added to the beginning of each step.
Note that in the last step “communicating between ….to perform an IT component…,” the phrase “to perform an IT component…” is considered as “intended use” and is shown in “[…]” bracket and may not have patentable weight. Changing all the verbs to active state, i.e., “performing…,” is recommended to improve clarity and make it active.
“[3] communicating between the sustainability component and the sustainability application [to perform an IT component sustainability servicing operation1,….]”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1) In independent claims 1, 7 and 13, the last step/feature of “communicating between the sustainability component …. , of the particular IT component over a lifecycle of the particular IT component” is lengthy and vague. It contains 5-6 mini steps/functions and intended uses which can be converted into multiple positive active steps to improve clarity and provides the metes and bounds for the claimed invention.
Double Patenting
The Terminal Disclaimer filed 02/20/25 is proper and has been recorded.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “component,” “module,” and “system” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
(1) a sustainability component (Claims 1, 7, 11 and 13),
(2) an IT component sustainability servicing (ITCSS) component (claims 2, 3, 5, 8 and 10, 14, and 17),
(3) an IT component servicing diagnostic (ITCSD) module (claims 3, 9, 13, and 15),
(4) an IT component onsite repair assistant (ITCORA) module (claim 4, 5, 10, 16).
(5) IT component second life planning assistant (ITCSLPA) module (claim 5, 11 and 17),
(6) IT component multi-use packing (ITCMUP) module (claim 6, 12, and 18).
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof (please see FIG 3 for more). If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim 1 recites “an information technology (IT) ecosystem environment” comprising an IT component and an IT sustainability ecosystem console. As described in paragraph 0048 and shown in FIG. 2, the IT sustainability ecosystem 200 comprising IT Component 234 and n IT sustainability ecosystem console 118. Thus, for the purpose of this examination, Examiner interprets claim 1 to be directed to a system and falls within statutory subject matter.
Claim 7 recites “system” comprising “an IT sustainability ecosystem console.” FIG. 2 shows IT component 234 and the Information Handling System 100 as separate apparatus, paragraph 0081 describes the console 118 may be a website. Thus, for the purpose of this examination, Examiner interprets the IT sustainability ecosystem console to be a software displayed on the apparatus of claim 11.
Claim 14 recites “the sustainability component communicating with the sustainability application to perform a sustainability operation” and “communicating between the sustainability component and the sustainability application to perform a sustainability operation.” Examiner interprets these limitations to have the same meaning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
On October 10, 2007, the Patent Office issued the "Examination Guidelines for Determining Obviousness Under 35 U.S.C. 103 in View of the Supreme Court Decision in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc.," 73 Fed. Reg. 57,526 (2007) (hereinafter the Examination Guidelines). Section III is entitled "Rationales to support rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103." Within this section is the following quote from the Supreme Court: "rejections on obviousness grounds cannot be sustained by merely conclusory statements; instead there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) (quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977, 988 (Fed. Cir. 2006)).
Under the Examination Guidelines, the following is a list of rationales that may be used to support a finding of obviousness under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
(a) combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(b) simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(c) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(d) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(e) "Obvious to try" choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(f) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art; and
(g) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation (TSM) in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Each rationale is resolved using the Graham factual inquiries.
Claims 1 (method1), 7 (system1) and respectively 13 (article1) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as obvious over:
Names Publications:
(1) DIAZ 2021/0.216.978, and
(2) HWANG ET AL. US 11,144,289, and
(3) JUNG ET AL. or WO 2013/165.030
As for independent claims 1 (method), 7 (system) and respectively 13 (article), DIAZ teaches a method / system /article for sustainability and carbon footprint management in an information technology (IT) ecosystem management and monitoring operation, comprising:
[1] executing a sustainability application on a hardware processor of an information handling system;
{see Fig. 4, Cloud services “Carbon Footprint (CF) Calculation Algorithms”, “Carbon Footprint (CF) Reduction”, System and App Use “User Uploads Sustainability /CF Data”,
The carry out of the “sustainability and carbon footprint (CF) management system” includes the execution of the sustainable application “CF Calculation Algorithms”, “CF Reduction”, as shown in Fig. 4 above.
[2] providing an IT ecosystem monitoring and management console, the IT ecosystem monitoring and management console comprising an IT ecosystem sustainability system, the IT ecosystem sustainability system comprising a sustainability component; and
{See Fig. 4 above and explanation in [0002] which discloses an IT ecosystem monitoring and management console and comprising a sustainability component input information or selection, as also shown in Fig. 6, 608}.
[3] communicating between the sustainability component and the sustainability application to perform an IT component sustainability servicing operation
to perform an IT component sustainability servicing operation, the IT component sustainability servicing operation servicing an IT component of the modular IT component architecture, such that performance of the IT component servicing operation assists in reducing an impact of the IT component of the modular IT component architecture on the environment,
[ii] the IT component sustainability servicing operation empowering performance of a sustainability operation, the sustainability operation comprising a circular sustainability operation, the circular sustainability operation including procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of a particular IT component or sub-component, throughout a lifecycle of the IT component to reduce an impact of the IT component on the environment on the environment,
[iv] the circular sustainability operation including a predict and model step, a subscribe step, a deploy step, a support step, a use step, and a sustain step, the predict and model step being performed to establish requirements, standards and goals for the procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of a particular IT component,
[iv] the subscribe step and the deploy step being performed individually or in combination, to reduce the amount of waste at typical end-of-life (EOL) for the particular IT component by creating additional options for procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of the particular IT component, the support step and the use step being performed individually or in combination, to achieve IT sustainability servicing goals,
[v] the sustain step, being performed individually or in combination with the predict and model step to predict a carbon footprint associated with procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of the particular IT component over a lifecycle of the particular IT component.
{see Fig. 4, Cloud services “Carbon Footprint (CF) Calculation Algorithms”, “Carbon Footprint (CF) Reduction”, System and App Use “User Uploads Sustainability /CF Data” and Fig. 6, 608 and 612 “generating user-specific sustainability information or user-specific carbon footprint information based in part on the acquired sustainability information or carbon footprint information. In an embodiment, a carbon footprint includes the total amount of greenhouse gas (GHG) emitted from the production, use, and end-of-life of a product or service, see [0033]. As shown in [0077], the end goal is to predict a carbon footprint or a sustainability index associated with the implementation of a particular operation associated with a particular IT component over a lifecycle of the particular IT component using a sustaining model. On Fig. 5, DIAZ discloses the chart for “Comparative Analytics” of determining a carbon footprint or sustainability index of various business operation such as IT component, number of electronic devices bought/discarded, see [0142].
[0088 …. A modeled carbon footprint or an actual.]
DIAZ fairly teaches the claimed invention except for explicitly discloses that (1) type of system is a modular IT component architecture, and (2) the user input or selection is device sustainable component and details of the circular sustainable operation and maintenance service operation. Note that in the last step “communicating between ….to perform an IT component…,” the phrase “to perform an IT component…” is considered as “intended use” and is shown in “[…]” bracket and may not have patentable weight. Changing all the verbs to active state, i.e., “performing…,” is recommended to improve clarity and make it active.
HWANG is cited to teach the use of a modular IT component architecture being configured with a collection of sub-components in a computer environment with each independently performing a modular service uses a defined interface, such as API, to communicate with other services, see par. (14) below.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the equipment ecosystem management and monitoring operation of DIAZ by using a modular IT component architecture being configured with a collection of sub-components in a computer environment with each independently performing a modular service uses a defined interface, such as API, to communicate with other services as taught by HWANG for atomic service and scalability in hybrid network, see par. (14). Rational G/TSM, combine. Alternatively, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Alternatively, the selection of electrical equipment such as IT equipment would have been obvious as mere selection of other similar electrical equipment and/or environment.
DIAZ fairly teaches the claimed invention except for explicitly discloses that (2) the user input or selection is device sustainable component.
WO 2013/165030 A2 discloses the environmental impact analysis using greenhouse gas (GHG) analysis of activities of sustainable component, electrical equipment, that generate a plurality of operations for equipment repair or replacement plan. See note attached. It’s well known that the CF analysis is related to the GHG analysis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the equipment ecosystem management and monitoring operation of DIAZ /HWANG using sustainable component such as repairing or replacement of electrical equipment as taught by WO 2013/165030 A2 for ecosystem monitoring and management of electrical equipment. Rational G/TSM, combine. Alternatively, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Alternatively, the selection of electrical equipment such as IT equipment would have been obvious as mere selection of other similar electrical equipment and/or environment.
The teaching of DIAZ / HWANG and WO 2013/165030 A2 fairly teaches the carrying out the circular sustainability operation including a predict and model step, maintenance steps and/or replacement parameters. The inclusion of other maintenance and replacement parameters as shown in [iv] the circular sustainability operation including a predict and model step, a subscribe step, a deploy step, a support step, a use step, and a sustain step, the predict and model step being performed to establish requirements, standards and goals for the procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of a particular IT component, [iv] the subscribe step and the deploy step being performed individually or in combination, to reduce the amount of waste at typical end-of-life (EOL) for the particular IT component by creating additional options for procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of the particular IT component, the support step and the use step being performed individually or in combination, to achieve IT sustainability servicing goals, [v] the sustain step, being performed individually or in combination with the predict and model step to predict a carbon footprint associated with procurement, deployment, implementation, operation, management, maintenance, remediation, replacement, repurposing, reassignment, repair, reconfiguration, refurbishment, remanufacture, resale, recycling, or recovery, or a combination thereof, of the particular IT component over a lifecycle of the particular IT component, would have been obvious as mere including other well known parameters/features.
Claim(s) 2-5 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claims 8-11 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claims 14-17, 19-20 (dep. of 13 above) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DIAZ /HWANG / WO 2013/165030 A2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (3) REGO, US 2010/0.306.056.
Regarding dep. claim 2 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claim 8 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claim 14 (dep. of 13 above), REGO is cited to teach an information technology (IT) ecosystem management and monitoring operation comprising an IT sustainability service component performing an IT service operation, see [0010] and Fig. 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the equipment ecosystem management and monitoring operation of DIAZ /WO 2013/165030 A2 by including in the sustainable component an IT component sustainability servicing component (a service system, Fig. 2) for carrying out a service operation as taught by REGO on Fig. 2 and [0010]. Rational G/TSM, combine.
Regarding dep. claim 3 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claim 9 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claim 15 (dep. of 13 above), which deal with further details of the IT component sustainability servicing component, comprising an IT component servicing diagnostics module and operation, this is taught in REGO [0002 … Diagnosis and repair of complex electro-mechanical devices requires sophisticated techniques and highly trained service engineers…], [005… The repair analysis procedure might direct the engineer or repair program to request additional information , follow a diagnostic routine from the service center, …”] and Fig. 2, controller 220 and various modules to carry out the diagnostic function and steps as shown in Fig. 1.
Regarding dep. claim 4 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claim 10 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claim 16 (dep. of 13 above), which deal with further details of the IT component sustainability servicing component, comprising an IT component onsite repair assistant module for carrying out the onsite repair assistant operation, this is taught in REGO [004… Current on-site service processes for diagnosis and repair of electromechanical devices…The repair analysis procedure might direct the engineer or repair program to request additional information , follow a diagnostic routine from the service center, …”].
Regarding dep. claim 5 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claim 11 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claim 17 (dep. of 13 above), which deal with further details of the IT component sustainability servicing component, comprising an IT component second life planning assistant module for carrying out operation, this is taught in WO 2013/165030 A2 which teaches ecosystem GHG impact analysis by evaluation replacement plan vs. repair plan which normally involves second life planning operation.
Regarding dep. claim 19 (dep. of 13 above), which deals with instructions being deployable to a client system from a server system at a remote location, this is taught in REGO [0040… remote service may be caused 405 to be performed relative to the first printing device responsive to receiving an acceptance of the offer 404…].
Regarding dep. claim 20 (dep. of 13 above), which deals with instructions being deployable to a client system by a service provider to a user on an on-demand basis, this is taught in REGO claim 10 wherein the remote service is carried out upon a user’s request (on-demand basis), or Fig. 1. , 105 “Make an offer..”, 106 “remote service..”
Claim(s) 6 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claim 12 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claim 18 (dep. of 13 above) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DIAZ / HWANG /WO 2013/165030 A2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of (4) PAUL et al, US 2022/0.273.837.
Regarding dep. claim 6 (dep. of 1 above) and respective dep. claim 12 (dep. of 7 above), and respective dep. claim 18 (dep. of 13 above), PAUL et al. teaches a component sustainability servicing comprising multi-use packaging function in order to enable the user to reuse the secondary package and reduce the environmental carbon footprint associated with the use of the system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the equipment ecosystem management and monitoring operation of DIAZ /WO 2013/165030 A2 by including in the sustainable component an component multi-use packaging module to carry out the multi-use packaging function for packaging of purchase device or equipment in WO 2013/165030 A2 in a “replacement plan.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because a new citation has been used to address the amended features.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2023/0048513 A1 to Gao et al discloses monitoring the cloud service health for customers.
US PGPUB 2023/0376011 A1 to Platenius-Mohr et al discloses monitoring field devices.
US PGPUB 2023/0376888 A1 to Lee et al discloses tracking an asset location.
US PGPUB 2017/0006410 A1 to Barrett discloses repair and replacement of
components.
/TAN D NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3629