DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments 3 February 2026.
Claims 1, 13, and 14 were amended; no claims were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
The objection to claim 14 is withdrawn due to amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “the moving component is configured to drive the lens group to rotate around a central axis of the lens group to perform scanning”) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).. However, these claim limitations were not present in the previous claims and were presented by amendment on 3 February 2026. Therefore, the issue of whether Shpunt addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Shpunt in the present Office Action.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Shpunt doesn’t teach “the moving component is configured to drive the lens group to rotate around a central axis of the lens group to perform scanning” (Applicant’s remarks pgs. 7-9): Shpunt Fig. 5 clearly “micromirror 46 is connected by spindles 84 to a Y-support 86, which is connected by spindles 88 to an X-support 90. The X-support is connected by spindles 92 to a substrate (not shown in this figure). Micromirror 46 rotates resonantly back and forth at high frequency on spindles 84, thus generating the high-speed Y-direction scan described above. Y- and X-supports 86 and 90 rotate at lower speed, with variable amplitude and offset, to define the X-Y windows over which assembly 82 will scan” ([0067]). Each of spindles 92, 88, and 84 are aligned with central axes of micromirror 46 indicating that rotation is around a central axis of the lens group. Y- and X-supports 86 and 90 (and even each set of spindles) could be considered moving components configured to drive the rotation of micromirror 46. Therefore, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shpunt US 20130207970 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system, comprising:
a scanning module (46 in Fig. 2, 5, [0060-67]);
a distance measurement module (optical head 40 and main ASIC 42 with transmitter 44 and receiver 48 in Fig. 2, [0054-59]);
a transmit lens (119, Fig. 6B, [0075]); and
a receive lens disposed between the scanning module and the distance measurement module (110, Fig. 6B, [0075]); wherein
the distance measurement module is configured to: transmit laser light to the scanning module through the transmit lens (Fig. 6B, [0072-75]), and receive, through the receive lens, reflected light transmitted by the scanning module (Fig. 6B, [0072-75]);
the scanning module comprises a moving component and a lens group, the moving component is configured to drive the lens group to rotate around a central axis of the lens group to perform scanning (X- and Y-supports 90 and 86 (in addition to spindles 92, 88, and 84) are moving parts that drive rotation of micromirror 46 about its central axes in Fig. 5, [0055, 67]), and the lens group is configured to receive reflected light of a measured object in an environment of the distance measurement system, and transmit the reflected light to the distance measurement module (Fig. 6B, [0072-73]; examiner notes that “lens group” may be reflectors as defined by Applicant in Applicant’s specification [0059-61]); and
the transmit lens is embedded into the receive lens, and a principal optical axis of the transmit lens is separated from a principal optical axis of the receive lens (110 and 119 in Fig. 6B, [0075]).
Regarding claim 2, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 1, wherein the principal optical axis of the transmit lens is parallel to the principal optical axis of the receive lens (parallel but separate axes of 110 and 119 in Fig. 6B, [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 1, wherein the transmit lens and the receive lens are integrally formed (lenses formed by molding, [0074-75]).
Regarding claim 5, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 1, wherein the distance measurement module comprises: one or more lasers configured to emit laser light to the transmit lens (laser 104, Fig. 6B, [0075]), one or more receivers configured to receive reflected light transmitted by the receive lens (APD 114, Fig. 6B, [0075]), wherein the one or more lasers and the one or more receivers are located on a same side of the lens group (Fig. 6B, [0072-73]).
Regarding claim 6, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 5, wherein the one or more lasers is/are located at a focus position of the transmit lens (laser 104 and lens 119 in Fig. 6B, [0075]), and the transmit lens is configured to convert the laser light emitted by the one or more lasers into parallel light rays (lens 119 collimates laser light in Fig. 6B, [0075]); and the one or more receivers is/are located at a focus position of the receive lens (APD 114 and lens 110 in Fig. 6B, [0073]), and the receive lens is configured to focus the reflected light transmitted by the scanning module ([0073]).
Regarding claim 7, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 5, further comprising one or more first reflectors are disposed between the transmit lens and the one or more lasers, and the one or more first reflectors is/are configured to fold an optical path between the one or more lasers and the transmit lens, and reflect, to the transmit lens, the laser light emitted by the one or more lasers (reflector 118 in Fig. 6B, [0076]).
Regarding claim 11, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 6, further comprising a processing module signal-connected to the one or more lasers and the one or more receivers, wherein the processing module is configured to calculate a distance between the distance measurement module and the measured object based on the laser light emitted by the one or more lasers and the reflected light received by the one or more receivers (depth processor 50 in Fig. 2, [0041-43, 56-57]).
Regarding claim 12, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 6, wherein the lens group comprises one or more reflectors (scanning mirror 46, Figs. 2, 5, 6B, [0072-73]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shpunt US 20130207970 A1 in view of Liu US 20060109450 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 1,
Shpunt does not explicitly teach wherein the receive lens includes an opening, and the transmit lens is adhesively connected to the opening of the receive lens.
Liu teaches a receiving lens with a hole and transmitting lens positioned in the hole with an adhesive (Fig. 5-6, [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the receive lens includes an opening, and the transmit lens is adhesively connected to the opening of the receive lens similar to Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of providing a simple method of producing the lens combination.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shpunt US 20130207970 A1 in view of Nothern III US 20200379090 A1.
Regarding claim 8, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 5,
Shpunt does not explicitly teach but Nothern teaches further comprising one or more second reflectors are disposed between the receive lens and the distance measurement module, and the one or more second reflectors is/are configured to fold an optical path between the receive lens and the one or more receivers, and reflect, to the one or more receivers, reflected light that passes through the receive lens (fold mirrors 1212 in Figs. 14-15, [0091]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt to include one or more second reflectors are disposed between the receive lens and the distance measurement module, and the one or more second reflectors is/are configured to fold an optical path between the receive lens and the one or more receivers, and reflect, to the one or more receivers, reflected light that passes through the receive lens similar to Nothern with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping separate detectors and emitters to limit noise and helping fit the components into a smaller space.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shpunt US 20130207970 A1 in view of Liu US 20210159664 A1.
Regarding claim 9, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 6,
Shpunt does not explicitly teach but Liu teaches wherein the one or more lasers are surface-mounted on a same circuit board (Laser diode dies mounted on substrate which can be PCB, [0050, 121-126]; Figs. 3-9)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the one or more lasers are surface-mounted on a same circuit board similar to Shpunt with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of making it easy to install laser components in the system.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shpunt US 20130207970 A1 in view of LaChapelle US 20180284274 A1.
Regarding claim 10, Shpunt teaches a distance measurement system according to claim 6,
Sphunt does not explicitly teach but LaChapelle teaches wherein the one or more receivers are surface-mounted on a same circuit board (Different detectors can be integrated on same substrate or surface-mounted onto a PCB, [0140])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the one or more receivers are surface-mounted on a same circuit board similar to Shpunt with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of making it easy to install receiver components in the system.
Claims 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shpunt US 20130207970 A1 in view of Chung US 20210048532 A1.
Regarding claim 13, Shpunt teaches:
a distance measurement system (Figs. 2, 5-6);
wherein the distance measurement system comprises a scanning module (46 in Fig. 2, 5, [0060-67]), a distance measurement module (optical head 40 and main ASIC 42 with transmitter 44 and receiver 48 in Fig. 2, [0054-59]), a transmit lens (119, Fig. 6B, [0075]), and a receive lens disposed between the scanning module and the distance measurement module (110, Fig. 6B, [0075]);
wherein the distance measurement module is configured to: transmit laser light to the scanning module through the transmit lens (Fig. 6B, [0072-75]), and receive, through the receive lens, reflected light transmitted by the scanning module (Fig. 6B, [0072-75]);
the scanning module comprises a moving component and a lens group, the moving component is configured to drive the lens group to rotate around a central axis of the lens group to perform scanning (X- and Y-supports 90 and 86 (in addition to spindles 92, 88, and 84) are moving parts that drive rotation of micromirror 46 about its central axes in Fig. 5, [0055, 67]),, and the lens group is configured to receive reflected light of a measured object in an environment of the distance measurement system, and transmit the reflected light to the distance measurement module (Fig. 6B, [0072-73]; examiner notes that “lens group” may be reflectors as defined by Applicant in Applicant’s specification [0059-61]); and
the transmit lens is embedded into the receive lens, and a principal optical axis of the transmit lens is separated from a principal optical axis of the receive lens (110 and 119 in Fig. 6B, [0075]).
Shpunt does not explicitly teach but Chung teaches the distance measurement system is disposed on a vehicle body of a vehicle ([0003, 16, 67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the distance measurement system is disposed on a vehicle body of a vehicle similar to Chung with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving the safety of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 13,
Shpunt does not explicitly teach but Chung teaches wherein the distance measurement system is disposed at a head, a rear, a body side, or a roof of the vehicle body (mounted on exterior on the roof and/or side view mirrors, [0003, 16, 67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the distance measurement system is disposed at a head, a rear, a body side, or a roof a body of the vehicle similar to Chung with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving the safety of the vehicle and providing a lidar view of a large portion of the environment surrounding the vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 13,
Shpunt does not explicitly teach but Chung teaches wherein the vehicle further comprises an autonomous driving system signal-connected to the distance measurement system, and the autonomous driving system is configured to perform autonomous driving based on a distance measured by the distance measurement system ([0003, 16, 67]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the vehicle further comprises an autonomous driving system signal-connected to the distance measurement system, and the autonomous driving system is configured to perform autonomous driving based on a distance measured by the distance measurement system similar to Chung with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of improving the safety of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the principal optical axis of the transmit lens is parallel to the principal optical axis of the receive lens (parallel but separate axes of 110 and 119 in Fig. 6B, [0075]).
Regarding claim 17, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the transmit lens and the receive lens are integrally formed (lenses formed by molding, [0074-75]).
Regarding claim 19, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 13, wherein the distance measurement module comprises: one or more lasers configured to emit laser light to the transmit lens (laser 104, Fig. 6B, [0075]), and one or more receivers configured to receive reflected light transmitted by the receive lens (APD 114, Fig. 6B, [0075]), wherein the one or more lasers and the one or more receivers are located on a same side of the lens group (Fig. 6B, [0072-73]).
Regarding claim 20, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 19, wherein the one or more lasers is/are located at a focus position of the transmit lens (laser 104 and lens 119 in Fig. 6B, [0075]), and the transmit lens is configured to convert the laser light emitted by the one or more lasers into parallel light rays (lens 119 collimates laser light in Fig. 6B, [0075]); and the one or more receivers is/are located at a focus position of the receive lens (APD 114 and lens 110 in Fig. 6B, [0073]), and the receive lens is configured to focus the reflected light transmitted by the scanning module ([0073]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shpunt US 20130207970 A1 in view of Chung US 20210048532 A1 and further in view of Liu US 20060109450 A1.
Regarding claim 18, Shpunt as modified above teaches a vehicle according to claim 13,
Shpunt does not explicitly teach wherein the receive lens includes an opening, and the transmit lens is adhesively connected to the opening of the receive lens.
Liu teaches a receiving lens with a hole and transmitting lens positioned in the hole with an adhesive (Fig. 5-6, [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Shpunt such that the receive lens includes an opening, and the transmit lens is adhesively connected to the opening of the receive lens similar to Liu with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of providing a simple method of producing the lens combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Toyama US 20200355800 teaches a rotating lens group driven by a moving component to rotate about a central axis of the lens group (Fig. 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645