Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that the claims are patentable because Babaei allegedly does not disclose “determining a first target moment that comprises a moment related to a feedback resource when SL HARQ feedback is not transmitted, nor does Babaei disclose starting the RTT timer at such a determined moment.” However, firstly, Applicant’s original Specification does not disclose that a RTT (Round Trip Timer) timer is started and monitoring for a response is started at a configured moment when feedback is not transmitting, when there is not a round trip which is being timed.
Further Babaei does disclose, for example in paragraph [0221], that control information may configure a timing for feedback. The wireless device may not transmit HARQ feedback for scheduled downlink transmission associated with the DCL; and in paragraph [0223], that, in an example, the wireless device may start a HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for the HARQ process ( e.g., HARQ process corresponding to the at least one transport block transmitted by the PDSCH). In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the PDSCH. In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the downlink assignment DCL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Babaei et al. (US 2019/0052416) in view of Li et al. (US 2021/0227602).
Regarding claim 1, Babaei discloses a transmission or reception configuration method (Babaei, paragraph [0244], wireless device receives messages comprising a value for a HARQ RTT), performed by a first terminal, comprising:
obtaining a transmission or reception configuration, wherein the transmission or reception configuration is used for configuration of a target parameter, wherein the target parameter comprises a round-trip time timer (RTT timer) (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0244], wireless device receives messages comprising a value for a HARQ RTT); and
determining a first target moment, wherein the first target moment is a first preset moment or the first preset moment shifted by a first offset, wherein the first preset moment comprises a moment related to a feedback resource when Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) feedback is not transmitted (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0221], control information may configure a timing for feedback. The wireless device may not transmit HARQ feedback for scheduled downlink transmission associated with the DCL; paragraph [0223], In an example, the wireless device may start a HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for the HARQ process ( e.g., HARQ process corresponding to the at least one transport block transmitted by the PDSCH). In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the PDSCH. In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the downlink assignment DCL; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates an uplink grant for a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant; paragraph [0266], the transmission scheduled by the DCI may be a sidelink communication, the HARQ process may correspond to a transport block); and
starting the RTT timer at the first target moment (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0221], control information may configure a timing for feedback. The wireless device may not transmit HARQ feedback for scheduled downlink transmission associated with the DCL; paragraph [0223], In an example, the wireless device may start a HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for the HARQ process ( e.g., HARQ process corresponding to the at least one transport block transmitted by the PDSCH). In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the PDSCH. In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the downlink assignment DCL; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ timer; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant);
the method further comprising:
executing a monitoring control behavior of a target object in a time domain range corresponding to the target parameter according to the transmission or reception configuration (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT timer expiring, start monitoring the downlink channel),
wherein the first target moment is a starting point of the time domain range (Babaei, Fig. 20).
Although Babaei discloses a HARQ RTT timer in response to a HARQ transmission, and HARQ transmission in response to a sidelink communication, the Examiner includes the Li reference, which more explicitly discloses a SL HARQ RTT timer, in order to expedite prosecution.
Li discloses determining a first target moment, wherein the first preset moment shifted by a first offset, wherein the first preset moment comprises a moment when a feedback resource is sent or the first preset moment comprises a moment related to a feedback resource when Sidelink (SL) Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARO) feedback is not transmitted (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer); and
starting the RTT timer at the first target moment (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to start a SL HARQ RTT timer in response to the grant of SL HARQ feedback resources, in the invention of Babaei. The motivation to combine the references would have been to improve channel monitoring and HARQ retransmission by improving spectral efficiency and power consumption (see paragraph [0244] of Babaei).
Regarding claim 2, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 1, further comprising: executing at least one of the following according to the transmission or reception configuration: executing a sensing control behavior in a time domain range corresponding to the target parameter; executing a measurement control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter; executing a resource selection or reselection control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target; or executing a transmission or reception control behavior of a target object in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT expiring, start monitoring the control channel).
Regarding claim 3, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 2, wherein executing the measurement control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter (Zhao, paragraph [0071], network device may configure sensing parameters for terminal devices to transmit a PSCCH and/or a PSSCH according to the result of sensing or measurement) comprises: executing no measurement during running of the RTT timer (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0168], LBT procedure checks for channel usage before using the channel; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT expiring, start monitoring the control channel; measurements would not occur of a channel that is not being monitored).
Regarding claim 4, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 2, wherein
executing the resource selection or reselection control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter comprises at least one of the following: executing no resource selection or reselection during running of the RTT timer, or not selecting or reselecting, by the first terminal, a resource during running of the RTT timer (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0168], LBT procedure checks for channel usage before using the channel; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT expiring, start monitoring the control channel; resource selection would not occur of a channel that is not being monitored).
Regarding claim 5, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 1, executing the monitoring control behavior of the target object in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter comprises: not monitoring or receiving, by the first terminal, the target object during running of the RTT timer (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0168], LBT procedure checks for channel usage before using the channel; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT expiring, start monitoring the control channel).
Regarding claim 6, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 2, wherein executing the sensing control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter comprises: executing no sensing during running of the RTT timer (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0168], LBT procedure checks for channel usage before using the channel; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT expiring, start monitoring the control channel; sensing would not occur of a channel that is not being monitored).
Regarding claim 7, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 2,
wherein the target object comprises at least one of the following: a first request; a sidelink control information (SCI);a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH);a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH);a reference signal (RS); and a measurement report (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT timer expiring, start monitoring the downlink channel) (Li, paragraph [0349], PSSCH).
Regarding claim 8, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 1 wherein the first preset moment comprises at least one of the following: a moment when a feedback resource is sent; a moment related to the latest transmission or reception resource among at least one target resource obtained by the first terminal; or a moment related to a feedback resource corresponding to the latest transmission or reception resource among the at least one target resource obtained by the first terminal, wherein the at least one target resource comprises at least one of the following: a transmission or reception resource reserved or indicated by sidelink control information (SCI);a transmission or reception resource indicated by sidelink downlink control information (SL DCI);a transmission or reception resource comprised in sidelink semi-persistent scheduling (SL SPS); or a transmission or reception resource comprised in a sidelink configured grant (SL CG) (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], wireless device transmits a transport block; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ timer in response to transmitting the TB; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant; paragraph [0266], the transmission scheduled by the DCI may be a sidelink communication, the HARQ process may correspond to a transport block) (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer in response to transmission of the SL HARQ feedback).
Regarding claim 9, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 8, wherein the moment when the feedback resource is sent comprises: a moment at which the Ath feedback resource is sent or a moment at which the feedback resource corresponding to the last transmission or reception resource is sent, wherein A is a positive integer (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], wireless device transmits a transport block; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ timer in response to transmitting the TB; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant; paragraph [0266], the transmission scheduled by the DCI may be a sidelink communication, the HARQ process may correspond to a transport block) (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer in response to transmission of the SL HARQ feedback).
Regarding claim 10, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 1, wherein the moment related to the feedback resource when the SL HARQ feedback is not transmitted comprises at least one of the following: a moment related to sending no feedback resource for the first time; a moment related to sending no feedback resource each time; or a moment related to the last feedback resource that is not sent when all feedback resources are not sent (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0221], control information may configure a timing for feedback, the wireless device may not transmit HARQ feedback).
Regarding claim 11, Babaei discloses a transmission or reception configuration method (Babaei, paragraph [0244], wireless device receives messages comprising a value for a HARQ RTT), performed by a first terminal, comprising:
obtaining a transmission or reception configuration, wherein the transmission or reception configuration is used for configuration of a target parameter, wherein the target parameter comprises a round-trip time timer (RTT timer) (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0244], wireless device receives messages comprising a value for a HARQ RTT); and
determining a second target time, wherein the second target time is a second preset moment or the second preset moment shifted by a first offset, wherein the second preset moment comprises a moment related to a feedback resource when Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARO) feedback is not transmitted (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0221], control information may configure a timing for feedback. The wireless device may not transmit HARQ feedback for scheduled downlink transmission associated with the DCL; paragraph [0223], In an example, the wireless device may start a HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for the HARQ process ( e.g., HARQ process corresponding to the at least one transport block transmitted by the PDSCH). In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the PDSCH. In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the downlink assignment DCL; paragraph [0245], wireless device transmits a transport block; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant; paragraph [0266], the transmission scheduled by the DCI may be a sidelink communication, the HARQ process may correspond to a transport block); and
starting the RTT timer at the first target moment (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], wireless device transmits a transport block; paragraph [0221], control information may configure a timing for feedback. The wireless device may not transmit HARQ feedback for scheduled downlink transmission associated with the DCL; paragraph [0223], In an example, the wireless device may start a HARQ round trip time (RTT) timer for the HARQ process ( e.g., HARQ process corresponding to the at least one transport block transmitted by the PDSCH). In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the PDSCH. In an example, the wireless device may start the HARQ RTT timer in response to receiving the downlink assignment DCL; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ timer; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant);
the method further comprising:
executing a sending control behavior of a target object in a time domain range corresponding to the target parameter according to the transmission or reception configuration (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT timer expiring, start monitoring the downlink channel); or
executing a transmission or reception control behavior of a target object in a time domain range corresponding to the target parameter according to the transmission or reception configuration (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], in response to the HARQ RTT timer expiring, start monitoring the downlink channel),
wherein the second target moment is a starting point of the time domain range (Babaei, Fig. 20).
Although Babaei discloses a HARQ RTT timer in response to a HARQ transmission, and HARQ transmission in response to a sidelink communication, the Examiner includes the Li reference, which more explicitly discloses a SL HARQ RTT timer, in order to expedite prosecution.
Li discloses determining a second target time, wherein the second target time is a second preset moment or the second preset moment shifted by a first offset, wherein the second preset moment comprises a moment related to a feedback resource when Sidelink (SL) Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARO) feedback is not transmitted (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer); and
starting the RTT timer at the first target moment (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to start a SL HARQ RTT timer in response to the grant of SL HARQ feedback resources, in the invention of Babaei. The motivation to combine the references would have been to improve channel monitoring and HARQ retransmission by improving spectral efficiency and power consumption (see paragraph [0244] of Babaei).
Regarding claim 12, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 11, wherein executing the sending control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter comprises: executing no sending during running of the RTT timer (Babaei, Fig. 20).
Regarding claim 13, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 11, wherein executing the sending control behavior in the time domain range corresponding to the target parameter comprises: not sending, by the second terminals, the target object during running of the RTT timer (Babaei, Fig. 20).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 7-8, respectively.
Regarding claim 16, Babaei in view of Li discloses the transmission or reception configuration method according to claim 11, wherein the second preset moment further comprises at least one of the following: a time associated with a last sidelink control information (SCI) transmitted; a time associated with a last obtained sidelink downlink control information (SL DCI); or reserving or indicating moment n of an Rth resource, wherein n is a preset value (Babaei, Fig. 20; paragraph [0245], wireless device transmits a transport block; paragraph [0246], DCI indicates a TTI for transmission of the transport block (TB), the TTI may be a HARQ [feedback] transmission, the wireless device start the HARQ timer in response to transmitting the TB; paragraph [0247], HARQ feedback timing corresponding to the DCI uplink grant; paragraph [0266], the transmission scheduled by the DCI may be a sidelink communication, the HARQ process may correspond to a transport block) (Li, paragraph [0349], start the DRX HARQ RTT timer in response to transmission of the SL HARQ feedback).
Claims 17-18 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claims 9-10, respectively.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 1. Babaei additionally discloses a memory, a processor, and a computer program that is stored in the memory and that can be run on the processor, wherein when the computer program is executed by the processor (Babaei, Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (US 20190208538) discloses that the DL transmission for two HARQ processes (HARQ #1 and HARQ #2) fails and that the UE receives a UL grant for HARQ #1 and receives a UL grant for HARQ #2 after corresponding HARQ RTT Timer expires. It is also assumed that the UE receives a UL grant for the first HARQ process (HARQ #1) after HARQ RTT Timer for second HARQ process (HARQ #2) expires.
Sachs et al. (US 20200259896) discloses that In 0.1% of the cases a retransmission is required, increasing the transmission latency by an extra HARQ round trip time (RTT). With packet duplication, the probability that both un-correlated HARQ transmissions fail is 0.1%*0.1%. That means that in the cases the low latency without the extra HARQ RTT is achieved.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALAN L LINDENBAUM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413