DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Below is the anatomical drawing showing the location of the thumb MCP joint.
However, it is difficult to visualize how “(ii) the second end of the extension member is adapted to be located underneath a metacarpal joint of a thumb of a user” and a thumb member coupled to the second end. Therefore, applicant must provide a drawing(s) showing the extension member with thumb member fitted on a hand or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
Claim 13, the thumb member includes a thumb prosthetic and the second end of the extension member is located approximate the thenar eminence is not shown.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 12-14 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). The underlined portion positively claim the user.
12. The digit prosthesis assembly of claim 11, wherein pressure applied to the thumb member can be transferred to a section of the extension member in contact with the user.
13. The digit prosthesis assembly of claim 11, wherein the thumb member includes a thumb prosthetic and the second end of the extension member is located approximate the thenar eminence. The underlined language is no longer functional language “adapted to be located” of claim 11.
14. The digit prosthesis assembly of claim 11, wherein the thumb member includes a thumb cover and the second end of the extension member is located approximate the metacarpal joint. The underlined language is no longer functional language “adapted to be located” of claim 11.
20. The digit prosthesis assembly of claim 17, wherein the palm engagement assembly includes: an extension member, a first end of the extension member being coupled to the attachment assembly and extending from the attachment assembly around an ulnar edge to a palmer side of a hand of a user; and an engagement member coupled to a second end of the extension member and being located proximate a palmer side of the hand of the user.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al (2023/0026300) in view of Popovic et al (2022/0296391).
Zhang et al teaches a digit prosthesis assembly comprising:
an attachment assembly 12; and
a thumb assembly (generally 11 as shown) including:
an extension member (including all components between the depicted first end and second end) having at least one bend (at least 1121 and 1121 have bends);
and a thumb member 1112 coupled to a second end of the extension member; wherein (i) a first end of the extension member (labelled) is rotatably coupled to the attachment assembly; and (ii) the second end of the extension member is adapted to be located underneath and approximate a thenar eminence or a metacarpal joint of a thumb of a user (par. 0003 teaching the hand can simulate a human hand, therefore, it is fully capable of the second end of the extension member of being adapted to be located underneath and approximate a thenar eminence or a metacarpal joint).
However, Zhang et al fails to teach said attachment assembly is adapted to be removably coupled to a wrist of a user.
Popovic et al teaches a similar hand device comprising an attachment assembly (140, 142) which too is attached the dorsal side of the hand like that of applicants.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have used a wrist harness as taught by Popovic et al and modified the attachment assembly 12 of Zhang et al to include said wrist harness for increased anchorage to the user’s hand fulfilling the language. The combination prosthesis is fully capable of the “attachment assembly is adapted to be removably coupled to a wrist of a user”.
Claim 12, wherein pressure applied to the thumb member 1112 can be transferred to a section (such as 1111) of the extension member in contact with the user.
Claim 13, the thumb member includes/is a thumb prosthetic 1122. The second end of the extension member is located approximate the thenar eminence is address in the main rejection above.
Claim 14, the thumb member completely surrounds the user’s thumb, therefore, includes a thumb cover. The second end of the extension member is located approximate the metacarpal joint is addressed above.
Claim 15, wherein a curvature of the at least one bend of the extension member 1122 allows the second end of the extension member to rotate in a substantially circular motion (about the pivot to the thumb member; see applicant’s par. 0044 of the specification).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-16 and 17-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 1: Zhang et al (2023/0026300) is considered the closes prior art of record. However, Zhang et al fails to teach a digit prosthesis comprising the combination of all limitations including an attachment assembly adapted to be removable coupled to a wrist of a user; and an extension member (including 1121, 1122) has a substantially “U” shape.
Claim 17: The prior art of record fails to teach a digit prosthesis assembly comprising an attachment assembly adapted to be removably coupled to a wrist of a user; a thumb assembly including: an extension member having at least one bend; and a thumb member coupled to a second end of the extension member; wherein (i) a first end of the extension member is (a) adapted to be located on a dorsal side of a hand of the user, and (b) rotatably coupled to the attachment assembly; and (ii) the second end of the extension member is adapted to be located underneath a metacarpal joint of a thumb of a user;
a palm engagement assembly coupled to the attachment assembly (interpret as being separate from the attachment assembly) and being adapted to interface with a palm of the user; a first finger assembly including: a first finger attachment assembly adapted to couple to the palm engagement assembly; a hinge member having a first end rotatably coupled to the attachment assembly; and a first finger cover coupled to a second end of the hinge member.
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774