DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I, claims 1-9 in the reply filed on 20 January 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the species are related and would not pose an undue burden on the Examiner. This is not found persuasive because the unexamined species would at least require additional text searching beyond that required by the elected species. Examination burden comes from developing and analyzing synonyms for each different species. Examination burden would also increase exponentially in subsequent actions as the subject matter further diverges due to increasing specificity of the separately claimed elements.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 20 January 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, “the clamp assembly comprises portions disposed … rearward of the output shaft” of claim 2 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 2 recites “wherein the clamp assembly comprises portions disposed forward of the output shaft and rearward of the output shaft”. However, the specification does not disclose any portion of the clamp assembly that is rearward of the output shaft, and the figures only show portions that are forward of the output shaft.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Share (WO 2014/159025 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Share discloses an oscillating tool 10 (embodiment of figure 5), comprising: a housing 20 (not labeled in figures 1-4); a motor (not shown but disclosed, see paragraph [0016]) housed in the housing; an output shaft (oscillating drive member, not shown, see paragraph [0026]) driven by the motor; a clamp assembly 36/110 operatively driven by the motor through the output shaft in an oscillating motion, the clamp assembly comprising a first clamp 110 and a second clamp 36; a user operated actuator 120 configured to move the clamp assembly from a closed condition to an open condition (see paragraphs [0035] to [0036]); a connector 102 connecting the user operated actuator to the clamp assembly; wherein the connector is connected to the clamp assembly at a position forward of the output shaft (connected to the clamp device 110 forward of the output shaft).
Regarding claim 2, Share discloses wherein the clamp assembly 36/110 comprises portions disposed forward of the output shaft (110 and portions of 36) and rearward of the output shaft (the portions of 36 coupled to the output shaft, not shown).
Regarding claim 3, Share discloses wherein the clamp assembly 36/110 further comprises a clamp lever 114.
Regarding claim 4, Share discloses wherein the connector 102 is connected to the clamp lever 114.
Regarding claim 5, Share discloses wherein the clamp lever 114 is pivotable about a pivot point (as the clamp lever 114 is attached to the end of the resilient cable, it may be pivoted when in the released position by a user about the point where the cable exits the clamp device 110, see figure 3 for reference).
Regarding claim 6, Share discloses wherein at least one of the first clamp 110 and the second clamp 36 is movable (the first clamp is movable by the cable).
Regarding claim 7, Share discloses wherein at least one of the first clamp 110 and the second clamp 36 is translatable (the first clamp is translatable by the cable).
Regarding claim 8, Share discloses wherein one of the first clamp 110 and the second clamp 36 is movable (the first clamp is movable); and wherein the other of the first clamp and the second clamp is fixed (the second clamp is fixed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Share.
Regarding claim 9, Share discloses the invention substantially as claimed, except Share does not disclose wherein the connector is a connecting strip. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the connector of whatever form or shape was desired or expedient, such as a strip shape, for the purpose of providing a desired strength and flexibility to the connector. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art, absent any showing of unexpected results. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,511,356 in view of Share (WO 2014/159025 A1).
Regarding Application claims 1-2 and 6-8, Patent claim 1 discloses an oscillating tool, comprising: a housing; a motor housed in the housing; an output shaft driven by the motor; a clamp assembly operatively driven by the motor through the output shaft in an oscillating motion, the clamp assembly comprising a first clamp and a second clamp; an actuating lever configured to move the clamp assembly from a closed condition to an open condition; a connector connecting the actuating lever to the clamp assembly.
Patent claim 1 does not disclose that the actuating lever is a user operated actuator or wherein the connector is connected to the clamp assembly at a position forward of the output shaft, or wherein the clamp assembly comprises portions disposed forward of the output shaft and rearward of the output shaft, or wherein one of the first clamp and the second clamp is movable or translatable and wherein the other of the first clamp and the second clamp is fixed.
Share discloses an oscillating tool 10 (embodiment of figure 5), comprising: a housing 20 (not labeled in figures 1-4); a motor (not shown but disclosed, see paragraph [0016]) housed in the housing; an output shaft (oscillating drive member, not shown, see paragraph [0026]) driven by the motor; a clamp assembly 36/110 operatively driven by the motor through the output shaft in an oscillating motion, the clamp assembly comprising a first clamp 110 and a second clamp 36; a user operated actuator 120 configured to move the clamp assembly from a closed condition to an open condition (see paragraphs [0035] to [0036]); a connector 102 connecting the user operated actuator to the clamp assembly; wherein the connector is connected to the clamp assembly at a position forward of the output shaft (connected to the clamp device 110 forward of the output shaft) for the purpose of being able to move the clamp assembly between closed and open positions, wherein the clamp assembly 36/110 comprises portions disposed forward of the output shaft (110 and portions of 36) and rearward of the output shaft (the portions of 36 coupled to the output shaft, not shown), and wherein one of the first clamp 110 and the second clamp 36 is movable (the first clamp is movable or translatable); and wherein the other of the first clamp and the second clamp is fixed (the second clamp is fixed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have combined the teachings of Patent claim 1 with the user operated actuator and connector that is connected to the clamp assembly at a position forward of the output shaft in order to be able to effectively move the movable portion of the clamp assembly between open and closed positions.
Additionally, patent claim 1 anticipates application claims 3-5, and patent claim 2 anticipates application claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/ERIC A. GATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722 12 March 2026