DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. Applicant filed the Request for Continued Examination on 01/14/2026. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are pending. Claims 1 and 3 are amended. Claim 8 is canceled. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected. After careful consideration of applicant arguments, the examiner finds them to be not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Lack of antecedent basis
5. Claim 1 recites the limitation “said plurality of funds sources” in paragraph starting with 4th “receive…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Examiner suggests, perhaps the applicant was referring to “said plurality of external funds sources”.
Claims 3 and 6 recite the limitation “said server”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
6. Claims 2, 4-5, 7, and 9-10 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 because claims 2, 4-5, 7, and 9-10 inherit the deficiencies of claim 1 due to their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §101
8. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
9. In the instant case, claim 1 is directed to a “system of financial transactions in a casino environment”.
10. Claim 1 recites “transferring funds from external funds sources into player’s exchange account and utilizing the funds in casino environment”. Specifically, claim 1 recites “maintain said exchange account for said player … said exchange account comprising at least information regarding a balance of player funds associated with an exchange bank account and funds moved to or from said exchange account, and said exchange account being associated with a player user profile …; receive, from said player … a first transaction request to move a first amount of funds between one of said plurality of external funds sources and said exchange account; process, in conjunction… said first transaction request, comprising: causing … to transmit information … to transfer said first amount of funds from said plurality of external funds sources to said exchange bank account and update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account; receive, from said player … a second transaction request to associate a second amount of funds …; process, in conjunction … said second transaction request, comprising: cause … to transmit information … to credit said second amount of funds … update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account, and transfer said second amount of funds from said balance of player funds associated with said exchange bank account to a bank account of said casino; receive, from said player … a third transaction request to credit a third amount of funds … with said exchange account; process, in conjunction … said third transaction request, comprising: cause … to transmit information … to credit said third amount of funds … to said exchange account, update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account, and increase said balance of player funds associated with said exchange bank account based upon a transfer of funds from said bank account of said casino; receive, from said player … a fourth transaction request to transfer a fourth amount of funds between said exchange account and one of said plurality of funds sources; process, in conjunction … said fourth transaction request, comprising: cause … to transmit information … to effectuate a transfer of said fourth amount of funds from said exchange bank account to said funds source and update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account; and generating … which reflects a balance of funds of the player in said exchange account at said exchange bank account”. Subject matter grouped under “Certain methods of organizing human activity” (e.g., commercial or legal interactions) and an abstract idea in prong one of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04(a)).
11. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP 2106.04 II), the additional elements of the claim such as “a plurality of casino-external financial systems”, “a plurality of casino endpoints”, “a financial services system server comprising a processor, a memory, and a communication interface”, “a first plurality of communication channels”, “a second plurality of gateways”, “a transaction server”, “an exchange server”, “an external banking network”, “a mobile communication device having a processor, a memory and a downloadable exchange application”, “a display of said mobile communication device”, “one or more graphical user interfaces”, “a kiosk having a housing, a processor, a memory, a video, a display and at least one user input device”, “a transaction database”, “machine-readable code”, “causing said financial services system server to transmit information … to transfer said first amount of funds…”, “cause said financial services system server to transmit information … to credit said second amount of funds…”, “cause said financial services system server to transmit information … to credit said third amount of funds…”, and “cause said financial services system server to transmit information… to effectuate a transfer of said fourth amount of funds” represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or does no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use. With respect to “causing said financial services system server to transmit information … to transfer said first amount of funds…”, “cause said financial services system server to transmit information … to credit said second amount of funds…”, “cause said financial services system server to transmit information … to credit said third amount of funds…”, and “cause said financial services system server to transmit information… to effectuate a transfer of said fourth amount of funds”, the claim lacks details regarding what “(causing) cause said financial services system server to transmit” comprise. Therefore, as Applicant has neither placed a restriction on how “cause … to transmit” is performed nor described how the functions are accomplished, the limitations do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they are no more than “apply it” (MPEP 2106.05(f)(1)). Additionally, with respect to “receive … a first transaction request to move a first amount of funds …”, “receive … a second transaction request to associate a second amount of funds …”, “receive … a third transaction request to credit a third amount of funds …”, and “receive … a fourth transaction request to transfer a fourth amount of funds …” is simply transmitting data “[use] of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks (e.g., to receive, store, or transmit data) or simply adding a computer or computer components after the fact to an abstract idea (e.g., a fundamental economic practice) does not integrate a judicial exception into a practical application or provide significantly more”, (MPEP 2106.05(f)(2)).
12. When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.04 II), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of transferring funds from external funds sources into player’s exchange account and utilizing the funds in casino environment using computer technology. Therefore, as the use of these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to automate and/or implement the abstract idea, they cannot provide significantly more than the abstract idea itself (MPEP 2106.05(I)(A)(f) & (h)).
13. Hence, claim 1 is not patent eligible.
14. The following dependent claims recent additional elements not addressed above:
claim 2 recites “a kiosk”, “a cashier station”, “a point of sale device”, “a gaming device”, and “a mobile device”; and
claim 9 recites “a gaming machine”.
When considered individually, and as a whole, each of these additional elements amount to merely "apply it", as they are merely applying the abstract idea to the technical environment of the kiosk, the cashier station, the point of sale device, the gaming device, the mobile device, and the gaming machine.
Dependent claims 2-10 merely expand upon the abstract ideas of the independent claim, and are therefore rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Conclusion of 35 USC §101
15. The claims as a whole do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. This is because the claims do not effect an improvement to another technology or technical field; the claims do not amount to an improvement to the functioning of a computer system itself; and the claims do not move beyond a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
16. Accordingly, there are no meaningful limitations in the claims that transform the judicial exception into a patent eligible application such that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
20. Claims 1-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US10360763B2 to Higgins et al. in view of US11501608B2 to LeStrange et al.
21. As per claim 1:
Higgins et al. discloses the following limitations:
A multi-channel financial services system which communicates with a plurality of external funds sources associated with a plurality of casino-external financial systems for facilitating funds transactions relative to a casino having a plurality of casino endpoints (Col.10, lines 59-64; discloses a system facilitating fund transactions between external accounts, a cashless wagering account and casino endpoints via mobile devices)
a financial services system server comprising a processor, a memory, and a communication interface communicatively coupling the financial services system server to said plurality of casino- external financial systems via a first plurality of communication channels, and configured to communicatively couple the financial services system server to said plurality of casino endpoints via a second plurality of gateways (Fig.3A, items 250, 260, 270, 280, 290; col.35, lines 27-32; discloses server (accounting, patron management, cashless wagering) that connect to external accounts and EGMs via wireless communication protocols), wherein said financial services system server comprises a transaction server configured to receive a transaction request and which communicates with said first plurality of communication channels and said second plurality of gateways, and an exchange server which communicates with said transaction server and an external banking network to maintain information regarding a player's exchange account associated with a player (Col.29, lines 28-54; discloses a cashless wagering server that receives transaction requests and maintains a cashless wagering account for the player, communicating with both EGMs and external accounts.)
a mobile communication device having a processor, a memory and a downloadable exchange application executed by said processor which causes a display of said mobile communication device to display one or more graphical user interfaces which (a) display an interface including information regarding said exchange account of said player and (b) receive input from said player regarding a funds transaction request (Fig.1A, col.8, lines 18-23; col.8, lines 30-33; discloses a downloadable mobile device application with GUIs that display account balance information and receive player input for fund transfer requests.)
a kiosk having a housing, a processor, a memory, a video, a display and at least one user input device, said kiosk communicatively linked to said financial services system server (Col.4, lines 8-12; col.11, lines 41-43; discloses kiosks for depositing funds into accounts and for enrolling players, communicatively linked to the cashless wagering system.)
a transaction database associated with said financial services system server (Col.53, lines 32-35, 36-37, 39-40; discloses databases for player profiles, accounting, and transaction tracking.)
machine-readable code stored in said memory of said financial services system server, said machine-readable code when executed by said processor configured to cause said processor thereof to (Col.1, lines 31-33; discloses the memory storing instructions that when executed by the processor of the system performs steps)
maintain said exchange account for said player in said transaction database, said exchange account comprising at least information regarding a balance of player funds associated with an exchange bank account and funds moved to or from said exchange account, and said exchange account being associated with a player user profile at said downloadable exchange application (Fig.1A; col.8, lines 19-23; col.7, lines 20-22; discloses maintaining a cashless wagering account with balance information displayed via the mobile application, updated as funds move to/from the account.)
receive, from said player via said downloadable exchange application, a first transaction request to move a first amount of funds between one of said plurality of external funds sources and said exchange account (Fig.1B, col.8, lines 41-48; discloses receiving a first transaction request via the downloadable mobile application to move funds from an external source (gaming establishment retail account) to the cashless wagering account (exchange account).)
process, in conjunction with said exchange server, said first transaction request, comprising: causing said financial services system server to transmit information over one of said first plurality of communication channels to transfer said first amount of funds from said plurality of external funds sources to said exchange bank account and update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account (Col.9, lines 28-36; discloses processing the first transaction: the retail system authorizes, updates the source account, and the cashless wagering system increases the exchange account balance.)
receive, from said player via said downloadable exchange application, a second transaction request to associate a second amount of funds with one of said plurality of casino endpoints (Fig.2C, items 210, 220, 232; col.31-38; discloses receiving via the mobile application a second transaction request to transfer funds from the cashless wagering account to an EGM (casino endpoint).)
process, in conjunction with said exchange server, said second transaction request, comprising: cause said financial services system server to transmit information over one of said second plurality of gateways to credit said second amount of funds to said casino end point, update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account, and transfer said second amount of funds from said balance of player funds associated with said exchange bank account to a bank account of said casino (Col.22, lines 12-19; discloses processing the second transaction: the cashless wagering system authorizes, updates the account balance, communicates authorization to the EGM, and the EGM updates its credit balance.)
receive, from said player via said downloadable exchange application, a third transaction request to credit a third amount of funds associated with one of said plurality of casino endpoints with said exchange account (Col.28, lines 6-9, 19-22; discloses receiving via the mobile application a third transaction request to transfer funds from an EGM (casino endpoint) back to the cashless wagering account (exchange account).)
process, in conjunction with said exchange server, said third transaction request, comprising: cause said financial services system server to transmit information over one of said second plurality of gateways to credit said third amount of funds from said casino end point to said exchange account, update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account, and increase said balance of player funds associated with said exchange bank account based upon a transfer of funds from said bank account of said casino (Col.29, lines 11-19; discloses processing the third transaction: the EGM transfers funds to the cashless wagering account, the account balance is updated, and a confirmation is communicated.)
receive, from said player via said downloadable exchange application, a fourth transaction request to transfer a fourth amount of funds between said exchange account and one of said plurality of funds sources (Col.29, lines 35-41; discloses receiving via the mobile application a fourth transaction request to transfer funds from the cashless wagering account (exchange account) back to external accounts (funds sources).)
process, in conjunction with said exchange server, said fourth transaction request, comprising: cause said financial services system server to transmit information over one of said first plurality of communication channels to effectuate a transfer of said fourth amount of funds from said exchange bank account to said funds source and update said balance of funds of said player's exchange account (Col.10, lines 59-63; col.29, lines 38-41; discloses processing the fourth transaction by transferring funds from the cashless wagering account to external accounts associated with the player.)
Higgins et al. does not disclose, however, LeStrange et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
generating, via said exchange server, a ledger which reflects a balance of funds of the player in said exchange account at said exchange bank account (Col.4, lines 60-62; col.29, lines 54-57; discloses tracking transactions and storing balance information in the transaction database, functioning as a ledger.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for integrating player tracking and cash access in a casino or other gaming environment of LeStrange (‘608, col.3, lines 60-61) with teaching of Higgins et al. for utilizing a mobile device to facilitate the transfer of funds between a cashless wagering account associated with or otherwise maintained for a player and a separate gaming establishment retail account (‘763, col.2, lines 52-55) for storing the balance of the financial account in the wallet that can functioning as a ledger (‘608, col.29, lines 54-57).
22. As per claim 2:
Higgins et al. discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein said plurality of casino endpoints comprises at least one of: a kiosk, a cashier station, a point of sale device, a gaming device, and a mobile device of the player (Col.4, lines 8-12; col.11, lines 42-44; discloses casino endpoints including EGMs (gaming devices), kiosks, point-of-sale terminals, gaming establishment interfaces (cashier stations), and mobile devices.)
23. As per claim 3:
Higgins et al. does not disclose, however, LeStrange et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, further comprising a first set of rules corresponding to a first jurisdiction and a second set of rules corresponding to a second jurisdiction, wherein said server is configured to process said first transaction request based upon said first set of rules or said second set of rules based upon a location of said first transaction request (Col.33, lines 7-12; col/line 33/67-34/4; col.34, lines 9-13; discloses jurisdiction-based rule sets with multiple jurisdictions that must be satisfied for transactions to execute. The system processes transactions based on jurisdiction policies tied to the location of the transaction.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for integrating player tracking and cash access in a casino or other gaming environment of LeStrange (‘608, col.3, lines 60-61) with teaching of Higgins et al. for utilizing a mobile device to facilitate the transfer of funds between a cashless wagering account associated with or otherwise maintained for a player and a separate gaming establishment retail account (‘763, col.2, lines 52-55) for setting jurisdiction rules that regulates gaming policy in the first and second jurisdiction counties or states (‘608, col.33, lines 7-12).
24. As per claim 4:
Higgins et al. discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 3, wherein said first set of rules and said second set of rules comprise rules regarding at least one of: transaction velocity limits, transaction limits by type of transaction, gaming limits and casino controls (Col.10, lines 19-31; discloses per-transaction limits, time-based limits, and activity-based limits on fund transfers.)
25. As per claim 5:
Higgins et al. discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 3, wherein said processor of said financial services system server is configured to receive information regarding said location from said user interface (Col.8, lines 24-29; discloses a location-based mobile application that is accessible when the player enters a gaming establishment, implying location information is received from the mobile device.)
26. As per claim 6:
Higgins et al. does not disclose, however, LeStrange et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein said server communicates with the second plurality of gateways of a first casino and a second casino, said first casino located in said first jurisdiction and said second casino located in said second jurisdiction (Col.36, lines 55-64; col.37, lines 20-22; discloses an authorization server communicating with multiple casino systems (Casino A and Casino B), with kiosks at each casino. Combined with the jurisdiction policy disclosures, the casinos may be in different jurisdictions.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for integrating player tracking and cash access in a casino or other gaming environment of LeStrange (‘608, col.3, lines 60-61) with teaching of Higgins et al. for utilizing a mobile device to facilitate the transfer of funds between a cashless wagering account associated with or otherwise maintained for a player and a separate gaming establishment retail account (‘763, col.2, lines 52-55) for communication configured by the authorization server with multiple casino systems located in different jurisdictions that allows the player to access funds at multiple different casinos (‘608, col.36, lines 55-56, col.37 lines 20-22).
27. As per claim 7:
Higgins et al. does not disclose, however, LeStrange et al., as shown, teaches the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein said processor of said financial services systems server is configured to receive information from said player regarding a user control comprising at least one of: one or more transaction alerts, one or more transaction limits, and one or more transaction preferences, and wherein said processor is configured to store said user control in association with said player's exchange account and process said transaction request in accordance with said user control (Col.34, lines 25-32, 34-37; discloses receiving player-defined transaction limits and preferences (which accounts to use by transaction type), storing them in the wallet rule sets, and processing transactions in accordance with those controls.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a method for integrating player tracking and cash access in a casino or other gaming environment of LeStrange (‘608, col.3, lines 60-61) with teaching of Higgins et al. for utilizing a mobile device to facilitate the transfer of funds between a cashless wagering account associated with or otherwise maintained for a player and a separate gaming establishment retail account (‘763, col.2, lines 52-55) for setting limits for individual wallet accounts, specified the amount of funds, frequency of transactions permitted in configurable time period (‘608, col.34, lines 25-30).
28. As per claim 9:
Higgins et al. discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, wherein said transmitting information over one of said second plurality of gateways to effectuate a transfer of said funds from said player's exchange account to said casino end point results in an increase in a credit balance associated with a gaming machine (Col.22, lines 12-21; discloses that the transfer results in the EGM (gaming machine) updating its credit balance to reflect the transferred funds.)
29. As per claim 10:
Higgins et al. discloses the following limitations:
The system of claim 1, further comprising machine-readable code stored in said memory of said financial services system server and configured to cause said processor thereof to receive a request for a new retail credit account from said player and to communicate with an external retailer to create a new credit account for said player and to associate said credit account with said player's exchange account (Col.3, lines 48-50; col.4, lines 4-12; col.4, lines 16-19; discloses creating a gaming establishment retail account (a retail account associated with the gaming establishment) via the mobile application and associating it with external accounts, and the retail account system integrates with the cashless wagering account.)
Response to Arguments
Rejection under 35 USC § 112
30. Rejection of claims 1, 3, and 8 based on “Lack of antecedent basis” due to amendments of claims 1 and 3, and cancellation of claim 8 are withdrawn.
Rejection of claim 1 based on “Unclear Scope Term” due to amendment is withdrawn.
However, Examiner has also introduced additional grounds of 112 (b) rejections for lack of antecedent basis based on the amendments.
Rejection under 35 USC § 101
31. Applicant’s arguments toward 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection are not persuasive. Amended independent claim 1 does not have additional elements that could lead to an improvement in the functioning of a computer, or an improvement to other technology or technical field.
32. Applicant is of the opinion that the amended “claim 1 recites a uniquely configured system which sits between a casino and its touch-points (via gateways to the touch-points) and a financial system, and which interfaces with a player’s mobile device, allowing a user to use the interfaces to input information and facilitate financial transactions in the system.”. Applicant argues that claim 1 presents “a technical solution to providing funds for gaming in which is funds are not directly provided by a player to a casino touch-point and are not moved from a player’s account to a casino or casino end point.” Applicant continues that “the system enables the movement of funds from a player's financial system account to an exchange funding account, and then allows a player to access monetary value for use at a casino touch-point in the form of credited value, where the actual funds are not moved from the exchanged funding account to the casino touch-point, but where value is credited to the casino touch-point and then actual funds are moved from the exchange funding account to a casino bank account”. Applicant concludes “that the invention thus comprises a technological bridge which is interposed between an existing financial system and an existing casino environment to implement financial functionality in a new way.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Examiner notes that the applicant’s arguments further confirms that the focus of the claims is on the abstract idea rather than on technical improvement. Facilitating the movement of funds from a player’s financial system to an exchange from where the player receives credit followed by transfer of funds from exchange to casino bank account – is a series of commercial or legal Interactions that falls under the abstract idea grouping of Certain methods of organizing human activity. The additional elements – server, processor, mobile device, database, kiosk, downloadable exchange application, etc., – are merely used as tools to implement the abstract ideas recited in the claims. It is also not clear what the Applicant means by “technological bridge” because no such term is present in the specification or the claims. At most, the exchange acts as a financial intermediary between the funding source and the casino gaming system as shown in Fig.14 which is an abstract idea.
The use of a processor/computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it requires no more than a computer performing functions that correspond to acts required to carry out the abstract idea. The additional elements do not involve improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field (MPEP 2106.05(a)). Accordingly, the additional elements do integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims are therefore not patent eligible.
Conclusion
33. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US7390263B1 – Acres – Discloses a method for transferring credits between gaming devices connected by a network to a host computer, wherein a player account accessible by the host computer the player can access the account by inserting a card into a card reader at one of the gaming devices.
US20150019414A1 – Sanford et al. – Discloses systems and methods for crediting a gaming account of an online gaming provider, and when the gaming account is of a player is credited, a stored value account of the player is debited and the stored value account can be linked to a stored value payment vehicle issued to a player.
/AMANULLA ABDULLAEV/ Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692 May 6, 2026