DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1 and 4-13 are pending in this application. Claims 1 and 4 are under examination herein. Claims 5-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bandyopadhyay et al (WO 2014/125444 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Bandyopadhyay teaches the compounds of Formula II below (page 17) as an RIPK1 inhibitor for the treatment of cancer – which is the same intended use as the instant compounds (page 1, para. 1-2). Bandyopadhyay’s compounds render the instant compounds obvious when X is O; R5 is C1 alkyl; L is -CH2-; B is phenyl substituted with halogen; the 5-membered heterocycle A1-5 form a pyrazolyl; Z1-2, 4 are CH; Z3 is CR3, wherein R3 can be, in preferred embodiments, tetrahydrofuran-2-yl-CH2-O-, pyrrolidine-1-yl-(CH2)2-O-, or morpholin-4-yl-C(O)-, etc (page 15, bottom of page).
Bandyopadhyay specifically discloses the preferred embodiments 31, 32, and 93 below (pages 142 and 154).
(31)
(32)
(125)
While embodiments 31 and 32 don’t show F substitution of the phenyl corresponding to ring B; or pyrazole in the position corresponding to the 5-member ring A1-5, embodiment 125 and the general Formula II above accounts for these differences. Thus, Bandyopadhyay’s disclosure encompasses a broad genus which encompasses at least the instantly claimed compounds below:
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by the disclosed formula and preferred embodiments; In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). See MPEP 2144.08. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of compounds disclosed by Bandyopadhyay. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, including those encompassed by the claims.
Applicant is advised that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977).
Furthermore, a novel useful compound that is isomeric with the prior art compound is unpatentable unless it possesses some unobvious or unexpected beneficial property not possessed by the prior art compound. In re Norris, 179 F.2d. 970, 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1970). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to expect similar properties of structurally similar compounds since they are suggestive of one another. It has been held that a compound, which is structurally isomeric with a compound of the prior art, is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results. In re Finely, 81 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1949); 84 USPQ 458 (CCPA 1950).
Regarding claim 4, Bandyopadhyay discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising their compounds and acceptable excipients (reading on carriers) (page 50, lines 11-15).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,365,695 (US ‘695) (previously Copending Application 16/987,906); in view of Bandyopadhyay et al. (WO 2014/125444 A1 – previously cited).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, US ‘695 claims the compound below, also as an RIPK1 inhibitor – which is the same use as the instant compounds and pharmaceutical compositions thereof (US ‘695’s claims 1 and 7).
While US ‘695 does not specifically disclose heterocyclic substituents in the place corresponding to methoxy; the teachings of Bandyopadhyay are relied upon for these disclosures.
Bandyopadhyay teaches the compounds of Formula II below (page 17) as an RIPK1 inhibitor for the treatment of cancer – which is the same intended use as the instant compounds (page 1, para. 1-2). Bandyopadhyay’s compounds render the instant compounds obvious when X is O; R5 is C1 alkyl; L is -CH2-; B is phenyl substituted with halogen; the 5-membered heterocycle A1-5 form a pyrazolyl; Z1-2, 4 are CH; Z3 is CR3, wherein R3 can be, in preferred embodiments, tetrahydrofuran-2-yl-CH2-O-, pyrrolidine-1-yl-(CH2)2-O-, or morpholin-4-yl-C(O)-, etc (page 15, bottom of page).
Bandyopadhyay specifically discloses the preferred embodiments 31, 32, and 93 below (pages 142 and 154).
(31)
(32)
(125)
While embodiments 31 and 32 don’t show F substitution of the phenyl corresponding to ring B; or pyrazole in the position corresponding to the 5-member ring A1-5, embodiment 125 and the general Formula II above accounts for these differences. Thus, Bandyopadhyay’s disclosure encompasses a broad genus which encompasses at least the instantly claimed compounds below:
Therefore, one having ordinary skill in the art would have found the claimed compounds prima facie obvious, since they are generically embraced by the US ‘695’s compounds in view of Bandyopadhyay’s generic formula and prefered embodiments. The requisite motivation for arriving at the claimed compounds stems from the fact that they fall within the generic class of compounds disclosed by US ‘695 in view of Bandyopadhyay. Accordingly, one having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare any of the compounds embraced by the disclosed generic formula, including those encompassed by the claims.
Applicant is reminded that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) or homologs (compounds differing regularly by the successive addition of the same chemical group, e.g., by -CH2- groups) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties.
Furthermore, a novel useful compound that is isomeric with the prior art compound is unpatentable unless it possesses some unobvious or unexpected beneficial property not possessed by the prior art compound. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to expect similar properties of structurally similar compounds since they are suggestive of one another. It has been held that a compound, which is structurally isomeric with a compound of the prior art, is prima facie obvious absent unexpected results.
Response to Arguments
Claims
Claim amendments are acknowledged. No new matter has been introduced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant states, since their elected compound was allegedly allowable, then all the compounds of their amended claim 1 are allowable. This is not the case for the reasons outlined in this final office action. In particular, Bandyopadhyay’s disclosure renders some of the claimed compounds obvious, and thus, not patentable.
Double Patenting
Applicant's arguments filed 11/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, since rejections are provisional, that provisional non-statutory double patenting (NSDP) rejections be held in abeyance until the application is in condition of allowance.
This is not persuasive. Previously copending Application 16/987,906 had been mailed a notice of allowance at the time the non-final action was mailed on 05/22/2025. This application has since been patented as US Pat. No. 12,365,695 (US ‘695). Therefore, the NSDP rejection is no longer provisional. Claims stand rejected over obviousness-type NSDP over US Pat. No. 12,365,695 (US ‘695).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACKSON J HERNANDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613