DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 1/20/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over WO 2021/072559 to Chen.
Claims 1 and 7-9, Chen discloses a fiber comprising at least 30 wt % asphaltenes (see entire document including [0012]-[0014], [0036] and [0037]). Chen discloses that in preferred embodiments the asphaltene precursors contain relatively less sulfur, oxygen, and any metallic species to produce carbon fibers with improved mechanical properties [0036]. Chen discloses that the fiber may be carbonized in a single stage or in multiple stages, such as a low-temperature stage followed by an intermediate-temperature stage and then a final high-temperature stage [0045]. Chen discusses the effect from various carbonization heat treatment stages, temperatures and times (pages 10-11 and Figures 5-10) including a disclosure that an intermediate-temperature stage of about 900ºC results in low tensile strength because it caused the formation of metal-containing compounds within the fiber ([0046], [0048] and Figure 8). Chen explicitly discloses multiple fibers carbonized at 1500ºC (without an intermediate-temperature stage) with a sulfur content within the claimed range ([0047] and Table 3). Considering that Chen discloses that the most desirable asphaltene precursor contains less/no metallic species, and that the preferred carbonization heat-treatment avoids an intermediate-temperature stage to avoid the formation of metal-containing compounds, the two fibers disclosed in Table 3 having the lowest sulfur content would also contain the claimed low metals content. Even in the event that it was somehow shown that Chen fails to sufficiently disclose the claimed low metals content, Chen provides clear motivation to reduce the metals content to increase fiber strength. Therefore, either Chen sufficiently teaches a fiber with the claimed low/zero amounts of sulfur and metals or it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to construct the fiber of Chen with the claimed low/zero amounts of sulfur and total metals to produce a fiber with improved mechanical properties. It is further noted that Chen discloses that the fiber may be graphitized to even further increase carbon content [0051] which would inherently further reduce the sulfur and metals content of the fiber.
Claim 2, the fiber comprises 30 to 100 wt % asphaltenes ([0013] and [0014]).
Claim 3, the fiber comprises at least 60 wt % asphaltenes ([0013] and [0014]).
Claim 5, the fiber comprises less than 0.75 wt% sulfur (Table 3).
Claim 10, the fiber may have a diameter from 1 um to 20 um [0037].
Claim 11, the fiber may have a diameter from 2 um to 16 um [0037].
Claim 12, the fiber may have a diameter from 5 um to 15 um [0037].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant asserts that Chen teaches away from the claimed below 1 wt% sulfur content fiber because Chen discloses another fiber (with a sulfur content of 1.54 wt%) with an even higher tensile strength. More specifically, the applicant cites [0047], Figure 10 and Table 3 of Chen wherein the two lowest sulfur content fibers have a lower tensile strength than the third lowest sulfur content fiber. Applicant’s argument is not persuasive because Chen discloses all three fibers and Chen is the primary reference of the rejection. There is no teaching away because there is no obviousness statement regarding fiber selection. All the fibers of Chen are taught (anticipated) by Chen. Plus, Chen does not state that only the highest tensile strength fiber is encompassed by the invention. On the contrary, Chen simply discloses that some fibers have higher tensile strengths based on different carbonization heat treatment stages, temperatures and times. The claims of Chen cover a vast range of different tensile strength fibers.
All the disclosures in a reference must be evaluated for what they fairly teach one of ordinary skill in the art even though the art teachings relied upon are phased in terms of a non-preferred embodiment or even as being unsatisfactory for the intended purpose, In re Boe, 148 USPQ 507 (CCPA 1966); In re Smith, 65 USPQ 167 (CCPA 1945); In re Nehrenberg, 126 USPQ 383 (CCPA 1960); In re Watanabe, 137 USPQ 350 (CCPA 1963).
Disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not constitute a teaching away from a broader disclosure or nonpreferred embodiments. In re Susi, 440 F.2d 442, 169 USPQ 423 (CCPA 1971). “A known or obvious composition does not become patentable simply because it has been described as somewhat inferior to some other product for the same use.” In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551, 554, 31 USPQ2d 1130, 1132 (Fed. Cir. 1994) (The invention was directed to an epoxy impregnated fiber-reinforced printed circuit material. The applied prior art reference taught a printed circuit material similar to that of the claims but impregnated with polyester-imide resin instead of epoxy. The reference, however, disclosed that epoxy was known for this use, but that epoxy impregnated circuit boards have “relatively acceptable dimensional stability” and “some degree of flexibility,” but are inferior to circuit boards impregnated with polyester-imide resins. The court upheld the rejection concluding that applicant’s argument that the reference teaches away from using epoxy was insufficient to overcome the rejection since “Gurley asserted no discovery beyond what was known in the art.” Id. at 554, 31 USPQ2d at 1132.). MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated any new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW T PIZIALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789