DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to a response filed on November 12th, 2025. In this office action,
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17, and 20-29 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17, and 20-29 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on November 12th, 2025 have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 10, 13, 15, 17, 20, 22, 24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laabs et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0184909), hereinafter Laabs; in view of Sabet et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0132366), hereinafter Sabet; further in view of Mavlankar et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0359499), hereinafter Mavlankar; and further in view of Xiong et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0204007), hereinafter Xiong.
Claim 1. Laabs discloses a switch comprising: processing hardware and a memory storing a software code (The art teaches in Parag. [0001] that the invention relates to an apparatus (switch “switches need a processor for control and management”) and a method for switching real-time media streams from one or multiple sources to one or multiple sinks. Furthermore, the invention relates to a corresponding computer program. See also Parag. [0030]); the processing hardware of the switch configured to execute the software code of the switch (See Parag. [0030]; the computer program is run on a computer which controls the apparatus. Examiner’s interpretation: An apparatus is a device comprising a processing hardware to execute the computer program) to:
begin receiving a first video stream from a first media source (The art teaches in Parag. [0048] that the apparatus 1 provides an "intern" switching sink S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, which can be switched between the digital video streams of the sources Q.sub.1 (first media source), Q.sub.2, Q.sub.3 in order to receive them at the switching sink S.sub.S respectively (first video stream is received from a first media source). In the example shown in FIG. 1 the switching sink S.sub.S is first switched to the digital video stream of the camera Q.sub.1 (visualized in the figure as the dashed line), so that it is received at the switching sink S.sub.S in the "SDI over IP" format), the first video stream including a plurality of frames (See Parag. [0016] disclosing the video stream(s) including frames);
begin forwarding the first video stream to a video receiver physically separate from the switch (The art teaches in Parag. [0049-0050] that the switching sink S.sub.S is now adapted to forward the received digital video stream (forwarding the first video stream to a video receiver) in a packet-switched format, here correspondingly the "SDI over IP format" as well, wherein the packets are provided with a multi-point destination address allocated to the switching sink S.sub.S, in this embodiment also an IP multicast destination address, which is preferably unambiguously configurable ... In the example shown in FIG. 1 the monitor S.sub.2 of the apparatus 1 signalizes with the help of corresponding IGMP messages that it wants to receive the digital video stream with the IP multicast destination address IPMZ.sub.S i.e. that it wants to receive the digital video stream forwarded by the switching sink S.sub.S, here the digital video stream of the camera Q.sub.1: which is thus forwarded by the apparatus 1 to the sink port SA.sub.2. See also Parag. [0038-0039] and Fig. 1. Examiner’s interpretation: The receiver is the monitor (S.sub.2) to which the apparatus 1 (switch) forwards the video stream. In addition, the apparatus and the monitor are two different devices);
begin receiving a second video stream from a second media source (The art teaches in Parag. [0048] that the apparatus 1 provides an "intern" switching sink S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, which can be switched between the digital video streams of the sources Q.sub.1, Q.sub.2 (second media source), Q.sub.3 in order to receive them at the switching sink S.sub.S respectively (second video stream is received from a second media source);
receive a switch command to forward the second video stream instead of the first video stream to the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0052] signalize (switch command) the apparatus 1 that the switching sink S.sub.S is to be switched from a digital video stream of a first source, e.g. the camera Q.sub.1, to the digital video stream of a second source, e.g. the camera Q.sub.2);
detect, within one of the plurality of frames of the first video stream, a switch point for switching from the first video stream to the second video stream, the switch point being a predetermined line number (The art teaches in Parag. [0055] that for switching digital video streams in the "SDI over IP" format the pre-determined switching points (a switch point) or switching ranges respectively of both video streams have then to be identified in the corresponding packets first ... Laabs discloses in Parag. [0003]; that [t]he switching operation occurs for this chronologically predetermined switching points or within predetermined switching ranges respectively, which are defined within the directive SMPTE RP168 (English title "Definition of Vertical Interval Switching Point for Synchronous Video Switching") for video streams in the SDI format. See also Parag. [0016] [0053]. Examiner’s note: The Examiner has attached the SMPTE RP168 which teaches (See section 1 – Scope, Page 3/23) a practice that defines the line number and line timing for the switching point of serial digital and analog interfaces carrying television and data payloads to minimize any disturbance in the active payload area);
begin forwarding, in response to the switch command and at the switch point, the second video stream to the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0053] that for transparent switching the forwarding of the digital video stream of the first source, here of the camera Q.sub.1, is then terminated by the switching sink S.sub.S at a first switching point predetermined for this video stream…, and the forwarding of the digital video stream of the second source s initiated by the switching sink S.sub.S at a second switching point predetermined for this video stream or within a second switching range predetermined for this video stream respectively (forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver)); and
contemporaneously with beginning forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver, stop forwarding the first video stream to the video receiver, to provide seamless switching from the first video stream to the second video stream for the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0053] that for transparent switching the forwarding of the digital video stream of the first source, here of the camera Q.sub.1, is then terminated (stop forwarding the first video stream) by the switching sink S.sub.S at a first switching point predetermined for this video stream…, and the forwarding of the digital video stream of the second source).
Laabs doesn’t explicitly disclose: the first video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a first wireless communication link with the first media source, or (ii) via a first network communication link provided by a wide area network (WAN) when the first media source is remote from the switch; the second video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a second wireless communication link with the second media source, or (ii) via a second network communication link provided by the WAN when the second media source is remote from the switch; the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet; [and] forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Sabet discloses the first video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a first wireless communication link with the first media source, or (ii) via a first network communication link provided by a wide area network (WAN) when the first media source is remote from the switch; the second video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a second wireless communication link with the second media source, or (ii) via a second network communication link provided by the WAN when the second media source is remote from the switch (See Parag. [0012]; a network switch … adapted to receive both of the transmitted plurality of periodically refreshed images and first video stream from the first camera and transmit both of the same to the first device. See Parag. [0138]; video streams from cameras 102 (first media source and second media source) can be transmitted via an IP based wired or wireless path. See also Parag. [0024] [0130-0135] and Fig. 1-2. Examiner’s interpretation: As taught by Sabet, each camera (first media source/ second media source) transmits a video stream (first video stream/ second media source) via a wireless path (first wireless communication link/ second wireless communication link) to the switch);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the receiving, by the switch, of the first/second video stream of the first/second source, taught by Laabs, to be performed via a first/second wireless communication link with the first/second media source, as taught by Sabet. This would be convenient such that wireless video transmission provides flexibility and mobility.
Laabs in view of Sabet doesn’t explicitly disclose the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames; and forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Mavlankar discloses the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames (See Parag. [0036]; Based on the sequence header indices associated with two encoded video streams of the same content title, the content player 308 can switch between the encoded video streams by identifying the appropriate switch points in the sequence header indices. When switching between a currently playing encoded video stream and a new encoded video stream, the content player 308 identifies a next segment to be downloaded and locates the offset of the next segment in the sequence header index of the new encoded stream. The content player 308 only downloads the next segment from the new encoded stream when the segment includes a key frame (and, therefore, is a valid switch point) See Parag. [0045]; the sequence encoder 414 transmits sequence header indices identifying the key frame locations within the first video stream and the second video stream to a content player to enable switching between the first video stream and the second video stream).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the switch point, taught by Laabs, to be being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames, as taught by Mavlankar. This would be convenient such that the content player 308 can switch between the encoded video streams by identifying the appropriate switch points in the sequence header indices (Mavlankar, Parag. [0036]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Xiong discloses forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time (See Parag. [0171-0172]; To reduce impact on a downstream device to enable the downstream device to be unaware of switching, when forwarding a data packet of second video stream, the transmission device may further modify (alter) information in the data packet of the second video stream. Specifically, to improve consistency of video streams before and after switching, the transmission device may modify a value of a first field in the data packet of the second video stream, so that the value of the first field in the data packet that is of the second video stream and that is sent through the target output port after the switching is the same as a value of a first field in a data packet that is of the first video stream and that is sent through the target output port before the switching. i.e., applicant teaches, in the specification (Page 5 lines 16-21), altering the forwarded packets so that they retain the same stream identifiers the receiver was already receiving from the original source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the forwarding of the second video stream, taught by the combination, to include forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time, as taught by Xiong. This would be convenient to improve consistency of video streams before and after switching (Xiong, Parag. [0172]).
Claim 3. Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong discloses the switch of claim 1,
Laabs further discloses wherein the video packet is a Real-Time Transfer Protocol (RTP) packet (The art teaches in Parag. [0040] that provided digital video streams in a SDI format are transmitted in IP packets (English "Internet Protocol"), wherein in addition to the protocol layers UDP (English "User Datagram Protocol") and RTP (English "Real-Time Transport Protocol"), further information for timing, encryption, etc, are provided. The art teaches in Parag. [0055] that for switching digital video streams in the "SDI over IP" format the pre-determined switching points or switching ranges respectively of both video streams have then to be identified in the corresponding packets first. This can occur, e.g. by the way that for each of the two digital video streams the next packet is first searched in which the so-called "RTP Marker Bit" is set).
Claim 6. Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong discloses the switch of claim 3,
Laabs further discloses wherein the switch point is at a Field Identification bit of the RTP packet (The art teaches in Parag. [0055] that the apparatus 1 identifies the media format of a digital video stream based on the "Video Payload Identifier" (VPID) transmitted in the packets of the "SDI over IP" format. The predetermined switching point or switching range respectively for a digital video stream of the identified media format can be stored in the apparatus 1 in a table or the like, e.g. For switching digital video streams in the "SDI over IP" format the pre-determined switching points (a switch point) or switching ranges respectively of both video streams have then to be identified in the corresponding packets first. This can occur, e.g. by the way that for each of the two digital video streams the next packet is first searched in which the so-called "RTP Marker Bit" is set. This bit indicates that the corresponding packet contains the end of a frame… The packets containing the switching points or the packets within the switching range respectively, could also be marked directly with the help of so-called "Extension Header", so that the apparatus 1 merely has to search for packets with those Headers).
Claim 8. Laabs discloses a method for use by a switch having processing hardware and a memory storing a software code (The art teaches in Parag. [0001] that the invention relates to an apparatus (switch “switches need a processor for control and management”) and a method for switching real-time media streams from one or multiple sources to one or multiple sinks. Furthermore, the invention relates to a corresponding computer program. See also Parag. [0030]; the computer program is run on a computer which controls the apparatus. Examiner’s interpretation: An apparatus is a device comprising a processing hardware to execute the computer program), the method comprising:
begin receiving, by the software code of the switch executed by the processing hardware, a first video stream from a first media source (The art teaches in Parag. [0048] that the apparatus 1 provides an "intern" switching sink S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, which can be switched between the digital video streams of the sources Q.sub.1 (first media source), Q.sub.2, Q.sub.3 in order to receive them at the switching sink S.sub.S respectively (first video stream is received from a first media source). In the example shown in FIG. 1 the switching sink S.sub.S is first switched to the digital video stream of the camera Q.sub.1 (visualized in the figure as the dashed line), so that it is received at the switching sink S.sub.S in the "SDI over IP" format), the first video stream including a plurality of frames (See Parag. [0016] disclosing the video stream(s) including frames);
begin forwarding, by the software code of the switch executed by the processing hardware of the switch, the first video stream to a video receiver physically separate from the switch (The art teaches in Parag. [0049-0050] that the switching sink S.sub.S is now adapted to forward the received digital video stream (forwarding the first video stream to a video receiver) in a packet-switched format, here correspondingly the "SDI over IP format" as well, wherein the packets are provided with a multi-point destination address allocated to the switching sink S.sub.S, in this embodiment also an IP multicast destination address, which is preferably unambiguously configurable ... In the example shown in FIG. 1 the monitor S.sub.2 of the apparatus 1 signalizes with the help of corresponding IGMP messages that it wants to receive the digital video stream with the IP multicast destination address IPMZ.sub.S i.e. that it wants to receive the digital video stream forwarded by the switching sink S.sub.S, here the digital video stream of the camera Q.sub.1: which is thus forwarded by the apparatus 1 to the sink port SA.sub.2. See also Parag. [0038-0039] and Fig. 1. Examiner’s interpretation: The receiver is the monitor (S.sub.2) to which the apparatus 1 (switch) forwards the video stream. In addition, the apparatus and the monitor are two different devices);
begin receiving, by the software code of the switch executed by the processing hardware of the switch, a second video stream from a second media source (The art teaches in Parag. [0048] that the apparatus 1 provides an "intern" switching sink S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, which can be switched between the digital video streams of the sources Q.sub.1, Q.sub.2 (second media source), Q.sub.3 in order to receive them at the switching sink S.sub.S respectively (second video stream is received from a second media source);
receiving, by the software code executed by the processing hardware, a switch command to forward the second video stream to the video receiver instead of the first video stream (The art teaches in Parag. [0052] signalize (switch command) the apparatus 1 that the switching sink S.sub.S is to be switched from a digital video stream of a first source, e.g. the camera Q.sub.1, to the digital video stream of a second source, e.g. the camera Q.sub.2);
detecting, by the software code of the switch executed by the processing hardware of the switch within one of the plurality of frames of the first video stream, a switch point for switching from the first video stream to the second video stream, the switch point being a predetermined line number (The art teaches in Parag. [0055] that for switching digital video streams in the "SDI over IP" format the pre-determined switching points (a switch point) or switching ranges respectively of both video streams have then to be identified in the corresponding packets first ... Laabs discloses in Parag. [0003]; that [t]he switching operation occurs for this chronologically predetermined switching points or within predetermined switching ranges respectively, which are defined within the directive SMPTE RP168 (English title "Definition of Vertical Interval Switching Point for Synchronous Video Switching") for video streams in the SDI format. See also Parag. [0016] [0053]. Examiner’s note: The Examiner has attached the SMPTE RP168 which teaches (See section 1 – Scope, Page 3/23) a practice that defines the line number and line timing for the switching point of serial digital and analog interfaces carrying television and data payloads to minimize any disturbance in the active payload area);
begin forwarding, by the software code of the switch executed by the processing hardware of the switch, in response to the switch command and at the switch point, the second video stream to the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0053] that for transparent switching the forwarding of the digital video stream of the first source, here of the camera Q.sub.1, is then terminated by the switching sink S.sub.S at a first switching point predetermined for this video stream…, and the forwarding of the digital video stream of the second source s initiated by the switching sink S.sub.S at a second switching point predetermined for this video stream or within a second switching range predetermined for this video stream respectively (forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver)); and
contemporaneously with beginning forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver, stop forwarding, by the software code of the switch executed by the processing hardware of the switch, the first video stream to the video receiver, to provide seamless switching from the first video stream to the second video stream for the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0053] that for transparent switching the forwarding of the digital video stream of the first source, here of the camera Q.sub.1, is then terminated (stop forwarding the first video stream) by the switching sink S.sub.S at a first switching point predetermined for this video stream…, and the forwarding of the digital video stream of the second source).
Laabs doesn’t explicitly disclose: the first video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a first wireless communication link with the first media source, or (ii) via a first network communication link provided by a wide area network (WAN) when the first media source is remote from the switch; the second video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a second wireless communication link with the second media source, or (ii) via a second network communication link provided by the WAN when the second media source is remote from the switch; the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames; [and] forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Sabet discloses the first video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a first wireless communication link with the first media source, or (ii) via a first network communication link provided by a wide area network (WAN) when the first media source is remote from the switch; the second video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a second wireless communication link with the second media source, or (ii) via a second network communication link provided by the WAN when the second media source is remote from the switch (See Parag. [0012]; a network switch … adapted to receive both of the transmitted plurality of periodically refreshed images and first video stream from the first camera and transmit both of the same to the first device. See Parag. [0138]; video streams from cameras 102 (first media source and second media source) can be transmitted via an IP based wired or wireless path. See also Parag. [0024] [0130-0135] and Fig. 1-2. Examiner’s interpretation: As taught by Sabet, each camera (first media source/ second media source) transmits a video stream (first video stream/ second media source) via a wireless path (first wireless communication link/ second wireless communication link) to the switch);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the receiving, by the switch, of the first/second video stream of the first/second source, taught by Laabs, to be performed via a first/second wireless communication link with the first/second media source, as taught by Sabet. This would be convenient such that wireless video transmission provides flexibility and mobility.
Laabs in view of Sabet doesn’t explicitly disclose the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames; [and] forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Mavlankar discloses the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames (See Parag. [0036]; Based on the sequence header indices associated with two encoded video streams of the same content title, the content player 308 can switch between the encoded video streams by identifying the appropriate switch points in the sequence header indices. When switching between a currently playing encoded video stream and a new encoded video stream, the content player 308 identifies a next segment to be downloaded and locates the offset of the next segment in the sequence header index of the new encoded stream. The content player 308 only downloads the next segment from the new encoded stream when the segment includes a key frame (and, therefore, is a valid switch point) See Parag. [0045]; the sequence encoder 414 transmits sequence header indices identifying the key frame locations within the first video stream and the second video stream to a content player to enable switching between the first video stream and the second video stream).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the switch point, taught by Laabs, to be being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames, as taught by Mavlankar. This would be convenient such that the content player 308 can switch between the encoded video streams by identifying the appropriate switch points in the sequence header indices (Mavlankar, Parag. [0036]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Xiong discloses forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time (See Parag. [0171-0172]; To reduce impact on a downstream device to enable the downstream device to be unaware of switching, when forwarding a data packet of second video stream, the transmission device may further modify (alter) information in the data packet of the second video stream. Specifically, to improve consistency of video streams before and after switching, the transmission device may modify a value of a first field in the data packet of the second video stream, so that the value of the first field in the data packet that is of the second video stream and that is sent through the target output port after the switching is the same as a value of a first field in a data packet that is of the first video stream and that is sent through the target output port before the switching. i.e., applicant teaches, in the specification (Page 5 lines 16-21), altering the forwarded packets so that they retain the same stream identifiers the receiver was already receiving from the original source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the forwarding of the second video stream, taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, to include forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time, as taught by Xiong. This would be convenient to improve consistency of video streams before and after switching (Xiong, Parag. [0172]).
Claims 10 and 13 are taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong as described for claims 3 and 6, respectively.
Claim 15. Laabs discloses a computer-readable non-transitory storage medium having stored thereon instructions, which when executed by processing hardware of a switch, instantiate a method (The art teaches in Parag. [0001] that the invention relates to an apparatus (switch “switches need a processor for control and management”) and a method for switching real-time media streams from one or multiple sources to one or multiple sinks. Furthermore, the invention relates to a corresponding computer program. See also Parag. [0030]) comprising:
begin receiving, by the switch, a first video stream from a first media source (The art teaches in Parag. [0048] that the apparatus 1 provides an "intern" switching sink S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, which can be switched between the digital video streams of the sources Q.sub.1 (first media source), Q.sub.2, Q.sub.3 in order to receive them at the switching sink S.sub.S respectively (first video stream is received from a first media source). In the example shown in FIG. 1 the switching sink S.sub.S is first switched to the digital video stream of the camera Q.sub.1 (visualized in the figure as the dashed line), so that it is received at the switching sink S.sub.S in the "SDI over IP" format), the first video stream including a plurality of frames (See Parag. [0016] disclosing the video stream(s) including frames);
begin forwarding, by the switch, the first video stream to a video receiver physically separate from the switch (The art teaches in Parag. [0049-0050] that the switching sink S.sub.S is now adapted to forward the received digital video stream (forwarding the first video stream to a video receiver) in a packet-switched format, here correspondingly the "SDI over IP format" as well, wherein the packets are provided with a multi-point destination address allocated to the switching sink S.sub.S, in this embodiment also an IP multicast destination address, which is preferably unambiguously configurable ... In the example shown in FIG. 1 the monitor S.sub.2 of the apparatus 1 signalizes with the help of corresponding IGMP messages that it wants to receive the digital video stream with the IP multicast destination address IPMZ.sub.S i.e. that it wants to receive the digital video stream forwarded by the switching sink S.sub.S, here the digital video stream of the camera Q.sub.1: which is thus forwarded by the apparatus 1 to the sink port SA.sub.2. See also Parag. [0038-0039] and Fig. 1. Examiner’s interpretation: The receiver is the monitor (S.sub.2) to which the apparatus 1 (switch) forwards the video stream. In addition, the apparatus and the monitor are two different devices);
begin receiving, by the switch, a second video stream from a second media source (The art teaches in Parag. [0048] that the apparatus 1 provides an "intern" switching sink S.sub.1, S.sub.2, S.sub.3, which can be switched between the digital video streams of the sources Q.sub.1, Q.sub.2 (second media source), Q.sub.3 in order to receive them at the switching sink S.sub.S respectively (second video stream is received from a second media source);
receiving, by the switch, a switch command to forward the second video stream to the video receiver instead of the first video stream (The art teaches in Parag. [0052] signalize (switch command) the apparatus 1 that the switching sink S.sub.S is to be switched from a digital video stream of a first source, e.g. the camera Q.sub.1, to the digital video stream of a second source, e.g. the camera Q.sub.2);
detecting, by the switch, within one of the plurality of frames of the first video stream, a switch point for switching from the first video stream to the second video stream, the switch point being a predetermined line number (The art teaches in Parag. [0055] that for switching digital video streams in the "SDI over IP" format the pre-determined switching points (a switch point) or switching ranges respectively of both video streams have then to be identified in the corresponding packets first ... Laabs discloses in Parag. [0003]; that [t]he switching operation occurs for this chronologically predetermined switching points or within predetermined switching ranges respectively, which are defined within the directive SMPTE RP168 (English title "Definition of Vertical Interval Switching Point for Synchronous Video Switching") for video streams in the SDI format. See also Parag. [0016] [0053]. Examiner’s note: The Examiner has attached the SMPTE RP168 which teaches (See section 1 – Scope, Page 3/23) a practice that defines the line number and line timing for the switching point of serial digital and analog interfaces carrying television and data payloads to minimize any disturbance in the active payload area);
begin forwarding, by the switch, in response to the switch command and at the switch point, the second video stream to the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0053] that for transparent switching the forwarding of the digital video stream of the first source, here of the camera Q.sub.1, is then terminated by the switching sink S.sub.S at a first switching point predetermined for this video stream…, and the forwarding of the digital video stream of the second source s initiated by the switching sink S.sub.S at a second switching point predetermined for this video stream or within a second switching range predetermined for this video stream respectively (forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver)); and
contemporaneously with beginning forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver, stop forwarding the first video stream to the video receiver, to provide seamless switching from the first video stream to the second video stream for the video receiver (The art teaches in Parag. [0053] that for transparent switching the forwarding of the digital video stream of the first source, here of the camera Q.sub.1, is then terminated (stop forwarding the first video stream) by the switching sink S.sub.S at a first switching point predetermined for this video stream…, and the forwarding of the digital video stream of the second source).
Laabs doesn’t explicitly disclose: the first video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a first wireless communication link with the first media source, or (ii) via a first network communication link provided by a wide area network (WAN) when the first media source is remote from the switch; the second video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a second wireless communication link with the second media source, or (ii) via a second network communication link provided by the WAN when the second media source is remote from the switch; the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames; [and] forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Sabet discloses the first video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a first wireless communication link with the first media source, or (ii) via a first network communication link provided by a wide area network (WAN) when the first media source is remote from the switch; the second video stream being received by the switch: (i) via a second wireless communication link with the second media source, or (ii) via a second network communication link provided by the WAN when the second media source is remote from the switch (See Parag. [0012]; a network switch … adapted to receive both of the transmitted plurality of periodically refreshed images and first video stream from the first camera and transmit both of the same to the first device. See Parag. [0138]; video streams from cameras 102 (first media source and second media source) can be transmitted via an IP based wired or wireless path. See also Parag. [0024] [0130-0135] and Fig. 1-2. Examiner’s interpretation: As taught by Sabet, each camera (first media source/ second media source) transmits a video stream (first video stream/ second media source) via a wireless path (first wireless communication link/ second wireless communication link) to the switch);
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the receiving, by the switch, of the first/second video stream of the first/second source, taught by Laabs, to be performed via a first/second wireless communication link with the first/second media source, as taught by Sabet. This would be convenient such that wireless video transmission provides flexibility and mobility.
Laabs in view of Sabet doesn’t explicitly disclose the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames; [and] forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Mavlankar discloses the switch point being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames (See Parag. [0036]; Based on the sequence header indices associated with two encoded video streams of the same content title, the content player 308 can switch between the encoded video streams by identifying the appropriate switch points in the sequence header indices. When switching between a currently playing encoded video stream and a new encoded video stream, the content player 308 identifies a next segment to be downloaded and locates the offset of the next segment in the sequence header index of the new encoded stream. The content player 308 only downloads the next segment from the new encoded stream when the segment includes a key frame (and, therefore, is a valid switch point) See Parag. [0045]; the sequence encoder 414 transmits sequence header indices identifying the key frame locations within the first video stream and the second video stream to a content player to enable switching between the first video stream and the second video stream).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the switch point, taught by Laabs, to be being in a video packet payload header of a video packet contained within the one of the plurality of frames, as taught by Mavlankar. This would be convenient such that the content player 308 can switch between the encoded video streams by identifying the appropriate switch points in the sequence header indices (Mavlankar, Parag. [0036]).
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time.
However, Xiong discloses forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time (See Parag. [0171-0172]; To reduce impact on a downstream device to enable the downstream device to be unaware of switching, when forwarding a data packet of second video stream, the transmission device may further modify (alter) information in the data packet of the second video stream. Specifically, to improve consistency of video streams before and after switching, the transmission device may modify a value of a first field in the data packet of the second video stream, so that the value of the first field in the data packet that is of the second video stream and that is sent through the target output port after the switching is the same as a value of a first field in a data packet that is of the first video stream and that is sent through the target output port before the switching. i.e., applicant teaches, in the specification (Page 5 lines 16-21), altering the forwarded packets so that they retain the same stream identifiers the receiver was already receiving from the original source).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the forwarding of the second video stream, taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, to include forwarding the second video stream to the video receiver while altering video packet data of the second video stream in real-time, as taught by Xiong. This would be convenient to improve consistency of video streams before and after switching (Xiong, Parag. [0172]).
Claims 17 and 20 are taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong as described for claims 3 and 6, respectively.
Claim 22. Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong discloses the switch of claim 1,
Laabs in view of sabet doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the switch point is within a blanking interval of the one of the plurality of frames of the first video stream.
However, Xiong discloses wherein the switch point is within a blanking interval of the one of the plurality of frames of the first video stream (See Parag. [0057]; determine, as the switching reference information of the switching packet of the first video stream, switching reference information of a data packet used to encapsulate blanking interval data of a sub-image next to, in time order, a sub-image to which video data in the alignment end-of-frame packet of the first video stream belongs. See Parag. [0058]; video stream switching may be performed at a data packet used to encapsulate blanking interval data).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the switching point, taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, to be within a blanking interval of the one of the plurality of frames, as taught by Xiong. This would be convenient to avoid damage to valid video data, because the blanking interval data is not valid video data and is invisible to human eyes (Xiong, Parag. [0058]).
Claim 24 is taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong, as described for claim 22.
Claim 26 is taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong, as described for claim 22.
Claims 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laabs et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0184909), hereinafter Laabs; in view of Sabet et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0132366), hereinafter Sabet; further in view of Mavlankar et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0359499), hereinafter Mavlankar; further in view of Xiong et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0204007), hereinafter Xiong; and further in view of SMPTE RP 168-2009 (SMPTE RECOMMENDED PRACTICE: Definition of Vertical Interval Switching Point for Synchronous Video Switching; Approved July 17, 2009).
Claim 21. Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong discloses the switch of claim 6,
Laabs discloses in Parag. [0055] that for switching digital video streams in the "SDI over IP" format the pre-determined switching points (a switch point) or switching ranges respectively of both video streams have then to be identified in the corresponding packets first. This can occur, e.g. by the way that for each of the two digital video streams the next packet is first searched in which the so-called "RTP Marker Bit" is set. This bit indicates that the corresponding packet contains the end of a frame; but the combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the predetermined line number is one of sample row data (SRD) line number from zero (0) to twenty-five (25).
However, SMPTE RP 168-2009 discloses wherein the predetermined line number is one of sample row data (SRD) line number from zero (0) to twenty-five (25) (The art teaches (See section 1 – Scope, Page 3/23) a practice that defines the line number and line timing for the switching point of serial digital and analog interfaces carrying television and data payloads to minimize any disturbance in the active payload area. The art also teaches (See section 6 - Switching Line and Switching Area — Digital Systems, Page 6/23) that progressive digital video systems have one switching line and switching area per frame. Interlaced (including progressive segmented frame) digital video systems have two switching lines and switching areas per frame, one for each field. Table 2 (Page 7/23) lists these two switching lines as “Field 1 (Recommended)” and “Field 2”. Existing devices may have been designed to switch on either field. New digital interlaced video devices should switch using the recommended Field 1 line. The recommended switchingline in field 1 (See Table 2, Page 7/23) presents a range from zero (0) to twenty-five (25) as claimed by the applicant, where the specification discloses the switch point to be at any one of lines zero through the maximum line number "N" (0-N) included by the video format of frame. See also Annex C (Informative) Line Number Relationship of the Source Signal and Interface Format (C.2 Dual Link (Ex. 525/59.94/P), Page 22/23)).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the switching point, taught by the combination, to be a predetermined line number, as recommended under SMPTE RP 168-2009. This would be convenient to minimize any disturbance in the active payload area (SMPTE RP 168-2009, See section 1 - Scope).
Claim 23 is taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, Xiong, and SMPTE RP 168-2009, as described for claim 21.
Claim 25 is taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, Xiong, and SMPTE RP 168-2009, as described for claim 21.
Claims 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laabs et al. (Pub. No. US 2014/0184909), hereinafter Laabs; in view of Sabet et al. (Pub. No. US 2019/0132366), hereinafter Sabet; further in view of Mavlankar et al. (Pub. No. US 2018/0359499), hereinafter Mavlankar; further in view of Xiong et al. (Pub. No. US 2021/0204007), hereinafter Xiong; and further in view of Smaak et al. (Pub. No. US 2012/0047405), hereinafter Smaak.
Claim 27. Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, and Xiong discloses the of claim 1,
The combination doesn’t explicitly disclose wherein the switch is a commercial-off-the-shelf (COTS) Internet protocol (IP) switch.
However, Smaak discloses wherein the switch is a commercial-off-the-shelf (COTS) Internet protocol (IP) switch (The art teaches in Parag. [0012]; Computer network comprising a router and an number of switches each having ports for receiving and sending messages and being connected to at least one receiver. See Parag. [0019]; COTS switches used in IP multicast stream).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus for switching real-time media streams, taught by the combination, to include a commercial-off-the-shelf (COTS) Internet protocol (IP) switch, as taught by Smaak. This would be convenient such that Commercial Off-The-Shelf (COTS) switches in IP networks provide faster deployment, easier maintenance, and cost efficiency.
Claim 28 and 29 are taught by Laabs in view of Sabet, Mavlankar, Xiong, and Smaak as described for claim 7.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hunt (US 2012/0331167) – Related art in the area related to video surveillance, and particularly to methods and systems for performing hand-off between video cameras, (Parag. [0030] [t]he SHI generator 218 generates a sequence header index associated with each encoded video stream. To generate the sequence header index, the SHI generator 218 first searches the encoded video stream for the key frames associated with the different intervals included in the encoded video stream. The key frames can be located by the SHI generator 218 based on the sequence start codes specified in the sequence headers included in the key frames. For the interval associated with each of the identified key frames, the SHI generator 218 defines a switch point within the sequence header index that stores (i) a data packet number that identifies the data packet that includes the key frame associated with the interval and (ii) the playback offset associated with the interval. Again, the playback offset associated with the interval is determined based on the location of the interval in the sequence of intervals included in the encoded video stream).
/Abdelbasst Talioua/Examiner, Art Unit 2445