DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicant's submission filed on 13 May 2026 has been entered.
Claim Objections
The claims contain minor informalities.
In claim 1, the language “… a treatment tube [[to]] for introduction of a therapeutic …” should be changed for clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 16-19 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble, E. Marlowe et al. (US 20040030281 A1) in view of Locke; Christopher Brian et al. (US 20220370255 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Goble discloses a dual-port surgical drain (¶ [0003], methods and systems for concurrent aspiration and infusion of a wound site; ¶ [0018] Shown in FIG. 1 … System 35 is applied to a knee 25 of a patient to treat a surgical wound that would result from, for example, a total knee arthroplasty surgery);
comprising: a surgical drain tube (¶ [0020] Aspiration catheter 15 comprises a proximal section 50, an opposing distal section 52, and a middle section 54 extending therebetween … A plurality of spaced apart side ports 11 extend through aspiration catheter 15 at distal section 52 so as to communicate with second lumen 56; ¶ [0026], Similarly, a flow control 6, pump 4, and aspiration reservoir 3 are operably coupled with proximal section 50 of aspiration catheter 15; ¶ [0032], As the syringe plunger is pushed out of the syringe barrel by the spring, a relative vacuum is produced which causes fluid to be sucked into aspiration catheter 15 through ports 11, 27 and into the syringe barrel);
configured to drain fluid from a surgical site (¶ [0018], While FIG. 1 demonstrates use of one embodiment of integrated infusion and aspiration system 35 for a knee, it is understood that the present invention can be used for any internal body wound created by surgery, trauma, or disease); and
a treatment tube (¶ [0019], Infusion catheter 10 comprises a proximal section 40, an opposing distal section 42, and a middle section 44 (see FIG. 2) extending therebetween … Infusion catheter 10 bounds a first lumen 46; ¶ [0023] Infusion catheter 10 travels distally within second lumen 56 and exits aspiration catheter 15 through end port 27 at distal end tip 12; ¶ [0035], The dose of infusion solution passes through infusion catheter 10 and out through ports 16, 26 to one side of the wound site);
wherein the surgical drain tube and treatment tube are configured for passage through skin (¶ [0024], only a single tract through the skin is required to pass both catheters 10 and 15 from an extracorporeal site to the internal wound site; ¶ [0035], during operation catheter assembly 20 is inserted through a single incisions 62 in the skin so that at least a portion of ports 11, 27 and 16, 26 are positioned on opposing sides of an internal wound site).
Goble does not explicitly disclose first and second ports configured to form a sealed passage through skin for the surgical drain tube and treatment tube. Locke discloses a dressing for an internal cavity (¶ [0004], [0038], FIG. 1, a dressing assembly 10 for a breast cavity or other internal bodily cavity);
comprising: a first port configured to form a sealed passage through skin for a surgical drain tube configured to drain fluid from a surgical site (¶ [0038], Connector 15 includes a first portion, a vacuum portion, a negative pressure portion, etc., shown as vacuum portion 16 … Vacuum portion 16 includes a first channel, a first bore, a through-hole, a fluid passageway, a fluid path, an opening, an inner volume, an aperture, etc., shown as vacuum channel 22 … vacuum channel 22 extends through vacuum portion 16 of connector 15); and
a second port configured to form a sealed passage through skin for a treatment tube to for introduction of a therapeutic (¶ [0038], Connector 15 includes … a second portion, an instillation portion, etc., shown as instillation portion 18 … Instillation portion 18 includes a second channel, a second bore, a through-hole, a fluid passageway, a fluid path, an opening, an inner volume, an aperture, etc., shown as instillation channel 20. Instillation channel 20 may extend through instillation portion 18 of connector 15);
wherein both the drain tube and the treatment tube each have a separate proximal portion configured to be implanted within a subject (¶ [0040], Negative pressure pathway layer 36 and instillation pathway layer 38 can be elongated members that couple (e.g., fixedly, fluidly, etc.) at one end with connector 15, and are free at an opposite end. Negative pressure pathway layer 36 may be coupled (e.g., fixedly) with connector 15 at proximate end 48; ¶ [0041], Negative pressure manifold 40 can extend outwards from connector 15); and
a distal portion external to the subject (¶ [0038], several conduits, tubular members, pipes, hoses, tubes, etc., shown as instillation tube 12 and vacuum tube 14);
in each case, the proximal and distal portions being fluidically connected (¶ [0038], Instillation channel 20 may extend through instillation portion 18 of connector 15, while vacuum channel 22 extends through vacuum portion 16 of connector 15).
Locke couples portions of two parallel pathways through a single connector and minimizes a number of passages that extend through the patient’s skin. Locke’s connector 15 consolidates a pair of tubes into a single entity that will not split apart, and which can optionally support a valve (¶ [0052], FIGS. 5 and 6 … Connector 15 can include a valve 66; ¶ [0053], Advantageously, connector 15 can be cross-plumbed to facilitate selective bidirectionality of instillation fluid delivery/fluid removal). One would be motivated to modify Goble with Locke’s ports since Goble calls for passing a pair of tubes through a patient’s skin but does not describe how to prevent pathogens from entering the incision (¶ [0050] FIG. 7 … This integral connection between catheters 10 and 15 enables catheter assembly 70 to be inserted through a single incision in the skin). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble with Locke’s first and second ports in order to minimize a number of entry points through the patient’s skin and thereby minimize the risk of infection.
Regarding claims 3, 7 and 24, Goble discloses that the treatment reservoir contains an antibiotic or antiviral compound (¶ [0027], the infusion solution can contain, separately or in combination, an analgesic agent, an anesthetic agent, an antibiotic, an antiseptic, an anticoagulant, or an anti-inflammatory);
further comprising a vacuum source connected to the surgical drain tube (¶ [0032], As the syringe plunger is pushed out of the syringe barrel by the spring, a relative vacuum is produced which causes fluid to be sucked into aspiration catheter 15 through ports 11, 27 and into the syringe barrel);
wherein the treatment tube has a distal end in fluidic communication with a treatment reservoir (¶ [0026], FIG. 1, flow control system 19 comprises … medication reservoir 1 … Reservoirs 1 and 3 can comprise a flexible bag, such as an IV bag, a syringe barrel, or any other conventional hard of soft sided container adapted to hold a fluid; ¶ [0030], medication reservoir 1 is a syringe barrel);
Regarding claim 5, Goble discloses that the surgical drain tube collects surgical drain fluid comprising a biomarker selected from the group consisting of tumor cells, immune cells, bacterial cells, viral host cells, donor organ cells, microvascular cells, DNA, cell- free DNA (cfDNA), cell-free RNA (cfRNA), circulating tumor DNA (ctDNA), messenger RNA, exosomes, proteins, and hormones (¶ [0018], FIG. 1 … System 35 is applied to a knee 25 of a patient to treat a surgical wound that would result from, for example, a total knee arthroplasty surgery … the present invention can be used for any internal body wound created by surgery, trauma, or disease).
Goble does not explicitly state that the collected fluid comprises one of the claimed biomarkers. However, Goble collects fluid from a surgical wound after knee surgery (¶ [0018]). The surgical wound will necessarily contain blood or blood plasma, which contains DNA from the patient’s blood cells and circulating tissue that has been disrupted or fragmented during surgery.
Regarding claims 6 and 16-18, Goble collects fluid from the patient’s surgical wound which inherently contain various biomarkers (¶ [0018], FIG. 1 … System 35 is applied to a knee 25 of a patient to treat a surgical wound that would result from, for example, a total knee arthroplasty surgery … the present invention can be used for any internal body wound created by surgery, trauma, or disease).
To clarify, blood and wound fluid comprise a mixture of plasma, blood cells and tissue fragments.
Goble does not explicitly disclose that the first port collects a tumor cell, cfDNA, interleukins, TNF, matrix metalloproteinase or a mutated nucleic acid, or that the biomarker is a ratio of circulating tumor cells to cfDNA. However, this claim is drawn to a device and not necessarily a method of using it, or the contents received in the first port. Depending on the patient’s physiology and disease status, their blood and wound fluid will contain various biomarkers and cells. For example, a patient with cancer will have blood or tissue that contain cancer cells. When the patient’s tissue is disrupted during knee surgery, cancer cells will enter the bloodstream. Goble suggests that wound fluid may include cells related to edema (¶ [0007], the need to concurrently address edema, or fluid build-up and swelling, at the wound site; ¶ [0027], concurrent prophylactic treatment for infection and treatment to reduce swelling).
Goble’s system is fully capable of collecting any cellular material, biomarker or substance that enters the patient’s blood and wound fluid. Therefore, depending on a patient’s disease state, the blood and wound fluid will contain a tumor cell, cfDNA or any of the other biomarkers.
Regarding claim 19, Goble discloses a system that collects surgical fluid (¶ [0007], [0018], [0027]). Goble does not explicitly disclose a biomarker comprising DNA or RNA which may be detected by collecting and sequencing the biomarker. However, this claim is drawn to a device and not necessarily a method of using the device. Depending on the patient’s disease status, their blood will contain various biomarkers including DNA or RNA.
Claims 2, 4, 8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble and Locke in view of Leeflang; Stephen A. et al. (US 20110276023 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 4, 8 and 14, Goble and Locke do not deliver an immunotherapy compound or cancer therapy and also lack an assay device or sample filter. Leeflang discloses a dual-port surgical drain (¶ [0002], [0004], [0012], [0022], FIGS. 1 and 2A … a system 10);
comprising: a treatment reservoir (¶ [0032], a waste container 60, a storage container 70);
a surgical drain tube that passes through a patient’s skin (¶ [0022], Generally, the system 10 may include a catheter 20 that includes a proximal end 22, a distal end 24, and one or more lumens 26 extending therebetween, e.g., an aspiration or infusion lumen 26 communicating with a port 27); and
a treatment tube that passes through the patient’s skin (¶ [0009], [0027], In addition, the catheter 24 may include an infusion lumen; ¶ [0032], FIG. 1, the external components include … an infusion device 80; ¶ [0046], For example, lymphatic fluid may be removed from the thoracic duct 94 through the lumen 26 of the catheter 20 and/or one or more agents may be introduced into the thoracic duct 94, e.g., through the lumen 26 or another lumen of the catheter 20);
wherein the treatment tube delivers an immunotherapy compound (¶ [0009], Other applications may include rapid immunization by direct introduction of antigens and/or antigenic material into the lymphatic system);
wherein the treatment reservoir contains, and wherein the treatment tube delivers a cancer therapy (¶ [0009], infusion of antibiotic, antiviral, antiparisitic, and/or chemotherapeutic agents directly into the lymphatic system);
further comprising an assay device for detecting cellular material from the surgical drain tube (¶ [0033] Returning to FIG. 1, the detector 40 may be coupled to the proximal end 22 of the catheter 20 … The detector 40 may include one or more sensors (not shown), e.g., for distinguishing between lymphatic fluid and blood; ¶ [0035] For example, if the controller 45 determines that the fluid includes blood, the controller 45 may direct the fluid to the waste container 60, e.g., through the separator 50 or directly);
wherein the first port comprises a sample filter for capturing solid particles (¶ [0038], Alternatively, it may be desirable to separate certain constituents of the removed fluid, e.g., lymphatic fluid, particular cells, proteins, and the like. For example, the separator 50 may include one or more of a mechanical filtration system, an osmotic gradient system, a concentration gradient system, a centrifuge, and the like to separate the desired components from the rest of the fluid).
Regarding the treatment reservoir that contains an immunotherapy compound or cancer therapy, Leeflang recirculates fluid through the patient’s lymphatic system and also through storage container 70 (¶ [0012], Optionally, the stored lymphatic fluid or the separated components of the lymphatic fluid may be infused back into the patient's body, if desired). When antigenic material or chemotherapeutic agents are infused into the patient’s circulation, they will also circulate through storage container 70.
Leeflang delivers a wider range of therapeutic agents and also monitors a patient to detect infection or malignancy (¶ [0009], Further clinical applications may include diagnosis and/or monitoring of malignancy or metastatic spread of malignant cells, or treatment of infection or malignancy). One would be motivated to modify Goble and Locke with Leeflang’s therapeutic agents or monitoring equipment to detect if a patient’s surgical wound has become infected and to respond quickly before the infection worsens. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble and Locke with Leeflang’s therapeutic agents or monitoring equipment in order to prevent or resolve an infection or malignancy.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble and Locke in view of Fleischmann; Wilhelm (US 20070021698 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Goble discloses valves that control the movement of fluids through the drain and treatment tubes (¶ [0028], The flow controls 5 and 6 can be any standard flow control device … Valves include solenoid valves, servo valves).
Goble lacks a port comprising valves. Locke discloses a first port comprising a first valve and a second port comprising a second valve (¶ [0052], FIGS. 5 and 6 … Connector 15 can include a valve 66 that is selectable between a first position (shown in FIG. 5) and a second position (shown in FIG. 6); ¶ [0053], Advantageously, connector 15 can be cross-plumbed to facilitate selective bidirectionality of instillation fluid delivery/fluid removal).
Locke enables a caregiver to quickly flip the flow direction through the drain system (¶ [0053], In this way, when the patient, caregiver, user, etc., reverses direction of connector 15 by selectively adjusting valve 66, a negative pressure/instillation fluid delivery direction is reversed, without requiring removal and reversal of instillation tube 12 and vacuum tube 14). A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Goble by incorporating the valves into a connector as taught by Locke, in order to reduce the valves’ footprint in the system.
Goble and Locke do not configure the second valve to be prevented from opening while the first valve is open. Fleischmann discloses a method and device for treating wounds (¶ [0003], [0010], [0021] For treatment of a large surface area deep wound 10 a padding 12 is applied);
comprising first and second valves (¶ [0025] The supply line 22 has associated therewith a closure mechanism 32 and the removal line 26 has a closure mechanism 34 associated therewith);
wherein the second valve is configured to be prevented from opening while the first valve is open (¶ [0033] At the time t1 the closure mechanisms 32 and 34 are controlled by the controller 36 to be closed … At the time t1 there is now controlled by the controller 36 that the closure mechanism 32 is opened; ¶ [0036] As soon as the padding 12 has suction-filled itself with fluid active substance, the closure mechanism 32 of the supply side 22 is closed at time t2 … then at time t3 the closure mechanism 34 of the removal line 26 is opened; ¶ [0037] The opening of the closure mechanism 34 is timely so controlled by the controller 36).
Fleischmann applies fluids with a dwell time, which accelerates wound healing (¶ [0011], there is programmed or provided an treatment dwell time interval, in which both closure devices are closed and the active substance statically has an effect upon the wound surface; ¶ [0012] The dwell time interval, … with a continuous effect upon the wound surface … In the vacuum time interval … only the wound secretion is suctioned off … so that the wound healing is optimized). One would be motivated to modify Goble and Locke with Fleischmann’s valve configuration and dwell time to clean and heal wounds more quickly since both Goble and Locke apply fluids and vacuum to a wound. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble and Locke with Fleischmann’s valve configuration and dwell time in order to accelerate wound healing.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble and Locke in view of Orth; Donald S. (US 20210361846 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Goble and Locke do not explicitly disclose a heat source. Orth discloses an external biochemical reactor and detoxification method (¶ [0002], [0007], [0030], FIG. 1 illustrates a system 100; ¶ [0032], Other bodily fluids such as cerebrospinal fluid, lymph fluid … can also be processed);
comprising a first port for collection of fluid and a second port for delivering the fluid (¶ [0030], FIG. 1 … The system 100 includes an extracorporeal device 110 having an inlet 112 and outlet 114; ¶ [0041], FIG. 3 … The system 300 includes an extracorporeal device 310 having a luer lock inlet 312 and luer lock outlet 314; ¶ [0042] FIG. 4 … The system 400 includes an extracorporeal device 410 having a luer lock inlet 412 and luer lock outlet 414);
wherein the first port further comprises a heat source (¶ [0041], In this embodiment, a heater element 332 can be connected to the control and monitor device to maintain blood temperature at about 37 degrees Celsius for human patients, or normal blood temperature for non-human patients; ¶ [0042], In this embodiment, a heater element 432 can be connected to the control and monitor device to maintain blood temperature at a desired set point).
Orth maintains a temperature of a fluid in its physiological range. A skilled artisan would have been able to modify Goble and Locke with Orth’s heat source by installing a heater along the path of Goble’s treatment system according to Orth’s example. One would be motivated to modify Goble and Locke with Orth’s heat source so that the infused medication remains close to body temperature. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble and Locke with Orth’s heat source in order to infuse a fluid close to body temperature.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble and Locke in view of Zamarripa; Nathan et al. (US 20140114227 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Goble and Locke lack a branched drain tube. Zamarripa discloses a proximal portion of a drain tube that branches into a series of sub-tubes (¶ [0029] FIG. 4 …medical device 210 that may be similar in form and function to other devices disclosed herein … one or both of catheter portions 214a/214b may be further branched. For example, catheter portion 214a may include catheter branches 214a'/214a''. The number and/or configuration of the branches can vary).
Zamarripa anchors a catheter in the patient’s body and also provides redundant openings that minimize the risk of clogging. One would be motivated to modify Goble and Locke with Zamarripa’s branched drain tube to anchor the catheter since Goble calls for multiple variants of a catheter (Figs. 2-7 show variations how the lumens connect or overlap). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble and Locke with Zamarripa’s branched drain tube in order to anchor the catheter with a known structure.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble and Locke in view of Burnett; Daniel R. et al. (US 20070106247 A1).
Regarding claims 22 and 23, Goble and Locke lack a physiological sensor positioned at a proximal end of the drain tube. Burnett discloses apparatus and methods for providing therapeutic hypothermia treatment to a patient (¶ [0002], [0005], [0047], FIGS. 1-5, an embodiment of a system 10);
comprising a treatment tube and drain tube (¶ [0066], the catheter 50 can split up from one another at a point 59 into separate portions 50i and 50r containing the infusion and removal lumens to provide for easy connection to reservoir 70 and waste container 80 as is shown in FIG. 2b);
further comprising a physiological sensor configured to monitor at least one physiological parameter of a subject; wherein the physiological sensor is positioned at a proximal end of the drain tube (¶ [0048], A temperature or other sensor 120 is connected to the patient at an IV or other site to measure the patient's temperature; ¶ [[0068] Catheter 50 will typically include one or more sensors 120 which be selected to measure, flow rates, pressure, temperature or other physical property … Multiple temperature sensors may be placed at various locations on the catheter … Temperature sensors 120 can also be placed within lumens 55 and 56 to monitor the temperature of infused and removed fluid).
Burnett monitors a patient’s temperature or pressure and also collects information about a catheter’s location within the patient (¶ [0071] Catheter 50 can also include one or more pressure sensors 120 … pressure sensors 120 can be positioned in lumen 55 to detect entry of infusion catheter into the peritoneal or other cavity; ¶ [0061] Sensors 120 can be configured to measure a variety of physical properties related to the use of system 10. Accordingly, they can comprise a variety of biomedical sensors known in the art, including temperature sensors, pressure sensors, force sensors, flow sensors, pH sensors, oxygen and other gas sensors (e.g., CO.sub.2), acoustic sensors, piezoelectric sensors, and the like; ¶ [0091], A temperature sensor 120 can be positioned near the tip to detect movement of the sheath (by detecting a change in temperature when this occurs), as well as measure temperature in the peritoneal or other cavity). One would be motivated to modify Goble and Locke with Burnett’s proximal physiological sensors to confirm or monitor the catheter’s position. Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble and Locke with Burnett’s proximal physiological sensor in order to detect when the catheter has moved.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goble and Locke in view of Banasiewicz; Tomasz (EP 3406275 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Goble and Locke do not explicitly disclose reversibly sealable connection fittings. Banasiewicz discloses a wound treatment apparatus (¶ [0001], [0019], [0032] Fig. 3 shows a variant of the first embodiment; ¶ [0033], Fig. 4 shows a second embodiment of the module);
comprising first and second ports; wherein the first port and/or the second port comprise reversibly sealable connection fittings configured to interlock and seal with proximal and distal portions of tubes (¶ [0030] The external ends 12A-15A of the tubes 12-15, located at the top side of the connection hub 11 are to be connected with external devices).
Banasiewicz provides fittings that allow connections to multiple tube diameters and various tube lengths (¶ [0030] The external ends may have a conical shape, so that their end diameter can be regulated by cutting them at a selected place, so as to comply with the connecting tubes of external devices). One would be motivated to modify Goble and Locke with Banasiewicz’s reversibly sealable connection fittings in order to connect a wider variety of tubes or customize the tubes’ lengths for each patient. For example, Goble suggests to alter the relative lengths of tube segments (¶ [0048], Although the bifurcated distal end of infusion catheter 10 is shown as being longer than the free distal end of aspiration catheter 15, in alternative embodiments the bifurcated distal ends can be the same length or the distal end of aspiration catheter 15 can be longer). Therefore, it would have been obvious to modify Goble and Locke with Banasiewicz’s reversible fittings in order to assemble a drain system from customized tube lengths.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 13 May 2026 regarding the rejection of claims 1-9,14-19 and 21-24 as amended, under 35 USC § 103 over Goble, Razavi, Leeflang, Orth and Zamarripa, have been fully considered and are persuasive. After further consideration, the pending claims 1-9,14-19 and 21-25 are rejected on new grounds under 35 USC § 103 over Goble, Locke, Leeflang, Fleischmann, Orth, Zamarripa, Burnett and Banasiewicz (see above).
Applicant’s arguments regarding Razavi have been considered but are moot because the reference is no longer cited in the current rejection.
Applicant submits that the secondary reference, Razavi, is focused on vascular conduits, which would not be relevant to surgical drains (remarks p. 5). Applicant reasons that Goble does not report dividing either the drain tube or the treatment tube into separate proximal implanted and distal external portions and then fluidically connecting those portions via a port (remarks p. 6).
Examiner responds that Razavi is not cited in the new grounds of rejection. Goble and Locke are cited in the new grounds of rejection as teaching all features of amended claim 1. Locke explicitly discloses a surgical drain including a connector comprising two lumens, and which presents a single passage through the patient’s skin (Figs. 9 and 13; ¶ [0038], connector 15).
Applicant asserts that amended claim 9 recites a relationship between the valves, specifically that the second valve is prevented from opening while the first valve is open. Applicant reasons that a valve interlock that prevents delivery of therapy whenever the drain valve is open is therefore inconsistent with Goble's operating principle (remarks p. 7). Examiner replies that Fleischmann is cited in the new grounds of rejection as teaching a pair of valves configured to operate according to a dwell-time protocol which accelerates wound healing (¶ [0011], [0012], [0033], [0036], [0037]).
Applicant notes that new claim 25 further recites a valve interlock that conflicts with Goble's operating principle and is not taught or suggested by Razavi (remarks p. 7). Examiner responds that Banasiewicz is cited in the new grounds of rejection as teaching a reversible or detachable connector (¶ [0030]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Warlick; John et al. US 20080269651 A1
Asefi; Dorrin et al. US 20200246604 A1
Tel 571-272-2590
Fax 571-273-2590
Email Adam.Marcetich@uspto.gov
The Examiner can be reached 8am-4pm Mon-Fri.
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Adam Marcetich/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781