DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/31/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the non-final rejection on 11/10/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 02/02/2026 has been filed. Claims 1, 15, and 18 are amended. Claim 21 is added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 15, and 18 have been considered but
they are not persuasive. The claimed subject matter not taught by Park et al. (US 2022/0116859), hereinafter Park, however the claimed subject matter is taught by prior art of record Song et al. (US 2022/0345909), hereinafter Song’909. Song teaches: each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value; selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value: “Each TCI codepoint in the L first TCI codepoints has an index, and a TCI codepoint with the smallest index among the L TCI codepoints may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. For example, assuming that there are three TCI codepoints that indicate more than one TCI states in the TCI codepoints activated by the MAC CE, and indexes of the three TCI codepoints are 1, 4, and 6 respectively, the TCI codepoint with the index of 1 may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. In this way, in a case that the PDSCH transmission has a QCL relationship with a TCI state indicated by the second TCI codepoint, the terminal may use an activated narrower beam to receive the PDSCH with better performance” (Song’909 ¶ 0066).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 11, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US 2023/0371039), hereinafter Tsai, Song et al. (US 2022/0345909), hereinafter Song’909, and Park et al. (US 2022/0116859), hereinafter Park.
Regarding Claim 1, Tsai teaches: A user equipment (UE) device comprising: one or more processors; and computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations: “It is understood that such core network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless or network communications or a computer system” (Tsai ¶ 0177) comprising: receiving, from one or more base stations (BSes), Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for receiving a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) from the one or more BSes: “A single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH scenario is considered where another search space is configured within timeDurationForQCL as shown in FIG. 15” (Tsai ¶ 0129); determining a pre-determined time subsequent to a reception of a sequentially last symbol of the DCI, wherein the pre-determined time is a duration timeDurationForQCL subsequent to a reception of a sequentially last symbol of a DCI: Tsai Fig. 15 below shows the timeDurationForQCL being a pre-determined time duration subsequent to the last symbol of a DCI; determining: a first subset of the PDSCHs scheduled for reception prior the pre- determined time, and a second subset of the PDSCHs scheduled for reception subsequent to the pre-determined time: see Fig. 15 and Fig. 16 below where the timeDurationForQCL is the pre-determined time, which is subsequent to a first subset of scheduled PDSCHs and followed by another subset of scheduled PDSCHs, which is equivalent to the described section of applicant’s specification ¶ 0046: “the UE and BS are configured such that timeDurationForQCL corresponds to a time duration spanning eight slots from the end of the DCI (e.g., the sequentially last symbol of the DCI). The PDSCHs in Sub-Group 2 (e.g., PDSCHs 502h and 502i) begin after the threshold timeDurationForQCL, and can be processed by the UE according to QCL information contained within the DCI 500. For example, DL RSes of these PDSCHs can be processed based on a common set of large scale parameters indicated by the QCL information in the DCI 500. However, the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1 (e.g., PDSCHs 502a-502g) fall at least partially before the threshold timeDurationForQCL. Accordingly, the UE cannot apply the QCL information included in the DCI 500 when processing the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1”; determining one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states that indicate a quasi co-location (QCL) for a plurality of antenna ports of the one or more PDSCHs that are transmitted by BSes: “if default TCI state is applied for scheduled PDSCHs, then UE 102 may assume that the same QCL assumption (e.g., default TCI state) is applied for the DCI in another PDCCH monitoring occasion” (Tsai ¶ 0130).
Tsai Fig. 15
Tsai Fig. 16
Tsai does not teach: determining the one or more TCI states comprises: determining a list of TCI states, wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states comprises QCL information for the plurality DM-RS ports of the plurality of PDSCHs; and wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value; selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value; determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states.
Regarding Claim 1, Song’909 teaches: wherein determining the one or more TCI states comprises: determining a list of TCI states, wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states comprises QCL information for the plurality DM-RS ports of the plurality of PDSCHs: “If the TCI codepoint in the DCI indicates two different TCI states and indicates M times of PDSCH transmission, a time offset of the first N (N≤M) times of PDSCH transmission is less than the threshold, and a time offset of an (N+1)-th and subsequent PDSCH transmission is greater than or equal to the threshold, a DMRS port of an n-th PDSCH transmission in the M times of PDSCH transmission and an RS of one of the TCI states indicated by the preset TCI codepoint are QCL” (Song’909¶ 266), and wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value: “The default reception beams are determined by a TCI state of preset TCI, and a preset TCI codepoint is a codepoint with the smallest index among at least one codepoint activated by the MAC CE that includes two different TCI states” (Song’909¶ 0250); selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value: “Each TCI codepoint in the L first TCI codepoints has an index, and a TCI codepoint with the smallest index among the L TCI codepoints may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. For example, assuming that there are three TCI codepoints that indicate more than one TCI states in the TCI codepoints activated by the MAC CE, and indexes of the three TCI codepoints are 1, 4, and 6 respectively, the TCI codepoint with the index of 1 may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. In this way, in a case that the PDSCH transmission has a QCL relationship with a TCI state indicated by the second TCI codepoint, the terminal may use an activated narrower beam to receive the PDSCH with better performance” (Song’909¶ 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Song’909for the purpose of improving performance of PDSCH transmissions. According to Song: “After determining the QCL relationship of the M times of PDSCH transmission scheduled by the DCI, the terminal may determine a reception beam of the PDSCH transmission based on the determined QCL relationship, and then receive the PDSCH transmission according to the determined reception beam, thereby improving the receiving performance of the PDSCH transmission” (Song ¶ 0046).
Song’909 does not teach: determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states.
Regarding Claim 1, Park teaches: determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states: “In an example, a wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI-states (e.g., up to 8) to one or more codepoints of a DCI field “Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)”. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a HARQ-ACK corresponding to a PDSCH in slot n” (Park ¶ 0243).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Song’909 with Park for the purpose of improving latency and efficiency. Park teaches: “Example embodiments may improve a latency and efficiency by updating the second TCI-state (e.g., as a (joint) TCI) for the CORESET itself (e.g., as a part of the first group of CORESETs) where the second TCI-state is delivered (e.g., by the first control command) via the CORESET. Example embodiments may improve a flexibility and robustness in setting the second time (e.g., a Y ms) independently from the first time (e.g., an X ms), e.g., based on the base station's efficient strategy in communication with the wireless device” (Park ¶ 0493).
Regarding Claim 11, Tsai teaches: The UE device of claim 1, wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to a minimum length of time between the reception of the sequentially last symbol the DCI and application of QCL information received the DCI for processing PDSCHs see Fig. 15 and Fig. 16 above where the timeDurationForQCL is the pre-determined time, which is subsequent to a first subset of scheduled PDSCHs and followed by another subset of scheduled PDSCHs, which is equivalent to the described section of applicant’s specification ¶ 0046: “the UE and BS are configured such that timeDurationForQCL corresponds to a time duration spanning eight slots from the end of the DCI (e.g., the sequentially last symbol of the DCI). The PDSCHs in Sub-Group 2 (e.g., PDSCHs 502h and 502i) begin after the threshold timeDurationForQCL, and can be processed by the UE according to QCL information contained within the DCI 500. For example, DL RSes of these PDSCHs can be processed based on a common set of large scale parameters indicated by the QCL information in the DCI 500. However, the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1 (e.g., PDSCHs 502a-502g) fall at least partially before the threshold timeDurationForQCL. Accordingly, the UE cannot apply the QCL information included in the DCI 500 when processing the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1”. Further, “In this example, another PDCCH monitoring occasion defined by the other search space set(s) is within the duration of scheduled multi-PDSCH and the duration of timeDurationForQCL” (Tsai ¶ 0129).
Regarding Claim 15, Tsai teaches: A baseband processor configured to perform operations: “It is understood that such core network entities may be logical entities that are implemented in the form of computer-executable instructions (software) stored in a memory of, and executing on a processor of, an apparatus configured for wireless or network communications or a computer system” (Tsai ¶ 0177) comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device from one or more base stations (BSes), Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for receiving a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) from the one or more BSes: “A single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH scenario is considered where another search space is configured within timeDurationForQCL as shown in FIG. 15” (Tsai ¶ 0129); determining a pre-determined time subsequent to a reception of a sequentially last symbol of the DCI, wherein the pre-determined time is a duration timeDurationForQCL subsequent to a reception of a sequentially last symbol of a DCI: Tsai Fig. 15 below shows the timeDurationForQCL being a pre-determined time duration subsequent to the last symbol of a DCI; determining: a first subset of the PDSCHs scheduled for reception prior the pre- determined time, and a second subset of the PDSCHs scheduled for reception subsequent to the pre-determined time: see Fig. 15 and Fig. 16 below where the timeDurationForQCL is the pre-determined time, which is subsequent to a first subset of scheduled PDSCHs and followed by another subset of scheduled PDSCHs, which is equivalent to the described section of applicant’s specification ¶ 0046: “the UE and BS are configured such that timeDurationForQCL corresponds to a time duration spanning eight slots from the end of the DCI (e.g., the sequentially last symbol of the DCI). The PDSCHs in Sub-Group 2 (e.g., PDSCHs 502h and 502i) begin after the threshold timeDurationForQCL, and can be processed by the UE according to QCL information contained within the DCI 500. For example, DL RSes of these PDSCHs can be processed based on a common set of large scale parameters indicated by the QCL information in the DCI 500. However, the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1 (e.g., PDSCHs 502a-502g) fall at least partially before the threshold timeDurationForQCL. Accordingly, the UE cannot apply the QCL information included in the DCI 500 when processing the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1”; determining one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states that indicate a quasi co-location (QCL) for a plurality of antenna ports of the one or more PDSCHs that are transmitted by BSes: “if default TCI state is applied for scheduled PDSCHs, then UE 102 may assume that the same QCL assumption (e.g., default TCI state) is applied for the DCI in another PDCCH monitoring occasion” (Tsai ¶ 0130).
Tsai does not teach: determining the one or more TCI states comprises: determining a list of TCI states, wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states comprises QCL information for the plurality DM-RS ports of the plurality of PDSCHs; and wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value; selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value; determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states.
Regarding Claim 15, Song’909 teaches: wherein determining the one or more TCI states comprises: determining a list of TCI states, wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states comprises QCL information for the plurality DM-RS ports of the plurality of PDSCHs: “If the TCI codepoint in the DCI indicates two different TCI states and indicates M times of PDSCH transmission, a time offset of the first N (N≤M) times of PDSCH transmission is less than the threshold, and a time offset of an (N+1)-th and subsequent PDSCH transmission is greater than or equal to the threshold, a DMRS port of an n-th PDSCH transmission in the M times of PDSCH transmission and an RS of one of the TCI states indicated by the preset TCI codepoint are QCL” (Song’909¶ 266), and wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value: “The default reception beams are determined by a TCI state of preset TCI, and a preset TCI codepoint is a codepoint with the smallest index among at least one codepoint activated by the MAC CE that includes two different TCI states” (Song’909¶ 0250); selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value: “Each TCI codepoint in the L first TCI codepoints has an index, and a TCI codepoint with the smallest index among the L TCI codepoints may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. For example, assuming that there are three TCI codepoints that indicate more than one TCI states in the TCI codepoints activated by the MAC CE, and indexes of the three TCI codepoints are 1, 4, and 6 respectively, the TCI codepoint with the index of 1 may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. In this way, in a case that the PDSCH transmission has a QCL relationship with a TCI state indicated by the second TCI codepoint, the terminal may use an activated narrower beam to receive the PDSCH with better performance” (Song’909¶ 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Song’909for the purpose of improving performance of PDSCH transmissions. According to Song: “After determining the QCL relationship of the M times of PDSCH transmission scheduled by the DCI, the terminal may determine a reception beam of the PDSCH transmission based on the determined QCL relationship, and then receive the PDSCH transmission according to the determined reception beam, thereby improving the receiving performance of the PDSCH transmission” (Song ¶ 0046).
Song’909 does not teach: determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states.
Regarding Claim 15, Park teaches: determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states: “In an example, a wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI-states (e.g., up to 8) to one or more codepoints of a DCI field “Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)”. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a HARQ-ACK corresponding to a PDSCH in slot n” (Park ¶ 0243).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Song’909 with Park for the purpose of improving latency and efficiency. Park teaches: “Example embodiments may improve a latency and efficiency by updating the second TCI-state (e.g., as a (joint) TCI) for the CORESET itself (e.g., as a part of the first group of CORESETs) where the second TCI-state is delivered (e.g., by the first control command) via the CORESET. Example embodiments may improve a flexibility and robustness in setting the second time (e.g., a Y ms) independently from the first time (e.g., an X ms), e.g., based on the base station's efficient strategy in communication with the wireless device” (Park ¶ 0493).
Regarding Claim 18, Tsai teaches: A method comprising: receiving, by a user equipment (UE) device from one or more base stations (BSes), Downlink Control Information (DCI) comprising scheduling information for receiving a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) from the one or more BSes: “A single DCI schedule multi-PDSCH scenario is considered where another search space is configured within timeDurationForQCL as shown in FIG. 15” (Tsai ¶ 0129); determining a pre-determined time subsequent to a reception of a sequentially last symbol of the DCI, wherein the pre-determined time is a duration timeDurationForQCL subsequent to a reception of a sequentially last symbol of a DCI: Tsai Fig. 15 below shows the timeDurationForQCL being a pre-determined time duration subsequent to the last symbol of a DCI; determining: a first subset of the PDSCHs scheduled for reception prior the pre- determined time, and a second subset of the PDSCHs scheduled for reception subsequent to the pre-determined time: see Fig. 15 and Fig. 16 below where the timeDurationForQCL is the pre-determined time, which is subsequent to a first subset of scheduled PDSCHs and followed by another subset of scheduled PDSCHs, which is equivalent to the described section of applicant’s specification ¶ 0046: “the UE and BS are configured such that timeDurationForQCL corresponds to a time duration spanning eight slots from the end of the DCI (e.g., the sequentially last symbol of the DCI). The PDSCHs in Sub-Group 2 (e.g., PDSCHs 502h and 502i) begin after the threshold timeDurationForQCL, and can be processed by the UE according to QCL information contained within the DCI 500. For example, DL RSes of these PDSCHs can be processed based on a common set of large scale parameters indicated by the QCL information in the DCI 500. However, the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1 (e.g., PDSCHs 502a-502g) fall at least partially before the threshold timeDurationForQCL. Accordingly, the UE cannot apply the QCL information included in the DCI 500 when processing the PDSCHs in Sub-Group 1”; determining one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states that indicate a quasi co-location (QCL) for a plurality of antenna ports of the one or more PDSCHs that are transmitted by BSes: “if default TCI state is applied for scheduled PDSCHs, then UE 102 may assume that the same QCL assumption (e.g., default TCI state) is applied for the DCI in another PDCCH monitoring occasion” (Tsai ¶ 0130).
Tsai does not teach: determining the one or more TCI states comprises: determining a list of TCI states, wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states comprises QCL information for the plurality DM-RS ports of the plurality of PDSCHs; and wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value; selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value; determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states.
Regarding Claim 18, Song’909 teaches: wherein determining the one or more TCI states comprises: determining a list of TCI states, wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states comprises QCL information for the plurality DM-RS ports of the plurality of PDSCHs: “If the TCI codepoint in the DCI indicates two different TCI states and indicates M times of PDSCH transmission, a time offset of the first N (N≤M) times of PDSCH transmission is less than the threshold, and a time offset of an (N+1)-th and subsequent PDSCH transmission is greater than or equal to the threshold, a DMRS port of an n-th PDSCH transmission in the M times of PDSCH transmission and an RS of one of the TCI states indicated by the preset TCI codepoint are QCL” (Song’909¶ 266), and wherein each of the TCI states of the list of TCI states is associated with respective index value: “The default reception beams are determined by a TCI state of preset TCI, and a preset TCI codepoint is a codepoint with the smallest index among at least one codepoint activated by the MAC CE that includes two different TCI states” (Song’909¶ 0250); selecting a subset of the TCI states having the N lowest index values, where N is greater than one; associating each of the selected TCI states with respective codepoint value: “Each TCI codepoint in the L first TCI codepoints has an index, and a TCI codepoint with the smallest index among the L TCI codepoints may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. For example, assuming that there are three TCI codepoints that indicate more than one TCI states in the TCI codepoints activated by the MAC CE, and indexes of the three TCI codepoints are 1, 4, and 6 respectively, the TCI codepoint with the index of 1 may be determined as the second TCI codepoint. In this way, in a case that the PDSCH transmission has a QCL relationship with a TCI state indicated by the second TCI codepoint, the terminal may use an activated narrower beam to receive the PDSCH with better performance” (Song’909¶ 0066).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai with Song’909for the purpose of improving performance of PDSCH transmissions. According to Song: “After determining the QCL relationship of the M times of PDSCH transmission scheduled by the DCI, the terminal may determine a reception beam of the PDSCH transmission based on the determined QCL relationship, and then receive the PDSCH transmission according to the determined reception beam, thereby improving the receiving performance of the PDSCH transmission” (Song ¶ 0046).
Song’909 does not teach: determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states.
Regarding Claim 18, Park teaches: determining a particular codepoint value indicated in the DCI; activating the TCI state of the list of selected TCI states corresponding to the particular codepoint value; and processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined one or more TCI states: “In an example, a wireless device may receive an activation command. The activation command may be used to map one or more TCI-states (e.g., up to 8) to one or more codepoints of a DCI field “Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI)”. In an example, the wireless device may transmit a HARQ-ACK corresponding to a PDSCH in slot n” (Park ¶ 0243).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Tsai and Song’909 with Park for the purpose of improving latency and efficiency. Park teaches: “Example embodiments may improve a latency and efficiency by updating the second TCI-state (e.g., as a (joint) TCI) for the CORESET itself (e.g., as a part of the first group of CORESETs) where the second TCI-state is delivered (e.g., by the first control command) via the CORESET. Example embodiments may improve a flexibility and robustness in setting the second time (e.g., a Y ms) independently from the first time (e.g., an X ms), e.g., based on the base station's efficient strategy in communication with the wireless device” (Park ¶ 0493).
Claims 2, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Song’909, and Park as applied to claims 1, 15, and 18 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0084623), hereinafter Zhang.
Regarding Claim 2, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The UE device of claim 1.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined TCI states comprises: processing Down Link (DL) Reference Signals (RS) of the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to at least one of: a common Doppler shift parameter, a common a Doppler spread parameter, a common average delay parameter, a common delay spread parameter ports, or a common spatial receiving parameter.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches: processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined TCI states comprises: processing Down Link (DL) Reference Signals (RS) of the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to at least one of: a common Doppler shift parameter, a common a Doppler spread parameter, a common average delay parameter, a common delay spread parameter ports, or a common spatial receiving parameter: “As shown in Table 9, the association between (DMRS group1, DL-RS set1) and (DMRS group2, DL-RS set2) is established in TCI state-n, where DL-RS set1 includes {DL-RS1, DL-RS2}, and DL-RS set2 includes DL-RS3. In DMRS group1, a QCL relationship exists with respect to the QCL parameter in QCL-type1 and DL-RS 1, and each QCL-Type includes at least one of the following parameters: a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, a delay spread, an average gain, or a Spatial Rx parameter” (Zhang ¶ 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Zhang for the purpose of improving communication between a base station and a user equipment such that they can agree on behaviors when a conflict is detected at a beam. Zhang teaches: “if a terminal needs to cache the dynamically-scheduled potential downlink signal according to the CORESET with the closest CORESET ID and according to a rule and a previously scheduled signal may exist at the position where the potential downlink signal is located, then in the case where the beam of the previously scheduled downlink signal and the beam of the potential downlink signal cannot be generated by the terminal simultaneously, the base station and the terminal need to agree on the behavior to guarantee the effectiveness of communication” (Zhang ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 16, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The baseband processor of claim 15.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined TCI states comprises: processing Down Link (DL) Reference Signals (RS) of the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to at least one of: a common Doppler shift parameter, a common a Doppler spread parameter, a common average delay parameter.
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang teaches: processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined TCI states comprises: processing Down Link (DL) Reference Signals (RS) of the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to at least one of: a common Doppler shift parameter, a common a Doppler spread parameter, a common average delay parameter: “As shown in Table 9, the association between (DMRS group1, DL-RS set1) and (DMRS group2, DL-RS set2) is established in TCI state-n, where DL-RS set1 includes {DL-RS1, DL-RS2}, and DL-RS set2 includes DL-RS3. In DMRS group1, a QCL relationship exists with respect to the QCL parameter in QCL-type1 and DL-RS 1, and each QCL-Type includes at least one of the following parameters: a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, a delay spread, an average gain, or a Spatial Rx parameter” (Zhang ¶ 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Zhang for the purpose of improving communication between a base station and a user equipment such that they can agree on behaviors when a conflict is detected at a beam. Zhang teaches: “if a terminal needs to cache the dynamically-scheduled potential downlink signal according to the CORESET with the closest CORESET ID and according to a rule and a previously scheduled signal may exist at the position where the potential downlink signal is located, then in the case where the beam of the previously scheduled downlink signal and the beam of the potential downlink signal cannot be generated by the terminal simultaneously, the base station and the terminal need to agree on the behavior to guarantee the effectiveness of communication” (Zhang ¶ 0006).
Regarding Claim 19, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The method of claim 18.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined TCI states comprises: processing Down Link (DL) Reference Signals (RS) of the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to at least one of: a common Doppler shift parameter, a common a Doppler spread parameter, a common average delay parameter.
Regarding Claim 19, Zhang teaches: processing the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to the one or more determined TCI states comprises: processing Down Link (DL) Reference Signals (RS) of the first subset of the PDSCHs and the second subset of the PDSCHs according to at least one of: a common Doppler shift parameter, a common a Doppler spread parameter, a common average delay parameter: “As shown in Table 9, the association between (DMRS group1, DL-RS set1) and (DMRS group2, DL-RS set2) is established in TCI state-n, where DL-RS set1 includes {DL-RS1, DL-RS2}, and DL-RS set2 includes DL-RS3. In DMRS group1, a QCL relationship exists with respect to the QCL parameter in QCL-type1 and DL-RS 1, and each QCL-Type includes at least one of the following parameters: a Doppler shift, a Doppler spread, an average delay, a delay spread, an average gain, or a Spatial Rx parameter” (Zhang ¶ 0113).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Zhang for the purpose of improving communication between a base station and a user equipment such that they can agree on behaviors when a conflict is detected at a beam. Zhang teaches: “if a terminal needs to cache the dynamically-scheduled potential downlink signal according to the CORESET with the closest CORESET ID and according to a rule and a previously scheduled signal may exist at the position where the potential downlink signal is located, then in the case where the beam of the previously scheduled downlink signal and the beam of the potential downlink signal cannot be generated by the terminal simultaneously, the base station and the terminal need to agree on the behavior to guarantee the effectiveness of communication” (Zhang ¶ 0006).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Song’909, and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Song et al. (US 2020/0337058), hereinafter Song.
Regarding Claim 3, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The UE device of claim 1.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: determining the one or more TCI states comprises: receiving configuration data indicating the one or more TCI states from the one or more BSes via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling, wherein each of the one or more TCI states comprises quasi co-location information for a plurality of dedicated demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports of the plurality of PDSCHSs.
Regarding Claim 3, Song teaches: determining the one or more TCI states comprises: receiving configuration data indicating the one or more TCI states from the one or more BSes via Radio Resource Control (RRC) signaling: “For another example, the mode of RRC plus DCI is still used for indication, but the default state same as that in the single-point transmission needs not to be configured, because this state is also a TCI state corresponding to a CORESET. Therefore, one or more TCI states of a CORESET may be configured in the RRC as the default TCI state of the PDSCH” (Song ¶ 0103), wherein each of the one or more TCI states comprises quasi co-location information for a plurality of dedicated demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) ports of the plurality of PDSCHSs: “or example, IDs of CORESETs configured in a current slot are i, j, and k, respectively; hence, default TCI states configured by the RRC signaling are that: antenna ports in one or more DMRS port groups of the PDSCH and a TCI state of a CORESET with a CORESET ID i are QCL; antenna ports in one or more DMRS port groups of the PDSCH and a TCI state of a CORESET with a CORESET ID j are QCL” (Song ¶ 0103).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Song for the purpose of reducing processing complexity on terminal equipment. Song teaches: “the TCI states and/or QCL parameters of the DMRS port group of one or more physical channels are determined according to the TS and/or parameters configured by the network device, so that the multi-TRP or multi-panel scheme may be transparent to the terminal equipment, thereby reducing processing complexity of terminal equipment” (Song ¶ 0082).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Song’909, and Park as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Xue et al. (US 2023/0117182), hereinafter Xue.
Regarding Claim 12, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The UE device of claim 1.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: the pre-determined time corresponds to a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) 120 kHz, and wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to one or two slots.
Regarding Claim 12, Xue teaches: the pre-determined time corresponds to a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) 120 kHz, and wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to one or two slots: “For example, a task that could be completed in a single slot with a 120 kHz SCS would likely correspond to multiple (e.g., 6, 8, etc.) slots with a 960 kHz SCS. Its impact on the predetermined time duration for switching beam directions (e.g., timeDurationForQCL parameter) has been reviewed and discussed for applications in the FR2x/FR2-2 frequencies” (Xue ¶ 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Xue for the purpose of enhancing user experience with mobile communications while the possibilities of interference and congested networks increase. Xue teaches: “As the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, the possibilities of interference and congested networks grows with more UEs accessing the long-range wireless communication networks and more short-range wireless systems being deployed in communities. Research and development continue to advance wireless technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications” (Xue ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 13, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The UE device of claim 1.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: the pre-determined time corresponds to a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) 480 kHz, and wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to 8 slots or fewer.
Regarding Claim 13, Xue teaches: the pre-determined time corresponds to a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) 480 kHz, and wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to 8 slots or fewer: “Its impact on the predetermined time duration for switching beam directions (e.g., timeDurationForQCL parameter) has been reviewed and discussed for applications in the FR2x/FR2-2 frequencies . . . For a 120 kHz SCS in the FR2 band, a 3GPP Release 15 (Rel-15) enabled UE may indicate its capability of 1 or 2 slots for the predetermined time duration for switching beam directions. Discussions regarding Rel-17 standards have suggested an upper bound given by the FR2 band values and scaled by 4 or 8, depending on whether the SCS is set to 480 kHz or 960 kHz” (Xue ¶ 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Xue for the purpose of enhancing user experience with mobile communications while the possibilities of interference and congested networks increase. Xue teaches: “As the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, the possibilities of interference and congested networks grows with more UEs accessing the long-range wireless communication networks and more short-range wireless systems being deployed in communities. Research and development continue to advance wireless technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications” (Xue ¶ 0005).
Regarding Claim 14, Tsai, Song’909, and Park teaches: The UE device of claim 1.
Tsai, Song’909, and Park do not teach: the pre-determined time corresponds to a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) 960 kHz, and wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to up to 16 slots or greater.
Regarding Claim 14, Xue teaches: the pre-determined time corresponds to a Subcarrier Spacing (SCS) 960 kHz, and wherein the pre-determined time corresponds to up to 16 slots or greater: “For example, a task that could be completed in a single slot with a 120 kHz SCS would likely correspond to multiple (e.g., 6, 8, etc.) slots with a 960 kHz SCS. Its impact on the predetermined time duration for switching beam directions (e.g., timeDurationForQCL parameter) has been reviewed and discussed for applications in the FR2x/FR2-2 frequencies” (Xue ¶ 0075).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosures of Tsai, Song’909, and Park with Xue for the purpose of enhancing user experience with mobile communications while the possibilities of interference and congested networks increase. Xue teaches: “As the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, the possibilities of interference and congested networks grows with more UEs accessing the long-range wireless communication networks and more short-range wireless systems being deployed in communities. Research and development continue to advance wireless technologies not only to meet the growing demand for mobile broadband access, but to advance and enhance the user experience with mobile communications” (Xue ¶ 0005).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai, Song’909, and Park in further view of Yokomakura (US 2023/0156708), hereinafter Yokomakura.
Regarding Claim 21, Tsai, Song, and Park teach: The UE of claim 1.
Tsai, Song, and Park do not teach: N is equal to seven.
Regarding Claim 21, Yokomakura teaches: N is equal to seven: “FIG. 6 illustrates an example of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states. The seven TCI states may be configured and one of the configured TCI states may be used to receive PDCCH, PDSCH, and/or DL signals” (Yokomakura ¶ 0149).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the disclosure of Tsai, Song, and Park with Yokomakura for the purpose of improving communication flexibility. According to Yokomakura: “As illustrated by this discussion, systems and methods that improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency may be beneficial” (Yokomakura ¶ 0004).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRADLEY D LYTLE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2473 /B.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473