Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
10/27/2025 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4,8-12,17-21,25-26 and 28-30 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4,8-12,17-21,25-26 and 28-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by LYU et al. (US 2024/0049037 A1; hereinafter “LYU”).
Regarding claim 1, LYU teaches a method (FIG. 11) for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 ED 110), comprising:
receiving, via a wireless connection between the UE (FIG. 3 ED 110) and a distributed unit (FIG. 3 T-TRP 170), first control information indicating that a network-provided service (RF capability management service provided by the core network 130) for managing UE capability information is offered by a service-based network configured to interface with the UE via the distributed unit (FIG. 11 step 808; [0258] the device transmits first control signaling based on the RF capability information reported by the apparatus to configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antennas, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby receiving first control information indicating a network-provided RF capability management service);
communicating, based at least in part on the first control information, a capability service establishment request with the network-provided service for managing UE capability information (FIG. 11 steps 802-808; [0247] the apparatus transmits RF capability information to the device, [0258] the device transmits first control signaling to configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antennas based on the reported RF capability information, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby communicating, based on the first control information, a capability service establishment request with the network-provided RF capability management service),
the capability service establishment request providing one or more UE credentials for the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0056] the UE memory includes a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, [0058] the UE processor performs network access operations, thereby providing UE credentials to the network when communicating with the network-provided RF capability management service),
receiving second control signaling indicating a first capability service context based at least in part on the one or more UE credentials ([0103] UE reports RF capability information to the network, providing UE-specific capability information, [0017] Based on the reported RF capability information, the network generates second control signaling allocating RF transmitter and/or receiver chains for CA, MIMO, or M-TRP transmission, indicating a capability service context, [0266] The UE receives the second control signaling and is configured for transmission and/or reception accordingly).
Regarding claim 2, LYU teaches communicating a capability indication with the network-provided service for managing UE capability information (FIG. 11 steps 802-808; [0247] the apparatus transmits RF capability information to the device, [0258] the device transmits first control signaling based on the reported RF capability information, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby communicating a capability indication with the network-provided RF capability management service),
the capability indication providing one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first service of one or more services offered by the service-based network ([0129]-[0132] disclose that the RF capability information includes RF transmitter chain information and antenna information supporting flexible allocation of RF chains and/or antennas among RATs and between transmission modes such as CA, MIMO and/or M-TRP, thereby providing one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first network service offered by the service-based network).
Regarding claim 3, LYU teaches receiving third control signaling indicating a first service context for communicating with the first service based at least in part on the capability indication ([0265] after the first control signaling configures the apparatus, the device transmits second control signaling to re-allocate RF transmitter chains and/or RF receiver chains for performing CA, MIMO, or M-TRP transmission, thereby indicating a first service text for communicating with a first service based on the previously reported RF capability information, [0266] the apparatus receives the second control signaling, thereby receiving third control signaling indicating the first service context).
Regarding claim 4, LYU teaches wherein the first service is a radio access network service (FIG. 2 RANs 120a-120b including T-TRP 170), a service associated with the distributed unit (FIG. 2 T-TRP 170a), a core network service (FIG. 2 core network 130), or a UE service (FIG. 4 ED 110).
Regarding claim 8, LYU teaches communicating a capability indication with the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0024] a network device receives RF capability information from the UE, thereby communicating UE capability information to the network for management, [0025] the network device configures the UE based on the received capability information via control singaling) that indicates
one or more supported combinations of component carriers ([0103] UE RF capabilities include aggregated transmission bandwidth configuration and maximum number of component carriers per band combination, [0107] ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 supports dynamic switching in inter-band carrier aggregation),
one or more frequency bands for communications between the UE and the distributed unit ([0106] UE RF capabilities include supported NR/LTE frequency bands identified by frequency band number, [0133] RF transmitter chains are reported per large frequency ranges including FR1 and FR2),
one or more manufacturer-related capabilities of the UE ([0124] current RF capability structures are constrained by UE hardware architecture, [0126] advances in digitized and integrated RF modules including PA and RF-on-Chip enable new RF capabilities that depend on UE hardware implementation),
one or more access stratum capabilities of the UE ([0101] AI-based physical layer and MAC layer functions including bema management, channel resource allocation, power control, MCS, and HARQ strategy, [0103] UE RF capabilities include supported maximum number of MIMO layers and carrier aggregation configurations),
one or more service capabilities of the UE ([0100] future networks use information including a service type that is to be supported as inputs to AI models, [0101] AI-based MAC layer optimization adapts transmission and reception modes based on service-related requirements).
Regarding claim 9, LYU teaches wherein the capability indication indicates one or more combinations of compatible service capabilities and access stratum capabilities ([0100] future networks use information including service type to be supported as inputs to AI models, [0101] AI-based physical-layer and MAC-layer functions adapt beam management, channel resource allocation, MCS, HARQ strategy, and transmission/reception mode based on such service-related information).
Regarding claim 10, LYU teaches receiving a first capability definition associated with a first service, the first capability definition defined by the first service ([0259] the first control signaling comprises RAT-specific configuration information indicating, for a first RAT, a number of component carriers, a maximum number of transmitting and/or receiving MIMO layers per CC, and shared numbers of RF transmitter chains and/or RF receiver chains for a physical cell group, thereby defining a first capability definition associated with a first service (e.g., UL CA, UL MIMO or UL M-TRP) that is defined by the network service) and being independent of one or more other capabilities associated with one or more services other than the first service ([0265]-[0268] the device dynamically switches the apparatus between different multi-transmission modes by transmitting second control signaling to re-allocate shared RF transmitter chains and/or RF receiver chains between CA, MIMO and M-TRP, thereby showing that the first capability definition is independent or one or more other capabilities associated with other services), and
wherein one or more UE capabilities associated with the first service are based at least in part on the first capability definition ([0024] the network device receives RF capability information defining RF transmitter chain and antenna capabilities of the UE, [0100] future networks use service type to be supported as an input together with device capability information, thereby associating UE capabilities with a first service based on the received capability definition).
Regarding claim 11, LYU teaches wherein one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first service are based at least in part on one or more frequency bands used for communications with the distributed unit ([0100] future networks use information including a service type that is to be supported as inputs to AI models, and such inputs further include device capabilities and channel conditions, [0106] UE RF capabilities include supported NR/LTE frequency bands, [0131]-[0133] RF transmitter chain information is reported per large first frequency range corresponding to FR1 or FR2).
Regarding claim 12, LYU teaches a method (FIG. 11) for wireless communications at a distributed unit (FIG. 3 T-TRP 170), comprising:
communicating, via a wireless connection between a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 ED 110) and the distributed unit (FIG. 3 T-TRP 170), first control information indicating that a network-provided service (RF capability management service provided by the core network 130) for managing UE capability information is offered by a service- based network configured to interface with the UE via the distributed unit (FIG. 11 step 808; [0258] the device transmits first control signaling based on the RF capability information reported by the apparatus to configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antennas, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby receiving first control information indicating a network-provided RF capability management service);
communicating a capability service establishment request between the UE and the network-provided service for managing UE capability information (FIG. 11 steps 802-808; [0247] the apparatus transmits RF capability information to the device, [0258] the device transmits first control signaling to configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antennas based on the reported RF capability information, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby communicating, based on the first control information, a capability service establishment request with the network-provided RF capability management service),
the capability service establishment request providing one or more UE credentials for the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0056] the UE memory includes a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, [0058] the UE processor performs network access operations, thereby providing UE credentials to the network when communicating with the network-provided RF capability management service),
transmitting, to the UE, second control signaling indicating a first capability service context ([0103] UE reports RF capability information to the network, providing UE-specific capability information, [0017] Based on the reported RF capability information, the network generates second control signaling allocating RF transmitter and/or receiver chains for CA, MIMO, or M-TRP transmission, indicating a capability service context, [0266] The UE receives the second control signaling and is configured for transmission and/or reception accordingly).
Regarding claim 17, LYU teaches wherein the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0024] a network device receives RF capability information from the UE, [0025] the network device uses the received capability information to determine and configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antenna of the UE via control signaling) indicates one or more supported combinations of frequency bands for communications between the UE and the distributed unit ([0103] UE RF capabilities include supported NR/LTE frequency bands and aggregated transmission bandwidth configuration per band combination, [0107] ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 indicates UE support for dynamic UL Tx switching for inter-band carrier aggregation),
one or more manufacturer-related capabilities of the UE ([0124] current RF capability structures are constrained by UE hardware architecture, [0126] advances in digitized and integrated RF modules including PA and RF-on-Chip enable new RF capabilities that depend on UE hardware implementation),
one or more access stratum capabilities of the UE ([0101] AI-based physical layer and MAC layer functions including bema management, channel resource allocation, power control, MCS, and HARQ strategy, [0103] UE RF capabilities include supported maximum number of MIMO layers and carrier aggregation configurations),
one or more service capabilities of the UE ([0100] future networks use information including a service type that is to be supported as inputs to AI models, [0101] AI-based MAC layer optimization adapts transmission and reception modes based on service-related requirements).
Regarding claim 18, LYU teaches wherein the network-provided service for managing UE capability information indicates one or more combinations of compatible service capabilities and access stratum capabilities ([0100] future networks use information including service type to be supported as inputs to AI models, [0101] AI-based physical-layer and MAC-layer functions adapt beam management, channel resource allocation, MCS, HARQ strategy, and transmission/reception mode based on such service-related information).
Regarding claim 19, LYU teaches providing one or more frequency bands used for the wireless connection between the UE and the distributed unit to the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0106] UE RF capabilities include the supported NR/LTE frequency bands identified by NR/LTE frequency band number, [0024] the network device receives RF capability information form the UE, thereby receiving frequency band information used for wireless communications), and
wherein a UE capability is based at least in part on the one or more frequency bands ([0131] RF transmitter chain information indicates the number of RF transmitter chains for a large first frequency range, [0133] the large first frequency range corresponds to FR1 or FR2, indicating that UE RF capability is defined based on frequency range information).
Regarding claim 20, LYU teaches a method (FIG. 11) for wireless communications at a network-provided service for managing UE capability information offered by a service-based network (FIG. 2 core network 130; [0052], [0271]), comprising:
communicating first control information with a user equipment (UE) indicating the network-provided service for managing UE capability information is offered by the service-based network ([0258] the device transmits first control signaling based on the RF capability information reported by the apparatus, thereby providing network-side capability management service control, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby receiving first control information indicating a network-provided RF capability management service is offered);
obtaining a capability indication message that indicates one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first service of a plurality of services offered by the service-based network ([0247] the apparatus transmits RF capability information to the device, [0129]-[0132] disclose that the RF capability information includes RF transmitter chain information and antenna information supporting transmission modes such as CA, MIMO and/or M-TRP, thereby obtaining a capability indication message that indicates one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first service of a plurality of services offered by the service-based network),
providing information related to capabilities of the UE to at least the first service ([0103] A device/UE reports RF capability information to the network in order to advise the network of the RF capabilities of the device/UE, [0104]-[0106] the reported RF capabilities include supported maximum number of layers, aggregated transmission bandwidth configuration, maximum number of component carriers, and supported NR/LTE frequency bands, [0266] the apparatus receives the second control signaling and is configured for transmission and/or reception in accordance with the second control signaling).
Regarding claim 21, LYU teaches wherein the communicating and obtaining are performed via a distributed unit (FIG. 3; [0062]-[0063] the T-TRP 170 comprises distributed processing modules and performs control signaling transmission and reception with the UE, thereby showing that the communicating and obtaining of the capability indication message are performed via a distributed unit).
Regarding claim 25, LYU teaches wherein the capability indication message indicates ([0024] a network device receives RF capability information from the UE, [0025] the network device uses the received capability information to determine and configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antenna of the UE via control signaling)
one or more supported combinations of frequency bands for communications between the UE and a distributed unit ([0103] UE RF capabilities include supported NR/LTE frequency bands and aggregated transmission bandwidth configuration per band combination, [0107] ULTxSwitchingBandPair-r16 indicates UE support for dynamic UL Tx switching for inter-band carrier aggregation),
one or more manufacturer-related capabilities of the UE ([0124] current RF capability structures are constrained by UE hardware architecture, [0126] advances in digitized and integrated RF modules including PA and RF-on-Chip enable new RF capabilities that depend on UE hardware implementation),
one or more access stratum capabilities of the UE ([0101] AI-based physical layer and MAC layer functions including bema management, channel resource allocation, power control, MCS, and HARQ strategy, [0103] UE RF capabilities include supported maximum number of MIMO layers and carrier aggregation configurations),
one or more service capabilities of the UE ([0100] future networks use information including a service type that is to be supported as inputs to AI models, [0101] AI-based MAC layer optimization adapts transmission and reception modes based on service-related requirements).
Regarding claim 26, LYU teaches wherein the capability service indicates one or more combinations of compatible service capabilities and access stratum capabilities ([0100] future networks use information including service type to be supported as inputs to AI models, [0101] AI-based physical-layer and MAC-layer functions adapt beam management, channel resource allocation, MCS, HARQ strategy, and transmission/reception mode based on such service-related information).
Regarding claim 28, LYU teaches obtaining, from a distributed unit (FIG. 3 T-TRP 170), an indication of one or more frequency bands for a wireless connection between the UE and the distributed unit ([0093]-[0096] a device provides wireless communication to a UE over one or more carrier frequencies and bandwidth parts (BWPs), each carrier being characterized by a frequency band and a reference frequency; FIG. 3 shows that UE communicates wirelessly with the T-TRP 170, thereby obtaining, from the distributed unit, an indication of one or more frequency bands for a wireless connection between the UE and the distributed unit),
filtering the one or more UE capabilities based at least in part on the one or more frequency bands to identify at least a first UE capability associated with the one or more frequency bands ([0131] RF transmitter chain information indicates the number of RF transmitter chains operable in a large first frequency range, [0133] the large first frequency range corresponds to FR1 or FR2, such that UE capabilities are defined and distinguished based on frequency ranges, thereby identifying UE capabilities associated with specific frequency bands); and
providing the first UE capability to the distributed unit ([0103] A device/UE reports RF capability information to the network in order to advise the network of the RF capabilities of the device/UE, [0104]-[0106] the reported RF capabilities include supported maximum number of layers, aggregated transmission bandwidth configuration, maximum number of component carriers, and supported NR/LTE frequency bands, [0266] the apparatus receives the second control signaling and is configured for transmission and/or reception in accordance with the second control signaling).
Regarding claim 29, LYU teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (FIG. 3 ED 110), comprising:
a processor (FIG. 3 processor 210); memory (FIG. 3 memory 208) coupled with the processor; and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0056]):
receive, via a wireless connection between the UE (FIG. 3 ED 110) and a distributed unit (FIG. 3 T-TRP 170), first control information indicating that a network-provided service (RF capability management service provided by the core network 130) for managing UE capability information is offered by a service-based network configured to interface with the UE via the distributed unit (FIG. 11 step 808; [0258] the device transmits first control signaling based on the RF capability information reported by the apparatus to configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antennas, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby receiving first control information indicating a network-provided RF capability management service),
the network-provided service for managing UE capability information configured to provide information related to capabilities of the UE to one or more core network services offered by the service-based network that are different than the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0052] the core network 130 serves as a gateway providing services to Eds via the RANs, [0271] the device controls the configuration of the apparatus based on awareness of the RF capability of the apparatus, thereby showing that the network-provided RF capability management service is configured to provide information related to capabilities of the UE to one or more core network services that are different from the RF capability management service);
communicate, based at least in part on the first control information, a capability service establishment request with the network-provided service for managing UE capability information (FIG. 11 steps 802-808; [0247] the apparatus transmits RF capability information to the device, [0258] the device transmits first control signaling to configure RF transmitter chains and/or physical antennas based on the reported RF capability information, [0264] the apparatus receives the first control signaling, thereby communicating, based on the first control information, a capability service establishment request with the network-provided RF capability management service), the capability service establishment request providing one or more UE credentials for the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0056] the UE memory includes a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, [0058] the UE processor performs network access operations, thereby providing UE credentials to the network when communicating with the network-provided RF capability management service); and
receive second control signaling indicating a first capability service context based at least in part on the one or more UE credentials ([0103] UE reports RF capability information to the network, providing UE-specific capability information, [0017] Based on the reported RF capability information, the network generates second control signaling allocating RF transmitter and/or receiver chains for CA, MIMO, or M-TRP transmission, indicating a capability service context, [0266] The UE receives the second control signaling and is configured for transmission and/or reception accordingly).
Regarding claim 30, LYU teaches wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to ([0056]):
communicate a capability indication with the network-provided service for managing UE capability information ([0247] the apparatus transmits RF capability information to the device, [0258] the device transmits first control signaling based on the reported RF capability information, thereby communicating a capability indication between the UE and the network-provided RF capability management service), the capability indication providing one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first service of the one or more core network services offered by the service-based network ([0129]-[0132] the RF capability information includes RF transmitter chains information and antenna information supporting CA, MIMO, and/or M-TRP transmission modes, thereby providing one or more UE capabilities associated with at least a first core network service offered by the service-based network); and
receive third control signaling indicating a first service context for communicating with the first service based at least in part on the capability indication ([0265] the device transmits second control signaling to re-allocate shared RF transmitter chains and/or RF receiver chains for performing CA, MIMO, or M-TRP transmission based on the previously reported RF capability information, [0112] the apparatus receives the second control signaling, thereby receiving third control signaling indicating a first service context for communicating with a first service based at least in part on the capability indication).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0174322 A1 (Deviprasad et al.) discloses the method involves storing network resource and capability information pertaining to network resources of a network by a network device.
US 2020/0313838 A1 (JIN et al.) discloses a method of supporting an uplink transmission method for a user equipment (UE) when different systems coexist in a next generation mobile communication system.
US 2023/0217439 A1 (ZHANG et al.) discloses a fifth generation (5G) or sixth generation (6G) communication system for supporting a higher data transmission rate.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413