DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 4th March 2026.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-11 and 15-16 were amended; claims 4 and 7 were cancelled; no new Claims were added; therefore, claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-16 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
The objections to drawing of Fig. 4 and Fig. 6 have been withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 8 under 35 U.S.C. §112(b) has been withdrawn.
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 invoke §112(f) interpretation have been withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. §101 has been withdrawn.
Non-Statutory double patenting have been withdrawn with application filled a terminal disclaimer against US patent application NO. 17/953,403.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 17-26, filed on 4th March 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8-11 and 15-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, see pages 21, paragraph 2, applicant contends that combination of Sergeev, Chujo and Droz fails to disclose or suggest classifying “pixel position based on belonging to a same distance grouping in a distance image”; and further fails to disclose or suggest “sensing rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on movement of such same-distance pixel positions”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Droz disclosed in Paragraph [0029], whether or not the array of sensing elements is aligned with the axis of rotation, the image sensor may combine data indicated by a first image pixel captured using a first sensing element to data indicated by a second image pixel captured using a second sensing element. As states, both sensing elements are included in the image sensor which indicated pixel positions belonging to a same distance group in a distance image. Furthermore, the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform causes an imaged object in a first image to become distorted in a second image (captured after a time delay) due to the associated change in the pointing direction of the image sensor. This explains the same imaged object taken from different time (after a time delay) were evaluated to determine that the rotation motion of the platform which causes the imaged object to become distorted (equivalent to sensing rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on movement of such same-distance pixel position).
In response to Applicant’s arguments, see pages 23, paragraph 5, “there is no motivation to combine Sergeev and Droz” as Sergeev related to unintentional rotation, while Droz relates to intentional rotation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated in Office Action dated on 10th December 2025, the motivation of the combining with Sergeev and Droz is using Droz’s rotational sensing method, specifically disclosed in paragraph [0029], on Sergeev’s intention. As stated in paragraph [0029], Droz determines that the rotating motion of the platform cause an image object distorted due to associated change in the pointing direction of the image sensors (referred to comparing two images to determine an offset due to rotation), while Sergeev teaches determining rotational offset between a current and expected position. Whether the rotation is intentional or unintentional does not affect whether Droz’s rotational sensing, disclosed in [0029], could be used. Both determining an offset by using two images sensed data, and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the combination of the measurement method taught by Droz would be suitable to use in Sergeev’s invention.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, see pages 24, paragraph 6, “there is no reasonable expectation of success in combining Sergeev and Droz” as Droz’s rotating platform would undermine the calibration methodology of Sergeev rather than improve it.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Droz’s rotational sensing as disclosed in paragraph [0029] regarding identify rotating motion of the platform causes an imaged object in two different images (taking after time delay) associated change in the pointing direction, is used to determine the rotating motion of the platform by comparing two images. On the other hand, Sergeev teaches determining rotational offset between current and expected position. Whether the rotation is intentional or unintentional does not affect whether Droz’s rotational sensing, disclosed in [0029], could be used. Both determining an offset by using two images sensed data, and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the combination of the measurement method taught by Droz would be suitable to use in Sergeev’s invention.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, see pages 25, paragraph 4, “combining Sergeev and Droz would render the respective inventions inoperable or unsuitable for their intended purposes”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. As stated above, Whether the rotation is intentional or unintentional does not affect whether Droz’s rotational sensing, disclosed in [0029], could be used. Both Droz’s rotational sensing [0029] and Sergeev’s invention is to determine an offset by using two images sensed data, and therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to recognize the combination of the measurement method taught by Droz would be suitable to use in Sergeev’s invention. As the result, the rejection is maintained.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4th March 2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of 17/953,403 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sergeev et al. (US 20210239813 A1, hereinafter “Sergeev”), modified in view of Chujo et al. (WO 2020189071 A1, hereinafter “Chujo”), in view of Droz et al. (US 20190052844 A1, hereinafter “Droz”).
Regarding claim 1, Sergeev teaches a distance measurement device, that measures a distance to an object between an emitted wave emitted at the object and a received light wave, the distance measurement device comprising: a processor configured with a program to perform operations comprising (Sergeev; [0034], the optoelectronic sensor 5 can comprise a control device, which may be formed by a microcontroller or digital signal processor):
Operation as an emission unit configured to emit a light to a specific reference surface (Sergeev; Fig. 1, [0033], optoelectronic sensor 5 comprises a transmitter device 6 which light beams 8 can be emitted or sent out; Fig. 2, [0035], for the test stand 12 in a test area 13, two markings as line-shaped measurement structures 14, 15 which are arranged on a ground (equivalent to a specific reference surface));
Operation as a sensing unit configured to sense the light emitted from the emission unit (Sergeev; Fig. 1, [0034], the optoelectronic sensor 5 comprises a receiver unit 7, where the light beams 9 reflected by the object 3 can be received as a reception signal);
Operation as a distance information acquisition unit configured to acquire distance information about the distance to a reference point on the reference surface between the emitted light wave and the received light wave sensed by the sensing unit (Sergeev; [0034], the optoelectronic sensor 5 can comprise an evaluation unit 10, by means of which the received reflected light beams can be represented as scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4) in a sensor image of the optoelectronic sensor 5);
Operation as an angle information acquisition unit configured to acquire angle information about the angle to the reference point (Sergeev; [0036], to determine the angular position of the optoelectronic sensor 5 relative to the motor vehicle 1, an angular deviation from a target angular position is determined by comparison of a sensor coordinate system with a reference coordinate system; [0014], the scan axis is formed by at least one scan point of the 1st measurement structure and by at least one scan point of the 2nd measurement structure. Using this embodiment, a roll angle can advantageously be determined as angular deviation of the optoelectronic sensor); and
Operation as an attachment orientation sensing unit configured to sense an attachment orientation with respect to the reference surface on the basis of the distance information and the angle information acquired by the distance information acquisition unit and the angle information acquisition unit (Sergeev; Figs. 2-5, [0035], for a vehicle that can be positioned with respect to a test stand 12. The combination of vehicle and test stand (for various markings 14 and 15) can be used to calibrate the sensors of a car; [0036], to determine the angular position of the optoelectronic sensor 5 relative to the motor vehicle (using various scan points 18), an angular deviation from a target angular position is determined by comparison of a sensor coordinate system with a reference coordinate system; [0039], depending on the angular deviations determined, the optoelectronic sensor 5 is calibrated or corrected).
Operation as a distance image generation unit configured to generate a distance image including the reference surface, on the basis of an acquisition results of the distance information acquisition unit and the angle information acquisition unit (Sergeev; [0005], the optoelectronic sensor is used to emit light beams into surroundings of the motor vehicle. The reflected light beams is received by the receiver unit. The received light beams are represented as scan points in a sensor image generated by the optoelectronic sensor using evaluation unit 10; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0034], optoelectronic sensor 5 can comprise an evaluation unit 10 which the received reflected light beams 9 can be represented as scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 in a sensor image of the optoelectronic sensor 5. The scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 also includes angle information which are used to determine an angular deviation [0036][0037]).
Sergeev does not teach,
according to a phase difference between an emitted wave emitted at the object and a received light wave
according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave sensed by the sensing unit;
operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position.
Chujo teaches in paragraph [0028], the phase difference information calculation unit 31 calculates the phase difference ɸ between the light projected wave emitted from the light projecting unit 11 and the received light wave received by the imaging element 22 for each of pixels of the imaging element 22. The distance information calculation unit 32 calculates the distance from pixel to the measurement object 100 for each of pixels on the basis of the calculated phase difference ɸ (equation 2 [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave taught by Chujo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use a light projecting unit with a desired light processed at a predetermined modulation frequency such as 12 MHz (Chujo; [0025], [0028], [0029]).
However, Sergeev modified in view of Chujo still not teach,
operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position.
Droz teaches,
wherein the attachment orientation sensing unit senses a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device on the basis of whether or not the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position (Droz; [0029], whether or not the array of sensing elements is aligned with the axis of rotation, the image sensor may combine data indicated by a 1st image pixel captured using a 1st sensing element to data indicated by a 2nd image pixel captured using a 2nd sensing element. For instance, the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform causes an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction of the image sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave taught by Chujo, include operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position taught by Droz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform cases an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction. After determining whether or not the array of sensing element is aligned with the axis of rotation, the controller can further adjust the sensing element based on the rate of rotation of the platform, distance information of the object in the 1st image pixel relative to the device, and/or other optical characteristics of the device. Through this process, improved sensor data quality can be achieved (Droz; [0029]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operation such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit senses at least one of an inclination angle with respect to the reference surface, the distance from the reference surface, and a rotation angle with respect to the reference surface, as the attachment orientation (Sergeev; Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0036]-[0038], the yaw angle and/or pitch angle is determined as an angular deviation using two measurements with different perspectives on the markings).
Regarding claim 3, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operation such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing the attachment orientation by using information about the angle and the distance to two reference points on the reference surface (Sergeev; Fig. 5, [0036]-[0038], determining the roll angle γ as angular deviation using scan point 17 (1st marking, with a scan axis 22) and scan point 18 (2nd marking with a reference axis 23). The roll angle γ is a rotation about the vehicle longitudinal axis X. To allow the roll angle γ to be determined reliably, the yaw angle α and/or pitch angle β mush be determined in a previous step [0037]. Furthermore, a set of scan points 17 and 18 (17A-G, 18A-G) is disclosed in Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 5, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device by using a first distance to a first reference point on the reference surface at a first pixel included in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit, and a first angle with respect to the reference surface, as well as a second distance to a second reference point on the reference surface at a second pixel that is different from the first pixel, and a second angle with respect to the reference surface (Sergeev; Fig. 5, [0036], [0038], determining the roll angle γ as angular deviation using scan point 17 (1st marking, with a scan axis 22) and scan point 18 (2nd marking with a reference axis 23). The roll angle γ is a rotation about the vehicle longitudinal axis X. To allow the roll angle γ to be determined reliably, the yaw angle α and/or pitch angle β mush be determined in a previous step [0037]).
Regarding claim 6, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing rotation with respect to the reference surface as the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device by using a first angle with respect to an emission axis of the light emitted from the emission unit at a first pixel included in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit, and a second angle with respect to the emission axis of the light emitted from the emission unit at a second pixel that is different from the first pixel (Sergeev; [0036], [0038], determining the roll angle γ as angular deviation using scan point 17 (1st marking, with a scan axis 22) and scan point 18 (2nd marking with a reference axis 23). The roll angle γ is a rotation about the vehicle longitudinal axis X. To allow the roll angle γ to be determined reliably, the yaw angle α and/or pitch angle β (respected to the scan axis as shown in Fig. 3 and 4) mush be determined in a previous step [0037]. Furthermore, a set of scan points 17 and 18 is disclosed in Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 8, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1.
Sergeev does not teach, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation angle of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement based on a presence or absence of a change in positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit have rotated from a specific reference position.
Droz teaches, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation angle of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement based on a presence or absence of a change in positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit have rotated from a specific reference position (Droz; [0029], whether or not the array of sensing elements is aligned with the axis of rotation, the image sensor may combine data indicated by a 1st image pixel captured using a 1st sensing element to data indicated by a 2nd image pixel captured using a 2nd sensing element. For instance, the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform causes an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction of the image sensor. The controller may select the 2nd sensing element based on the rate of rotation of the platform, distance information (e.g., from the LIDAR) of the object in the 1st image pixel relative to the device, and/or other optical characteristics of the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave taught by Chujo, include operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position; wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation angle of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement based on a presence or absence of a change in positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit have rotated from a specific reference position taught by Droz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform cases an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction. After determining whether or not the array of sensing element is aligned with the axis of rotation, the controller can further adjust the sensing element based on the rate of rotation of the platform, distance information of the object in the 1st image pixel relative to the device, and/or other optical characteristics of the device. Through this process, improved sensor data quality can be achieved (Droz; [0029]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1.
Sergeev does not teach, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations: further comprising a correction possibility determination unit configured to determine whether or not to correct an acquisition result in the distance information acquisition unit on the basis of a sensing result in the attachment orientation sensing unit.
Droz teaches, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations: further comprising a correction possibility determination unit configured to determine whether or not to correct an acquisition result in the distance information acquisition unit on the basis of a sensing result in the attachment orientation sensing unit (Droz; [0029], whether or not the array of sensing elements is aligned with the axis of rotation, the image sensor may combine data indicated by a 1st image pixel captured using a 1st sensing element to data indicated by a 2nd image pixel captured using a 2nd sensing element. For instance, the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform causes an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction of the image sensor. The controller may select the 2nd sensing element based on the rate of rotation of the platform, distance information (e.g., from the LIDAR) of the object in the 1st image pixel relative to the device, and/or other optical characteristics of the device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave taught by Chujo, include operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position taught; wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations: further comprising a correction possibility determination unit configured to determine whether or not to correct an acquisition result in the distance information acquisition unit on the basis of a sensing result in the attachment orientation sensing unit taught by Droz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform cases an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction. After determining whether or not the array of sensing element is aligned with the axis of rotation, the controller can further adjust the sensing element based on the rate of rotation of the platform, distance information of the object in the 1st image pixel relative to the device, and/or other optical characteristics of the device. Through this process, improved sensor data quality can be achieved (Droz; [0029]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the distance information acquisition unit further comprises acquiring the distance information and the angle information with respect to the reference point acquired at a specific sensing position (Sergeev; [0034], the optoelectronic sensor 5 can comprise an evaluation unit 10, by means of which the received reflected light beams can be represented as scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4, which includes distance information as well as angle information [0037]) in a sensor image of the optoelectronic sensor 5).
Regarding claim 11, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 10, wherein the processor is configured with the program to perform operations such that operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing the attachment orientation by using the distance information and the angle information with respect to the reference surface acquired at the specific sensing position (Sergeev; [0038], determining the roll angle γ as angular deviation using scan point 17 (1st marking, with a scan axis 22) and scan point 18 (2nd marking with a reference axis 23). The roll angle γ is a rotation about the vehicle longitudinal axis X. To allow the roll angle γ to be determined reliably, the yaw angle α and/or pitch angle β (respected to the scan axis as shown in Fig. 3 and 4) mush be determined in a previous step [0037]. Furthermore, a set of scan points 17 and 18 is disclosed in Fig. 3 and 4).
Regarding claim 12, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1,
Sergeev does not teach, further comprising a memory unit configured to store information related to the attachment orientation sensed by the attachment orientation sensing unit.
Chujo teaches, further comprising a memory unit configured to store information related to the attachment orientation sensed by the attachment orientation sensing unit (Chujo; Fig. 1, [0026], the measurement results are transmitted and stored from the control unit 13 to the storage unit 14. [0031], the distance information calculation unit 32 associates the detected distance with angle information stored in the storage unit 14 and stores the information in the storage unit 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave; comprising a memory unit to store information taught by Chujo, include operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position taught by Droz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to store the measurement results from the control unit and the distance information calculation unit associates the detected distance with angle information for further data processing (Chujo; [0026], [0031]).
Regarding claim 13, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the reference surface is a floor surface (Sergeev; Fig. 2, [0035], the test stand 12 in a test area 13 has two markings as line-shaped measurement structure 14, 15, which are arranged on a ground).
Regarding claim 14, Sergeev as modified above teaches the distance measurement device as recited to claim 1, wherein the distance measurement device is any one of a TOF (time-of-flight) sensor, a LiDAR (light detection and ranging), or an SC (structural camera) (Sergeev; Fig. 1, [0031]-[0032], the driver assistance system 2 comprises at least one optoelectronic sensor 5 which can be embodied as a lidar sensor or laser scanner).
Claim 15 is the method claim possesses nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1 and is thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 16, Sergeev teaches
irradiating a specific reference surface with a light in the distance measurement device (Sergeev; Fig. 1, [0033], optoelectronic sensor 5 comprises a transmitter device 6 which light beams 8 can be emitted or sent out. Fig. 2, [0035], for the test stand 12 in a test area 13, two markings as line-shaped measurement structures 14, 15, which are arranged on a ground (equivalent to a specific reference surface));
sensing the light emitted in the irradiating in the distance measurement device (Sergeev; Fig. 1, [0034], the optoelectronic sensor 5 comprises a receiver unit 7, where the light beams 9 reflected by the object 3 can be received as a reception signal);
acquiring distance information and angle information to a reference point on the reference surface between the emitted light wave and the sensed light wave (Sergeev; [0034], the optoelectronic sensor 5 can comprise an evaluation unit 10, by means of which the received reflected light beams can be represented as scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 (see Fig. 3, Fig. 4) in a sensor image of the optoelectronic sensor 5); and
sensing the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device with respect to the reference surface based on the acquired distance information and the acquired angle information, in the distance measurement device (Sergeev; Figs. 2-5, [0035], for a vehicle that can be positioned with respect to a test stand 12. The combination of vehicle and test stand (for various markings 14 and 15) can be used to calibrate the sensors of a car; [0036], to determine the angular position of the optoelectronic sensor 5 relative to the motor vehicle (using various scan points 18), an angular deviation from a target angular position is determined by comparison of a sensor coordinate system with a reference coordinate system; [0039], depending on the angular deviations determined, the optoelectronic sensor 5 is calibrated or corrected).
generating a distance image including the reference surface, based on the acquired distance information and the acquired angle information (Sergeev; [0005], the optoelectronic sensor is used to emit light beams into surroundings of the motor vehicle. The reflected light beams is received by the receiver unit. The received light beams are represented as scan points in a sensor image generated by the optoelectronic sensor using evaluation unit 10; [0031], a distance between the motor vehicle 1 and the object 3 can be determined by means of the driver assistance system 2 which comprises at least one optoelectronic sensor 5 [0032]; Fig. 3, Fig. 4, [0034], optoelectronic sensor 5 can comprise an evaluation unit 10 which the received reflected light beams 9 can be represented as scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 in a sensor image of the optoelectronic sensor 5. The scan points 17, 18, 19, 20 also includes angle information which are used to determine an angular deviation [0036][0037]), wherein
Sergeev does not teach,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing an attachment orientation sensing program;
the program causing a computer to execute an attachment orientation sensing method for a distance measurement device,
according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave emitted and the received light wave,
sensing the attachment orientation comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired in the distance image generation step are moving from a specific reference position.
Chujo teaches in paragraph [0028], the phase difference information calculation unit 31 calculates the phase difference ɸ between the light projected wave emitted from the light projecting unit 11 and the received light wave received by the imaging element 22 for each of pixels of the imaging element 22. The distance information calculation unit 32 calculates the distance from pixel to the measurement object 100 for each of pixels on the basis of the calculated phase difference ɸ (equation 2 [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave taught by Chujo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to use a light projecting unit with a desired light processed at a predetermined modulation frequency such as 12 MHz (Chujo; [0025], [0028], [0029]).
However, Sergeev modified in view of Chujo still not teach,
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing an attachment orientation sensing program;
the program causing a computer to execute an attachment orientation sensing method for a distance measurement device,
sensing the attachment orientation comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired in the distance image generation step are moving from a specific reference position.
Droz teaches in paragraph [0040], the controller 104 may include one or more processors, data storage, and program instruction (stored in the data storage) executable by the one or more processors to cause system to perform the various operations described herein. Furthermore, in paragraph [0146], the program code may be stored on any type of computer readable medium which includes a non-transitory computer readable medium, such as computer-readable media that stores data for short periods of time like register memory, processor cache and Random Access Memory (RAM). The computer readable medium may also include non-transitory media, such as secondary or persistent long tern storage.
sensing the attachment orientation comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired in the distance image generation step are moving from a specific reference position (Droz; [0029], whether or not the array of sensing elements is aligned with the axis of rotation, the image sensor may combine data indicated by a 1st image pixel captured using a 1st sensing element to data indicated by a 2nd image pixel captured using a 2nd sensing element. For instance, the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform causes an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction of the image sensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the distance measurement device taught by Sergeev to include measure distance according to the phase difference between the emitted light wave and the received light wave taught by Chujo, include the program causing a computer to execute an attachment orientation sensing method for a distance measurement device; operation as the attachment orientation sensing unit further comprises sensing a rotation of the attachment orientation of the distance measurement device based on whether the positions of pixels at the same distance to the reference surface in the distance image acquired by the distance image generation unit are moving from a specific reference position taught by Droz with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is the controller may determine that the rotating motion of the platform cases an imaged object in a 1st image to become distorted in a 2nd image due to the associated change in the pointing direction. After determining whether or not the array of sensing element is aligned with the axis of rotation, the controller can further adjust the sensing element based on the rate of rotation of the platform, distance information of the object in the 1st image pixel relative to the device, and/or other optical characteristics of the device. Through this process, improved sensor data quality can be achieved (Droz; [0029]-[0031]). Furthermore, the controller 104 may include one or more processors, data storage, and program instruction (stored in the data storage) executable by the one or more processors to cause system to perform the various operations described herein (Droz; [0040]). And the computer readable medium may include a non-transitory computer readable medium which the program code may be stored on (Droz; [0146]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645