DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to the correspondence filled on 2/4/26.
Claims 1-22 are presented for examination.
IDS Considerations
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/4/26, 11/4/24, 10/25/24, 3/4/24, 9/11/23, 5/22/23, 2/6/23 and 12/8/22 is/are being considered by the examiner as the submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97.
Continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/4/26 with respect to claims 1-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. On 4/3/25 applicant argued "wherein the format rule specifies that a NAL unit which has a first NAL unit type with a NAL unit type class of video coding layer (VCL) is allowed to include a content associated with coded slice of a particular type of subpicture". Hendry (U.S. Pub. No. 20230033332 A1) [0151] table 1 teach coded slice of picture which is considered subpicture because of Fig. 10. Fig. 10 shows slice is part of subpicture and RASL is associated with subpicture.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Hendry (U.S. Pub. No. 20230033332 A1).
Regarding to claim 20:
Hendry teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a bitstream of video which is generated by a method performed by a video processing apparatus (paragraph 0008, a non-transitory decoder readable storage medium for storing a bitstream generated by an image encoding method or apparatus), wherein the method comprises (the method steps do not carry patentable weight as the claim is a product-by-process claim in which only the bitstream (product), generated by the method steps (process), is given weight. MPEP §2113 recites "Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps". Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
"To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must
be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed
matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated".
MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists, MPEP §2111.05(III).
The storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 20-22 merely
services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no fictional
relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefor the structure,
which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and
given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by HENDRY which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream ([0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendry (U.S. Pub. No. 20230033332 A1), in view of Wang (U.S. Pub. No. 20210409733 A1).
Regarding to claim 1, 14 and 19-20:
Examiner’s Note: Encoding and decoding is done using same and opposite algorithm.
1. Hendry teach a method of processing video data, comprising: (Hendry Fig. 1 [0025] FIG. 1 is a view schematically illustrating a video coding system, to which an embodiment of the present disclosure is applicable. [0026] FIG. 2 is a view schematically illustrating an image encoding apparatus, to which an embodiment of the present disclosure is applicable. [0027] FIG. 3 is a view schematically illustrating an image decoding apparatus) performing a conversion (Hendry [0062] The encoding unit 12 may encode an input video/image. The encoding unit 12 may perform a series of procedures such as prediction, transform, and quantization for compression and coding efficiency. The encoding unit 12 may output encoded data (encoded video/image information) in the form of a bitstream. [0063] The transmitter 13 may transmit the encoded video/image information or data output in the form of a bitstream to the receiver 21 of the decoding apparatus 20 through a digital storage medium or a network in the form of a file or streaming) between a video comprising one or more pictures comprising one or more subpictures (Hendry [0033] FIG. 9 is a view illustrating an example of a subpicture.) and a bitstream of the video, (Hendry [0062] The encoding unit 12 may encode an input video/image. The encoding unit 12 may perform a series of procedures such as prediction, transform, and quantization for compression and coding efficiency. The encoding unit 12 may output encoded data (encoded video/image information) in the form of a bitstream. [0063] The transmitter 13 may transmit the encoded video/image information or data output in the form of a bitstream to the receiver 21 of the decoding apparatus 20 through a digital storage medium or a network in the form of a file or streaming)
wherein the bitstream conforms to a format rule (Hendry FIG. 6 [0127] The above-described NAL unit types may have syntax information on the NAL unit types, and the syntax information may be stored in a NAL unit header and signaled. For example, the syntax information may include nal_unit_type, and the NAL unit types may be specified by a value of nal_unit_type.) that specifies that a syntax element specifying a network abstraction layer (NAL) unit type is included in the bitstream, (Hendry [0297] The NAL unit type information of the current picture may include a NAL unit type value of the VCL NAL unit including encoded image data [bitstream] (e.g., slice data) of the current picture. The NAL unit type value may be obtained by parsing a syntax element nal_unit_type included in the NAL unit header of the VCL NAL unit.)
and wherein the format rule specifies that a NAL unit which has a first NAL unit type with a NAL unit type class of video coding layer (VCL) is allowed to include a content associated with coded slice of a particular type of subpicture, (Hendry [0151]
coded slice in table 1 above is subpicture because of Fig. 10. [0182] When a current picture has a mixed NAL unit type (e.g., pps_mixed_nalu_ types_in_pic_flag=1), each subpicture in the current picture may have any one of the VCL NAL unit types described above with reference to Table 1. For example, when a subpicture in the current picture is an IDR subpicture, the subpicture may have the same NAL unit type as IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP. Alternatively, when a subpicture in the current picture is a trailing subpicture, the subpicture may have the same NAL unit type as TRAIL_NUT. [0151] table 1 teach coded slice of picture which is considered subpicture because of Fig. 10. Fig. 10 shows slice is part of subpicture and RASL is associated with subpicture.)
or wherein the first NAL unit type (Part of OR condition, no rejection is required, however Hendry [0153] Detailed examples of the VCL NAL unit type is as follows.) has a name of instantaneous decoding refresh (IDR) with random access decodable leading (RADL) (IDRW_RADL) or IDR no leading pictures (IDRN_LP), (Hendry Part of OR condition, no rejection is required, however [0155] IDR (Instantaneous Decoding Refresh) NUT: type for a NAL unit of an IDR picture, which is set to IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP. [0157] RADL (Random Access Decodable Leading) NUT: type for a NAL unit for a RADL picture, which is set to RADL_NUT. ) and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with an instantaneous decoding refresh picture or an instantaneous decoding refresh subpicture, (Part of OR condition, no rejection is required, however Hendry [0183] pps_mixed_nalu_types_in_pic_flag having a second value (e.g., 1) may indicate that pictures referring to a picture parameter set (PPS) may include slices having different NAL unit types. Here, the pictures may be originated from subpicture bitstream merge operation in which an encoder ensures matching of a bitstream structure and alignment between parameters of original bitstreams. As an example of the alignment, when reference picture list (RPL) syntax elements for a slice having the same NAL unit type as IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP are not present in a slice header (e.g., sps_idr_rpl_ present_flag=0) and a current picture including the slice have a mixed NAL unit type (e.g., pps_mixed_nalu_types_in_pic_flag=1), a current picture may be limited not to include slices having the same NAL unit type as IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP.)
or wherein the format rule further specifies that no RADL subpictures are present in the bitstream that are associated with an IDR subpicture having a type equal to IDRN_LP. (Hendry [0151]
coded slice in table 1 above is subpicture because of Fig. 10. Claim limitation is obvious over table 1, however, this limitation is part of OR condition, no rejection is required)
or wherein the first NAL unit type has a name of clean random access (CRA) NAL unit type (CRA NUT), and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a clean random access picture or a clean random access subpicture, (Hendry [0151]
coded slice in table 1 above is subpicture because of Fig. 10. Claim limitation is obvious over table 1, however, this limitation is part of OR condition, no rejection is required)
or wherein the first NAL unit type has a name of gradual decoding refresh NAL unit type (GDR NUT) and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a gradual decoding refresh picture or a gradual decoding refresh subpicture, (Hendry [0151]
coded slice in table 1 above is subpicture because of Fig. 10. Claim limitation is obvious over table 1, however, this limitation is part of OR condition, no rejection is required)
or wherein the first NAL unit type has a name of random access decodable leading (RADL) NAL unit type (RADL NUT), and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a random access decodable leading picture or a random access decodable leading subpicture, (Hendry [0151]
coded slice in table 1 above is subpicture because of Fig. 10. Claim limitation is obvious over table 1, however, this limitation is part of OR condition, no rejection is required)
or wherein the first NAL unit type has a name of step-wise temporal sublayer access NAL unit type (STSA NUT), and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a step-wise temporal sublayer access picture or a step-wise temporal sublayer access subpicture. (Hendry [0151]
coded slice in table 1 above is subpicture because of Fig. 10. Claim limitation is obvious over table 1, however, this limitation is part of OR condition, no rejection is required)
Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the first NAL unit type has a name of trailing NAL unit type (TRAIL NUT), and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a trailing picture or a trailing subpicture.
However Wang teach or wherein the first NAL unit type has a name of trailing NAL unit type (TRAIL NUT), (Wang Fig. 7) and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a trailing picture or a trailing subpicture. (Wang [0085] the slices of the trailing pictures 506 may be placed in a trailing picture NAL unit type (TRAIL_NUT), which indicates the trailing pictures 506 are inter-prediction coded pictures. TABLE-US-00001 NAL unit Name of Content of NAL unit and type nal_unit_type nal_unit_type RBSP syntax structure class 0 TRAIL_NUT Coded slice of VCL a trailing picture slice_layer_rbsp( ))
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify Hendry, further incorporating Wang in video/camera technology. One would be motivated to do so, to incorporate the first NAL unit type has a name of trailing NAL unit type (TRAIL NUT), and the content of the NAL unit having the first NAL unit type indicates that a coded slice is associated with a trailing picture or a trailing subpicture. This functionality will improve efficiency.
Regarding to claim 2:
2. Hendry teach the method of claim 1: (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10) Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the clean random access picture is an intra random access point picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to CRA_NUT, and wherein the clean random access subpicture is an intra random access point subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to CRA_NUT.
However Wang teach wherein the clean random access picture is an intra random access point picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to CRA_NUT, and wherein the clean random access subpicture is an intra random access point subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to CRA_NUT. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 3 and 15:
3. Hendry teach the method of claim 1, (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the instantaneous decoding refresh picture is an intra random access point picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP, and wherein the instantaneous decoding refresh subpicture is an intra random access point subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP.
However Wang teach wherein the instantaneous decoding refresh picture is an intra random access point picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP, and wherein the instantaneous decoding refresh subpicture is an intra random access point subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to IDR_W_RADL or IDR_N_LP. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
4. (Cancelled)
Regarding to claim 5:
5. Hendry teach the method of claim 1: (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the gradual decoding refresh picture is a picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to GDR_NUT, and wherein the gradual decoding refresh subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to GDR_NUT.
However Wang teach wherein the gradual decoding refresh picture is a picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to GDR_NUT, and wherein the gradual decoding refresh subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to GDR_NUT. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. TABLE-US-00001 10 GDR_NUT Coded slice [subpicture] of a GDR picture VCL slice_layer_rbsp( ) [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 6:
6. Hendry teach the method of claim 1: (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the random access decodable leading picture is coded picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to RADL_NUT, and wherein the random access decodable leading subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to RADL_NUT.
However Wang teach wherein the random access decodable leading picture is coded picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to RADL_NUT, and wherein the random access decodable leading subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to RADL_NUT. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 7 and 17:
7. Hendry teach the method of claim 1: (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the random access skipped leading picture is a coded picture for which there is at least one VCL NAL unit having a type equal to RASL_NUT, and wherein the random access skipped leading subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to RASL_NUT.
However Wang teach wherein the random access skipped leading picture is a coded picture for which there is at least one VCL NAL unit having a type equal to RASL_NUT, and wherein the random access skipped leading subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to RASL_NUT. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 9:
9. Hendry teach the method of claim 1: (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the step-wise temporal sublayer access picture is a coded picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to STSA_NUT, and wherein the step-wise temporal sublayer access subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to STSA_NUT.
However Wang teach wherein the step-wise temporal sublayer access picture is a coded picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to STSA_NUT, and wherein the step-wise temporal sublayer access subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to STSA_NUT. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. TABLE-US-00001 1 STSA_NUT Coded slice of VCL an STSA picture slice_layer_rbsp( ) [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 10:
10. Hendry teach the method of claim 1: (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the trailing picture is a picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to TRAIL_NUT, and wherein the trailing subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to TRAIL_NUT.
However Wang teach wherein the trailing picture is a picture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to TRAIL_NUT, and wherein the trailing subpicture is a subpicture for which each VCL NAL unit has a type equal to TRAIL_NUT. (Wang [0085] the slices of the trailing pictures 506 may be placed in a trailing picture NAL unit type (TRAIL_NUT), which indicates the trailing pictures 506 are inter-prediction coded pictures. TABLE-US-00001 NAL unit Name of Content of NAL unit and type nal_unit_type nal_unit_type RBSP syntax structure class 0 TRAIL_NUT Coded slice of VCL a trailing picture slice_layer_rbsp( ). Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 11:
11. Hendry teach the method of claim 1, (Hendry [0151] coded slice in table 1 is subpicture because of Fig. 10). Hendry do not explicitly teach wherein the format rule further specifies that when a subpicture is a leading subpicture of an intra random access point (IRAP) subpicture, it is a random access decodable leading (RADL) or random access skipped leading (RASL) subpicture.
However Wang teach wherein the format rule further specifies that when a subpicture is a leading subpicture of an intra random access point (IRAP) subpicture, it is a random access decodable leading (RADL) or random access skipped leading (RASL) subpicture. (Wang Fig. 7 and [0098] shows picture, subpicture and slice relationship. Table 1 VCL NAL unit has a type for coded slice [subpicture]. [0095] The bitstream 700 includes a sequence parameter set (SPS) 710, a plurality of picture parameter sets (PPSs) 711, a plurality of slice headers 715, and image data 720. An SPS 710 contains sequence data common to all the pictures in the video sequence contained in the bitstream 700. [0096] A sub-picture 723 may reference the SPS 710. In some systems, the slices 725 are referred to as tile groups containing tiles. The slices 725 and/or tile groups of tiles reference a slice header 715. A slice 725 may be defined as an integer number of complete tiles or an integer number of consecutive complete CTU rows within a tile of a picture 721 that are exclusively contained in a single NAL unit. Hence, the slices 725 are further divided into CTUs and/or CTBs. The CTUs/CTBs are further divided into coding blocks based on coding trees. The coding blocks can then be encoded/decoded according to prediction mechanisms. [0097] The parameter sets and/or slices 725 are coded in NAL units. A NAL unit may be defined as a syntax structure containing an indication of the type of data to follow and bytes containing that data in the form of an RBSP interspersed as necessary with emulation prevention bytes. More specifically, a NAL unit is a storage unit that contains a parameter set or a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Specifically, VCL NAL units 740 are NAL units that contain a slice 725 of a picture 721 and a corresponding slice header 715. Further, non-VCL NAL units 730 contain parameter sets, such as the SPS 710 and the PPS 711. Several types of NAL units may be employed. For example, the SPS 710 and the PPS 711 may be included in a SPS NAL unit type (SPS_NUT) 731 and a PPS NAL unit type (PPS_NUT) 732, respectively, which are both non-VCL NAL units 730. [0098] As noted above, TRAP pictures, such as TRAP picture 502, can be contained in TRAP NAL units 745. Non-IRAP pictures, such as leading pictures 504 and trailing pictures 506, can be included in non-IRAP NAL units 749. Specifically, an TRAP NAL unit 745 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from an TRAP picture or sub-picture. A non-IRAP NAL unit 749 is any NAL unit that contains a slice 725 taken from any picture that is not an TRAP picture or sub-picture (e.g., leading pictures or trailing pictures). IRAP NAL units 745 and non-IRAP NAL units 749 are both VCL NAL units 740 as they both contain slice data. In an example embodiment, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from an IDR picture without leading pictures or an IDR associated with RADL pictures in an IDR_N_LP NAL unit 741 or an IDR_w_RADL NAL unit 742, respectively. Further, an IRAP NAL unit 745 may include slices 725 from a CRA picture in a CRA_NUT 743. In an example embodiment, a non-IRAP NAL unit 749 may include slices 725 from a RASL picture, a RADL picture, or a trailing picture, in a RASL_NUT 746, a RADL_NUT 747, or a TRAIL_NUT 748, respectively. In an example embodiment, a complete list of possible NAL units is shown below as sorted by NAL unit type. Wang [0022] In an embodiment, the disclosure includes a decoder comprising: a receiving means for receiving a bitstream comprising a plurality of sub-pictures associated with a picture and a flag, wherein the sub-pictures are contained in a plurality of VCL NAL units; a determining means for: determining a first NAL unit type value is the same for all VCL NAL units associated with the picture when the flag is set to a first value; and determining a first NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture is different than a second NAL unit type value for VCL NAL units containing one or more of the sub-pictures of the picture when the flag is set to a second value; and a decoding means for decoding one or more of the sub-pictures based on the first NAL unit type value or the second NAL unit type value)
Regarding to claim 12:
12. Hendry teach the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes encoding the video into the bitstream. (Hendry Fig. 1-3)
Regarding to claim 13:
13. Hendry teach the method of claim 1, wherein the conversion includes decoding the video from the bitstream. (Hendry Fig. 1-3)
16. (Cancelled)
Allowable subject matter
Regarding to claim 8 and 18:
Claims 8 and 18 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims because the limitations of these dependent claims are not obvious from the prior art search when all the limitations of independent and intervening claims are taken into account.
Examiner’s Note: Art rejection is not placed for claims 20-22.
Closely related prior art
Examiner notes teaching of U.S. Pub. No. 20230040376 A1 is/are pertinent to the independent claim(s), however is not used because dependent claims are covered by primary reference.
Conclusion
/NASIM N NIRJHAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896