Status of Application
Claims 1-20 are pending and presented for examination on the merit.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because “support insulation direction” in line 4 should be changed to “support insulation layer”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by TW 201322534 to Lin et al. (machine translation provided for citation).
Regarding claim 1, Lin et al. teaches a connection member for electrically connecting a plurality of tabs 114 or 134 of a current collector, the connection member comprising:
a conductive handle 140 corresponding to the claimed connection plate; and
a protruding pin 142 corresponding to the claimed at least one protrusion arranged on the connection plate and protruding from one side surface of the connection plate in a thickness direction of the connection plate, wherein at least one end of the at least one protrusion in a length direction of the at least one protrusion is formed as a tip in a plane perpendicular to the thickness direction of the connection plate, and wherein the tip is capable of puncturing the plurality of tabs in the length direction of the at least one protrusion as the protruding pin 142 is thin (Figs. 6a; [0011]).
Regarding claim 8, Lin et al. teaches that the at least one protrusion comprises a connection section and a puncturing section that are connected to each other in a protruding height direction of the at least one protrusion, the connection section being connected to the connection plate, the puncturing section being connected to an end of the connection section away from the connection plate and being configured to puncture the plurality of tabs in the thickness direction of the connection plate, as the conductive handle 140 and the protruding pin 142 are integral and the connection section and the puncturing end of the protruding pin 142 are integral (Figs. 6a; [0011]).
Regarding claim 10, Lin et al. teaches that connection plate and the at least one protrusion are integrally formed as the conductive handle 140 and the protruding pin 142 are integral (Figs. 6a; [0011]).
Regarding claim 12, Lin et al. teaches a battery, comprising:
a current collector comprising a plurality of electrode plates 110, 130 laminated to each other, each of the plurality of electrode plates comprising a tab 114 or 134 (Figs. 1-3; [0008]); and
a conductive connection assembly comprising a connection member for electrically connecting a plurality of tabs of the current collector, the connection member comprising:
a conductive handle 140 corresponding to the claimed connection plate; and
a protruding pin 142 corresponding to the claimed at least one protrusion arranged on the connection plate and protruding from one side surface of the connection plate in a thickness direction of the connection plate, wherein:
an end of the at least one protrusion in a length direction of the at least one protrusion is formed as a tip in a plane perpendicular to the thickness direction of the connection plate; the tip is capable of puncturing the plurality of tabs in the length direction of the at least one protrusion as the protruding pin 142 is thin (Figs. 6a; [0011]); and
the at least one protrusion of the connection member penetrates the plurality of tabs and is electrically connected to the tabs as the protruding pin 142 passes through the plurality of tabs, connecting the conductive handle 140 and the tabs through ultrasonic welding (Figs. 8 and 9; [0013]). The prior art structure is indistinguishable from the claimed counterpart.
Regarding claim 13, Lin et al. teaches that the protruding pin 142 is electrically connected to the plurality of tabs through ultrasonic welding, which uses a high-frequency vibration, and wherein a vibration direction of the high-frequency vibration is parallel to the length direction of the at least one protrusion (Figs. 6-9; [0011-13]). The prior art structure reads on the claimed structure of the at least one protrusion puncturing and the plurality of tabs and being electrically connected thereto.
Regarding claim 20, Lin et al. teaches a battery pack or battery module, comprising the battery according to claim 12 (Figs. 1-3; [0008]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. as applied to claim 12 above, in view of WO 2020/258754 to Li et al. (English equivalent US 2022/0093932 used for citation).
Regarding claim 14, Lin et al. does not expressly teach that each of the plurality of electrode plates comprises a support insulation layer, a first conductive layer and a second conductive layer, the first conductive layer and the second conductive layer covering two side surfaces of the support insulation layer in a thickness direction of the support insulation layer, respectively.
Li et al. also relates to a battery and teaches that the battery comprises an electrode including a support layer 101 that is made of an insulation material ([0082-84]; [0180-184]) and conductive layers 102 covering two side surfaces of the support insulation layer in a thickness direction of the support insulation layer, respectively (Figs. 1, 2, and 11; [0119]; [0120]; [0148]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made each of the electrode plates of Lin et al. as claimed, motivated by the fact that Li et al. demonstrates that the electrode plates having the composite current collector that is relatively thin provide significantly improved energy density of the electrochemical apparatus, nail penetration safety performance, and electrical properties ([0012-16]). The skilled artisan would have obtained expected results applying a known element to a known product.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9, 11, and 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Lin et al. does not teach that the at least one protrusion comprises a main section and a spike section as claimed in claims 2 and 15, respectively, as the tip of the protruding pin 142 of Lin et al. does not seem to have a spike section. Accordingly, claims 3-7 and 16-19 dependent on these claims also contain the allowable subject matter. Lin et al. also does not teach the arc connection of claim 9 or the matrix of claim 11. No other reference was found to remedy the deficiencies.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/533,209 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the reference application claims a connector for electrically connecting a plurality of layers of tabs of an electrode plate, the connector comprising: a connection plate; and a protrusion arranged at the connection plate, wherein the protrusion protrudes from a side surface of the connection plate in a thickness direction of the connection plate, and is configured to penetrate the plurality of layers of tabs, thus corresponding to the claimed connection member of claim 1 in the instant application. Claim 4 of the conflicting application recites that the plurality of protrusions is arranged in a matrix pattern, essentially the same as claim 11 of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/Heng M. Chan/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725