DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 2, 2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “prism-shaped lumber” as mentioned in claim 4 and “multiple pieces of lumber” as mentioned in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Munoz (US 2017/0119121) in view of Porath (US 2013/0032557).
As to claim 1, Munoz discloses a dual-ended cup based lumber carrier (100) (with regards to the recitation “lumber” in the preamble, according to MPEP 2114 – A claim containing recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), as illustrated in Figures 1-2, comprising two end cups (110,120) each with an open front side (1101,1201) and closed back side (1102,1202), wherein said open front sides face each other; a portal (156) on the closed back side (1202); a strap (150) passing through the portal of the closed back side (1202). However, Munoz doesn’t show the other closed back side (1102) to have a portal (156) to be connected to the strap (150). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to construct a second portal to the other closed back side (1102), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B.
In addition, Munoz doesn’t show strap to be adjustable in length and a transverse flexible strap fixedly attached to the adjustable length flexible strap forming a loop equidistantly connected at two spaced apart locations between each of said two end cups.
Porath teaches an assembly (20) comprising an adjustable flexible length strap (22) and a transverse flexible strap (28) fixedly attached to the adjustable length strap (see Figure 1).
The substitution of one known element (adjustable flexible length strap and transverse flexible strap as shown in Porath) for another (strap shown in Munoz) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the combination of the adjustable length strap and transverse flexible strap shown in Porath would have yielded predictable results, namely, a positive interlocking of the two end cups together with the body (130) in Munoz to prevent accidental separation or disengagement of during transportation.
With claim 2, each of the open front sides has a circular cross-section.
With claim 3, as modified by Portah, the adjustable length flexible strap extends around oppositely disposed sides of a side wall of each said end cup.
As to claim 8, Munoz discloses a dual-ended cup based lumber carrier (100) (with regards to the recitation “lumber” in the preamble, according to MPEP 2114 – A claim containing recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), as illustrated in Figures 1-2, comprising two identical end cups (110,120) with an open end (1101,1201) opposite a closed end (1102,1202); a loop (156) (see paragraph [0105]) on the closed end (1202) of a first end cup (120); and a strap (150) passing through the loop of the closed end (1202). However, Munoz does not disclose the strap to be two adjustable length straps fixedly attached at a center point of each said two adjustable length flexible straps in a transverse manner to each other; a second loop fixed to the closed end of a second end cup (110), wherein when one of the two adjustable length flexible straps is passed through each loop fixed to the closed end of each of the two identical cups.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to construct a second loop to the closed end of a second end cup (110), since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.04.VI.B.
Porath teaches an assembly (20) comprising an adjustable flexible length strap (22) and two transverse flexible straps (28) fixedly attached to the adjustable length strap (see Figure 1).
The substitution of one known element (adjustable flexible length strap and transverse flexible straps as shown in Porath) for another (strap shown in Munoz) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the combination of the adjustable length strap and transverse flexible strap shown in Porath would have yielded predictable results, namely, a positive interlocking of the two end cups together with the body (130) in Munoz to prevent accidental separation or disengagement of during transportation.
As to claim 16, Munoz discloses a dual-ended cup based lumber carrier (100) (with regards to the recitation “lumber” in the preamble, according to MPEP 2114 – A claim containing recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), as illustrated in Figures 1-2, comprising two hollow cylinders (110,120) made of a material having a single open circular side (1101,1201), said single open circular side of each of said two hollow cylinders proximal and spaced apart from each other; a strap (150) extending around a distal side of each said two hollow cylinders. However, Munoz does not discuss the material to be flexible for the two hollow cylinders and the strap to be slidable or fixedly attached therefrom said strap forming and adjustably sized closed loop.
Munoz discloses that the main body (130) may be made of a flexible and foldable material (see paragraph [0106]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to construct the two hollow cylinders as a flexible material similar to the main body (130), since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Porath teaches an assembly (20) comprising an adjustable flexible length strap (22) and a transverse flexible strap (28) fixedly attached to the adjustable length strap (see Figure 1).
The substitution of one known element (adjustable flexible length strap and transverse flexible strap as shown in Porath) for another (strap shown in Munoz) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since the substitution of the combination of the adjustable length strap and transverse flexible strap shown in Porath would have yielded predictable results, namely, a positive interlocking of the two end cups together with the body (130) in Munoz to prevent accidental separation or disengagement of during transportation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7, 9-15, and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dehaven, Berezansky, Hancey, Huether, Tecca, and Pearce are cited as being relevant art, because each prior art discloses a dual-ended cup carrier comprising two end cups and a portal.
STEPHEN VU
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/STEPHEN A VU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654