DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on July 9, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11-13, 15-19, and 21-23 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for a sealant composition containing a sealant binder composition, a hollow glass filler, and a hollow plastic filler, does not reasonably provide enablement for a hollow glass filler having a diameter of less than 100nm and a hollow plastic filler having a diameter of less than 200nm. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
There are many factors to be considered when determining whether there is sufficient evidence to support a determination that a disclosure does not satisfy the enablement requirement. These factors include:
(f) The amount of direction provided by the inventor: The inventor has not provided direction on where to obtain or how to make a hollow glass or plastic filler with the claimed particle size; it would take significant effort by a person skilled in the art to find such a material.
(g) The existence of working examples: While the inventor includes working examples, none of them contain a hollow glass or hollow plastic filler having the claimed average particle diameter. The glass bubbles specified in Table 1 (p.16) of the instant specification have particle sizes of 22-40µm (see p.2 of 3M Advanced Materials, 3M Glass Bubbles: K Series, S Series, iM Series, Nov 2025), and the polymer hollow microspheres specified in Table 1 (p.16) of the instant specification have particle sizes of 85-145µm (see p.7 of Chase Corporation, Dualite Microspheres Brochure, Accessed 1 Oct 2026).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1).
Regarding Claims 1, 4, and 6: Grasse teaches a sealant composition comprising a sealant binding composition/polymer dispersion, hollow synthetic microspheres, and hollow ceramic microspheres (abstract), wherein the ceramic microspheres may be replaced with hollow glass microspheres (para. 0048) and the synthetic hollow microspheres are polymer-based (para. 0049). Grasse further teaches that the composition is curable/hardenable and displays substantially no shrinkage after hardening (para. 0087).
Regarding Claim 3: Grasse teaches a latex (para. 0025).
Regarding Claim 8: Grasse teaches inorganic fillers and mineral aggregates (para. 0058).
Regarding Claim 9: Grasse teaches additives comprising pigments, dispersing agents, and thickeners (para. 0058).
Claims 1 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kondo et al (KR 2011/0009618 A, using the machine translation for the citations below), as evidenced by Otani et al (JP 2005/215461 A, using the machine translation for the citations below).
Kondo teaches a composition containing a binder/resin and hollow microparticles (para. 0029), wherein the hollow particles are inorganic particles, organic particles, or a combination thereof (para. 0158). The organic hollow particles are a plastic such as an acrylic (para. 0168) and have particle diameter of 1-200nm (para. 0164). The inorganic hollow particles are silica particles having a diameter of 20-60nm (para. 0159). Kondo cites the disclosure of Otani for suitable hollow silica particles (para. 0159); Otani teaches that the silica used in the hollow particles is amorphous, i.e., a glass (para. 0061). Therefore, the amorphous/glassy silica hollow particles of Kondo, as evidenced by Otani, read on the hollow glass filler of the instant claims. Kondo teaches that the composition is curable (para. 0235, thermal curing is performed).
Not disclosed is the shrinkage of the composition after curing. However, Kondo teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e., a volume shrinkage of less than 30%, would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Regarding the limitation in the preamble that the composition is a sealant composition: because the composition of Kondo is in the form of a liquid that is coated onto a substrate and dried/cured (para. 0223-0228) for the purpose of protecting the substrate from, for instance, solvents (para. 0214), it is considered to read on the claimed sealant composition.
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1).
Regarding Claim 11: Grasse teaches a method making a sealant composition comprising a sealant binding composition/polymer dispersion, hollow synthetic microspheres, and hollow ceramic microspheres (abstract), wherein the ceramic microspheres may be replaced with hollow glass microspheres (para. 0048) and the synthetic hollow microspheres are polymer-based (para. 0049). Grasse further teaches that the composition is curable/hardenable and displays substantially no shrinkage after hardening (para. 0087), wherein the method comprises forming a mixture and mixing the mixture (para. 0078).
Regarding Claim 13: Grasse teaches additives comprising pigments, dispersing agents, and thickeners (para. 0058).
Claims 15-16 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1).
Regarding Claims 15-16: Grasse teaches a method of using a sealant composition comprising a sealant binding composition/polymer dispersion, hollow synthetic microspheres, and hollow ceramic microspheres (abstract), wherein the ceramic microspheres may be replaced with hollow glass microspheres (para. 0048) and the synthetic hollow microspheres are polymer-based (para. 0049). Grasse further teaches that the composition is curable/hardenable and displays substantially no shrinkage after hardening (para. 0087), wherein the method comprises applying the composition to a work surface such as a wall (para. 0085).
Regarding Claim 19: Grasse teaches additives comprising pigments, dispersing agents, and thickeners (para. 0058).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1), as evidenced by Wallender (12 Roofing Materials to Consider for Your House, Updated Feb 4 2019, https://www.thespruce.com/).
Grasse teaches the limitations of claim 15, as set forth above. Grasse further teaches that the work surface may be a roof (para. 0085). However, Grasse is silent to the work surface material.
Wallender teaches that aluminum is a standard and common roofing material (p. 6). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to envision a sealant formulated for use on roofs as being able to be used on aluminum.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1) in view of Zook et al (US 2002/0013428 A1).
Grasse teaches all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Grasse is silent to the sealant binder composition comprising a first sealant polymer and a second sealant polymer, wherein the first sealant polymer has a glass transition temperature lower than that the second sealant polymer.
Zook teaches a sealant composition comprising a multimodal polymer (para. 0002), which reads on the first and second sealant polymers. The two components of the multimodal polymer have different glass transition temperatures (para. 0015, ratio of each mode may be determined by average Tg). Zook teaches that the multimodal polymer system improves the strength and toughness of the sealant composition, even with high loadings of lightweight fillers (abstract). Zook and Grasse are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely sealant compositions comprising lightweight fillers.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a multimodal polymer system, wherein the two modes of the polymer system have different glass transition temperatures, as the sealant binder polymer in the composition taught by Grasse, and they would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving the strength and toughness of the sealant.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1) in view of Zook et al (US 2002/0013428 A1).
Grasse teaches all of the limitations of claim 11, as set forth above. However, Grasse is silent to the sealant binder composition comprising a first sealant polymer and a second sealant polymer, wherein the first sealant polymer has a glass transition temperature lower than that the second sealant polymer.
Zook teaches a sealant composition comprising a multimodal polymer (para. 0002), which reads on the first and second sealant polymers. The two components of the multimodal polymer have different glass transition temperatures (para. 0015, ratio of each mode may be determined by average Tg). Zook teaches that the multimodal polymer system improves the strength and toughness of the sealant composition, even with high loadings of lightweight fillers (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a multimodal polymer system, wherein the two modes of the polymer system have different glass transition temperatures, as the sealant binder polymer in the composition taught by Grasse, and they would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving the strength and toughness of the sealant.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grasse et al (US 2009/0155472 A1) in view of Zook et al (US 2002/0013428 A1).
Grasse teaches all of the limitations of claim 15, as set forth above. However, Grasse is silent to the sealant binder composition comprising a first sealant polymer and a second sealant polymer, wherein the first sealant polymer has a glass transition temperature lower than that the second sealant polymer.
Zook teaches a sealant composition comprising a multimodal polymer (para. 0002), which reads on the first and second sealant polymers. The two components of the multimodal polymer have different glass transition temperatures (para. 0015, ratio of each mode may be determined by average Tg). Zook teaches that the multimodal polymer system improves the strength and toughness of the sealant composition, even with high loadings of lightweight fillers (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a multimodal polymer system, wherein the two modes of the polymer system have different glass transition temperatures, as the sealant binder polymer in the composition taught by Grasse, and they would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of improving the strength and toughness of the sealant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s allegations of unexpected results, evidence of secondary considerations, such as unexpected results or commercial success, is irrelevant to 35 U.S.C. 102 rejections and thus cannot overcome a rejection so based. In re Wiggins, 488 F.2d 538, 543, 179 USPQ 421, 425 (CCPA 1973). MPEP 2131.04. Even if, arguendo, the allegations of unexpected results were relevant to the rejection at hand, the instant claims are directed to the combination of a binder, a hollow glass filler, and a hollow plastic filler in any amount. In contrast, the examples given in the instant specification cover a relatively narrow range of amounts of each of these components, which is not commensurate in scope. Evidence of unexpected results must be commensurate in scope with the claims. MPEP 716.02(d).
In response to applicant’s argument that Grasse does not adequately teach the inclusion of hollow glass microspheres, disclosed examples and preferred embodiments do not teach away from the broader disclosure. Patents are relevant as prior art for all they contain. See MPEP 2123. Even though hollow ceramic microspheres are considered advantageous, the usage of hollow glass microspheres is explicitly envisioned (para. 0048). Grasse further teaches that the glass may only partly replace the ceramic microspheres. Because the instant claims to not teach specific amounts of each component, replacing even an exceedingly small fraction of the ceramic microspheres with glass would read on the instant claims.
Applicant further argues that replacing the hollow ceramic microspheres with hollow glass microspheres would not necessarily result in the same shrinkage properties. However, the substantial lack of shrinkage is a key property of the invention of Grasse (see abstract and para. 0087). Because the hollow ceramic microspheres are not essential (i.e., their replacement with hollow glass microspheres is explicitly taught), one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in obtaining a sealant with substantially no shrinkage when replacing the hollow ceramic microspheres with hollow glass microspheres.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767