DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the region of reduced thickness between the neck and the distal end, as required by claim 1, must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-4, 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. While the new language of claim 1 requires “the first slot and the second slot are non-parallel to one another”, please note that at least portions of the slot are parallel to one another.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paradis (US 4,909,754).
Regarding claim 16, Paradis discloses an insulation displacement terminal comprising: a first portion comprising a first beam (20) and a second beam (20), wherein a first slot (22) is formed by a first central edge of the first beam and a second central edge of the second beam; a second portion comprising a third beam (40, 42), a fourth beam (30 and portion around base of 30), and a fifth beam (40, 42), wherein the fourth beam is configured as a cantilever beam with an attached lower end and a distal end separated from the third beam by a second slot (between portion around base of 30 and 42) between the third beam and the fourth beam, and from the fifth beam (intended use) by a third slot (between 42 and portion around base of 30) defined between the fourth beam and the fifth beam; and a press-fit pin (30) attached to an edge of the distal end of the fourth beam; wherein the press-fit pin is substantially narrower than the fourth beam (Fig. 4), the press fit pin (30) positioned on an opposing side (bottom) of the second slot and the third slot from the first portion (top of Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 17, Paradis discloses each of the third beam and the fifth beam are each cantilever beams with an attached lower end and terminal ends opposite from the attached lower end, and wherein the terminal ends of the third beam and the fifth beam are aligned with one-another and with the distal end of the fourth beam (in at least a diagonal direction).
Regarding claim 18, Paradis discloses the slot configured to receive and retain a lead (at 22) of an electrical component and to provide an electrical connection between the lead and a hole (at 52) receiving the press-fit pin (intended use).
Regarding claim 19, Paradis discloses that the second portion (at 40) is wider than the first portion.
Regarding claim 20, Paradis discloses that the distal end of the fourth beam (around base portion of 30, left to right in Fig. 6) is wider than the attached lower end of the fourth beam.
Claims 22, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lybrand et al. (US 10,276,955).
Regarding claim 22, Lybrand discloses an insulation displacement terminal configured to be operably coupled with a housing (intended use), the insulation displacement terminal comprising: a first portion comprising a first beam (140) and a second beam (140), wherein a first slot (115) is formed by a first central edge of the first beam and a second central edge of the second beam; a second portion comprising a third beam (120), a fourth beam (above 110), and a fifth beam (120), wherein the fourth beam is configured as a cantilever beam with an attached lower end and a distal end that is able to move relative the third beam and the fifth beam (intended use), wherein the distal end defines an edge (side line above 130) extending perpendicular to the first slot, wherein the edge is positioned outwardly (away from) of a first terminal support feature and a second terminal support feature (under 120, Fig.4) defined by the housing, and wherein the fourth beam has a width that is less than a distance between the first and second terminal support features, wherein each terminal support feature includes a recess that receives and retains the second portion via retention shoulders (125), and wherein the fourth beam is configured to flex within the channel formed by the terminal support features with clearance on both sides along its length (intended use); and a press-fit pin (distal end 130) extending perpendicularly from the edge of the distal end of the fourth beam in a direction away from the first portion and toward a circuit board side (down in Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 25, Lybrand discloses each of the third beam and the fifth beam being cantilever beams with an attached lower end and terminal ends opposite from the attached lower end, and wherein the terminal ends of the third beam and the fifth beam are aligned with one-another and with the distal end of the fourth beam (at least on a plane).
Regarding claim 26, Lybrand discloses the slot configured to receive and retain a lead of an electrical component and to provide an electrical connection between the lead and a hole receiving the press-fit pin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paradis in view of Daoud.
Regarding claim 21, Daoud teaches (in Fig. 6, seen upside-down) a fourth beam (64) defines a distance between the attached lower end (at 58a) and the edge of the distal end (at 98), and wherein the distance between the attached lower end and the edge of the distal end is longer than an entire length of the press-fit pin (56a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a longer fourth beam, as taught by Daoud, in order to provide more flexibility and to reach a longer distance to connect to the desired environment.
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lybrand et al. (US 10,276,955) in view of Klein et al. (US 7,815,439).
Regarding claim 1, Lybrand discloses an insulation displacement terminal comprising: a first portion extending along a plane and comprising a first beam (140) and a second beam (140), wherein a first slot (115) is formed by a first central edge of the first beam and a second central edge of the second beam; a second portion extending along the plane with the first portion (see Fig. 1) and comprising a third beam (120), a fourth beam (110), and a fifth beam (120), wherein the fourth beam is configured as a cantilever beam with an attached lower end and an opposing distal end (at lined between end of 120s), wherein a second slot (between 120 and 110) is defined between the third beam and the fourth beam and a third slot is defined between the fourth beam and the fifth beam, wherein the first slot and the second slot are non-parallel to one another (please note that due to 110, the centerline of the slots extend outwardly in a top to bottom direction), wherein the fourth beam is configured to move relative to the third beam and the fifth beam (Fig. 1 seen upside-down) to deflect in a direction perpendicular to the plane (intended use), and wherein the fourth beam defines a narrowed neck portion adjacent the attached lower end and a region of reduced thickness (top portion of 130) between the neck and the distal end; and a press-fit pin (at 110) attached to a flat central edge (at a line between ends of 120s) of the distal end of the fourth beam, and wherein the press fit pin (at 110 in Fig. 1) is narrower than the distal end (along a line between ends of 120s).
Lybrand discloses substantially the claimed invention except for the widths of the fourth beam. Klein teaches a fourth beam (55), wherein a width of the lower end of the beam (left side in Fig. 2a) is less than a width of the distal end (at 57). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use the widths taught by Klein, in order to provide the desired resiliency for the beam while providing a stable seating.
Regarding claim 2, Lybrand discloses the second portion being wider (in area) than the first portion.
Regarding claim 3, Lybrand discloses the distal end of the fourth beam (around 130) being wider than the attached lower end of the fourth beam.
Regarding claim 6, Lybrand discloses the first shoulder feature and the second shoulder feature configured to limit an insertion depth of the insulation displacement terminal to a predetermined depth within a terminal support feature of a housing of an electronic control module (intended use).
Regarding claim 7, Lybrand discloses the fourth beam further defines one or more holes (130) located adjacent to the edge of the distal end of the fourth beam.
Regarding claim 8, Lybrand discloses the first slot configured to receive and retain a lead of an electrical component and to provide an electrical connection between the lead and a hole receiving the press-fit pin (intended use).
Claims 4, 23, 24, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lybrand et al. (US 10,276,955) in view of Daoud (US 6,102,729).
Regarding claim 4, Daoud teaches (in Fig. 6) the second portion defining: a first outer edge and a second outer edge opposite from the first outer edge (on both sides of 58a), a first shoulder feature extending inwardly from the first outer edge and perpendicular to the slot, and a second shoulder feature extending inwardly from the second outer edge and perpendicular to the slot, and the first beam (48) and the second beam each (50) extend from a corresponding one of the first shoulder feature and the second shoulder feature, away from the second portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use shoulders, as taught by Daoud, in order to fit the second portion on a desired width/housing.
Regarding claim 23, Daoud teaches (in Fig. 6, seen upside-down) a fourth beam (64) defines a distance between the attached lower end (at 58a) and the edge of the distal end (at 98), and wherein the distance between the attached lower end and the edge of the distal end is longer than an entire length of the press-fit pin (56a). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to use a longer fourth beam, as taught by Daoud, in order to provide more flexibility and to reach a longer distance to connect to the desired environment.
Regarding claim 24, Daoud teaches the distance between the attached lower end and the edge of the distal end is at least two times longer than the entire length of the press-fit pin (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 27, Daoud teaches the second portion (around 58a) being wider than the first portion (around 58).
Regarding claim 28, Daoud teaches the distal end of the fourth beam (under 74 in Fig. 6) wider than the attached lower end of the fourth beam (next to 58a).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments regarding claim 16 have been fully considered and the rejection updated to point the proper portion of Paradis.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection, as applied.
Conclusion
/FELIX O FIGUEROA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833