Detailed Office Action
Election/Restriction
Claims 1-12 with traverse
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 15 December 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that examining the non-elected claims would not be a ‘serious additional burden.’ This is not found persuasive because (1) non-elected independent claim 13 recites structure for providing three levels of alignment without requiring the relative movement recited by independent claim 1 and (2) non-elected independent claim 22 recites providing for a ‘plurality of alignment stages’ without reciting the non-monolithic structural features recited by independent claim 1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-12
Claims 1-7 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninomiya et al. (2022/02600791; “Ninomiya”) in view of Brusberg et al. (2019/0094460; “Brusberg”).
Regarding claim 1, Ninomiya discloses in figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text, embodiments of non-monolithic multifiber plug connectors comprising housing 34 with alignment guiding arms 34A that taper towards narrow tip 35; a ferrule holder 34D having internal passages 34E; ferrule 40 project through 34E to extend out in front of ferrule holder 34D, as limited by alignment flanges 40A; alignment pins 40B extend forward from ferrule 40. Ferrule 40 ‘terminates’ the optical fibers of ribbon cables 42. Springs 44 forward bias ferrule 40.
Ninomiya – Figures 3, 4, 7, and 8
Ninomiya – Selected Text
[0059] As may be seen in FIGS. 2-4, in one embodiment, an optoelectronic connection system 22 comprises a plug-in connector 24 that contains the external laser source 18. An adapter 26 is mounted on the printed circuit board 14 in the optical switch module 10 for connection and release of the plug-in connector 24 with the module. Referring to FIGS. 3 and 4, the plug-in connector 24 includes an upper, optical connection portion 28 and a lower, electrical connection portion 30. The electrical connection portion includes a daughterboard 30A having electrical contacts 30B at a front end for making electrical connection with the printed circuit board 14 in the optical switch housing 12. The daughterboard 30A is attached to an elongate support 30C such that a connection portion 30D of the daughterboard including the electrical contacts 30B projects out in a forward or connection direction from the elongate support. The connection portion 30D extends along a connection axis that generally runs lengthwise of the plug-in connector 24. The elongate support 30C includes a bottom wall 30E that extends the full length of the support and opposing side walls 30F projecting up from the bottom wall on opposite sides of the daughterboard 30A in a rearward region of the support. The elongate support 30C further includes a pair of tabs 30G located forward of front ends of the side walls 30F. Each tab 30G and adjacent front end of the side wall 30F are spaced apart to define a space sized and shaped to receive a corresponding tab 28A on the optical connection portion 28.
[0060] The elongate support 30C is connected to the connection portion 30D of the plug-in connector 24 so as to permit the support and the daughterboard 30A carried by the support to float relative to the connection portion which facilitates connection to the adapter 26 as will be described. The upper, optical connection portion 28 includes a collar 28B having a floor 28C projecting rearward of the remainder of the collar. The floor 28C includes the laterally projecting tabs 28A on laterally opposite sides of the floor at its rear end. FIG. 5 shows an enlargement of a region of the plug-in connector 24 where one of the tabs 28A of the floor 28C of the collar 28B is received in the space between the tab 30G and side wall 30F of the elongate support 30C. There are gaps between the collar tab 28A and the support tab 30G, and between the collar tab and the side wall 30F of the elongate support 30C. This permits some relative movement between the elongate support 30C and the collar 28B in along the connection axis in forward and rearward directions. Similarly, there are also gaps between the collar tab 28A and the bottom wall 30E of the elongate support 30E, and between the collar tab and holding cover 32 (described more fully hereinafter). As shown in FIG. 6, the collar 28B further includes an inverted U-shaped piece having runners 28D that ride on the bottom wall 30E of the elongate support 30C along the connection axis. The runners 28D are thinner than the space between the daughterboard 30A and the elongate support tabs 30G. Thus, lateral motion between the optical connection portion 28 and the electrical connection portion 30 is permitted. The function of the float of the electrical connection portion 30 will be described more fully hereinafter.
[0061] Referring now to FIGS. 7 and 8, the plug-in connector 24 comprises a front housing 34, back housings (or “backposts”) 36 and a release mechanism 38. The front housing includes a pair of guide arms 34A that are shaped and arranged for guiding the plug-in connector 24 into the adapter 26, and also for use in making a releasable connection with the adapter. Each of the guide arms 34A tapers near its distal to a narrow tip 34B. Each guide arm 34A includes a release member channel 34C in a laterally outward facing side of the arm. The channels 34C each extend parallel to the connection axis. The front housing 34 further includes a ferrule holder 34D defining internal passages 34E that receive two mechanical transfer (MT) ferrules 40 in side-by-side relation. Although mechanical transfer ferrules 40 are disclosed and described in this description, it will be understood that other types of ferrules could be used within the scope of the present invention. In the illustrated embodiment, the ferrules 40 are arranged horizontally, in a side-by-side relation. In particular, the ferrules 40 are generally coplanar with one another. The internal passages 34E open at the front of the ferrule holder 34D to permit forward portions of the MT ferrules to project out the front of the ferrule holder. The ferrules 40 each include flanges 40A, and the open forward ends of the passages 34E in the ferrule holders are each smaller than the flanges so that the ferrules cannot pass completely out of the internal passages through the front of the ferrule holder 34D. The ferrules 40 each terminate a plurality of optical fibers brought to the ferrule be respective ribbon cables 42. In the illustrated embodiment, the ferrules 40 are each a male ferrule having a pair of mechanical transfer pins 40B held by a pin holder 40C. The pins 40B are received through the ferrules 40 and project forward from the ferrules as can be seen in FIG. 7. In the illustrated embodiment, the pins 40B of the ferrules 40 are generally coplanar with each other. Likewise, the optical fiber terminations in both ferrules 40 are generally coplanar with one another. Flattened coil springs 44 positioned around respective ones of the ribbon cables 42 engage the pin holders 40C to bias the MT ferrules forward in the connection direction. The back housings 36 are constructed for being received in a rear end of the ferrule holder 34D and connected to the ferrule holder 34D. A rear end of each spring 44 engages a front end of a respective ones of the back housings 36 for providing the compressive force to urge the ferrules 40 forward. It will be understood that there could be only one back housing or more than two back housings (not shown) within the scope of the present invention.
[0062] The release mechanism 38 comprises the collar 28B and release members 38A on laterally opposite sides of the collar that project forward from the collar. The collar 28B includes the floor 28C and a surround 28E that together with the floor forms a square receptacle that slidingly receives a rear portion of the ferrule holder 34D including substantial portions of the back housings 36. The ferrule holder 34D has wedge-shaped stops 34F on top and bottom surfaces. The collar 28B has rectangular openings 28F it its top and bottom surfaces that generally align with respective ones of the wedge-shaped stops 34F on the ferrule holder 34. As the collar 28B is pushed onto the ferrule holder 34D, the wedge-shaped stops 34F engage a top wall and the bottom wall (respectively) of the collar 28B and deform them outward from the connection axis. When the stops 34F come into registration with the rectangular openings 28F, the top and bottom walls of the collar 28B snap back to their original configuration. Thereafter, any attempt to move the collar rearwardly off of the ferrule holder is arrested by engagement of the top and bottom walls at edges of the rectangular openings 28F with substantially vertical surfaces of the stops 34F. However, a substantial range of motion of the collar relative to the ferrule holder is permitted.
[0063] The release members 38A each include a ramp portion 38B at a distal end of the release member, and a slide 38C connecting the ramp portion to the collar 28B. The slides 38C each have a generally T-shaped cross section. As the collar 28B is pushed onto the ferrule holder 34D during assembly of the plug-in connector 24, the ramp portions 38B of the release members enter the channels 34C on the guide arms 34A. The ramp portion 38B protrudes laterally from the channel 34C of each of the guide arms 34A. As the slides 38C enter the channels 34C, wider portions of the slides enter undercut portions of the guide arm 34A. In this way the release members 38A are held by the guide arms 34A against lateral movement relative to the guide arms. It will be appreciated that movement of the collar 28B will result in movement of the ramp portion 38B along the channel 34C of the guide arm. As will be described more fully hereinafter, this movement results in release of the plug-in connector 24 from the adapter 26.
[0138] Plug connector 250 removal is provided by flexing the first and second arms 244A, 244B of the receptacle 240 and pulling back on the plug connector 250 away from the receptacle 240. Plug connector 250 removal may be assisted by a removal tool 280 as illustrated in FIG. 19. The removal tool 280 comprises a first removal prong 282A (not visible in FIG. 19) and a second removal prong 282B that are inserted into the channels 254 to flex the first and second arms 244A, 244B of the receptacle 240 outward so that the bias members 269 may assist in pulling the plug connector 250 away from the receptacle 240 and the detent features 257 may clear the openings 247.
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ninomiya’s embodiments to disclose an optical cable comprising: one or more optical fibers; and an optical plug, the optical plug comprising: a ferrule, wherein the one or more optical fibers terminate at the ferrule; a ferrule holder to hold the ferrule; and a housing to enclose the ferrule and the ferrule holder, wherein the ferrule can move relative to the ferrule holder and the housing, wherein the ferrule holder can move relative to the ferrule and the housing; Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying durable optical connectors. Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
Brusberg – Figures 17 and 18
Brusberg – Selected Text
Abstract. Detachable optical connectors including a connector support for optical chips and methods of their fabrication are disclosed. In one embodiment, an optical assembly includes an optical chip including a surface, an edge extending from the surface, and at least one chip waveguide proximate the surface and terminating at the edge. The optical assembly further includes a waveguide support having a chip coupling surface, and at least one waveguide disposed within the waveguide support and terminating at the chip coupling surface, wherein the chip coupling surface is coupled to the edge of the optical chip such that the at least one waveguide within the waveguide support is optically coupled to the at least one chip waveguide of the optical chip. The optical assembly further includes a connector support having a first portion coupled to the optical chip, and a second portion coupled to the waveguide support.
[0006] Embodiments of the present disclosure are directed to optical connectors that provide for detachable optical connections at an optical chip, such as a passive light wave circuit or an active optical chip providing active optical components such as laser diodes, modulators, multiplexers, and/or photodiodes. Embodiments provide an optical connector receptacle at an optical chip that allows for repeatable mating and demating of a plug connector at the optical chip. Embodiments may further include a connector support to improve mechanical characteristics between an optical connector and the optical chip.
[0132] Also disclosed are plug connectors that cooperate with the optical connectors 109, 209, 209′ and 209″ FIG. 17 schematically depicts an example plug connector 250 operable to be removably connected to the example optical connector 209 depicted in FIG. 16. It should be understood that the plug connector 250 depicted in FIG. 17 is for illustrative purposes only and that other configurations are also possible. Generally, the plug connector 250 comprises a plug connector body 251 and a plug ferrule 260 disposed within the connector body 251. The plug connector body 251 has a first side 255A and a second side 255B each having a detent feature 257 proximate a front end 252 of the plug connector body 251. The plug connector body 251 may further include first flanges 256A and second flanges 256B extending over the first side 255A and the second side 25513, thereby defining respective first and second channels 254A, 254B for receiving the first and second arms 244A, 244B of the receptacle 240.
[0134] The plug ferrule 260 of plug connector 250 used should be compatible with the optical connector such as using a plug ferrule similar to a MPO or MT ferrule as desired. The plug ferrule 260 comprises one or more plug bores 266 operable to receive one or more plug optical fibers 270 that terminate at a plug optical coupling face 262. The rear wall 253 of the plug connector body 251 may include a notch 259 or other opening to allow the one or more plug optical fibers 270 to enter the plug connector body 251. Each of the plug optical coupling face 262 and the first surface 222 of the ferrule 220 is correspondingly tilted in the illustrated embodiment to prevent back reflection of optical signals. The plug optical coupling face 262 is exposed by an opening 267 of the plug connector body 251. The example plug connector 250 further comprises a first alignment pin 265A and a second alignment pin 265A extending from the plug optical coupling face 262 that are configured to be inserted into the first alignment bore 225A and the second alignment bore 225B of the ferrule, respectively.
[0135] In the illustrated embodiment, the plug ferrule 260 is biased in a direction A toward the front end by one or more bias members disposed between a rear wall 253 of the plug connector body 251 and the plug ferrule 260. The bias members 269 may be configured as springs, for example. Because the springs are compressed during connector mating, and the optical connector 209 is smaller than typical MTP/MPO connectors, the springs used should provide a lower force (e.g., about 4 N) than typically used in MTP/MPO connectors (e.g., about 10 N). The spring force should be minimized to just that needed to maintain physical contact in the operating temperature range of the optical assembly.
[0136] FIG. 18 schematically illustrates a plug connector 250 mated to an optical connector 209. The front end 252 of the plug connector 250 is brought between the first arm 244A and the second arm 244B of the receptacle 240 such that the first arm 244A and the and the second arm 244B are disposed within channels 254 on the first and second sides 255A, 255B of the plug connector body 251 between the first and second flanges 256A, 256B. The detent features 257 of the plug connector body 251 cause the first and second arms 244A, 244B to flex outwardly until the detent features 257 clear the openings 247 of the first and second arms 244A, 244B. Pushing the plug connector 250 into the receptacle 240 causes the bias members 269 to compress when the plug optical coupling face 262 of the plug ferrule 260 contacts the first surface 222 of the ferrule 220.
[0137] The plug ferrule 260 is allowed to float in the plug connector body 251 so that the ferrule-to-ferrule mating is not biased by the mechanical alignment of the plug connector 250 and optical connector 290 including the receptacle 240, beyond what is needed for coarse alignment. The final alignment between the plug ferrule 260 and the ferrule 220 of the optical connector 209 is provided by the first and second alignment pins 265A, 265B. However, both ferrules should be coarsely aligned prior to the first and second alignment pins 265A, 265B engaging the ferrule 220 of the optical connector 209 including the receptacle 240 to prevent the first and second alignment pins 265A, 265B from contacting the first surface 222 of the ferrule 220 and causing damage. In the design illustrated in FIGS. 15-18, the first and second flanges 256A, 256B pre-align the plug connector 250 and optical connector 209. It is noted that the engagement length of the first and second arms 244A, 244B and the first and second flanges 356A, 256B enhance the connection's resistance to angular motion in the vertical plane.
[0138] Plug connector 250 removal is provided by flexing the first and second arms 244A, 244B of the receptacle 240 and pulling back on the plug connector 250 away from the receptacle 240. Plug connector 250 removal may be assisted by a removal tool 280 as illustrated in FIG. 19. The removal tool 280 comprises a first removal prong 282A (not visible in FIG. 19) and a second removal prong 282B that are inserted into the channels 254 to flex the first and second arms 244A, 244B of the receptacle 240 outward so that the bias members 269 may assist in pulling the plug connector 250 away from the receptacle 240 and the detent features 257 may clear the openings 247.
Regarding dependent claims 2-7 and 9-12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ninomiya in view of Brusberg, as applied in the rejection of claim 1, to disclose:
2. The optical cable of claim 1, wherein, when the optical cable is being mated with an optical socket, the housing provides coarse alignment to the optical socket, the ferrule holder provides intermediate alignment to the optical socket, and the ferrule provides fine alignment to the optical socket, wherein the fine alignment is more precise than the intermediate alignment, wherein the intermediate alignment is more precise than the coarse alignment. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
3. The optical cable of claim 2, wherein the fine alignment aligns the ferrule to an interposer of the optical socket with a precision of less than one micrometer. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
4. The optical cable of claim 1, further comprising a retention mechanism comprising a spring clip, wherein the spring clip is to engage with an optical socket to secure the optical plug.
5. The optical cable of claim 4, wherein the retention mechanism comprises a pull tab, wherein, when a pulling force is applied to the pull tab, the pull tab releases the spring clip from the optical socket. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
6. The optical cable of claim 4, wherein part of the retention mechanism is to press the ferrule against an interposer of the optical socket when the optical plug is mated with the optical socket. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
7. The optical cable of claim 1, wherein the optical plug has a height less than 3 millimeters and a width less than 8 millimeters. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
9. The optical cable of claim 1, further comprising one or more springs to press the ferrule against an interposer of an optical socket when the optical plug is mated with the optical socket. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
10. The optical cable of claim 1, wherein the one or more optical fibers comprise at least eight optical fibers. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
11. The optical cable of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises a slot orientation key. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
12. A system comprising the optical cable of claim 1, the system further comprising an integrated circuit package comprising an optical socket, wherein, when the optical cable is being mated with the optical socket, the housing provides coarse alignment to the optical socket, the ferrule holder provides intermediate alignment to the optical socket, and the ferrule provides fine alignment to the optical socket, wherein the fine alignment is more precise than the intermediate alignment, wherein the intermediate alignment is more precise than the coarse alignment. Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying durable optical connectors. Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
Claim 8
Claim 8, as dependent upon claim 1, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninomiya et al. (2022/02600791; “Ninomiya”) in view of Brusberg et al. (2019/0094460; “Brusberg”), as applied in the rejection of claims 1-7 and 9-12, and further in view of Bradley et al. (2014/0153875; “Bradley”).
Regarding claim 8, Bradley discloses in figure 1A, and related figures and text, embodiments of fiber optic plug assemblies 104 having strain relief elements 103. Bradley, figure 1A and paragraph [0028].
Consequently, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Ninomiya in view of Brusberg’s embodiments to disclose a strain relief attached to the housing, wherein the one or more optical fibers can move relative to the strain relief; Bradley, figure 1A and paragraph [0028]; Ninomiya, figures 3-4 and 7-8, and related figures and text, for example, Ninomiya – Selected Text; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text; because the resulting configuration would facilitate designing, fabricating, and deploying durable optical connectors. Bradley, paragraphs [0004]-[0008]; Brusberg, figures 17 and 18, and related figures and text, for example, Brusberg – Selected Text.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to PETER RADKOWSKI whose telephone number is (571)270-1613. The examiner can normally be reached on M-Th 9-5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas Hollweg, can be reached on (571) 270-1739. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
/PETER RADKOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874