Status of the Claims
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/30/2026 (hereinafter Response) including claim and drawing amendments has been entered. Examiner notes that claims 1 and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-17remain pending in the application.
Drawings
Based on the drawing amendment included in the Response the drawing objection raised in the non-final office action mailed 1/30/26 (hereinafter Office Action) is withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Based on the claim amendments included in the Response the claim objection raised in the Office Action is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “wherein the suspension comprises the suspension arm connected to the drive power generator and a second steering main body” renders the claim indefinite because the terms “the suspension arm” and “a second steering main body” lack clear antecedent basis. Specifically, the term “the suspension arm” has not previously been introduced and thus lacks antecedent basis. Further, the phrase “a second steering main body” has been previously introduced and thus it is unclear if “a second steering main body” recited in this phrase is intending to refer back to the previously introduced second steering main body of the steering system or if it is intended to introduce another/separate second steering main body that is part of the suspension. Based on these indefiniteness issues, it further is unclear if the claim is attempting to recite that the suspension arm is connected to both the drive power generator and the second steering main body or instead that the suspension includes the suspension arm which is connected to the drive power generator and the suspension includes a second steering main body. Based on the multiple indefiniteness issues, and for the sake of compact prosecution, either interpretation is deemed reasonable under a broadest reasonable interpretation.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0207405 A1 to Kuribayashi et al (hereinafter Kuribayashi).
Regarding claim 1, Kuribayashi discloses a corner module apparatus for a vehicle (Fig. 2 & [0035]), comprising:
a drive power generator (16) configured to provide drive power to a wheel (W) of the vehicle (B) (Fig. 2 & [0039]);
a brake component configured to interfere with rotation of the wheel (W) to generate braking power ([0035]-[0036]);
a suspension (18), connected to the drive power generator (16), configured to absorb shock transferred from a road surface to the wheel (W) (Fig. 2 & [0035]-[0036]); and
a steering system (20), connected to the suspension (18), configured to adjust a steering angle of the wheel (W) (Fig. 2 & [0035] and [0042] disclose the steering device 20 pivotally rotates the drive unit which is interpreted as thereby adjusting a steering angle of the wheel bolted to the drive unit),
wherein the steering system (20) comprises:
a first steering main body (12) fixed to a frame (10a) (Fig. 2 & [0037] and [0041]);
a second steering main body (34), supported on the first steering main body (12) in a manner that is rotatable on a steering axis, connected to the suspension (18) (Fig. 2 & [0043] disclose the speed reduction mechanism which includes rotating parts, e.g., 34e, is mounted on the first steering body 12 and also is interconnected with the suspension system 18 at a minimum because the steering body 12 is also part of the suspension system. [0049] discloses the axis of 34d is the kingpin axis, interpreted as a steering axis.); and
a steering driver (26), installed on the first steering main body (12), configured to rotate the second steering main body (24) relative to the first steering main body (12) (Fig. 2 & [0042], [0046], [0049]).
Wherein the suspension (18) comprises the suspension arm (14) connected to the drive power generator (16) and a second steering main body (18c or 34) (Fig. 2 & [0040]-[0041] disclose, as the limitation can best be understood based on the 112(b) issues discussed above, that the suspension 18 includes upper arm 14 which connects the suspension to the power generator 16, e.g., via bracket 16c, and the suspension 18 further includes a second steering main body 18c (interpreted as a steering main body because it is connected to the first steering main body 12 of the steering system 20. Alternatively, again based on indefiniteness issues discussed above, the second main body could be considered second steering main body 34 which is connected to the suspension arm 14 through the power generator.).
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the steering driver comprises:
a steering actuator (26), coupled to the first steering main body (12), configured to generate rotatory power (Fig. 2 & [0042] and [0046] disclose the steering actuator is a steering motor that rotates output shaft 26b. This is in line with applicant’s disclosed actuator. See Applicant’s PG PUB [0180]); and
a drive power transfer control (26b, 36, 34) configured to rotate the second steering main body (24) in conjunction with the rotatory power generated from the steering actuator (26) (Fig. 2 & [0042], [0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 2, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the drive power transfer control (26b, 36, 34) comprises: an input shaft (26b) connected to the steering actuator (26); an output shaft (24c), connected to the second steering main body (24), disposed in a manner that faces the input shaft (26b); and a decelerator (36,34), provided between the input shaft (26b) and the output shaft (24c), configured to transfer rotatory power of the input shaft (26b) to the output shaft (24c) (Fig. 2 & [0042], [0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 3, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the input shaft (26b) and the output shaft (24c) are disposed in parallel to the steering axis (Fig. 2 & [0042], [0046], [0049]).
Regarding claim 5, depending on claim 4, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the steering axis (KP) is disposed inclined at a predetermined angle toward an inside in a width direction of the vehicle (B) with respect to the wheel (W) (Fig. 2 & [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, depending on claim 4, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the input (26b) shaft and the output shaft (24c) are disposed in same straight line (Fig. 2 depicts that a straight line can be drawn through both the input shaft 26b and the output shaft 24c).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 3, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the decelerator (36,34) is a strain wave gear (34) (Figs. 2-3B & [0043]-[0044] disclose reduction mechanism 34 is a harmonic gear, which a person of ordinary skill in the art would know to be a synonym for a strain wave gear.).
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 7, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the decelerator (34,36) comprises: a circular spline (34j) fixed to the first steering main body (12); a wave generator (24f) connected to the input shaft (26b); and a flex spline (34g) connected to the output shaft (24c), engaged with the circular spline (34j), and rotated in conjunction with rotation of the wave generator (24f) (Figs. 2-3B & [0043]-[0044]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuribayashi US 2021/0086821 A1 to Furuyoshi.
Regarding claim 11, depending on claim 3, Kuribayashi does not appear to disclose a steering angle measurer configured to measure a relative rotation angle of the second steering main body to the first steering main body.
Furuyoshi teaches that it was old and well known in the art of steering systems, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, a steering angle measurer (141) configured to measure a relative rotation angle of the second steering main body (220) to the first steering main body (160) (Figs. 1-2 & [0026] teaches measuring the angle of the output side of the steering system including a wave gear)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of steering systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steering system system disclosed by Kuribayashi to incorporate the steering angle measurer configured to measure a relative rotation angle of the second steering main body to the first steering main body as taught by Furuyoshi in order to enable calibration of the steering system, e.g., see Furuyoshi [0029], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kuribayashi in view of US 2022/0290752 A1 to Kobayashi.
Regarding claim 15, depending on claim 1, although Kuribayashi discloses that the speed reduction mechanism includes thrust bearings, e.g., [0045], Kuribayashi does not appear to explicitly disclose bearings, disposed between the first steering main body (12) and the second steering main body (24), configured to rotatably support the second steering main body (24) with respect to the first steering main body (12).
Kobayashi teaches that it was old and well known in the art of strain wave gears, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, bearings (7), disposed between the first … main body (6) and the second steering main body (8), configured to rotatably support the second steering main body (8) with respect to the first steering main body (6) (Figs. 1B & [0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of strain wave gears before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the strain wave gear disclosed by Kuribayashi to incorporate the bearings as taught by Kobayashi in order to provide the necessary rotational support as recognized by Kuribayashi, e.g., see [0045], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 16, depending on claim 15, the modified combination of Kuribayashi/ Kobayashi further discloses wherein the bearings comprise: at least one first bearing (Kobayashi - 7) including a first roller (Kobayashi - 7) rotated about a central axis thereof (Kobayashi - Fig. 1B & [0027] teach the roller bearings rotate about axis 1a); and at least one second bearing (A) disposed spaced a distance, along a length direction of the first steering main body (Kuribayashi 12/ Kobayashi - 6), away from the first bearing (7) and including a second roller (A) rotated about the central axis thereof (Kobayashi Annotated Fig. 1(B) & [0027]).
It would have been obvious to have modified Kuribayashi in view of the teachings of Kobayashi for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 15 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 17, depending on claim 16, Kuribayashi further discloses wherein the first roller (Kobayashi - 7) and the second roller (Kobayashi - A) are disposed with respective central axes of the first roller (Kobayashi - 7) and the second roller (Kobayashi - A) intersecting each other (Kobayashi Annotated Fig. 1(B) & [0027] teach they share a common central axis 1a).
It would have been obvious to have modified Kuribayashi in view of the teachings of Kobayashi for at least the same reasons discussed above in claim 15 and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, and 12-14 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed in the Response directed toward the 35 USC § 102 rejection of claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. See Response pp. 9-10.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., (1) the integral rotation of the steering driver, second steering main body, suspension arm, and wheel relative to the first steering main body, (2) the lower arm (12) and the first reduction mechanism (34) are both rotatable together with the wheel drive unit (16)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Further, Applicant appears to take issue with certain mappings of Kuribayashi to the presently amended claims, e.g., lower arm 12 [Wingdings font/0xE0] first steering main body, but doesn’t not present arguments why Examiner’s interpretation is incorrect. Examiner suggests amending the claims the further distinguish the parts at issue from the parts of Kuribayashi.
For at least the above reasons Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611