DETAILED ACTION
Response to Remarks, Amendments
Applicant is thanked for their October 17, 2025 response to the Office Action filed July 17, 2025. In particular, Applicant is thanked for their amendments to Claim 8, rendering the previous objections thereto withdrawn. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 15 have been considered, and inasmuch as they pertain to prior art still being relied upon, the examiner’s response follows below. Respectfully, any arguments/ remarks directed towards newly amended limitations are moot if they resulted in a new ground(s) of rejection.
In response to the 35 U.S.C. §103 rejection of claims 1 – 4, 8, 10, 11, and 13 – 15 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et al (US 2016/0121697), in view of Yamamoto et al (US 2017/0276389), Applicant remarked that (inter alia): “Being rotatable, the alleged collection plate 22 of Yamamoto (‘697) may or may not protrude into the passage 21a or may not protrude into the passage 21a. Such a configuration according to Yamamoto is different from the claimed combination that the collection plate is fixedly positioned on the first side and protrudes from the first side to the passage.”
The examiner respectfully notes that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the newly amended limitation “wherein the e first side and protrudes from the first side…”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant' s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 – 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
In re Claim 9, the limitation “a fillet1 having a curved surface connecting an end of inclined surface” is unclear, for at least the following. As “an/the inclined surface” is disclosed in Claim 1, it is unclear if “inclined surface” receives antecedence from Claim 1, or is a different “inclined surface”. For purposes of examination, the limitation has been understood as if to disclose, “a fillet having a curved surface connecting an end of the second side to the inclined surface”
In re Claim 10, insufficient antecedent basis has been provided for the limitation “the end of the inclined surface”. For purposes of examination, the limitation has been understood as if to disclose, “an [[the]] end of the inclined surface.”
Appropriate correction is requested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Claims 1 – 4, and 9 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Castiglioni et al (US 2017/0253107) in view of Currle et al (DE 102010049110).
In re Claim 1, Castiglioni et al discloses an air vent structure (figs 6, 7, (606)) [0047] comprising:
a collection plate (708) [0050] disposed on a first side in a passage (610) through which air flows, wherein the collection plate is fixedly positioned on the first side and protrudes from the first side to the passage; and
an inclined surface (annotated figs 6, 7, below) disposed on a second side that is opposite to the first side, the inclined surface having an inclination (apparent).
Castiglioni et al lacks a projection configured to be retractable from the inclined surface, wherein a volume of the projection, protruding from the inclined surface, is configured to be adjustable.
Currle et al teaches an air vent structure (fig 1) comprising:
a collection plate (5) disposed on a first side in a passage (6) through which air flows, wherein the collection plate is fixedly positioned on the first side and protrudes from the first side to the passage;
a second side that is opposite to the first side; and
a projection (2) configured to be retractable (“positioned against the wall of the air duct 6 in a neutral position that does not affect the flow” [0026]) from the second surface, wherein a volume of the projection, protruding from the inclined surface, is configured to be adjustable.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the system of Castiglioni et al as taught by Currle, such that the system comprises a projection configured to be retractable from the second surface, wherein a volume of the projection, protruding from the inclined surface, is configured to be adjustable, for the benefit of providing improved vehicle occupant comfort.
The proposed combination would yield an air vent structure comprising:
a collection plate disposed on a first side in a passage through which air flows, wherein the collection plate is fixedly positioned on the first side and protrudes from the first side to the passage;
an inclined surface disposed on a second side that is opposite to the first side, the inclined surface having an inclination; and
a projection configured to be retractable from the inclined surface, wherein a volume of the projection, protruding from the inclined surface, is configured to be adjustable.
In re Claim 2, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein the collection plate (708) is configured to reduce a size of an air flow path provided by the passage (610) or a cross-sectional height of the air flow path provided by the passage (apparent, as it extends into the passage (610)).
In re Claim 3, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein the collection plate (fig 7: (708)) is a plate extending horizontally (in the direction of flow) in the passage, but lacks wherein the collection plate is a flat plate.
Currle teaches a collection plate (5), wherein the collection plate is a flat plate (“a wall”) extending in the passage.
It would have been obvious to try modifying the shape of the collection plate, such that it is a flat plate, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest. Please note that criticality for a specific shape has not been provided(specification pg 7/12, lns 8 – 11)
In re Claim 4, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein the inclined surface has an inclination such that a size of an air flow path provided by the passage or a cross-sectional height of an air flow path provided by the passage gradually increases towards the outlet of the passage (as seen in the fig 7).
In re Claim 9, the proposed system has been discussed, wherein Castiglioni et al discloses the second side of the passage comprises the inclined surface (annotated angle α). Castiglioni et al also discloses wherein the passage, the inclined surface, and a connection section therebetween that are curved. Accordingly, it has been understood that Castiglioni et al discloses further comprising a fillet2 having a curved section connected at an end of the inclined surface.
Please note that criticality has not been given for the claimed feature
In re Claim 10, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein a vertical surface extends vertically from an [[the]] end of the inclined surface.
In re Claims 11 and 12, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein a tip of the projection (708) is oblique34, and the tip has a slope in parallel with the inclination of the inclined surface (as seen in fig 7).
In re Claim 13, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein a tip of the projection is oblique (as seen in fig 7), triangular, or round.
In re Claim 14, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein the collection plate (708) and the inclined surface (please refer to annotated figures 6, and 7 above, In re Claim 1) are provided near an outlet (606) [0047] of the passage (610).
In re Claim 15, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein the air (“supplied from an HVAC unit (not shown)” [0047]) is configured to flow toward the collection plate (708) in the passage (610).
Claims 5 – 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Castiglioni et al (US 2017/0253107) in view of Currle et al (DE 102010049110), and further in view of Kim et al (US 2021/0131697)
In re Claim 5, Castiglioni et al discloses wherein a width of a passage is more than eight times greater than a height of a passage [0023, 0027], such as a large width and a narrow height [0023], however Castiglioni et al is silent as to whether the height of the passage is 10 to 20 mm.
Kim et al teaches an air vent structure, wherein a narrow outlet (fig 2a: (18)) may comprise a passage height of 15 mm or less [0004], to meet a demand for an ultra-slim ventilation apparatus [0004].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed system as taught by Kim et al, such that the system comprises the height of the passage is 10 to 20 mm, for the benefit of meeting a market demand.
In re Claim 6, the proposed system has been discussed, but is silent as to wherein a thickness of the collection plate is between 10 and 50% of the height of the passage.
Kim et al teaches (fig 7A) wherein, if desired to direct the air flow upwards, a height of a collection plate (140) is greater than 5mm [0048], the collection plate being approximately 30% of the height** of the passage. (**Please note that the outlet 18 has a “vertical width” of 15mm.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to provide wherein the collection plate is between 10 and 50% of the height of the passage, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
In re Claim 7, the proposed system has been discussed, but is silent as to wherein a length of the collection plate is 1 to 30 mm. Upon consideration of the disclosure of Kim et al, it would have been obvious to try modifying the collection plate length such that it is 1 to 30mm, as choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions is within the capabilities of a person having ordinary skill in the mechanical arts, and they would have a reasonable expectation of success, based upon the characteristics of the science or technology, its state of advance, the nature of the known choices, the specificity or generality of the prior art, and the predictability of results in the area of interest.
In re Claim 8 Castiglioni et al discloses wherein the collection plate (708) extends from a first location to a second location (annotated fig 7, below) along the passage, the second location being downstream of the first location with respect to an air flow direction in the passage.
As Castiglioni et al is silent as to a starting point of the inclined surface in the passage, Castiglioni et al lacks the second location being vertically aligned with a starting point of the inclined surface in the passage.
Kim et al teaches an air vent structure, wherein a collection plate (figs 3, 7A: (141)) extends from a first location to a second location (annotated fig 3, below) along the passage, the second location being downstream of the first location with respect to an air flow direction in the passage, and the second location being vertically aligned with a starting point of the inclined surface in the passage.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the proposed system as taught by Kim et al, such that the system comprises wherein the collection plate extends from a first location to a second location along the passage, the second location being downstream of the first location with respect to an air flow direction in the passage, and the second location being vertically aligned with a starting point of the inclined surface in the passage, for the benefit of enabling airflow discharged upward along the inclined passage, to simplify wind direction control without requiring the use – and cost – of wing structures [0036].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the PTO-892: Notice of References Cited.
Contact Information
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866.217.9197 (toll-free). If you are a Pro Se inventor and would like assistance, please call the Pro Se assistance center at 866.767.3848. If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, please call 800.786.9199 (in USA or Canada) or 571.272.1000.
/Frances F Hamilton/
Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/MICHAEL G HOANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3762
1 specification page 11/12, “the fillet 60 may include a curved section in the channel 16 to connect an end of inclined surface 30”.
2 Fillet (n):a concave junction formed where two surfaces meet; a strip that gives a rounded appearance to such a junction. ©2026 Merriam-Webster
3 Claim 11
4 Oblique (adj): neither perpendicular not parallel. © 2026 Merriam-Webster